They Blinded Me With Science – 1.10 – The Dreams We Try To Replicate Fall Away

The ring glittered in the moonlight and Nicky’s hands flew to her face as she stared down at me and the ring. Tears welled up in her eyes and she didn’t speak as the seconds ticked by, each second as if a millennium.

“Oh Jake,” she breathed out as she turned her head, not meeting my eyes. My smile froze on my face and my heart felt like it was going to burst out of my chest. “Oh Jake,” she said again, more softly.

“N-Nicky?” I finally asked. “I know this ring isn’t as beautiful as you are, but–“

“It’s not the ring, Jake. I–oh Jacob, why did you have to go and do this?!”

“What?” I asked, my voice squeaking slightly. “Do wh-what? Did I do something wrong? Is this–did something happen?” I looked up, worried that something had happened that day that she didn’t tell me about. “Is your family okay?”

She reached out one hand. “My family is fine, Jacob, but why did you do this?” She reached her other hand out and put them around my hands, closing the box.

“I love you,” I said, unable to breathe. “I love you, Nicky.”

“I love you too, Jacob, but…”

“But… what? But what?” I started pushing myself to my feet, unable to feel my legs, unable to feel anything.

“Why?” she asked again, looking at me with worried eyes. “Everything was so perfect with us, Jacob, why did you have to go and ruin it?”


“I didn’t realize proposing marriage was a way of ruining a three year relationship!” I spat out, a bit angrier than intended. “I thought it was the next logical step! You said you loved me!”

“I do love you, Jake, but–but hell, marriage? Me? You and me?”

“Yes! We’ve talked about it before, I thought–“

“You talked about it!” she snapped. “You’re the one always going on about marriage and kids and all that stuff, not me!”

“I asked your thoughts about it!” I said, trying not to yell. “I asked if you thought about marriage and kids, and you said–you said–“

“I never thought they were serious questions,” she said. “Like when I asked if you liked a football game and you said yes. I know you didn’t mean it. It’s like that.”

I blinked a few times. “No. No, Nicky, that is NOT the same thing!” I took in a deep breath to stop myself from getting really mad. “I enjoyed going to football games with you, I never lied about that. But telling me you wanted marriage and kids when you really didn’t is a completely different thing!”

“Jacob…”

“Please,” I said slowly. “Please tell me the truth.” I looked into her eyes, hoping discretely that this was just a misunderstanding, that she wasn’t feeling well that–that–That it’s not what it is, I thought rather numbly.

“You want the truth?!” she exploded, pointing one finger at me. “I don’t want to be married! I don’t want kids! This isn’t the nineteenth century, Jacob!Β  A couple doesn’t need to be married to be together! What sort of–of pathetic girl do you think I am?!”

“A husband? 2.5 kids? White picket fence? That’s just some stupid fantasy from when our grandparents got together. I was happy with you, Jake, you’re a great boyfriend but how could think I wanted this?”

“Because for one, you LIED to me!” I shouted back. “You made it sound like you wanted a husband and kids! I assumed–“

She shook her head and sighed slightly. “You shouldn’t assume things.”

“How could you do this to me?”

“How could I do what?” she hissed out. “You’re the one that just ruined everything.” She reached out for my arm, but I yanked it away. “Maybe that’s why you want kids so bad, huh? You’re just being childish, throwing a tantrum.”

“I thought we could be happy together…” I was trying not to break down in front of her.

“We were happy,” she said huffily. “I was happy, at least, but you had to go and be selfish and want more. Our relationship was just fine.”

“Boyfriend and girlfriend until we die?” I demanded, glaring at her.

“Yes!” Nicky stomped one foot in the sand. “Why can’t you understand that?”

“Because some people want a little more than that,” I said, clenching my hands into fists. “I wanted more. You know perfectly well I’ve always wanted a family. I loved you, Nicky, and wanted so bad for you to be my wife…”

“A house-dress, slippers, cooking three meals a day, taking care of a bunch of brats?” She threw her arms in the air and rolled her eyes. “You’re such a pig! A girl wants more than that these days. I wanted a career!”

