These Points Of Data – 3.8 – The Newest Danevbie

He was beautiful.

My little nephew. I was afraid of holding him, but Kyle urged me to. I had never held a baby before, I had never been around babies. I carefully slid my hands under him and lifted him up, cradling him in my arms gently.

“Oh, hello,” I whispered, stroking his cheek lightly. He squinted at me and squirmed slightly. “Oh… Kyle, he is so beautiful.”

Kyle looked worn out, but very pleased. “You know Dad always talks about love at first sight… well, after seeing him I realized it was true.”

I laughed a bit and then smiled as my nephew clung to my finger. “He’s amazing. I can’t believe…” I trailed off, unable to stop myself from smiling. By the time I had gotten home, he was born. Since it was a C-section, labor hadn’t lasted very long at all. Now it was two days later and we were all at home, all enchanted by this little guy. “By the way, you still haven’t told me the name,” I said, looking over my shoulder at Kyle.

“We didn’t get a chance to talk to Dad about it until after he was born. We still have to fill out the birth certificate and stuff,” Kyle said with a weary shrug.

“But you have named him,” I said quietly.

“Yes,” he replied. “His name is Jacob.”

“Jacob Danevbie,” I said, looking back down at my nephew.

“Jacob Calcifer,” Kyle said happily.

“That’s a perfect name,” I said, lifting Jacob up a bit more to see his face. It didn’t surprise me that Kenya’s father’s name was not included. Kenya didn’t have a very good relationship with him. “And if it was a girl?”

“When we have a girl,” Kyle corrected me. “Her name will be Elouia Kate. After Kenya’s mother and grandmother. And our third child will be Pendragon.”

I laughed. “Three kids, huh?” I kept staring at Jacob, not voicing my concerns. Kyle was in his thirties. And no male had ever had popped out more than one kid. The only multiples from same sex couples were females. I wasn’t sure what having multiples in a male body would do to his body.

*

Dad was ecstatic. Everyone was super happy, but Dad hardly ever put his grandson down. Every time Jacob needed something, before Kyle or Kenya could even think about getting up Dad would leap to his feet and go running.

“The newest Danevbie,” he chuckled one morning. “First of his generation.”

We’d roll our eyes at that. Orion, Tempest and I. Dad wanted more grandkids–so did Mom. But I certainly didn’t have any plans. Rion wasn’t ready to settle down, and Tempest just said she hadn’t found the right guy. Mr. Right, Milla had said. Looking at Mom and Dad, and Kyle and Kenya… I knew there was something to be said about soul mates. About Mr. or Miss Right. But did everyone have one?

*

“No questions, no snooping, no nothing,” I said to Tempest one morning. So far we had managed to avoid each other but now that everyone was back in the house and things were getting cramped, I decided to lay down the law. “This isn’t a time for fighting,” I added.

Tempest folded her arms and raised an eyebrow. “You start half of them,” she pointed out and I blushed.

“I know. But all I’m saying is right now, let’s just do our best to avoid arguing. All right?”

“Fine by me,” she said, holding out her hand. I blinked and opened the door, leaving the room. “What, no shake?” she called after me but I just ignored her.

*

Mom loved cuddling Jacob. She seemed so at peace with the baby in her arms. It was so weird to think that she had done that three times. Have a baby, I mean. And she raised all of us–including Kyle. Seeing her like this made me see how she must have been when we were all babies. My brothers probably remembered her being like this, and maybe even Tempest remembered. But as the youngest, I never really got to see this side of her until now.

*

On my fifth day of being home, Kellen called me. I had been sort of hoping to talk to him but had felt weird making the call. As soon as I answered the phone, I felt a smile spread on my face.

“How’s life in the Valley again?” he said in a chipper voice when I greeted him.

“Crowded,” I laughed. “Six adults, one baby, and tons of visitors. Plus the baby’s crib is in the boys’ old room which you get to through my room.” I rolled my eyes and smiled more. “So I can hear him cry and then someone comes running through within a minute.”

Kellen laughed. “Sounds crazy to me. So it’s a boy?”

“Oh, yes,” I replied. “I have a nephew. His name is Jacob, after our grandfather.”

“Well,” Kellen said and I could feel that he was smiling, “congratulations to your brother and his husband.”

We talked for a while, not really about anything in particular but I enjoyed our conversation. I didn’t want to say goodbye but it was getting a it late and we both needed to get to bed so we said our goodnights and I shut my phone, tossing it onto my bed and then staring at nothing while I thought.

