These Points Of Data – 3.23 – Ancora

When Jay asked if I would eat lunch with her, I wondered if we’d go out somewhere but she just took me to a part of the building I had never been in before. I realized it was her office, and I nervously sat down near her desk.

“I figure you need to talk to me about something?” I asked, pulling a container of food out of my bag.

Jay sat down at her desk and watched me with careful eyes. “You came back from your leave a little early. So to speak. You did request extra leave… however, you came back before that was over.”

I no longer had an appetite so I just poked at the food. “Is that a problem?”

“No,” was her answer. “It pleases me. Perhaps Ancora will be available for your visit sooner. In fact, I’ve been thinking about you a lot. Perhaps… I was wrong. Perhaps you should be working at a higher level.”

I nearly dropped my fork. “I thought that was supposed to happen after a year.”

She shrugged and began examining her nails. “Hard work should be rewarded, no?”

“Why are you doing this?” I asked, snapping the container lid shut and putting it back in my bag. “Doctor… I appreciate the offer. I just want to know why. Hard work? I just came back after two and a half months of leave.”

“Would you normally ask an employer why you receive a promotion?” she inquired. I shook my head and she smirked. “Why am I different?”

I think that’s the question on everyone’s mind, I thought. “I’m just confused,” I said, hoping I wasn’t smirking back. “So am I… I’m getting that promotion?”

“Yes,” she said. “I think a month would be a good time. That will give me the chance to organize…” She trailed off and pretended to look a bit flustered, but I could see through it. She meant to say that, I knew she did. To bait me. And I was curious to know what she’d have to organize. But I decided to just let it pass this time.

“Good,” I said. “A month sounds perfect. Well, I should be going.” I stood up, grabbing my stuff and picking the fork up off the floor from where it had dropped.

Jay looked annoyed, to my amusement. “Yes. Well. I am sorry I have not had time to send a note of congratulations for your triplets. Named after characters from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, I understand.”

I was at the door, my hand on the knob. “Yes,” I said quietly. “Viola, Sebastian, and Cesario. How did you know?” I turned but she was back in smirk mode.

“Shame a man using his intellect for such bawdry tales has been elevated to such esteem.” She picked up a pen and clipboard, turning her chair so the back was to me. “Intellect should be used for more… progressive ideas. I’m sure you agree.”

“Sure…” I opened the door and quickly left, not liking the idea she knew about my kids’ names since I didn’t think anyone at work did–not even Kay.

*

Working again helped settle me down, even if Kellen’s mom wound me up. I was even happier spending times with my kids now, in the evenings and on weekends when I didn’t work. Sleep wasn’t perfect but that didn’t bother me too much. I took to eating lunch by myself in my office after a half-hour nap.

My promotion came, and I was excited. I knew that this meant I’d finally be able to visit Ancora. The night before I was promised by Kay to be taken there, I asked Kellen what the village was like.

“Small,” was his answer. “But nice. The villagers are nice but you know that, you’ve talked with them before.” I nodded and urged him to continue. “The population is less than a hundred. They are very self-sufficient. Farmers supply everything. Oh, you’ll see tomorrow. Why such the curiosity?”

I shrugged and snuggled up against him. “I dunno, I just am. Oh, I’ll get that,” I added as Cesario’s lustful wail started, following closely by Viola’s cry.

*

Kay was the one to take me to the village. I was trying not to show how excited I was, and all I could think of was Kellen’s words. Why so curious? I had no idea. Part of it was knowing that this town was the whole reason for Acinert. For Jay being here. Maybe seeing Ancora for myself… I’ll understand a little more about her. Well, very little. Well, maybe an iota. Well… maybe.

Kay pulled up in a little grassy field and we walked through some trees for a bit before coming across a very tall, strong gate. There were stone walls all around the area, preventing me from seeing much. I could see a bit of the town, and two red people on the other side of the gate.

“Miss Danevbie!” one of the said when we arrived at the gate. “Remember me? Ross?”

I smiled at the young man. “I remember you. How are you doing?”

He grinned at me as Kay unlocked the gate on his side. “I’m doing great. I’ve started working. Oh, this is my father.” He indicated the other red sim who was unlocking the other side of the gate. “Can I pull it open?”

The older man rolled his eyes. “I suppose.”

Ross grabbed one of the handles and began pulling. I could tell the gate was heavy, but he managed to get it swung all the way open. Then he bowed as we came in. “Welcome to Ancora!”

The gates shut and Kay reached through to lock the outside of the gate, while Ross’s father locked the inside. Then I noticed two more locks where the gate met the wall. Quite the security. But I didn’t have much mind for that now. I bid Ross farewell then turned to get my first proper look of the village.

It was a bit away, though not too far. There was a cluster of buildings in the center, then a few buildings here and there closer to the great wall that surrounded the place. Kay and I went towards the cluster of buildings and I tried not to stare. There were rainbow sims everywhere, and I recognized a few of them as ones I had talked to before. I also spotted a few of the workers of Acinert, and then I saw Kellen.

He excused himself from his conversation and sauntered over. “Well, Mrs. Danevbie. Welcome to Ancora. Is it all you imagined?”

I grinned, trying not to smack him. “I think it’s a nice little place.”

Kellen glanced at Kay. “Well, um, I should get back to work. Professor Dearg, nice to see you too…”

“Y-you t-too,” Kay stammered.

Kellen looked at him, then back at me and I saw slight confusion on his face for a second. Then he shrugged, and went back to the conversation he was having with a little girl who wasn’t something I expected of a rainbow.

But she was adorable. I saw another colorless person down the street, carrying a large basket of fruit. “We h-have a f-few of them,” Kay said when I asked. “The W-Wing f-family, and th-the Beason f-family.”

