Break These Chains – 4.25 – Escape

“I am sorry, baby. I lost my temper. I’m sorry. But you just made me so mad… You know you shouldn’t have done that…” Doug sighed heavily. “You hate me now. Don’t you?”

“No…”

“You still love me?”

“Yes…”

“Promise?”

“Yes, Doug, I promise.”

He pulled me against him, his hand stroking my back gently. It hurt, but I said nothing. “I was wrong to do that last night. I guess there’s something wrong with me. Maybe I should get help. Maybe I’m insane. So you think I’m insane?”

“No, Doug.”

“And you do love me?”

“Yes, I love you.”

“I love you too.” He kissed me, but I didn’t kiss back. He noticed and pulled away, looking sad. Not angry. Oh, thankfully not angry. “I’m going to get help. I’m going to see a doctor. No, I’ll check myself into a hospital again.”

“Again?” I couldn’t help but ask.

He stared at me sideways and then shrugged one shoulder. “Remember how I told you I had heart problems and that was why I left Sunset Valley?”

“Yes.”

“I lied,” he said simply. “I was having problems so when I turned eighteen, I went to a hospital. I got better. I thought I did. But I guess I still have anger issues… Do you think I have anger issues?”

“No.”

“You’re lying,” he accused and I managed to stop myself from flinching. “I don’t blame you though. I’m horrible… simply horrible!” He buried his face in his hands and stayed that way for a moment. I didn’t dare move. “I’m going to go,” he said into his hands. “I’m going to the hospital and getting help.”

When I said nothing, he looked up and stared rather despairingly at me. “You’d be happy if I did, wouldn’t you?”

“I want you to be happy, Doug.”

“I’ll think about it, then.”

*

Over the next few days I went through a lot of conflict. I took care of Duncan, cleaned the house, cooked the meals, and gave Doug what he wanted. I barely spoke, figuring that what I had to say wasn’t important. Doug didn’t seem to care, though he did continue to apologize.

It was hard to tell if he really felt bad for what he did that night, since he continued doing it–not that I offered any fight. I was too tired. And I knew even if I did fight him, it wouldn’t matter–he’d get what he wanted.

Β Sometimes I justified it. I had made him mad. I deserved it. He didn’t mean it. He did care about me. I loved him. It wasn’t rape, because I loved him.

Other days, I couldn’t justify it and faced the truth for what it was–and those days I’d break down into tears, wondering where I had gone wrong, why I had gotten myself into this situation. But even then, I blamed myself. It was my fault I had let myself be led into this life. It was my fault.

But through it all, part of me still wanted Doug. I felt sick. I hated it. I didn’t want to want him, but I did. The thought of him just leaving me made me feel all shriveled up inside. The thought of me leaving him made me feel worse.

I tried justifying that, too. After all I was pregnant. Doug did care for Duncan. He never, ever raised his voice to Duncan and always treated him with nothing but love. After Duncan went through his birthday, Doug seemed even more like a father. Sometimes the two of them would go out to the park, sometimes they’d watch movies together, and sometimes they’d just play silly little games. Peek-a-boo. Patty cake. Tickle monster.

He doesn’t mistreat Duncan, I thought, watching them one day and then rubbing my belly which was starting to swell. He won’t mistreat this little one.

*

I was seven months pregnant when Doug left. This time I knew he was leaving. He was going to go to a mental facility for a couple months. The reason? He was still losing his temper towards me and hurting me, and he knew that was dangerous for the baby. Not because he was hurting me, but because he could hurt the baby.

He gave me access to our bank account, so I wouldn’t have to worry. He made me promise to send him pictures of our baby when it was born. “I’m doing this for you, little one,” he whispered to my stomach the evening before he left. “Daddy loves you. He just needs some help.” Then he looked up at me and fiercely kissed me, almost desperately. “I love you too,” he said, waiting for my response.

I forced a smile. “And I love you.”

He still wanted to be together that night, but he was careful. And he didn’t hit me, like he had been. In the morning I woke up with barely a new bruise on me, but I just made Doug some breakfast and then walked him to his car.

“I love you so much, Sebastian,” he said, staring into my eyes.

“I love you too, Douglas.”