“Who were you talking to?”

I blinked and looked over at Tempest who had just come in. “Were you listening in?” I asked, tugging at one of my braids. “I thought we agreed no snooping.”

She took a few steps closer to me and folded her arms, shrugging a bit. “I didn’t hear much of anything but you sounded really happy so I was just…” She stared at me then looked away. “Never mind.”

“Temp…” I looked down at my hands and then pulled them back, bowing my head, my words unable to be said.

“Lune,” she said softly, “why do you treat me like an enemy?”

My chin snapped up and I stared at her in surprise. You push me down, I thought. You’re so… perfect… and I was always seen as your sister. I can’t be under your shadow. I won’t. I wrapped my arms around myself and sighed. “Why do you hate the fact I took a job at a science lab?”

“It’s–not right!” She sounded very strained and looked miffed. “It’s dangerous,” she added, almost as an afterthought.

“Tempest, the only thing I am being hurt by is the fact you are treating me like this simply for following my dreams!” I snapped out and her eyes widened as she turned to face me. Her lips started forming a syllable but nothing came out. “You’re the one treating me like an enemy, you’ve always treated me like an enemy!” I gripped my nightshirt, my chest heaving. “Ever since I started high school, you’ve been pushing me out of your life. And when I was practically attacked by that jerk, all you told me was to grow up?”

Tempest’s nostrils flared and she stepped forward, her eyes cold, her voice heated. “Well you know what, Luna? Did it ever occur to you that my life isn’t exactly all rainbows and unicorns? That maybe I went through some crap too? That maybe I was attack–” She stopped, backing up, not finishing her sentence but it was too late.

“Temp, did some guy–” But she didn’t let me finish my sentence either.

“No. I was not attacked by some guy,” she stated and I felt confused. She sounded honest about it. “I’m sorry I made you so angry… what, six years ago? And you’re still holding a grudge about it?”

“It was eight years ago, and it’s not just that!” I said desperately. “It’s everything! It’s like… you’re better than me. That your dreams are better than mine. It’s like what I want out of life isn’t good enough, because it’s something you disagree with!”

“What you’re doing is wrong!” she gasped out. “Can’t you see that? Experimentation and all that is just… it’s not right.”

“Shut up!” I snapped. “You know, I pointed it out to Dad but maybe you should have the same reminder. Science is what brought us all here. Without experimentation, Grandpa would never have had Dad so we wouldn’t be here! And even if Dad was alive, experimenting is what brought Mom to life! And now Jacob? Without the experimentation you hate, we wouldn’t exist! You owe your existence, your life, EVERYTHING, to–“

All the working out really put a lot of muscle in her. Her slap was like an icy wave hitting my cheek. I stumbled back, clutching the painful spot and staring with anger at Tempest who was breathing so hard it was like gasps of air. “You don’t understand anything,” she hissed out. “I have my reasons and judging from how you are acting, my fears about you…” She trailed off and shook her head, walking towards the door. “As long as you’re like that, don’t consider me your sister.” She flung open the door then stopped and looked over her shoulder.  When her eyes met mine, they were so full of hatred that I had to look away.

“And by the way, Luna, try to recall some of the things Dad told us about the Reddings. Particular when he was told he owed his existence to them. From as far as I can tell, you really are beginning to sound like her.” I squeezed my eyes shut, my breath ragged. Then Tempest whispered, “How long until you start acting like her, too?”

I pressed my hands against my face, managing to hold back the sobs until after she slammed the door shut.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Three - These Points Of Data. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to These Points Of Data – 3.8 – The Newest Danevbie

  1. Maddy says:

    Oh my gosh! Poor Luna! I don’t think she sounds like the Reddings at all! She’s just being logical, and she seems to be so misunderstood. I hope Kyle does have his little girls, and I wonder what Tempest was hinting at…? This just gets better and better!
    Keep writing 😀
    ~Maddy

  2. zbornie says:

    Well then. Tempest is being kind of obstinate. I LOVE that they named the baby Jacob Calcifer! ❤

  3. Jazen says:

    My goodness Tempest is really hard on Luna. I know they had issues stemming from the Reddings but she won’t even consider looking at things from Luna’s POV. There is more between them I can feel it. I can’t wait to see how things evolve between them.

  4. Avanis says:

    Oh, Tempest, how could you?

