Break These Chains – 4.0 – The Masked Boy

Author’s Note: Break These Chains will contain mature themes and scenes within it. I will not have bad language, or explicit content–but it will be rather dark. Will contain manipulation, addiction (though no drugs), abuse, intense emotion, and mention of rape. If you have problems with these, don’t say I didn’t warn you. If you don’t want to read it here is a summary.

~*~~*~

It was quiet at the beach, the sound of the waves soothing my frazzled nerves. It was the night of a costume dance of my school, and I hadn’t wanted to go. But Cesario, like always, begged me to take someone his date knew. A sister. A cousin. A best friend. This time it was a cousin, and the dance had been a total disaster, worse than I expected.

I had tried to get out of dancing and then when she finally did convince me, I wound up knocking her over and giving her a bruise on her arm. When I tried to apologize, she backed away from me and into someone holding food which spilled all over the back of her dress. She slapped me and took off with her cousin, which resulted in Zari getting ticked off. I just left early, not wanting to deal with his temper.

But I didn’t want to go home either, so here I was. Getting sand on my stupid costume, brooding over the events of the stupid night. I won’t ever let him talk me into this again, I decided. No more cousins, or sisters, or whatever. My eyes closed and I stretched out, enjoying the cool evening air.

“Hey.”

I sat up, giving a yelp at the voice from no where. I glanced over my shoulder and saw a boy standing a few feet away from me, his arms folded, his face unknown to me due to the mask over his upper face.

“Sorry,” he chuckled. “I didn’t mean to scare you. Mind if I join you?”

“I–I don’t care.” I wrapped my arms around my knees, feeling uncomfortable as he sat next to me. “Um, I’m–“

“Panthera tigris tigris,” he cut in quickly with a smile. “I know.”

I was confused for a split second but then laughed, realizing he meant my costume. “Yeah. And you are…?”

“I dunno.” He settles his hands on his knees, face towards the sky. “A masked stranger, I suppose. You okay? I saw you take off like a bat out of hell. Or a tiger out of hell, whichever you prefer.”

“I–had a bad evening,” I mumbled. “People and me don’t seem to mix well.”

“Me either,” he admitted with a half-shrug. “You know, sometimes I think things would be better if we just wore masks all the time. Anonymous, always. Nobody knows who you are.” He turned his head and smirked. “Nobody knowing who you are if you fall, or slip up. It’d be nice.”

I raised my eyebrows, surprised by this. “Yeah but if you were anonymous always, you’d never be able to…” I trailed off and shifted a bit. “It’d make relationships a wee bit difficult.”

“Relationships?” he asked with a laugh. “I thought you and people didn’t mix. Wouldn’t it be easier if no one knew you, ever? Wouldn’t it be easier to deal with masks instead of people?”

“I… guess, sometimes,” I said. “But wouldn’t people remember you by your mask?”

He leaned in close, his breath on my ear. “Not if you changed your mask,” he whispered in a low voice. Then he pulled away, laughing heartily. “I guess I’m worse with people than you, but I agree. It’d be hard to have a relationship. Unless you found someone you truly trusted. Course, things can go wrong even in relationships like that.”

I was silent, not really sure how to answer him. I felt like I was falling for some reason, the way he talked–it was so strange, yet compelling. Then I jumped, as his hand brushed against mine.

“I’m making you nervous,” he accused. “Should I stop talking?”

“N-no,” I stammered. “I mean, if you want to you can. I…”

“So do you have a relationship, Mr. Tiger?” His change of subject was like a door I was leaning against suddenly being pulled open. “A girlfriend?”

“No, not a girlfriend,” I said. “Not,” I added quickly, “that it’s any of your business.”

“I think… sometimes… finding someone anonymously, behind a mask, would be wonderful. Then they wouldn’t judge you on your looks, but your personality.” His fingers brushed against my hand again. “Who a person truly is matters more than anything else. Do you agree? Mr. Tiger?”

“Yes,” I replied.

“I find you interesting,” he said, turning so he could look at me from behind his mask. “Do you find me interesting?”

I stared at him, my heart racing. “You are mysterious,” I said.