He didn’t get into the car and then suddenly he was kissing me again, crying. “I’m sorry, I’m so sorry for all this!”

“It’s okay, Doug, I understand.”

“You’ll be here when I get back, right?” He grabbed my hands, holding them tightly. “Promise me.”

“I promise.”

“You’re lying!” he suddenly yelled but I knew he wouldn’t strike me as we were outside. “You’re going to leave me!”

“I won’t leave you,” I said and he looked suspiciously at me. “I promise.”

After what felt like forever of us standing there, he kissed me again then got into the car and left. I watched him drive off and then waddled back into the house. Duncan was playing with a stuffed animal but when he saw me, he raised his arms.

I bent down and with some effort managed to pick him up. “Let’s go,” I told him, and set him on the bed while I started packing our things.

*

When Hal opened the door and saw us on his doorstep, he didn’t ask what we were doing there. He just stepped aside to let us in, taking the suitcases from me as I walked inside. He shut the door and took the suitcases to the guest room, still without a word.

“Unna, awoo,” Duncan babbled, pointing to Calliope who meowed back. Duncan looked surprised at that.

Hal emerged from the guest room and came over, offering to take Duncan. I gladly handed him over, my entire body aching from the walk. “Do you need anything to eat?” he asked.

“No,” I mumbled.

“How about you?” he asked Duncan who blew a raspberry. “Has he eaten?”

“Yes,” I replied.

Hal looked at me then hitched Duncan around to his other side. “Why don’t you go lay down, Seb. You look like you could use a nap.”

I opened my mouth, and then closed it. “Okay,” I said and then went to the guest room. I slid onto the bed and lay there, staring at the wall. My last thought before I fell into a deep sleep was how angry Doug was going to be when he came back.

*

When I woke up the first thing I saw was a strange crib and Duncan asleep in it. Rubbing my eyes, I got out of bed and padded into the living room. Hal was sitting on the couch watching some TV. He heard me, though, and pushed the ‘mute’ button. “Hey,” he said, patting the couch.

I rubbed my eyes again and went over, sitting down. “How long was I asleep? Where did the crib come from?” I asked. The most words I had spoken together in weeks, I realized.

“I bought the crib,” he replied nonchalantly. “Duncan needed a place to sleep, right? And you were out of it for five hours annnnd…” He checked his watch. “Twelve minutes.”

“You didn’t need to buy a crib,” I whispered, feeling dizzy.

“Too late,” he said with a smile. “So, do you feel any better? Do you need some food now?”

“I–I guess I’m hungry…” I admitted and he got up, going to the kitchen. I followed him, staying silent as he put together a sandwich and cut up some fruit. The question was there but he wasn’t going to ask, so I answered it. “He’s at a mental hospital.”

Hal snorted. “Not quite as good as jail, but I’ll take it. Here.” He handed the plate over and I tore a piece of bread off, putting it my mouth. As soon as I swallowed it I discovered how famished I was–after all, I hadn’t eaten at all that day. I tried not to shove all the food into my mouth at once, pacing myself.

“Thank you…”

“Let’s go back into the living room and sit down,” he said and I just followed him back in, still trying not to take too big of bites. “So, what happened?”

“He decided he was crazy and checked himself into a mental hospital,” I said, grateful that Hal handed me a bottle of water. I had forgotten to ask for something to drink.

“Does he know you were going to come here?” Hal asked.

I shook my head. “I promised him I’d stay at the house. As soon as he left, I got some of our things and left.”

“So he’s not there?” Hal rubbed his chin. “That means we can get Duncan’s other stuff without any trouble.”

“I can’t stay here!” I said, staring down at plate. “I should go back.”

“Why did you come here, then?” he asked softly.

I closed my eyes tightly. “I couldn’t stay there. I had to leave–I had to leave him.” Everything came rushing at me at once. The past few months, everything Doug had done and said. All the bruises, mostly faded now. I began crying and the plate fell to the floor, the pieces of fruit getting in the carpet. “I’m s-sorry!” I started to reach down but Hal stopped, me, holding my wrists very carefully.

“Forget the carpet, Sebastian,” he whispered, pulling me against him. I cried into his chest, feeling so scared and so lost.

