Break These Chains – 4.29 – Ever Changing, The Clock Ticks On

I felt nervous, with all the eyes on me. I almost wanted to throw up but that would be worse. Much worse. But then I looked up and met Hal’s eyes, and all my fears and sickness disappeared, like waves washing them away.

“The worst is over, dear,” he whispered in my ear, as if knowing what was on my mind.

I squeezed his hand, smiling at him. “And the best is yet to come,” I replied, leaning over to kiss his cheek.

His face flushed and he just grinned, looking as happy as I felt. “I love you,” he said.

I began beaming even more. “I love you too.”

Our wedding reception was almost over, and soon we’d be able to return to our home. The ceremony had been wonderful, as we had had a very tiny ceremony with just my family. But the reception was a bit more nerve-wracking as we had invited more of his friends, and friends of my family. We hadn’t even sent an invitation to his family, as they had kicked him out of the family when he came out. That was why he missed a couple years of school, his family had cut off all money.

But that was in the past. As was He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. I felt that was a much more suitable title for him than for Voldemort. At least Voldemort didn’t lie about being an evil little–

“Now you look all worried,” Hal whispered, reaching up to touch my nose lightly.

I made a face. “I’m sorry! I guess I’m just anxious to get away from so many people.” I glanced over the crowd and shivered a bit. I was happy they were here, I was very grateful. But it made me nervous. Even on this special day!

“Mama, Mama, Mama!”

Duncan came toddling over, looking very miserable about something. He had started calling me by the feminine parental term pretty much as soon as he could talk. I didn’t want to dissuade him since ‘Daddy Seb’ seemed like a bit much, so I was now the maternal parent while Hal was ‘Dad’. Ah well. As long as the kids were happy, and they could choose to call me ‘Mom’ or ‘Dad’ when they got older. Though, come to think of it, Dad Seb sounded a bit weird.

“What’s wrong?” I asked, scooping him up. He was three years old, hard to believe.

“No kissy!” he wailed, burying his face in my chest. “Cuzzy Mel’dy kissyed me.” He tapped his cheek, looking very offended.

I rolled my eyes at Hal was was grinning. “I’ll wipe your cheek off,” I said, carrying him to the table and getting a napkin to wipe off the kiss. He seemed pleased by this and was happy to toddle back to the area for the kids, joining his cousins and his sister.

Hard to believe Serenity is already about a year and a half old, I thought. My babies were growing up!

Hal slid his arm around my waist. “You ready to head home?” he asked, half-grinning, half-smirking. I felt myself blushing, knowing what he was referring to.

I was rather looking forward to… this part of our life as well. Though it had been great having a relationship without it, as we both agreed to wait until marriage. It had me worried for a while since I was used to being with someone who focused a lot on the physical aspect of a relationship, but with Hal… it was just so… wonderful just spending time with him that eventually my worries faded away.

I let my parents know that we were going to be leaving since they were taking the kids, then Hal made a bit of an announcement. Everyone came out and threw rice at us (I did get conked in the head by a full bag which I swear Zari threw, though he’d never admit it) then Hal and I got into our car and headed to his house. This was going to be our honeymoon, just a couple days in our house with no kids and no work. Since we were planning on giving the house some renovations and adding another room, as we wanting to add on to the family, this was best.

“So, Mr. Danevbie,” I said when we got there, grinning at him for the millionth time that day.

Hal snickered. “Halbert Danevbie. There’s a name for ya.”

“I could have been Sebastian Conner, you know,” I pointed out.

“I’d rather be attached to a family that approves of our relationship, thank you very much,” he said, kissing my neck and then pulling me towards the bedroom door. I hesitated and he immediately let go. “Are you ok?”

“Yes…” I nervously went into the room, feeling rather strange. Scared of this. It wasn’t as if it’d be my first time, though I felt more scared now than I had on that night. But I loved Hal, more than I ever did Doug. So why was I so scared?

Hal carefully took my hands. “Sweetie, it’s okay, we don’t need to do anything tonight.”

“No–no, it’s just… I’m not…” I glanced up at him, very bewildered. “I want to be with you.”

“I understand,” he said with a nod.

“No you don’t. I don’t,” I said, taking a step back from the bed. How could he possibly understand when I didn’t?

But apparently he did, because he said, “The last time you gave yourself up to someone, he just took and took and abused you.”

He gently turned me around to meet my eyes and I gulped. “But I love you!”

