A note… :(

SO I just got told that my laptop’s graphic card is not compatible  I don’t understand that since the double-checked and usually the game works fine. I don’t know what to do, honestly. I don’t know whether to just keep this laptop? I don’t know whether to get a new one?

The game works fine usually, I played for 2 hours straight earlier with no problem. But if the graphic card isn’t “right” won’t that screw up my laptop? I don’t know. I’m waiting for an answer, some advice. I don’t want to play on it if it’s just gonna chew up my laptop in a couple weeks.

So right now, I am sorry, but the story is on hold until I figure out what to do. Hopefully the ‘hold’ only lasts till tomorrow. I really hope I can just keep using this laptop because I really don’t want to go through the stress of reinstalling all the sims stuff on a new laptop x_x And of course this is happening right when I need to start my research paper, need to write an essay, and have a lot of other stuff to do. 😕

Thanks,

~sErin~

Addition: Looks like I’m getting a new laptop. Sooo yeah the story will be on hold for a couple days. I am very sorry. 😦

 

Addition, Addition: I’m going in the morning to get the new laptop. If all goes well, I’ll be able to resume publishing chapters the day after tomorrow. I’ll be spending tomorrow getting the games installed and Pets downloaded and installed, and then working on store content.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A note… :(

  1. sweetribz says:

    Aw.. That sucks J Reddings bun…wait that didn’t sound right.. O_O

    Good luck with ur new laptop..I thouight it ws possible toreplace graphics cards? Maybe I’ve had pc’s too long, cause my laptop is my first 😛

    • sErindeppity says:

      I’d rather have a PC but I don’t have room and the PC I have works fine so…. I don’t wanna go through the ordeal of getting EVERYTHING in my life transferred to a new one haha.
      LOL! J Reddings bun. xD that cheered me up :3

  2. 😦 Sorry to hear that, that sounds very annoying! It’s a shame you have to get a new laptop for it, are you going to sell the other one to get some money for it? Again, it’d be a shame but if it can’t be helped it can’t be helped 😦
    Hope it won’t cost you too much. It’s strange though that you were able to play with the graphic card at all? You’d think if it’s incompatible you wouldn’t be able to play at all….

    • sErindeppity says:

      I can still return the original laptop, it’s only been about two weeks. So I should be able to get a full refund.
      Well it turns out I could play it ok but I would still have crashing problems and then when Showtime came out, I’d have a little more trouble… and the next expansion would give me more trouble… 😦

  3. hevalou says:

    Graphics cards in laptops are an issue with Sims I think, especially if you have all the expansions on. I cant have all the expansions on my laptop as it overheats in a nano-second!! I have melted probably 3 processors finding this out, even though my laptop has an i7 processor it seems this isnt enough.
    If your laptop is a gaming one, the graphics card has its own …err, memory i think, it should be fine. Excuse my vagueness, I am not a ‘puter buff lol. WoW will run fine on my laptop but this is something to do with the information it needs coming from the servers as opposed to my own laptop. Whereas Sims, the laptop has to ‘look’ for all the info it needs and this causes problems.
    Carls Sims site has lots of good info about graphics and processors and overheats, though being a Simmer you probably have visited there before. Good luck sErin, I hope you get it sorted.

    On an aside, I am loving Seb’s story, he is such a lovely guy, I hope he finds what he is looking for without too much heartbreak, but then…we wouldnt be as enthralled as we are if he does!!!
    Hev xx

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah… I’m not expecting to have a perfect simming laptop but I’ve asked on the forums and I should be able to get a good one without it crashing all the time. This time was because of…. dedicated memory and an integrated chip, or something like that. I dunno.
      I’ve been to Carl’s site but I haven’t looked at the info about graphics and processors. I’m going to go do that now, and find some more info to print off.
      I did invest in a cooling mat for my laptop so it won’t overheat.
      And thanks, about Seb’s story! 🙂 ❤

    • denile13 says:

      If you don’t mind me asking, what are the rest of your specs? An i7 is plenty, so it has to be something else, or your fans are simply not powerful enough to counteract the processing heat.

      • sErindeppity says:

        I had an integrated chip. That was pretty much the issue. 😦
        I had no idea about dedicated memory or integrated chips or whatever. The game ran ok but crashed now and then. It was ok for now but down the road after Showtime and the expansion pack after that, I knew it wouldn’t work well.

  4. bluexskittlesx says:

    Such a shame to hear about your laptop but I hope the new one works alot better for you. If the person who sold you the laptop told you the graphics card would be fine tbh I’d put a complaint in and tell them you want a discount off the new one, worth a try lol

    • sErindeppity says:

      I think I figured out what happened with him, and I am not gonna complain. I was told that the base game would work fine on my laptop. So I think that the clerk who helped me just looked up info on the base game. 😕 An annoying, annoying, maddening mistake, but a mistake nonetheless for someone who isn’t a simmer.

      • denile13 says:

        Look for graphics cards that Pets supports, that’s your best bet, never go under 3GB of ram, because if you have anything else, even virus ware, running with less along with sims, your game will stutter. If you can, go with Nvidia or AMD, never an integrated card because they hate games and never have dedicated memory. You can get away with less dedicated memory if you have a really good card, but you always need 512 MB. You can also get away with a smaller GHz, I run Sims on 1.9, for example, but try not to go below 2 if you can help it.

        …You probably already knew this. But hey, maybe it’ll help a little.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Thanks, I think the one I got has all the stuff I need. -crosses fingers- we went to a website that basically checks the game and the computer, and we checked the laptop against ‘Showtime’ and it passed fine. Thanks for the help though, I really appreciate it ❤

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        Well stuff happens, I doubt he did it on purpose. But that’s just the way I am, I’d do anything for a discount/freebie haha

      • sErindeppity says:

        Yeah I don’t blame him at all. It’s an easy enough mistake to make, especially for someone who doesn’t play Sims.

  5. Oh what a pain! I recently had to roll back my graphics card driver updates to a previous version as I discovered the most recent one wasn’t compatible with my system and kept causing crashes.
    As an FYI I suggest investing in a good quality cooling pad to keep your laptop cold, I have one and it makes a massive difference!
    Good luck with the reinstall x

Leave a Reply