“Mysterious is good.” He reached up, pushing some of my hair back and suddenly I realized I was not in familiar territory anymore. My palms got sweaty and my heart disappeared completely. “Tell me, Mr. Tiger, have you ever been kissed?”

“I… I…” Words failed me and my hand twitched away from his. “Excuse me.” I quickly got to my feet, and he got to his, a hand on my arm.

“Now I am making you very nervous,” he said, though not in a joking manner. “Forgive me. But I am intrigued by you. Always alone, or tagging behind his younger brother…”

His fingers brushed my cheek but I couldn’t move. “You–you were spying on me!” I snapped halfheartedly.

His lips twisted, smiling. “I noticed you,” he corrected me. “Can you blame me?”

“I’m not gay,” I said flatly, deciding to end this now.

“Are you not? How do you know if you don’t have a girlfriend?”

“J-just because I don’t have one now doesn’t mean…” I stopped and felt my face getting hot. “I… don’t… Please, don’t.”

“Don’t what?” he asked, tilting his head. “Do this?”

And his lips were against mine before I could stop him. I raised my hands to push him away but found myself in a tight embrace I couldn’t get out of… a embrace part of me didn’t want to get out of. But then his lips were gone and all I saw were glittering eyes behind the mask.

“Did you like that? I can tell you did, so don’t lie,” he whispered. “If you really didn’t like it, you’d have run off by now. I think, Mr. Tiger, you liked this a lot more than you let on.”

I couldn’t answer him because he was right. I didn’t know why he was right, but he was–and when he kissed me again, I didn’t bother stopping him. I hadn’t been kissed before, I’ve done nothing like this before. But I liked it, at least right now I did. Was it the setting? The night sky over the ocean, us in the sand. Was it his words? The way he spoke?

Or was it more? It had to be more, because I kissed him back, wanting this more than I wanted anything else. And he sensed this, so we stayed this way for a long time. Locked in an embrace, needing this human contact like a lifeline. And I wanted more–but knew it’d be a mistake. So did he. When we said our goodbyes, hours later, he gave me a very gentle kiss and asked me to wait for him.

I replied yes, without hesitation. Even when he told me he didn’t go to my school, I still agreed. I promised I’d wait for him, and it wasn’t until he was gone that I realized I had no idea who he was.

*

The rest of the night was a bit of a daze, and I got into so much trouble with my parents for staying out after curfew. I didn’t care. I felt so different now. Lighter. Free. Even if he was out of my life forever, those hours with him changed my life for good.

And in the morning, my parents told me there was an envelope for me. No return address, nothing but my name. Inside was a folded piece of paper with the words ‘I always keep my promises’ written on it.

I knew I’d one day see him again.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.0 – The Masked Boy

  1. Jazen says:

    Wow…what an intro into his gen. I’m scared of your opening warning. The manipulation part worries me. I like Seb and don’t want bad things to happen to him. Jacob’s generation was sad and painful and I don’t know if I can handle another one like that. 😦

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hehe -sweatdrop- I hope you like his story. :\ but it’s going to be different than Jacob, don’t worry. Bad things may happen, though. There will be happiness as well. And I promise that he will have true love.

  2. thelizzy1990 says:

    O_O … what the heck … I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised at the idea of a gay heir since you’ve introduced male pregnancy, I just didn’t think you’d be bringing that up again for a few more gens.

    Regardless, I loved the chapter, and I’m still excited to see what kind of trouble Seb’s going to get into. πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      I wasn’t going to but when Seb got coward and easily impressed, I thought that this story would be a good one for him. I wasn’t planning on having a gay heir for a while but these things happen -shrug- (course I wasn’t intending on Kyle to be gay, he decided that himself haha)
      (I am nervous about this though, with him being gay. I hope people don’t mind :\ )

  3. Spiderg1rl says:

    I have a feeling I am going to be begging for posts again with this gen. Your warning worries me that poor Seb is going to go through an exceptionally tough time.