“And I love you, but love has nothing to do with it,” he said, pulling me close. “It’s natural to be scared after that, even though it’s been so long. Once bitten, twice shy.” He stroked my hair and I closed my eyes. “I know you know this is a different situation, with a different person. But there are still going to be hurdles to get over. There always will be. And I will always be here with you, to help you over them.”

I breathed out, leaning against him and putting my arms around him. I was too overcome with emotion to respond. He was right, there would be hurdles. But I had him. I have someone who will actually help me through and take care of me.

*

Over the few months after our wedding, Hal and I had an additional room added onto the house since we planned on needing more room. He was providing a lot of the money as he worked full-time but I did the occasional article for the newspaper. It wasn’t much, but it helped. Otherwise I spent the time raising Duncan and Serenity.

After six months had passed, we decided it was time to try for our own child. Duncan was three and a half, Serenity was two. It’d be a handful but we both wanted this. Especially me. I loved Duncan and Serenity with all my heart, but I wanted a child with Hal.

Nine months later, we had a daughter. This pregnancy had gone a lot easier than my first girl (of course I wasn’t being physically hurt and I also didn’t get a shocker to put me into labor early) and after much discussion, we named her after our favorite characters from the same show that Serenity was named after. Kaylee Wash.

It was difficult raising three children, all under the age of four! But I was very patient and as before made sure to divide my attention between all three of them. Duncan didn’t like being alone, and Serenity was starting to learn things like talking.

Of course I had that tiny fear in the back of my mind that he would someday return but as the days wore into weeks and the weeks into months, the fear shrank and shrank until it was just a little pinprick that annoyed me at times. Well, sometimes it was a bit more than a pinprick. Especially at night when I was drifting into sleep, I would hear him or even see him. And when I had nightmares… Hal was always patient with me, holding me and whispering in my ear that everything was fine until the fears subsided.

*

Duncan was seven, Serenity five and a half….

And Kaylee was three. That was when we decided to add on another baby, and this time we got a bit more than what we bargained for.

“Twins!” Vi exclaimed when we brought the babies home. “I can’t believe it, I’m so jealous!”

“What, you want multiples?” I asked with a smile.

“You and Zari both have ’em,” she replied with a pout.

“Oh yes,” Zari grumbled. “You stay up until five in the morning taking care of triplets, and see how you like it!”

“Mom and Dad did it,” Vi replied sweetly.

Zari stuck out his tongue. “Mom and Dad didn’t have another kid already!” He paused then shrugged. “Julie wants to have another, though. She keeps going on about how wonderful it would be to have a big family.”

“It is wonderful,” I said, looking down at my second son and third daughter. “And don’t you complain about four kids, Zari, cause Hal and I now have five!”

Once again Hal and I turned to our favorite show for names, we couldn’t resist. After all we had Serenity and Kaylee. With a boy/girl set of twins we had to name them River Tam and Simon Tam. It was too much to resist. Then we decided that if we ever had more kids, we would choose a different name, not one from the show. Though I was rather hoping to add a Malcolm somewhere in there… Or a Shepherd, though that was a bit of an odd name to give a kid.

Still. You never know.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.29 – Ever Changing, The Clock Ticks On

  1. Loving the names!!! Kaylee is a gorgeous name, and River happens to be one of my favourite characters, even if it is from a different show πŸ˜‰
    Can’t wait to see them all grown up! As nice as it is to see them all happy, it’s not over yet, is it :/

  2. EEP THE KIDS ARE SO GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

    And as much as I liked Serenity, I always wanted a little mini female Seb. That hair and eye combo looks great on a girl. :3

    But there’s a girl at school who’s mean to me named Kaylee. *cries out of conflicting emotions about Kaylee*

    • sErindeppity says:

      The kids have been turning out amazing ❀ I love Serenity too but when I saw Kaylee age up I was like "!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" so now I am very conflicted, cause I love both their stories.
      -hugs- aww don't worry this Kaylee, and who she is named after, are good ❀

  3. Cereline says:

    Ohh CUTE! πŸ™‚ I love the kiddies! What a happy chapter in comparison to most previous ones. πŸ˜›

  4. Loved this chapter! YAY for hal and seb FINALLY getting married ^.^ I’m a happy bunny =]

    Even though I’m enjoying the happiness I want to see what happens when doug comes back, it’s exciting

    • I think they should change Duncan’s name to Shepherd haha. I think Doug only picked Duncan because it begins with a D