“I had to, I had to leave him–I left him, I left him…” I repeated it over and over, but Hal just held me, not saying anything. Finally my words died and all I could do was cry. He rubbed my back, rather carefully as if he knew what was there.

“You did right, Seb. You did right. It’s okay, you did the right thing,” he began saying, his mouth close to my ear.

My body began relaxing as I slumped against him on the couch. I wasn’t taught with fear for the first time in ages. There was a flutter of something… relief? Joy? Worry about what might happen? Whatever it was, it wasn’t fear. And despite my five hours of sleep, I felt exhausted still. As my tears slowed, I began to get very drowsy until I finally fell asleep in his arms.

~*~

Because there wasn’t a close up of him in the chapter, here’s a bonus picture!

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.25 – Escape

  1. Anon says:

    I’m so happy right now! πŸ˜€ I hope Doug gets stabbed in the throat repeatedly by a “mystery sim” on the way home. πŸ˜€ Oops, that was malicious and violent. -Shrugs- That statement was as mean as Doug so it works out. :3

    • sErindeppity says:

      I thought it might make people happy πŸ˜€ I had to release this chapter soon after the last one since the last one was so horrible…
      Lol oh what a shame… Doug is… bleeding to death on the ground. -looks down- hmmm. Well… -looks around- I’m sure he’ll be fine! -walks off-

  2. YES! Finally!!! πŸ˜€
    Aww, I’m so happy for him! I know Hal won’t ever let him go back, and I was so relieved when Seb said out loud that he left Doug – such an important step for him!
    Everything can get better now, yes? πŸ™‚

  3. sweetribz says:

    I’m so glad Seb left, his face at the beginning when Doug was apologizing was just looked so sad and hurt… I want to hug him and never let him go…

  4. blueskittles says:

    Finally! I’m so happy seb left doug, let’s just hope he doesn’t hurt seb again. If he tries to hurt seb again hal should whack him haha. Team hal all the way!!!! πŸ˜€

  5. LMcarrotcake says:

    Yes! ❀
    Oh Seb, things are finally going to get better!

  6. Cereline says:

    Though he FINALLY left Doug, I havea bad feeling there’s a lot more coming of Doug’s wrath. AND I don’t believe he’s the type of person to admit he has a bad enough problem to go to a mental hospital… But maybe that’s just me…

  7. Crazy chic says:

    The kid looks so much like Doug, eek!!! I’d be scared of voting for him in the next generation with Doug’s gene’s, lol.

    Is it bad I want Hal and Seb babies. O_o

    Yay he left!!!!!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Duncan does look a lot like Doug. Not much Danevbie genes showing up there. If there are any. o:
      Nah it’s not bad you want Hal and Seb babies x3 I’m excited for them.

  8. Crazy chic says:

    Are we going to get Hal’s POV for all those questions burning in our brains? For those moments he disappeared…

    Hahaha I’m really looking forward to more!!! I feel like a monster wanting more. I’m addicted πŸ™‚

  9. Hakari says:

    My heart broke at the first picture, but asdfghjkl, IT FINALLY HAPPENED! SEB FINALLY LEFT THAT JERK! SOSOSO HAPPY! πŸ˜€
    And I can’t wait to find out when the Reddings come in >:)

  10. FINALLY … Seb did a good thing for himself by leaving Doug. Somehow I have the feeling there is more to Doug’s story. Duncan has Doug’s looks. Is the baby really Seb’s … or? We never have seen Doug’s ‘parents’. Where did he come from .. really? Perhaps his meeting Seb was not so much of a chance? I always knew Hal would be the Hero. -EQ

    • sErindeppity says:

      The name Halbert mean’s “Shining Hero”. :mrgreen:
      There is a LOT more to Doug’s story that will be coming out later, including about his parents, where he came from, and why Sebastian. Oh, and whether Duncan is a Danevbie or not. πŸ˜€
      Plus… BABIES! Yay, babies! ❀

  11. So when does Doug die?

  12. shelllegacy says:

    YEAH! I’m SO glad he got away… even though Duncan is a pretty big reminder, he totally is a Doug clone- hopefully that sweet little toddler doesn’t turn into the monster Doug was. Hal understands, and I hope he does something awful to Doug… I agree with the whole ‘it’s not jail, but I’ll take it’ line. I can’t even say how happy I am that Doug is gone… for now. Hopefully he doesn’t make a reappearance, but I have a hunch he will.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yep, he’s free now! Yay!!! And Doug might be coming back since, after all, we need to know more about him x]
      Duncan does look a lot like Doug. It is going to be a reminder, but Sebastian loves Duncan and Hal will too so I’m sure that love will overcome anything from Doug’s blood.
      (Actually, one of Duncan’s traits is “good”. :D)

  13. sweetribz says:

    not to try and rush you, but when can all of us admirers expect another chapter?

    *does puss in boots begging*

    -cue the cute violin music-

    πŸ˜›

  14. nestea7 says:

    Finally! I hope Doug gets raped and killed by a fellow mental inmate.. Kind of harsh but he deserves it. I would say little Duncan looks cute but he looks a little too similar to Doug for my liking. 😦
    Great chapter btw

    • sErindeppity says:

      If he’s at a mental hospital…. πŸ˜‰
      Duncan does look a LOT like Doug.
      Thanks!

      • nestea7 says:

        lol. If it’s anything like jail, I hope he drops the soap…a lot.
        I just hope little Duncan doesn’t get any of Doug’s horrible traits. Though I bet he does. :/

      • sErindeppity says:

        He hasn’t. I got to “choose” the traits when he was born so I randomized them and he got “good” and… I forget what else. “Artistic”, I think. But he is good, so he can never, ever get the “evil” trait. ^__^ He might get the hot-headed one, though o_o hopefully not. But hot-headed is better than evil ❀

      • nestea7 says:

        Much better than evil. I think I gave my simself that trait. If I didn’t then I should have.lol

  15. ATMzie says:

    Doug :X Glad he’s gone… for now a least 😦

  16. okay he managed to leave, but I have a feeling this is far from over!

  17. Rozelliee says:

    Yay! πŸ™‚ I don’t think this ever would have happened without Hal. I’m really happy for him and I can’t wait to see what’ll happen to Douglas when Seb’s family finds out about this. C:<

    • sErindeppity says:

      If they can find Doug… ^_^
      And yes, Hal is Sebastian’s knight in shining armor which may or may not be stated at later points in this story -shifty eye look-

  18. thelizzy1990 says:

    Yesssssss, he left him!! Hal’s so sweet, taking them in like that.

    Duncan is cute, but there’s no way that’s Seb’s kid.

  19. Mia says:

    *cries*
    I’m so proud of our Sebby! Now he can have a good life!

  20. mewmewmentor says:

    I forgot to mention this, but I have my suspicions about Doug’s parents. We’ve never met them.

    I also have my suspicions about Doug’s boss that he slept with. But I don’t think Kay is the type to force a guy to sleep with him, especially if he knows that person already has a partner. So it’s probably some other boss.

    That leads me back to my first suspicion. Doug doesn’t look like the Reddings, though, so he’s probably not Kay or Jay’s. However, Cal didn’t look much like Kay either except in the mouth and face structure. So it’s possible they made another guy pregnant and Doug is the result.

    I do think Doug has links to the Reddings, much like Luna and Kellen did in their job. My last theory about Doug? He’s a clone. So he has anger issues about not being a real Sim.

  21. The first few scenes made me really angry. The do you promise you love me part. Awwwwwww *cries* I’m glad he left. I hope that Seb doesn’t get back with him, when he comes back home. He needs to realize that Hal loves him, and his family loves him. Doug doesn’t. He only wants control. Duncan’s cute, I was hoping he’d inherit Seb’s eye color though

  22. somebodysangel13 says:

    I kind of want Jay to come and take Doug away and be her little experiment monkey for the rest of his life. That sounds like a good punishment for him (death would be too easy). Though I doubt Jay is protective of Kay’s descendants like she is of Kay.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Haha I know what you mean! πŸ™‚ Death is definitely too good a punishment for him. 😦 Jays is not protective of the Danevbies like Kay though, you’re very right about that.

Leave a Reply