“You could have fooled me,” I replied darkly. “You’re always telling me you hate to work and I was prepared to let you do what you want! Stay at home, get a career–whichever. I wasn’t intending to be Mr. Boss-Of-The-House, Nicky! I know perfectly well what century we live in!”

“You could have fooled me!”

“Nicky–I can’t believe… I can’t believe this.”

“Believe it,” she said coldly. “We are over. Okay? Over. Obviously you’re going to be selfish about this and I can’t deal with it.”

“Over?” I echoed.

“OVER!” she cried out. “You’ve hurt me so much, Jacob Danevbie! I’ll never forgive you!”

“I hurt you.” I never really had much of a temper, all my life I had been able to keep it under control. But now I felt like exploding. “I hurt you?!” I shouted.

“You’ve lied to me and pretended to be something you’re not!” I could see the shock in her face as I yelled and she looked ready to stop me, but I continued. “I loved you, I gave you EVERYTHING and you do this to me? Then say I am the one who hurt you?! You are despicable! You lied the person you claimed to have loved!”

“Jacob!”

“You want this to be over? Then fine. We are over.”

“I thought you were better,” she snarled. “I thought you had some sense in your head but obviously you’re like most every other man out there! I can’t believe I ever loved you! Goodbye, Jacob, don’t expect to ever hear from me again.”

I lifted my chin. “Goodbye, Nicole. I really don’t want to hear from you. Ever.”

She whirled around and stormed off. I turned as well, grabbing a fistful of sand and throwing it at the ocean. My momentum carried me forward and I fell onto my knees. Then everything went blurry and dark. I had no clue how I got home but when my senses came back, that’s where I was.

The numbness was starting to fade and the first emotion I felt was anger.

I screamed for a good long time, kicking and throwing things until my body ached.

Realization hit me, and I started crying. I was unable to stop. Anger, hurt, sadness, misery–everything rushed over me like a tidal wave. I was sucked into the darkness and felt like there would never be a way out.

~

I couldn’t believe it. It felt like a nightmare, one I didn’t wake up from. Over the next few days I spent a lot of time wallowing in misery.

I tried talking to my friends, but each time they answered the phone I would just hang up. It wasn’t long before they were at my door. They brought me comforting words and, after a couple days, food.

Elouia gave me time off to get over my broken heart. I knew eventually I would start to feel better but right now it felt as though it wouldn’t. My life felt upside down. Inside out. I had been shaken up and squished down.

The days were dark, blurry, out of focus. How could life continue?

But it did. It had to. I started working again and even bought a TV. No point in saving up anymore. But everything seemed so fake. Like I was an actor forced to be in a play. I interacted with the world around me without seeing it, without feeling it.

One morning I woke up after a bad night of sleep, and decided the best way to get my mind off what had happened was to keep myself busy. I cleaned my entire house, went to the grocery store, bought a few books, and even did some clothes shopping.

After that, I started taking daily walks. I would walk through the park, down around the beach, through the business districts and back home for a long shower. On his days off, Aiden would walk with me. Twice Elouia joined me. But usually I was by myself.

I missed Nicky with all my heart, or at leastΒ  with the tiny pieces that were left. She had broken my heart… but I missed her. I even wondered if I should call her up, talk to her, try to fix things. A family. I wanted a family, and she didn’t, but–maybe we could work things out… Part of me knew we wouldn’t, but a tiny, teensy, itsy, bitsy part wouldn’t stop hoping.

And then, two weeks after our break up, I saw her.

She was standing in front of the hospital and at first I was going to walk by without another glance but I couldn’t help but pause and watch her. She took a step closer to the door, then stopped, slumping slightly. She seemed agitated by something.

Don’t, I thought, torn between wanting to find out what was wrong and running off. However my decision was made for me when she turned and saw me.