      • sErindeppity says:

        That would have been good o: but Sebastian may already be preggers in game -shifty eye look- but if it is a girl–Zoe Inara, and I’ll change Duncan’s name to Shepherd ❀
        Yeah Duncan was chosen because of the D thing, and because of the Scottish thing (Douglas McIntyre and Duncan are all Scottish x3)

    • sErindeppity says:

      I am happy too x3 and yeah the drama is gonna be coming back very soon along with not only the finale of this generation but a plot reveal for the overall Danevbie plot. x3

      • I cannot actually wait!! And YAY for changing Duncan’s name if it’s a girl =] if it’s a boy you could just change it to joss anyway >.> my grandad was called joss =]

  5. Lol. The Voldemort reference made me laugh.

    :C Doug better not come anywhere near anyone. -hisses at Doug-

    And o,o 5 kids. Wow. So cute! ❀

    • sErindeppity says:

      5 kids and counting–Seb is preggers again x3 I can just see Seb and Hal wanting a full house ❀
      OH you'll appreciate this (and anyone else who likes Harry Potter). When I went to see Spamalot the other night–I dunno if you've seen "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" but in the movie the Knights that say "Ni" turn into the Knights who say "Eckyeckyeckyphitangzoopboinggoodoomaliziv" OR something like that. In the musical I guess they change that around since the first time I saw it, they said something different than what they did Thursday night: "EckyeckyeckyphitangzoopboingoodooHARRYPOTTERMUSTNOTRETURNTOHOGWARTS!"

  6. Jazen says:

    Mr. and Mr. Danvebie! Yay!!!! So glad things are finally going well for Seb. I’m like him and have this sinking feeling in the back of my mind that Doug is going to sneak back up on them. 😦

    All the babies, wow Seb is a baby making machine. πŸ™‚ Did they change Duncan’s last name? I hope so.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Duncan is Duncan Danevbie and depending on the next baby, might be getting a name change.
      Of course Doug will be back πŸ˜‰ he’ll be back when he’s “stronger” as he threatened D:

  7. Hakari says:

    ASDFGHJKL THEY ARE ADORABLE! It took me a minute to realize that the girl was Serenity because of the hair color XD
    I squealed when I realized that they were both wearing tuxes and were married. It’s so nice to see him happy ❀

    (Oh, and in the panel near the end when it said Duncan and Serenity's ages you called him Doug. I had to do a double take, because my "Doug-radar" went off and I kinda-sorta flipped out…and then I realized you meant Duncan and I calmed down. XD)

    • sErindeppity says:

      I tried to hide the tux thing in the first couple pictures x3 they looked so adorable though ❀
      AHHH thanks for pointing that out. o_o I'll get that changed right away. I must have hit an uppercase D and just kept typing the oug.
      Serenity is beautiful, and Kaylee is too. x3
      (Got the name changed–thank you so much! I always proof-read but there’s usually something that slips by!)

  8. Rozelliee says:

    BABIES BABIES BABIES :0

    Goodness you have really nice content. Where did you get Serenity’s child hair from? And on the subject of Serenity- Penny genes !! She’s also pretty! Duncan sure does look like Doug but at least he has good parents. πŸ™‚ But yeah, this has been the happiest chapter for a while so I’m glad for that. ❀

    • sErindeppity says:

      I have zero CC clothes/hair in my game, other than the male pregnancy clothes. So all hair and all clothes are either from an expansion, a stuff pack, or the store. To answer your question specifically… the store :3 here though I got it from the luxury resort attire set pack. Which is also where Sebastian’s hair is from :3 Serenity’s hair is called “rosy cheeked”
      Yes baaaaabiiiieeees x3 one more baby coming up! -is excited-

      • Rozelliee says:

        MOAR BABIES >:0

        D’aww that hair is so sweet! When I get more simpoints I definitely have to buy it. I can’t wait to see the next baby /aaand/ participate in my first heir poll. ❀ Gosh those little angels are adorable~

      • sErindeppity says:

        I love when I’m in a story that’s been going on for a bit and I get to go for my first poll, tis always exciting ^_^ and I am anxious to see the twins age up and to see the next baby, either Zoe Inara or Shepherd Malcolm. Depending. x3

      • thelizzy1990 says:

        Thank you. I must now go buy this set so I can have Seb’s hair…

        … that sounded vaguely stalker-ish, didn’t it? πŸ˜›

      • sErindeppity says:

        -giggles- a bit stalker-ish but much better than Doug. I’m sure Seb would prefer you hanging around outside the house than Doug πŸ˜‰

  9. Crazy chic says:

    You. Must. Make. Kaylee. Play. With. Two. dinosaurs!!!!! Lol!!! πŸ˜›

    Then her first words would be curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal. Hehehe…. I love their names!!! Serenity is sooo pretty!!!