  5. thelizzy1990 says:

    I have no words to describe how mad I am at Tempest. =(

  6. CrazyChic says:

    Eek… excited to see how this is going to turn out, wish Luna didn’t have to travel back and forth so much. 😦

    I love Riverview and her new friends but… idk… it’s still far away from her family. 😦

  7. inspiritsgolden says:

    tempest, gurl, i’m going to SLAP YOU.

  8. ATMzie says:

    Whats up with Temp?

  9. gladissims says:

    Ya there is something seriously wrong with Tempest.

  10. B says:

    Tempest!! I will DESTROY YOU!!!!!!!!

    Thats is all and, btw, nice writing sErin. ^^

    Go Luna…she must take over the world of science!!! Mwuahahahaha! O_o

  11. Lathe says:

    I knew I wanted to see Tempest’s story… -sigh- Hopefully she’ll open up to Luna some day.

  12. Ouch, Temp, that hurt! :/ How can she think that her sister is anything like J? Although I suppose it is still only early days, and everyone has to start somewhere….

  13. Rozelliee says:

    I know you’ve heard it a million times but those were some really piercing and majorly uncalled-for stabs Tempest took there! I mean they are both being stubborn in a sense but I feel horrible for Luna.

    If you don’t mind, could you please give me a list of Temp’s and Luna’s current traits? 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah, Tempest and Luna are both being stubborn and refusing to listen to the other. Temp did say some nasty things 😦
      Luna’s traits are “Genius, Eccentric, Excitable, Workaholic, Neurotic” and Tempest’s traits are.. hmm, let me think. Athletic, virtuoso, family-oriented, no sense of humor and I can’t remember her original fifth one. I lost my game and had to download everyone off the exchange and I had changed her trait since it wasn’t base game to mooch, so she’s had mooch since chapter 20 of Luna’s story. I can’t remember her original fifth trait, though. Sorry 😦

      • Rozelliee says:

        It’s okay. 🙂 I asked because I figured if they had conflicting traits then it would just be adding fuel to the flame!

  14. mewmewmentor says:

    I totally gasped when I read that Kenya was Elouia’s grandson. If I knew that, I forgot, and now I feel bad since I liked Elouia. But I love that he is. :3

    I also love, love, love little Jacob Jr. only because of his name. ❤ ❤ :/ I just lost any respect or liking I had for Tempest. Judging her sister for the actions of someone they’ve never met is just ridiculous. The Reddings have turned into a scary story told to the kids so they won’t do what the bad guys did. But the thing is, Luna’s right. Not all science is bad. The Acinert people may be suspicious, but I have no proof yet that they’re actually bad. Luna is a scientist and she’s a good soul. She may have some of her great-aunt in her, but she is not Jay. She is Luna Danevebie. Not J. Redding. Luna Danevebie. And whatever else, growing up in the Danevebie household was very different than growing up in the Redding household. What her great-aunt did has nothing to do with what Luna will turn out like. Tempest is just being a brat.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I don’t know if it was mentioned before this point. Kyle did it all on his own. He was friends with Kenya and one time I popped in on him when he was over at Kenya’s, and they were all flirty-flirty. And then Kenya asked him to the dance, and then asked to go steady when they were there :3 I was like… -flail happily-
      Yeah Tempest has a few… problems with things right now 😦 The Reddings are a big scary story to them.
      Yeah, Luna was right though Temp just refused to see her side of things. Luna… is a bit like her great-aunt but not a whole lot, mostly the love of knowledge and advancing in that field.
      ….
      I seriously can’t wait to reveal what the Reddings were like as kids, honestly. @_@ I wanna do it now but lol it has to wait till the very end. -flails-

  15. FruHurricane says:

    I wonder what’s behind Tempest’s surface. I actually think Luna is about as bad, they both ought to listen to each other if they want to make amends.

    I agree with Temp though, Luna is a bit like her grandmother, even though I think (hope) that she is better and not as obsessed.

    Love the baby name. ❤

  16. zefiewings says:

    I see both sides. What Tempest doesn’t see is there is a key word difference in the sentence, owning life to science is different from owning life to a scientist. What Luna doesn’t see is that Temp clearly has some other problem.

  17. It’s horrid seeing such bad blood between sister, they both need to learn to communicate better
    , Luna (with a little nudge from Kellen) seems to be getting there while Temp seems to be going the other way. Ugh.

    Yay for little Jacob Calcifer (and his future siblings too!)

    • sErindeppity says:

      The two of them really should try to communicate more, that is for sure. Tempest has had problems in her life making it difficult to be close to Luna, but she doesn’t try as much as she should to keep things peaceful 😦

Leave a Reply

