Break These Chains – 4.21 – Doug’s Surprise

Knockknockknock.

I didn’t want anyone to be here. I was halfway up the stairs from the basement and I started to creep back down when I heard Hal’s voice. He was calling my name, asking me to open the door, saying he wanted to apologize for the day before.

Had it really just been a day? It felt like years to me since he accused Doug of… In any case, I didn’t want to see him. I didn’t want to see anyone, but especially not him. So I just crept back down the stairs and flinched when the door opened.

“Sebastian?” Hal called. “I know you’re here. Are you in the bathroom?” I stayed in the basement, trying not to breathe. Go away, I thought. Please, go away. “Seb please, I need to talk to you. I want to apologize.”

It only took a moment for him to see the other rooms were empty, and for him to check the basement. I couldn’t hide so I turned to the washer and dryer. “Hey,” I said as he reached the halfway point on the stairs.

“Seb!” He hurried down the last of the stairs and came up behind me. I didn’t turn around. “I’m sorry about yesterday. I lost my temper. It was wrong–beyond wrong–for me to say that stuff about Doug.”

He said Doug’s name like it was poison. He didn’t feel bad about accusing Doug, he felt bad about hurting me. “It’s ok,” I whispered. “I’m not feeling well so you should probably go so you don’t catch anything.” I coughed a couple times, hoping he’d believe me and leave. Please go.

“You’re still mad at me,” he said.

“No, I’m sick–“

“Come on Seb, can we talk–“

“Please go–no–let go of me!”

During this back-and-forth, he moved to my side and I turned away. Then he held onto my arm and finally got me turned around despite my struggle. His hand pulled away from my arm when he saw my face.

“Please,” I mumbled, looking down at the floor. “Just go.”

“Sebastian…” He lifted his hand and then stepped back. “Grim Reaper. Come on.” His hand was on my wrist, pulling me towards the stairs.

I started struggling again. “Let me go! What are you doing? It’s not what you think! I fell!”

Hal spun around, eyes flashing with anger. “You did not fall, Sebastian. You do not get a black eye like that from falling.”

I was able to wrench my wrist free and I retreated to the other side of the room. “I fell, okay? I’m clumsy.”

“You’re not clumsy!” Hal exclaimed, coming towards me again. “Doug hit you!”

I winced at those words, my stomach flipping over. “No,” I whispered, denying it for no apparent reason. Hal would never believe otherwise, but I felt that if I said yes then he’d do something to Doug. “I fell. Okay? I fell.”

His hand was up on the wall next to my head and he leaned in very close. I held my breathe, willing him to just leave. “Why did you quit your job?” he asked and before I could answer, he said, “Doug told you to. Why haven’t you hung out with any of us much? Because he told you to. You’ve become meeker than ever! You’re in this house all day, almost everyday–and now he’s done this?” He reached up and his fingers touched my cheek gently, just under the sore spot. “I can’t just sit here and let this happen, Sebastian. Why are you still with him?”

I stared into his eyes and then looked away, sliding away from him. “Please go.” I wanted to tell him… but he would never understand. Even if I told him how Doug sobbed apologies half the night, begging for me to forgive him, promising he’d do anything to make up for that little accident. He hadn’t meant to hit me. He loved me, he’d never want to hurt me, he just lost his temper–and he did sort of have a point… I had promised to trust him, and then doubted him.

“How can you still love him after he’s done this?” Hal demanded, following me up the stairs. “He hit you. That’s not love.”

“He has a short temper sometimes,” I said without thinking. I covered my mouth, realizing I had just admitted he had hit.

Hal tugged at my sleeve gently. “Temper or not, violence does not indicate love. Sebastian, I–” He stopped and we just stared at each other for a minute, a minute and a half. Complete silence. Then he let go of my sleeve. “I don’t want you to stay here.”

“Doug loves me,” I said stubbornly. “He needs me and I–I want to stay here with him, I love him too.” I looked over at the door, considering throwing him out again. “What happened was an accident. And if you say anything to anyone, I’ll–I’ll never talk to you again, and if anyone shows up asking questions, I won’t tell them the truth. Besides. It will never happen again.”