    Now you have me conflicted for the heir vote… it’s going to Serenity or one of Hal’s kids but I think Serenity would be interesting. πŸ™‚ holy… this generation gave us tons of options… but Serenity looks sooo pretty…. gah!!!!!!!

    Also I might be weird with a blonde/ blue eyed heir again. :/

    • sErindeppity says:

      -coughs- there may or may not be a scene later in which she is lording over a sandbox and stating that this is her land and she shall call it her land.
      It may or may not be the opening sentence of the next chapter.
      -coughcoughcough-
      I’m torn between future voting of Serenity or Kaylee. Originally it was Kaylee cause of her name, then it was Serenity because of looks + her story, now I am torn again because Kaylee turns out just as pretty and she has a great story too. And she’s named after two of the shiniest characters!!
      I know what you mean about the blonde/blue thing but it’d be a girl and not a boy…? o: I’m so torn.

      • Crazy chic says:

        That is why you have me torn cause Wash always steals a scene and those two are just full of epicness!

        Then I can imagine Kaylee older saying if I were single (unwed) then I’d take you in womanly fashion.

        Cause I’m pretty?

        Cause you’re pretty.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Yep that is why I am torn too xD shiny shinyness of epicness! Wash is so amazing<3 and so is Kaylee… ❀ ❀ I am very tempted to give Kaylee a pink poofy dress as a formal dress… x3

  10. Crazy chic says:

    I remember being all worried when Penny gene’s didn’t show up… now… !!!!!!!!! Oh my gosh I’m glad they did and continuing!!!!

    But it seems whoever has that combo is never a lead in the story, lmfao.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I know I felt the same but who knows, Serenity may win the heir vote πŸ˜‰ I think her story will overcome the whole “Doug is her father” thing. :3 but then again, someone else might win.
      I ❀ Penny genes.

  11. shelllegacy says:

    ❀ The kids are SOOOO cute. Serenity is so pretty (I'm kind of leaning towards Serenity in general out of the kids for this gen), and Kaylee's cute. I see the resemblance between Doug and Duncan, but somehow, I think Duncan as a kid looks… nicer as a person, somehow? Maybe Doug's features are less harsh on a kid (or it could be Duncan's other parent). I loved the wedding, and I'm so happy that Seb's finally gotten away from Doug… who thankfully hasn't bothered them yet. I loved the chapter, and seeing Vi and Zari again was nice πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      I’ll have to post a pic somewhere of Duncan’s real father. But Duncan does turn out nicely, not quite as Doug-y as I was worried about.
      Serenity and Kaylee are also adorable x3
      Yep now that Seb is free from evilness (FOR NOW!!), his family will be around a bit x3 though there isn’t much until the big finale which goes over like 8 chapters. xD

  12. Crazy chic says:

    Wonder when a generation will have a unique hair/eye colour character a heir falls for. O_o

    • Crazy chic says:

      Now imanging if the character had light blue hair.

      That’d look interesting for their kids with light blue hair and eyes, lol.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I am wanting to throw Hawthorn Wing’s genes into the Danevbie gene pool. Though I probably will change his looks, maybe I’ll give him an interesting hair color and eye color x3

  13. B says:

    EEEE!! They got married!!

    SERENITY HAS PURPLE HAIR?! :O

  14. rockysixx says:

    omg Seb is a baby factory! lol

  15. Maddy says:

    EEEP! I can’t wait for another chapter! The kids are so cute! I have no idear who I’m going to vote for yet O.O

  16. Crazy chic says:

    A pink dress would be perfect. Hopefully the next generation has tons of quirkiness and umm goofy characters. It’d be a change from the omg drama!!!!

