Break These Chains – 4.14 – And More Heartbreak

I hummed happily to myself as I decorated the house. It was still two weeks till Christmas but I felt the need to just decorate. The tree would remain undecorated until Douglas had some time to help me with it.

I frowned as I stepped back to study what I had done. Looked pretty good, as far as I could tell. Hopefully Douglas likes it. He said he’d like anything I did to the house but I made him promise to tell me if he didn’t like anything. After all this was our house, not my house.

“Owww…” I rubbed my eyes, heading to the bathroom. I was not used to contacts. They felt strange and alien to me. Plus I was constantly having to fix them. I’ll get used to them eventually, I thought as I removed them and rubbed my eyes some more.

Just the week before Douglas had asked why I didn’t change from glasses to contacts. I answered that I didn’t really see any point. That’s when he took my glasses off my face and put his forehead against mine. “But your eyes are the most gorgeous eyes in the world. It should be criminal to hide them. Please don’t hide them anymore!”

So the day after, I bought contacts. Everyone remarked how different I looked and thankfully most of them agreed that it was really nice to see my eyes. Mom especially, since they were the exact same color as her mom’s eyes. In fact, the only one who seemed unhappy was Hal.

“Your glasses looked so you…” he mumbled, and that was all he said on the matter. Of course that hurt me a little, but it was getting easier to ignore the pain he caused me.

“I’m home!” Douglas called.

I put my contacts back in and went out to greet him. He had a large shopping bag in one hand that I pretended to want to get into. He yelped and tried to hide it behind his back. “Aw just a peek?” I asked.

“No!” he laughed. “And no going looking for them. If you do, Santa won’t visit. He doesn’t visit bad boys.”

I gave a very loud, exaggerated sigh. “Fiiiine. I’ll go bury my head somewhere while you hide the presents. OH!” I said as he turned towards the basement door. “I told you, you cannot go into the laundry room till tomorrow!”

He pursed his lips. “You should wrap them tonight. Fine, fine. I’ll put this in the trunk of car. Lemme know when I’m allowed to put them in the laundry room since I won’t have time to wrap anything till this weekend.”

“So what, you’ll do the laundry?” I asked, grinning broadly.

Doug made a face in reply then headed out of the house. I had taken over pretty much all the household chores. I didn’t mind cleaning as well as cooking, and he always complained about doing dishes and laundry. He did them, he just complained while doing so. Plus he had gotten another promotion and had to work more.

That night we decorated the tree then curled up on the sofa with some nectar. Not something we usually did since I wasn’t too big a fan of nectar. But Doug loved it, and it wasn’t terrible so took the occasional night to do this. We sipped at the sweet drink and watched a romantic movie. It was so cozy. The only thing missing was a fireplace. Maybe if we get a real house, we’ll get one with a fireplace, I thought, snuggling up against Doug and feeling more content then I ever had before in my life.

*

The cookies came out perfectly. I tried not to dance with joy as I set the beautifully made sweets on the counter. Viola was throwing a party and she asked me to bring some dessert. She knew while my regular cooking had improved, baking still seemed to cause me problems. This was my third attempt and finally the cookies were not burnt.

“Hey sweetie,” I said without turning around as the door opened. “Remember we have a party to go to. Do you need to get a shower? I need one. I’m covered in flour.” I finally turned, my big smile fading as I saw Douglas’s face.

I knew without hesitation something was wrong. I was at his side in an instant. “What’s wrong? Did something happen?”

“Yes,” he whispered. “No. Well, sorta. I–” He stopped and gulped, looking even more nervous. “Let’s go into the living room, okay?” He rubbed his hands, looking around the kitchen as if expecting something to jump out.

“Okay…” I trotted after him, not bothering to take my apron off. We took seats on the couch and I waited in silence for him to start talking. I was terrified he’d tell me there had been an accident. That something had happened to one of my parents, even though I would have been informed long before him… or maybe he saw something on his way home?

“Sebastian…” He dropped his head, his voice thick with… something. Sadness? Depression? Fear? “I love you.”

“I love you too,” I said, putting my hand on his shoulder but he flinched back as I did. I pulled my hand back, starting to feel sick. Why… did he start… the conversation like that?

He put his head in his hands and groaned. “I need to tell you something. It’s… something I really, really, really need to tell you. I just don’t know how to do it.” He was quiet for a moment more then looked back up at me. “I’ll understand if you totally hate me, okay?”

I put my hands in my lap. “What is it?” I asked, feeling even sicker. Was he going to break up with me? Had I done something wrong?

“I do love you…” he said and that really didn’t bode well. I sank back, waiting for it. The words ‘let’s break up’. Please, no, anything but that, I thought and then got my wish in a sickening, twisted way. “Right after you came back to Sunset Valley–before I moved here… I’ll just say it outright because you deserve the truth.” He took in a deep breath and looked in my eyes. “I cheated on you.”