Hal’s hand was against my cheek. “I hope not,” he whispered. “And if it does, he’ll regret it. I won’t make you do anything you don’t want to do, so I won’t drag you out of here. But if he does anything like this again, just once, then I am going to take action. Do you understand?”

All I could do was nod and watch in silence as he left the house, his shoulders sagging, an aura of defeat around him. I collapsed back against the counter, reaching up to my black eye. It was just an accident.

*

Doug brought me beautiful roses when he got home and we went for a walk on the beach. He told me he had a big surprise for me, but I wouldn’t find out about it for some time. “Needs some time,” he said with a laugh. “But you’ll love it, I promise.”

*

Me, Zari, and Vi had a small party for our birthday but I felt a bit uncomfortable around everyone. I felt like if I interacted with them they’d somehow be able to figure out the truth. Plus Doug was there, and Hal pretty much spent the entire time glaring at him. So when Doug suggested we leave early, I gladly agreed.

I knew I’d get in trouble for my early exit, and pretty much everyone left a text or voicemail. Except for Hal. I tried to spend a little time with my family as my surgery date came closer and closer. I told Mom and Dad first. They were all shocked by my news but took it in stride.

“I can’t believe I’ll be getting so many grandkids all at once,” Mom sighed. “You three really do do everything together!”

I told Vi and Zari next, and they took it all right, though Vi did ask me about marriage. I admitted that I didn’t know if and when Doug would propose, and I tried to get the subject to drop since it was one that annoyed me.

I wish he would propose, I thought idly one day. Though… did I really want that? Doug’s temper tantrums and sometimes the way he acted–No. I love him. He loves me.

*

I was terrified when it came time for my surgery. Doug stayed with me overnight in the hospital and was there when I woke up after I have the procedure done. There was a small scar on my belly though that’d probably be nothing compared to when I actually had to be cut open to have the baby.

“Just think, in ten months we’ll have a baby!” I said when Doug took me home. Doug just frowned, not even looking at me. “We are still planning on having this done next month, right…?” I asked.

“Y-yes,” he said, finally turning towards me. “I need to talk to you though…”

I stiffened. Those were not words I wanted to hear. “What about?” I asked, struggling to get the words out. “Everything okay?”

“Let’s go sit down.” He took my hand and pulled me into the living room. We sat on the couch and I already felt like crying. I wished he’d just get it out, whatever it was. Maybe it’s good, I thought hopefully but I had the feeling it wasn’t.

“Okay, sweetie… what’s going on?” I asked.

He ran his fingers through his hair and looked at me. “I’m not gonna mince words since you deserve the truth, the complete truth. I love you, okay? Please just–keep that in mind. I love you.” He took my hands suddenly. “I had an accident a while ago.”

“Accident?” I asked, my brow wrinkling.

“During all that time when I thought I might be laid off,” he said with a sigh. “I made a mistake. One I regret.” My heart practically stopped. Those words… did he mean what I was scared he meant? “All I could think of was how much we needed the money, so we could have a kid and get a better house one day–I needed to keep my job.”

“You’re mincing words,” I said bluntly.

Doug groaned a bit. “You’re right, I’m sorry. I–I slept with someone else.”

That’s what I thought he was trying to get at, but it certainly didn’t stop me from feeling so sick. I clutched my stomach, air catching in my throat. I couldn’t breathe. A thin sound filled my ears and I soon realized it was me, a sort of wail.

“I’m sorry…” Doug muttered.

“NO YOU’RE NOT!” I yelled, getting up to my feet, almost falling over. “HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME AGAIN?! You–you went on about trust? Accused me of not trusting you? And you–you go and do this?!” I suddenly saw the temptation in striking someone, but I just kept my balled-up fists against my sides.

He stood as well. “I understand you hate me now but let me tell you my other news–“

“Other news?! There’s more?!” I shrieked. “You cheated on me, for the second time, and expect me to–I don’t–I can’t–“

He grabbed hold of me and kissed me rather fiercely. I tried to push him away, but he had a tight grip on me. “Mmmmppph!” I protested, finally managing to shove him back.