“Jacob…” Our eyes locked and I felt a jolt go through my body. She took a few steps, coming over to me. “What are you doing here? Did you–” She bit her bottom lip and looked down. “Hi.”

“Hi,” I said, rubbing the back of my head. “So… um. Getting a new job?”

She jumped slightly then narrowed her eyes. “No. I’m here for a visit.”

“Is your family okay?” I asked then felt my world spinning, remembering how I had asked the same thing that miserable night.

“It’s not my family, it’s me,” she said in a low voice. “Not that it’s your business.” Then she jumped again, as if what she had said surprised her.

“I was just walking by.” I tried to keep my voice light, without accusation or depression. “Didn’t mean to bother you.” I was edging away, trying to get away, when she called my name.

“Jacob–stop. I… I thought about what you said.”

I turned back around, watching her carefully. “What, that I didn’t mean to bother you?” I asked, raising one eyebrow.

“No, stupid,” she said, folding her arms and hunching over. “About my lying. I guess I did sort of lie to you.”

“Sort of?” I coughed out. “Sort of?!”

“Okay, I did!” she said, tugging at her curls. “I lied to you, in a big way. And I’m sorry I did. I never thought you took it seriously.”

“You knew… you knew what I wanted…”

She held up her hands. “It’s in the past now. What is clear is we weren’t meant for each other. You’re too… old-fashioned.” I wanted to make a retort, but before I could say anything she plunged on. “You said hurtful things.”

“I don’t want to rehash our fight,” I said, gritting my teeth.

Her eyebrows raised high and then she lowered her gaze to the ground. “You are sometimes very insufferable. Can I at least tell you? I’m not going to lie anymore.”

“Tell me what?” I asked, stepping slightly away from her. “What on earth do you have to say to me now? More insults?”

“No!” Nicky put her head in her hands, her body shuddering slightly. Then she lowered her hands and looked up at me.

“Jacob, the reason I’m here is because I’m pregnant. By you.”

I stared at her. I stared, and stared, and stared. My emotions swirled around inside of me and slowly my body began trembling. Nicky was waiting for a response from me but I couldn’t muster anything for a full two minutes.

“A baby?” I whispered, almost falling over. I couldn’t feel my legs. Then suddenly everything burst and I pushed myself up clear to my tiptoes. “A baby?” I repeated, wanting to hug her. “Nicky–a baby? My baby? Really?”

A strange look went over her face. “I am pregnant.”

“I’m going to be a father?” I couldn’t stop myself and I grabbed her, hugging her tightly. “Nicky, this is–oh my gosh… oh my gosh! I’m going to have a baby!”

“Let go of me!” She struggled slightly but when she pushed me away, it was a bit gentle. “Jacob, you misunderstood me.”

“Misunder…? What?”

Nicky looked upset. Pretty much on the verge of tears. “Jacob, I’m not here for a check up. I’m here because… I’m here to…” She pressed her fingers against her temple and couldn’t even look at me when she ripped me to pieces and killed me by saying, “I’m getting rid of it.”

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation One - They Blinded Me With Science. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to They Blinded Me With Science – 1.10 – The Dreams We Try To Replicate Fall Away

  1. ATMzie says:

    😦 i had a feeling she was going to say no but i was hopeing i was wrong. Fight for your baby Jacob!

  2. Lathe says:

    When she was at the hospital I knew it was his kid… but I didn’t take the next step, since I knew he does end up with a kid at some point. Eventually. Mmm, I really wonder where this is gonna go now?

  3. darklai5544 says:

    Omg!!!
    I can’t believe she said no…actually I kind of had a feeling at the cliffhanger last chapter but still shocked >..<
    But great chapter like always πŸ™‚

  4. zbornie says:

    Noooooooooo!

    I really do not like Nicky anymore! Ugh! I hope he can convince her not to go through with it!