I didn’t move. I couldn’t move. Did he say that? Did Douglas just say… those words? He must not be… he couldn’t… he wasn’t… no…

“I’m sorry,” he whispered, his voice hoarse. My ears began ringing, it was hard to hear him. “I’ve wanted to tell you for so long but then I was so scared. I thought–I thought maybe if I never told you, it didn’t matter. That what you didn’t know…” He trailed off, looking at me–but I didn’t say anything. I didn’t move. No. “And then everything was so perfect between us!” he continued, nervously standing up. “I love you so much and the first time you told me you loved me, I knew I had to tell you. But I kept putting it off. I made up excuses.”

“You cheated on me?” My voice was very small. I was surprised I could talk at all.

Douglas flinched again, like he had when I tried touching his shoulder. “Yes,” he mumbled. “And I should have told you ages ago but as I said… I just couldn’t bring myself to and kept thinking up excuses but I realized last night that you needed to know. I knew that by telling you I’d probably lose you.” He ran his fingers through his hair and looked away from me. “But you deserve the truth. You deserve everything. You deserve… a much better guy than me…”

“You cheated on me.” I stood up slowly, feeling dizzy. “…how? With who? Do I know him?”

“No,” Douglas said quickly. “And… well, oh jeez, this is the hard part. It… wasn’t a him.”

I reeled back in shock by that. “I–I don’t understand. You… cheated on me with a girl?”

“A female friend of mine,” he sighed. “It’s so stupid. I wasn’t thinking. She had just got dumped and we got completely drunk, and she had never…” He stopped, putting his head in his hand again. “I was so stupid. I didn’t think anything of it. I didn’t like it, I just wanted to help her.”

I turned away from him, hoping my heart would start again soon. “You were about to move back here to be with me, to share a house with me, and… you didn’t think anything of sleeping with some girl even though you knew you wouldn’t like it.”

“Unfortunately,” he sighed. “Sebastian…” I winced hearing my name from him after that. “I am sorry. I truly am. I regretted it right away and as I said, I’ve wanted to tell you but was scared. Except I couldn’t hide it… no… I could. I just didn’t want to. You deserve the best. I guess that’s not me.”

I went over to the tree, the beautifully decorated tree. I wanted to rip off the garlands, all the stupid ornaments, the idiotic lights… I felt like throwing up, I wanted to throw up. I wanted to throw him out. I wanted to hit him. I wanted to destroy everything. Instead I buried my face in my hands, the tears coming quickly.

“Sebastian, please say something. Or hit me. Please hit me. I deserve it. Or yell at me. Just don’t cry, I can’t bear seeing you cry.”

“Then maybe you shouldn’t have cheated on me!” I sobbed out.

“I’ll just go…” I heard him take a few steps then stop. “I am sorry. I wouldn’t blame you if you never wanted to see me again.”

I whirled around, staring at him in despair. “Well how would you feel if I cheated on you?!”

“Worse than hell. I deserve execution.”

I folded my arms, managing to slow the tears at least for now. “You deserve something,” I hissed out. “I–I just can’t believe this. I trusted you. I trusted you!”

He backed away, his hands up. “I know, and I know I’ve broken that trust and won’t get it back. I’m sorry, I am so sorry! And I know I don’t deserve forgiveness but I’ll do anything to at least…” He stopped and then shook his head. “But I don’t deserve it.”

“Go.” I pointed at the door. I didn’t want to be in this house with him but I was the wronged one in this situation, so he was the one who needed to leave. “Just go!”

“Sebastian–“

“GO!” I yelled and he jumped. “I don’t want to see you right now! Just leave me alone right now, I need to be alone right now! Please. Go.”

“I’ll come back to get my things–“

“Just go!”

“…I do love you…” He went over and left the room, then I heard him opening the door to outside. As soon as I heard it close, I staggered back, slowly crumpling to the floor.

My heart still wouldn’t start. I felt as though I had died. I wanted to die. Douglas had cheated on me. He had… he had… How could he have done that? Why would he do that? To get drunk? With a girl? Why?

After crying for quite some time, I texted Viola letting her know I wouldn’t be able to make it to the party. Then I managed to get to our bedroom but I just stared at the bed. I didn’t want to be here right now. I didn’t want to be in the living room, with all the cheery decorations. I didn’t want to be in the kitchen with the scent of cookies.