He stumbled and then narrowed his eyes at me. “I think you should hear me out, Sebastian! It’s important.”

I wiped off my lips, then glared at him. “You’re a miserable little piece of–“

“I’m pregnant.”

He folded his arms, watching as I froze. Had he just said that–that he was–what!? “WHAT?!” I screeched.

He held out his hands, looking rather helpless. “That’s my surprise, remember I told you a few weeks ago? I went in to get the procedure done and had everything set up. I am pregnant. With our child.”

“You… c-can’t… without my permission… I never signed…” I faltered, trying to grasp some sort of sense from this situation.

“Everything was already signed,” Doug said quietly. “I told them that you were unable to come in due to family business, and I had it done.”

“When?” I asked, my voice a whisper.

“When I had to go on that overnight trip for work, that was a lie,” he said simply. “I was in the hospital getting it done. Then about five weeks ago I went in to get the rest of the stuff done, and I didn’t need to stay overnight for it. I thought you’d be happy…”

I fell back onto the couch, rubbing my forehead. He had cheated on me, then went and did this. Did he do this just in hopes I wouldn’t be mad about the cheating thing? I had the sinking suspicion he did. But what could I do now? Leave him, with our child in his belly? He’d be devastated and that would be bad for his health, and that would be bad for the baby.

He had put me in a corner, and as he sank down next to me and put his arms around me, I knew perfectly well that he knew what he had done. It was a calculating move, not one of love–but right now… there was nothing I could do.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.21 – Doug’s Surprise

  1. Doug! You EVIL EVIL piece of crap! I hate doug ALOT.

    At least Seb is coming to his senses, but my god. He should leave, pregnant or not. A child can not be brought up in an environment like that. And he cheated on him again. Doug must die.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Seb is finally seeing a bit of sense. But now he feels like he can’t leave because he’s worried what might happen to the baby. So now Doug has at least 8 months to continue sinking his deceptive, manipulating claws into Seb. Dx

  2. Jazen says:

    that low down sneaky piece of dirt under my shoe!!! I don’t believe him. I don’t believe it’s Sebs. He cheated on him again, he HIT him for not trusting him and then this! UGH UGH UGH UGH UGH. I am so ticked off. When will this get better? You are doing a great job with this because I am so angry it is unbelievable!

  3. Seb you should get out of there. And what is to say for certain Doug is even pregnant? Sure Doug says so but Doug says a lot of stuff to keep Seb locked away. And poor Seb, -takes him home to Hal who will love him and leaves Doug to go dine with the fishes-

  4. Well, isn’t he a little piece of s***!
    I don’t even know where to start, how could he do this??? After everything he told Seb? Seb can get out, he’s wrong thinking that he can’t! Yes, the baby needs a dad/mum, but they can make arrangements. Seb has to run, and I’m sure Zari and Hal would be more than willing to beat up Doug once the baby is born – unless he lied about that too, and he’s not actually pregnant!

  5. Hakari says:

    ASDFGHJKL THIS IS UPSETTING. Doug is a crafty son of a llama, and I am glad that Seb is finally seeing it. He’s just way too nice and doesn’t know how to let someone go 😦

  6. shelllegacy says:

    NO NO NO NO NO NO NO! AARRRGGH DOUG YOU ARE EVIL!
    Now poor Seb feels he has to stay, even though Doug hit him, and cheated AGAAAIN! I don’t even believe that Doug’s telling the truth- this is probably just something else to keep Seb close to him. I’m SO angry at Doug for doing all this stuff, but ESPECIALLY the cheating! Cheating again, even after he was forgiven the first time. If he cheated so much, how are we sure that this baby is even Seb’s? It could be someone else’s (although, that’s probably not very likely). I hate this web that Doug’s spinning to keep Seb close to him. I feel so bad for Seb, because he didn’t go even after Doug hit him.
    Wait- if Doug is pregnant, why did he have Seb go through with the procedure anyway? I wish he had never shown up on that beach.