  4. Hakari says:

    I’m sooo excited about this generation, I can’t find words that would accurately describe it XD
    I have this feeling that I will sob more than I did while reading Jacob’s story, but nonetheless, I can’t wait to see what happens. (:

  5. vjenna says:

    Omg I love this! I’m already hooked and I love how you get chapters out so quickly. I have no problem with the homosexuality at all, I think it helps the story develop and blossom. Barvo can’t wait to read more. You inspired me to get back into writing and I’m working on getting my own legacy running once my sims are working on my computer again.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I’m glad you like it so much, and thank you for your words and the comment ❀
      I had to take a long break (a couple months) since sims stopped working on mine but I am so happy I got it back; I hope you get yours working soon. Let me know when you do put your legacy up so I can read it! :3

      • vjenna says:

        Your welcome, I have been a fan of yours since the beginning!

        I started my own legacy, it’s rough right now real rough. Getting used to wordpress is hard lol.

        Here’s my link if you would like to read it, I’m going to start it on a sims fourm when I get more for it, like a banner and such.
        http://jennasims.wordpress.com/

      • sErindeppity says:

        Awesome! Lemme know when you do get a forum for it. I commented on your first chapter, it sounds like it’s gonna be very exciting! ❀

  6. ATMzie says:

    Awesome. But mystery dude gives me the creeps. Maybe I’m just reading him in a creepy voice.

  7. “Inside was a folded piece of paper with the words β€˜I always keep my promises’ written on it.”
    How exciting! Looking forward to more and cannot wait to see how this gen turns out. πŸ˜‰ -EQ

  8. PoisonusOblivion says:

    I think its wonderful that you have a gay heir. If people mind then perhaps they are too closed-minded to be your readers. You should be proud to write from the POV of good people who get so mistreated in this world. Great start to what I feel will be a great generation!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you, and I knew I needed to at least have the warning up. If someone doesn’t like it then they don’t like it and can avoid my story/this generation. It’s their decision. But I am proud to write from the POV of characters like him, and Jacob, and Calcifer (well and Luna but she wasn’t really mistreated in that sort of way.)

  9. gladissims says:

    That guy really gave me the creeps…Sebastian run away please! I thought as I read it. This is going to get Sebastian in so much trouble…well as long as he gets out of it. Great start =) Can’t wait for chapter one!

  10. B says:

    Gosh the last few chapters of Gen 3 got me so sad..its good to see a kind of turn for the better in the start of a new generation πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see mystery man’s face πŸ˜›

  11. MissCee says:

    Ummmm, I don’t know . . . Sim’s sometimes surprise us. Sebastian may have his own plans.

    Traits of Coward and Easily Impressed doesn’t necessarily mean anything except that he prefers to “go with the flow”. Whatever is easiest and the least confrontational doesn’t necessarily mean he’s made up his mind. We all struggle to discover what true love really is and is not. Don’t know, but I think this might build up to a sort of “Fatal Attraction.”

    The mystery man seems totally bad news, a manipulator/predator/stalker/user. He’ll always be watching and controlling, so Sebastian’s gonna get hurt. Hopefully he’ll also come out wiser and stronger.

    Well I’m old as well as being old-fashioned, I’ve learned life has a lot of twists and turns for us along the way. I’m going to hold on to hopes that there’ll be a few surprises in the storyline. If not, I concede that you have posted your warnings and reiterated that readers like myself have the option to forego this generation.

    Been a while since I posted, but wanted to let you know I’ve enjoyed following the Danevbies. You are a good writer Serin; keep Simming.

    Blessings,
    MissCee

    • sErindeppity says:

      Glad to hear from you! πŸ™‚

      You may or may not be right about the stranger, though. It’s gonna be an intense generation though (at least, I think it will). And he is the type to go with the flow, and tries to avoid confrontation. Which is going to factor in quite a bit throughout the story.

      I’m a pretty old-fashioned girl in real life but when I write, the stories just take off and I type as fast as I can to keep up. Plots do turn out different than I usually intend them to (Calcifer’s gen was really different than the original plan). I used to never write homosexual characters until I started writing a lot of Harry Potter fanfiction; lack of female characters sort of eased me into it, so now I’m okay with writing about and from the viewpoint of different sexual orientations.But I will warn you that Sebastian is going to be gay–and if you wish to just skip this generation I understand completely and won’t think any differently of anyone who does. I just hope it doesn’t put anyone off from reading later generations, and I will include a short synopsis at the end that sort of summarizes things for those who do skip it. ^_^

      I understand about it being hard to read about characters who do things and are involved in things that are out of a comfort zone. Myself, I have an extremely hard time dealing with anything involving suicide because of someone I loved dearly. And sometimes when a movie or book has that, I just have to turn it off or put it down, or else skip ahead. I know it’s not quite the same, but I just wanted to say I do understand πŸ™‚

  12. JourneyG says:

    umm.. ok. not at all sure where this is going. But that can be a good thing. πŸ˜†

    • sErindeppity says:

      I hope you like it anyway :3 If not, feel free to skip the generation–there will be a synopsis at the end for those who do.