  5. liztriestoohard says:

    ; n; No….

  6. concretedoll says:

    Awwwww no x( I don’t want to see that happening to poor Jacob, then again, being with her long term might turn into a miserable event if she doesn’t want any of the things he wants and vica versa!

  7. EuphorialQueen says:

    nooooo! arrgggh :p jacob cannot let her get rid of their baby. i have a guess about nicky. keeping in mind the strange series of events with the science lab. i am guessing nicky and the experiments are connected. maybe she is so adament they not marry has to do with her true origins. *keeping mum and reading along to see if my theory plays out.*

  8. I thought she was pregnant when she said no. I hope he gets to raise his baby.

  9. I can’t believe Nicki! 😦 How can she think that getting married is old-fashioned? oO
    After having been with Jacob for so long now she should know that he isn’t that old-fashioned -.-
    Can’t believe she wants an abortion, either -.- Poor Jacob deserves better than that 😦

  10. jonso says:

    oh boy 😦

  11. I had a bad feeling about there relationship in the last chapter. But I was not expecting this. Poor Jacob 😦 He does’t deserve that. Hopefully he’ll find a way to save the baby.

  12. FruHurricane says:

    Really nicki?! You didn’t think he was serious? I’m sorry to say but the difference between asking about a shared future and a favorite football team is two completely different things. You should be ashamed of yourself and now you better keep that baby. You hurt him enough already. Hmpf!

    • sErindeppity says:

      They are two completely different things. Nicky is a selfish woman, and lies, and just does things to get what she wants–not caring really who gets hurt in the process. 😦

  13. zefiewings says:

    Well! I thought the cliff hanger was just for giggles because many stories do that but they never actually say no in them!
    He never said she had to stay at home or whatever. Actually he seemed like the stay at home Dad type. bauiybgshb!
    How dare she try to kill the baby!
    I’m thinking EuphorialQueen is right and she has something to do with the since thing…I almost wonder…did they try a hormonal experiment to see if they can make people fall in love and that’s why he fell so fast? hmmmm

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah I’ve read stories that do that… so I had to make it a cliffhanger too. With, as you said, a much different outcome. He never said that though. Jacob is DEFINITELY a stay-at-home dad type (which is what he is in Dannings actually… or will be once they have kids).

      And no, no hormonal experiment…. he did fall for her. 😦 He put… what, three years into it? x_x and she just lied and gave him not much in return but poor Jacob only saw the nice in her.

  14. lilmonster says:

    Poor guy. All he ever wanted was a family and now that he’s got the chance to have a child – she’s just going to kill it. Grrr. I hate women. I really do. He’s the selfish one, and he’s the one with a problem, when she lied to him and is going to kill the child he’s always wanted… 😑

    This is really fantastic righting πŸ˜€

  15. amandralynn says:

    Oh no!!! Such a sad chapter. I know how badly Jacob has been wanting a baby and now he gets that chance and Nicole wants to get rid of it. Oh the drama…..:(

  16. Ungh! I somehow knew that was going to happen. And pregnant besides, and going to ‘get rid of it’. Poor Jacob, I just want to hug him to pieces.

  17. Rose Eaton says:

    Stupid moose faced meanie. Jacobs not the only one who gets immature when they’re cross. Oooowwwh whyyy Nicole, couldn’t you just have pretended to die on the first dat like the other biatches. Sad sad times. I would completely understand if Jacob were to kidnap her and run off with his baby…

  18. Oh dear, I’m sure this is news that Jacob doesn’t need after being so harshly rejected by Nicky. I felt bad for him to have his hopes raised up so high but then have them come crashing down on his head. *hugs Jacob* Ugh, part of me wishes he had just walked away when he saw her outside the hospital. Where’s your coward trait Jacob? It could help ease some pain for you today. LOL.
    It makes sense that she’d do that procedure, though, because she doesn’t want kids. That’s not something people easily change their mind about.

Leave a Reply