    • sErindeppity says:

      It is definitely something to keep Seb close to him, but whether he’s lying or actually did it… we’ll find out soon. x] And yep, he cheated again. Possibly more than once.
      Seb is in deep with Doug now, it’s gonna take a lot to… well, break the chains.
      Doug wanted Seb to go through with the procedure so in the future, he can be the pregnant one. πŸ˜•

  7. LMcarrotcake says:

    Doug, GTFO. NOW. Aaaaaagh! I can’t stand him!
    Seb, pretty please come to your senses and leave. Doug is a lying cheating conniving assaulter and you deserve so so much better. ❀

  8. LMcarrotcake says:

    And I can’t believe the last picture of them cuddling on the couch. Cuddling! After all the f**k Doug put Seb through, Seb will still sit on a couch next to him and let him put his arm around him!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yep. Seb is mad at him right now but he still has feelings for him, and doesn’t want to ‘upset’ Doug. He’s pretty much addicted. Doug is like a drug. A bad drug. x___x

  9. B says:

    AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! The whole time I was just screeching noooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!! And he cheated again!!! SEb get out!! RUN !!!

    I can’t believe I once thought Doug was beautiful! He’s evil scum!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGHH!!!!!!!!

    -rant over- πŸ˜›

    • sErindeppity says:

      I love knowing I’m not the only one who is vocal when reading stuff. Hopefully you were home alone! :3
      Hey, I still think Doug has good looks, even though he’s a piece of SCUM SCUM SCUM!!!!! Buuuut hey, any babies he has with Sebastian are sure to look good x]

  10. B says:

    BTW Serin, you musts tells me where you get the bruises and such. I sux at finding that kind of CC..

    And you know how I told you I was getting my town ready for my legacy? My game decided it hates me and keeps crashing like a son of a llama kissing block of cheese!!!!! πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      I suck at it too. I had help finding it but I don’t know if it’s available anymore. I tried looking for it but the web page I found for it was all in a foreign language and I saw something about it not being friends only or something like that. It’s called Tifa Scars, but I can’t find it anymore. I’m sorry 😦

  11. Anon says:

    YES, I WAS RIGHT! HE WAS CHEATING AGAIN! πŸ˜€ But poor Seb. I’m not actually excited that he hurt Seb and cheated and did all that stuff, I’m just excited that my intuition was right. πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol, I know what you mean. It’s always exciting when you guess something and it’s right. I guessed something with a friend’s story the other night and was like, doing a victory dance. xD

  12. gladissims says:

    *Screaming out loud in frustration!* *And frowning* Why, Seb? Why?… Gha… Now… If he decides to stay until the baby is born he should take it with him and flee to Egypt or Appaloosa or something.

  13. Rozelliee says:

    Bleh. Commenting before I read the chapter. Shouldn’t do it. Doing it anyways.

    When I read the end of the last chapter I just went ahead to this one, saw the first picture where they didn’t show Sebastian’s, immediately started scrolling down, skipping the text to get to a picture where they showed his face, and let out a bad curse. Nother thing I shouldn’t be doing but. (Not making any excuses here :T)

    It’s really hard for me not to type swears into this message- and I normally swear next to NEVER, but domestic abuse is stink, wrong and a ton of words I cannot write and it makes me sick.

    Still I love this legacy and very daring of you to write this- especially if it affects you emotionally. Really really good work.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol as long as you’re commenting, I’m happy ;]
      Honestly this was hard to do and I really, really went back and forth over whether to show as much as I did. Especially the worst part which is in chapter 24, and twice I almost decided not to do some of it (and even had a poll for my readers but everyone wanted to story to stay the same because my readers are awesome πŸ™‚ ).
      Domestic abuse is very sick and wrong. But unfortunately some people are like Seb and refuse to admit the truth… 😦 another reason this was kinda hard to do, but I am glad I stuck to my story. And I am grateful my readers are willing to read this… o_o
      Thank you for the comment, it means a lot ❀