    Well there would still be drama but it can be funny drama? Lol…

    • sErindeppity says:

      I think all the stories I’ve chosen are lighter on the drama than this gen, except River’s story. Serenity and Kaylee both have some drama in theirs but nothing like this gen x3

  17. ATMzie says:

    So many cute kiddies! Now if Doug comes back, they have a small army to fight him with πŸ˜‰

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol! I can see all the kids rising to fight. In brown coats. xD and River says “I can kill you with my brain”. And–oh wait, no that’s the TV show. -scratch head-

  18. thelizzy1990 says:

    I’m on baby overload – it’s wonderful!! I have no idea who I’ll be voting for, but I suspect it’ll be a girl, because I want another female heir. Also, Serenity and Kaylee look beautiful with Penny’s genes, and Seb’s hair on a girl is pretty too.

    It was great seeing the family again. I even went on the family tree to see Vi and Zari’s kids’ names. Poor Zari. Hehehe. But that reminds me, do you use apples/watermelons or master controller to influence genders in your stories? Just curious. =)

    I find it strange that Doug hasn’t made an appearance in so long. I fear the longer he stays away, the more evil he’ll be able to do. But I’m anxious to see what Jay has to do with all this.

    • sErindeppity says:

      It is a baby overload, and I love it. But from the start I could see both Seb and Hal wanting lots of kids. ❀
      I am so happy that Penny genes have been cropping up. Serenity is sooo gorgeous when she grows up and so is Kaylee. Kaylee even has a bit of pudge from her daddy, it's so cute x3
      I try not to use anything to influence gender though I have in the past. When Luna was preggers (with the fertility treatment + watching kid TV) I had a doctor say what gen the baby would be then I ate the opposite fruit (in her case, apples). And in the case of Sebastian's twins I might have… influenced it… -shifty eye look- fertility treatment + doctor + opposite fruit (in his case, watermelon).
      I do, however, have the town through story progression on a mixed baby gender thing so if there are more girls in the town, I still might get a girl. Other than that, and multiples, I try not to mess with gender.
      Though I am wanting to give a future gen a set of same-sex multiples πŸ™‚ Maybe the next heir will have them πŸ˜‰ multiples seem to be part of the Danevbie family now, after all.

  19. Anon says:

    -Melts at Serenity’s Seb eyes- I love that eye color so much! ^_^ Wow, Kaylee is quite a genetic mix isn’t she? O.o

    • sErindeppity says:

      Kaylee got quite a bit from the Danevbies, her hair and eyes, but she does have a quite a bit of Hal in her which is a but more obvious when she grows up. x3 I think Seb is incapable of producing a child that is not squee adorableness.

  20. I’m loving that the sci-fi geekery is continuing with the kids names.
    With this many Seb and Hal will be run ragged. lol

  21. inspiritsgolden says:

    omg serenity is gorgeous
    so happy doug is… “out of the picture”, i suppose…
    i have a feeling i’ll be proved wrong soon uwu

    • sErindeppity says:

      She is πŸ™‚ Her facial features are terrific x3 and her Penny genes, both given and natural in, look good ahaha
      Doug will be back…. he’s to obsessed to let Seb go forever x_x

  22. Mia says:

    Kaylee is the best Firefly character! So, yeah. She’s already my favorite of Sebby’s kids. πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      She’s my favorite Firefly character, too. I am such a huge Jewel Staite fan (I was obsessed with the shows “Space Cases” and “Flash Forward” as a kid and am constantly wallowing in misery that Space Cases isn’t on DVD or anything). So as soon as I saw her in Firefly I was like “yay” and then her character turned out to be just so darned awesome. ❀ ❀ Kaylee and Wash. Those two, baby. Those two….

  23. nestea7 says:

    “I did get conked in the head by a full bag which I swear Zari threw, though he’d never admit it” hehehe. Oh Zari. That just made me like him so much more. lol

  24. mewmewmentor says:

    πŸ˜€ Me lovey happy chapters, yes I do.

    *snigger* Zari’s just lucky Julie-Faith isn’t asking for a hundred kids. Now THERE’S a handful.

    • sErindeppity says:

      -grins-
      and LOL!!!! That would be hilarious. Zari: “You… what?” Julie/Faith: “I want a hundred babies!” Zari: T_T “Wait, that means lots of…. AW YEAH!” Faith/Julie: “Yeah and taking care of them and raising them all.” Zari: D: “Can’t we just have the fun bit…?”

  25. zefiewings says:

    I feel a little sad for Donny who’s name doesn’t have a cool reference. πŸ˜‰

    • sErindeppity says:

      Donny? You mean Duncan? Yeah… someone suggested I have Seb and Hal legally change his name but I had become attached to the name Duncan for him by that point. Like, how Kyle was a different name from Orion/Tempest/Luna.

Leave a Reply