As we walked around, I felt slightly… disappointed. After all this time, suddenly being dropped down into Ancora, finding out there wasn’t anything particularly special about it–yes, I was disappointed. But still intrigued.

*

As the weeks went by, I visited Ancora whenever I could to figure out what it was about the place. Since I was more or less my own boss, I assigned myself to all the projects that took me there even if they weren’t particularly interesting. Going in and collecting blood samples wasn’t exactly pushing the horizon of my intellect, but I had to figure out what it was. Ancora was… well, I didn’t know. But there was something.

“You’re imagining things,” Kellen said when I told him about my curiosity. “Ancora is… just a little village, full of rainbows, under study.”

I ran my finger over my lips, trying to think. “Why is it under study? Why does it even exist? I mean, surely Acinert could find volunteers elsewhere. What exactly is Acinert studying?”

Kellen opened his mouth then closed it. “Different things.” I gave him a look and he chuckled. “You’re putting way too much into this, Lune.” He kissed my forehead and went to check on Sebastian.

I stayed where I was, sort of drifting off as I thought. Was I really putting too much into this? Was I thinking there was something there, because I wanted something to be there?

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Three - These Points Of Data. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to These Points Of Data – 3.23 – Ancora

  1. Spiderg1rl says:

    Yay Ancora. I’m glad Luna found a balance between the two pulls in her life. Jay always intrigues me, what is she up to and why is she so invested in the Danevbie line? She’s always known what they are up to and seems to have very high expectations of Luna. This woman seems to have had some sort of plot before she called Jacob that I get the idea is coming out like she hoped. If not better than she hoped.

    • sErindeppity says:

      It won’t be until the tenth and last generation when the complete truth about why Jay is so invested in the Danevbies comes out, I will say that. But you are right about her having a plot before pulling Jacob into things 😀 But it might not be what you expect.
      Jay does have really high expectations of Luna o_o

  2. gladissims says:

    I wish I knew what Jay was up to…the one who lives the one will see. Great update as usual and I really like reading it=) I just love your legacy =D

  3. ATMzie says:

    lol, I accidently read this before the previous chapter! I kept wondering why you had skipped over the birth…

  4. thelizzy1990 says:

    I love the triplets, especially the names. I know virtually nothing about Shakespeare except for Twelfth NIght, and only because I’ve seen She’s the Man. lol. Also, Ancora – finally! Not what I was expecting, but I’m looking forward to finding out why Jay’s so interested in it.

    Speaking of which, I was hoping Luna would be the one to put a stop to Jay … somehow. But I suppose someone that evil can’t be dealt with easily. Hopefully Kay stays for all ten generations as well. 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      I studied Twelfth Night twice (once in a Shakespeare comedies class, and once in English Literature through the 18th century). It’s probably my second favorite comedy by Shakespeare (Much Ado being the first). Since I was giving them character names, I loved the idea of naming them that even though Cesario was “technically” female haha.
      I want to do more in Ancora but I’m trying to keep things to a minimum right now. But there will be plenty other scenes there. ^_^
      Ah, Luna would be great to stop Jay but we do have seven more generations ;P

  5. Jazen says:

    I’m not liking all the things she lets slid with Jay. She let’s her curiosity be used against her instead of sticking to what she really needs to know. Jay knows that and uses that to her advantage. I’m disappointed in Luna about that.

    Kellen is starting to give me a weird feeling.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I did have a hard time with Kellen in this chapter heh. -sweatdrop- didn’t mean to give off a weird vibe, though.
      But yes, Luna does let Jay get away with a lot. Part of it is that Luna knows something up but she just doesn’t know what. But another part of it is she thinks she keeps making the right decision (work=money=helping pay for things the kids need). She’s justifying herself, and refuses to accept that someone with her intelligence can make such bad decisions.
      And yes. Jay is taking sooooo much advantage of her personality! Jay is evil. 😀

    • sErindeppity says:

      OH and I wanted to add, it makes me so happy to know you’re disappointed in Luna about some things. I’m trying so hard to make them seem human and hearing that helps reassure me that I’m doing at least somewhat of an ok job. ^____^

  6. bakergirl17 says:

    Love this chapter. It was nice and I like how things are going so far them.

  7. JourneyG says:

    go with your gut Luna something is up!

  8. Uh oh, I’m getting a bad feeling about this.. :O Off to read the next chapter!

  9. mewmewmentor says:

    No, you are not imagining things, Luna! Naida was plenty interesting, and don’t you dare forget about that woman who DIED after an accident, and don’t forget about the SYRINGES Kellen had and how very nervous he was acting! I think Kellen’s been keeping things from her. Everyone’s been keeping things from her. Ancora is not all the scientists are claiming it is.

    I really hope Luna figures that out. A big clue as to why she’s antsy – the giant gate. I’m pretty sure it’s not to keep people out, but to keep the rainbows in…

    They’re all being brainwashed. Brainwashed, I tell you!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Initial reaction to this comment: I love your comments they seriously make me happy.
      Second reaction: I can’t wait to see what you have to say about gen four.
      Lengthy reaction: Yeah there’s a lot of things going on she’s not seeing but she feels the need to be loyal to Acinert 😦 The gate and walls and guards are there for a reason, and you may be right about what they’re there for x3 Though Kellen may not be keeping things from her, if he’s being lied to too. Or… is he? :3

  10. FruHurricane says:

    Ancora looks a bit like a ghetto with all that security. :/ I wonder why Jay is so quick to throw promotions after Luna. Something is up! Keep investigating Luna!

    Oh, and your Luna is pretty much the opposite to my own Luna and in the same time a bit similar. XD

Leave a Reply