      • Rozelliee says:

        Chapter 24 /was/ a doozy but takes a lot of writing skill (and dedicated readers) to pull something like that off without turning everybody off the story, IMO.
        But yeah I’m also glad that you did the whole thing. It might have been hard to write (and read) but I don’t think this Gen would’ve been nearly as complete or impacting without everything you put into it.
        I think the fact that domestic abuse happens all over the world is what really, really shook me about reading this- thinking that this is happened /somewhere/ to /someone/ who doesn’t deserve it. 😦 But every cloud has it’s silver lining, and things can never stay bad forever. I personally know people who’ve gone through /a lot/ and made it far and most of them say what got them through is looking at the positives despite everything.

        Ohh Gosh I’m sorry that was so long. :F

      • sErindeppity says:

        It’s ok, what you said is very true. I know this type of issue isn’t really one I thought much about other than when it was shown in “Law and Order: SVU”. Part of the relationship is based on a sort-of-not-anymore friend, though it was never abusive. His partner just kept cheating on him, and my friend kept taking him back and rationalizing everything. So… I didn’t really know a whole lot about the abuse aspect, but I’m glad I was able to write it all right.

  14. thelizzy1990 says:

    Seb, wait ’til he has the baby, then RUN.

    I’m mad at Hal for not telling Zari or Viola. Yes, Seb would have been mad at him at first, but in the long run it would’ve been better than letting him stay with that manipulative jerk.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah, Hal probably should have told but Sebastian would still refuse to admit it even if his siblings tried to help; and if the police came, he’d completely lie about it. πŸ˜•

  15. Lathe says:

    He /admits/ to lying right after hitting Seb for not trusting him?
    Now I’m looking forward to bad stuff happening to Doug >_>

  16. Mia says:

    *cries*
    Poor, poor Sebby!
    I was actually shipping him with Doug before all this happened!

  17. mewmewmentor says:

    I’m starting to wonder if Doug is closer to bisexual than totally gay. A total gay guy probably wouldn’t bed a woman if they knew they were gay.

    Anyways…

    A;JKFA;GJPIWOEHTGAP!

    No. Just no. Doug has officially poisoned the idea of kids. -.-

    The one bright spot in this?

    Seb is finally figuring it out. It’s taking him a while. But he’s figuring it out. And he’ll always have Vi and Zari and his parents and Hal and extended family. Just because he’s pulling away doesn’t mean they are. If he needs them, they’ll be there.

    I have to remind myself that children are not necessarily their parents.

    • sErindeppity says:

      He is probably bisexual. He just likes sex, and enjoys it with whoever he can get it with. x_x
      His family will always be there for him ❀ Hopefully he is willing–or able–to bridge the gap Doug is making.

  18. Doug needs to walk to a dark alley on the bad side of town >.< Seb is finally seeing the truth but at what cost. If Doug really is pregnant, he needs to take the baby and run.

    I like the way you wrote this chapter, because that's what it's like in those kinds of relationships. I like that you made the focus on the aftermath, rather than solely on the incident. One minute Doug is violent and angry, the next he is giving Seb beautiful flowers and is being sweet. I'm glad you decided to address this issue and hopefully Seb can make it out okay.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Eeeehehehe unfortunately I have the feeling he’d be the one doing evil things in a dark alley x_o I’d feel more sorry for anyone who meets him.
      Thank you, I’ve never personally dealt with this but their relationship is loosely based on a friend and his boyfriend. Thankfully my friend got out of it. I really hoped I did okay with this so I appreciate your comment here ❀ It's so hard seeing people who have deluded themselves into relationships like this :\

  19. Zhippidy says:

    I wonder what his motive really is. Like he was sickly and needed a procedure or would die. I believe that, sure. I bet he is Jay. heh… ^_^

  20. zefiewings says:

    The baby doesn’t deserve it either. So…find help. Have the unborn child legally yours then…
    ..no he would probably purposely hurt himself and the baby…
    …hold out until after then leave with the baby?

Leave a Reply