      • JourneyG says:

        I read your comment above I think if it is well written I will love it. Knowing you I’m sure it will be. certain things do turn me off as well but homosexuality is not one of them.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Thanks πŸ™‚ it’s not the homosexuality that worries me the most about reception of this generation, it’s going to be the darkness and the emotion, and what Sebastian will be going through. :I

  13. MissCee says:

    Thanks for the reply Serin. Feel the same about suicide and a few other things because of my son. Appreciate the synopsis info. Will miss following, but will check in when generation changes. All the Best.
    MissCee

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks MissCee, I appreciate your replies and everything and I hope to hear from you again when the generation changes πŸ™‚ I am sorry if I said anything to upset you though, I realize now that I am sometimes blunt about that since it’s sometimes the only way I can say it without getting emotional. :\ It was my brother, for me.
      Blessings to you, and thank you again for your honesty and replies ❀

  14. :O Wow, what a start!!! This is going to be a very interesting generation, can’t wait to read on! πŸ™‚

  15. Just found your legacy when browsing the official forum – I love this opening chapter of this generation, very intriguing indeed!

  16. Mia says:

    STALKER!

    But, I love my Sebby. Hopefully he won’t have such a terribly tragic life.

  17. mewmewmentor says:

    Oooooh! :3

    Okay, I have a confession. I started your story in the middle of this generation. So I actually knew certain things – like the fact that Luna would have triplets, and that Sebastian would be the heir…and that he would wind up with a certain man. *cough* I was linked here from Sky Babies, to a certain chapter involving one Melody Sky’s kids. So, even though I know some of what’s coming, I’m going to continue reading like I have been, because for one, I don’t know how Seb got in the position he did with the person he did. But I can guess, judging from this chapter. Also, I have no idea how the Reddings figure into this one.

    Anyways, now that you know all that, I wanted to say I can totally see how Seb fell for him. It started out sweet.

    Oh, oh, oh, quick question! When Jacob met the Reddings, were they still in their first…uh, how do I phrase this…were they on the youth potion yet? Or were they about Jacob’s age?

    • sErindeppity says:

      LOL I am so happy to hear all that. ^__^ I know which chapter you mean :3 Also, glad to know you’re gonna be reading this generation even knowing some of the stuff. Especially if you don’t know about the Reddings then I am assuming you didn’t read this gen all the way to the end? I hope you like it ^_^ this gen has been my favorite to write so far. I adore Sebastian ❀
      The Redding twins were born around the same time as Jacob, so they had not gone on any youth potion at the time. Jay discovered it sometime after they left Sunset Valley.

  18. Just because I can’t see his face I don’t trust him. You couldn’t see the woman who tried to ruin Jacob’s future face. Therefore I shall not trust him.

  19. jonso says:

    Ooooh…. sexy. πŸ™‚ Eeee, he’s like a lil’ Kellen!

  20. MunnieSims says:

    Wow! So I’m playing catch up and dear goodness i love this story. This has actually made me want to continue my legacy and really get into it. I hope my turns out to be as awesome as this. I love Seb and I hope he isnt hurt too bad. : / *continues reading*

    • sErindeppity says:

      Ahh I am so glad to hear you like it! Thanks for commenting. And eeee I feel honored that I’ve inspired you to continue yours. You should link me when you can to it so I can hopefullyonedaysoon read it. Unless you have linked me. In which case… x_x I can’t remember. D: Sorry if that’s the case. I’m sure yours is going to be awesome! I’m glad you love Seb, I really love him too and I hope you like his story.

  21. zefiewings says:

    Bah! There is very little chance that is going to go well!

    On the other hand…you make him so obviously odd that maybe you will make him good just to throw us for a loop lol.

Leave a Reply