So I managed to stumble down the stairs and collapsed in the laundry room, crying until every inch of my body and soul hurt worse than they already did.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.14 – And More Heartbreak

  1. :O I was expecting anything else but not this! How could he?? 😦
    Poor Seb, what a way to ruin his christmas 😦

  2. bluexskittlesx says:

    Poor Seb!! I don’t think Doug’s the right guy for him at all! He cheats on him and tries to change him, he should be with Hal!! I feel so sorry for Seb πŸ˜₯

    • sErindeppity says:

      There has been a lot of “Poor Seb”/”I feel so bad for Seb” comments… and probably will be a lot more. xD and I feel the same way. I wanna hug Seb. D:

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        Haha you’re going to torture him aren’t you!? :O

      • sErindeppity says:

        πŸ™„
        Not gonna lie. Yes. :I

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        Nooo! I’m gonna sound mean now, most of your characters have been tortured in one way or another but it does make for a good story haha. But I’ll still feel sorry for them ='[ specially Seb, he’s a sweetie ^_^

      • sErindeppity says:

        Yeah I tend to put my characters through a lot of bad stuff. I dunno why… I think I like to write dramatic things the most. I like to write a character going through a journey, good and/or bad.
        I really do feel for the characters, though. I’ve put myself through all the emotions with this. Especially since I’m writing from their viewpoint… it can be really hard. It does make for a good story though, lol. And pretty much most the stories throughout the Danevbie generations (and Wings) are gonna have some low points, some more often than others.
        You don’t sound mean xD you’re just telling the truth.
        I’m the mean one ;D -hugs Seb tight though- πŸ˜₯

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        You’re not mean! You’re a very talented writer who explores new ideas and puts their writing to the test by going outside of your (and other peoples) comfort zone. Your legacy really is a pleasure to read. I was up til 5am the other day just trying to catch up, if it was a book it would be one of those you cannot put down.
        I enjoy reading dramatic stuff alot of the legacies out there are quite monotone and you can sort of see what’s coming next and not alot really happens in them. Yours is like a breath of fresh air! I love love love love LOVE it! πŸ˜€

        Rant over =] x

      • sErindeppity says:

        Aw, thank you so much!!! -hugs- That means a lot!!! -tries not to sound creepily happy- ^_^ I’m really hoping to become a published author one day. Soon. @_@

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        It doesn’t sound creepy haha xD *hugs* I’m sure you will be a published author one day soon! The quality’s there!

  3. I KNEW IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TEAM HAL ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!

  4. Hakari says:

    ASDFGHJKL DOUG BETRAYED MY TRUST AS WELL.
    This was just soo sad, I can’t believe he did that πŸ˜₯
    I’m officially switching to Team Hal.

  5. sweetribz says:

    😦 Thats not fair to Seb at all… I thought he was going to say he was sick with a heart condition again..and then……he said it…I’m so taken aback by all of this…

    Your writing is too good πŸ˜›

  6. Anon says:

    I cried at this entry. This is the second story to ever make me cry, and for that, you deserve a Wonderful Writer award. πŸ™‚

  7. ATMzie says:

    I never liked Doug! Ever since I started to read him in that creepy voice! …Okay, I actually did like him for a while there… but I was always weary of his actions! And now that he’s done this, I no longer trust him at all. I am team Hal all the way!
    I’m talking about the glasses of course, but that whole cheating thing’s not great new either πŸ˜›

  8. Jazen says:

    what??? He cheated with a girl???? I think there’s more to it than that I really do. And why now? They have been together for months, they have shared everything and now he wants to tell him?

    UGH!!!! Poor Seb.

  9. Aaw I had a feeling this pairing would end badly.

  10. Lathe says:

    Great painting on the wall behind Doug. ^_^

  11. nestea7 says:

    I knew it! -puts on helmet and grabs bat- Where is he, I’m ready to test out my new batting skills. >:) XD

  12. gladissims says:

    Ugh… Poor Sebastian! T-T
    I think someone is going to have to share the trip to MY aliens planet with Jay! *Evil grin* O yes!

  13. thelizzy1990 says:

    Nonononono. That lying little son of a llama… I can’t believe I was ever on his team. How could he do that to my Sebby?! What ever happened to “oh, Seb, you’re my only friend”? Well, apparently he had another friend after all! *sigh* Rant over.

    On the plus side, Seb really does look good without glasses, but ultimately I agree with Hal. Glasses just suit him.

  14. Mia says:

    Nope, I’m still Team Doug. πŸ˜€

    You better fix this; Sebby can’t end up with Hal!

  15. I have a bad feeling that one of them is going to do something really stupid :/ Poor Sebby, things were just starting to look up for him and now this.

  16. zefiewings says:

    Weird…he just seemed like the kind of guy that wouldn’t bother to admit it. I feel there is more to this story.
    And why do I have almost no doubt that he will manage to convince Seb to get back with him?

  17. somebodysangel13 says:

    I agree with Hal, the glasses are more ‘Seb’. That’s been my issue with Doug all along, he keeps changing Seb and wanting him to change. Whereas Hal accepted Seb for who he was, way back when he was a baby college student. I just don’t see the connection between Seb and Doug, there doesn’t seem to be any love there. With your other gens, it was visible in the pictures and the worse, but this gen, Seb and Doug just don’t have it.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah it does seem like Doug wants Seb to become someone Doug wants, instead of who Seb wants to be. But Seb loves and trusts Doug…
      Hmmm, I know what you mean about the connection not seeming to be there. Maybe that will change.We’ll have to see ^^

  18. Danielle says:

    I can’t believe Doug. I feel so bad for Seb… can’t wait to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

