Break These Chains – 4.31 – Under My Skin

I sat down with Serenity to talk to her. I told her that I had been having bad nightmares about something that happened to me before she was born, and it was upsetting me. “I was scared,” I told her, “but I was trying not to be. I’m sorry I lied to you. But I didn’t want you to be scared.”

“It scared me that you were lying about it,” she said, pouting.

“I know…” I reached over and smoothed down her hair. “How did you know I was lying, though?”

“Thanks for telling me, Mom. I’m gonna go do my homework.” She got up and skipped out of the room, having not answered my question.

*

“Makes me feel like an old fossil, or something,” Viola grumbled as we sat at the park. “Kids growing up… becoming teenagers.”

Julie stretched out her legs, a hand over her swollen belly. “Zari is already completely freaking out that Melody turns thirteen next year. I told him last night, what–you want us to get her a chastity belt?”

“Men are so weird when it comes to their daughters,” Vi said then she leaned forward to look at me. “So are brothers.”

“You’d rather me not care who you marry?” I asked, raising an eyebrow. She just rolled her eyes and shook her head, muttering something. I smirked. “I am completely not ready for Serenity to become a teenager in a couple years. Then it will be Kaylee’s turn. Then River!” I let out a loud sigh.

“You’re fine with the boys though, right?” Vi asked and I shrugged. “Hypocrite.”

“Hey, I’m anxious about them too!” I complained. “I don’t think any parent is prepared for any of their kids to go into the teen yea…” I trailed off then jumped to my feet, squinting at the sidewalk. “Did you see someone…?”

“Nope, I don’t see anyone,” Vi said and Julie giggled.

I turned towards them. “Funny. No, I meant over there. I thought I saw–saw someone…” I covered my mouth, not daring to say who I thought I saw. Just my imagination, it has to be my imagination. I slowly began panicking. My kids–where were they?

All safe. They were all there, safe and sound. I considered calling Hal to make sure he was ok but I didn’t, I just sat back down, my legs jiggling, my fingers twitching. Duncan, Serenity, Kaylee–at school… were they…? “You okay?” Julie asked, putting a hand on my arm.

“Fine. I think I’m gonna head h-home, sorry. I feel kinda sick.” I gave them each a quick hug then gathered my kids, all of whom began complaining when I told them it was time to go home. I ignored their complaints as I got Mal bundled into his stroller. We headed back to the house though I was jumpy the whole time, looking around. It was my imagination, of course it was my imagination. But better safe than sorry.

*

I began making sure everything was locked at night. All the windows, all the doors. I didn’t tell Hal why I suddenly became so paranoid. But since I was having nightmares again, he guessed that it had something to do with that. After a week of this, Hal asked if maybe we should go see someone.

“For what?” I asked. He didn’t answer, and I realized what he meant. “You… think I’m crazy?”

“No!” he exclaimed, holding my hands. “I know you’re not crazy. I mean, someone to maybe help get rid of the nightmares. A therapist or something. You hardly get any sleep now and keep waking up in tears whenever you do manage to get some sleep.” He put his hand against my cheek and I leaned into the warmth. “You’re running yourself ragged.”

“The nightmares will go away,” I said, shivering a bit. “It’s probably because Duncan is gonna be a teenager soon.”

“Hun, he just turned twelve two weeks ago,” Hal said quietly.

I jerked away from him, getting out of bed and pacing over to the window. I didn’t look out, though. I was a bit afraid of what I might see in the yard. “His next birthday is the big one-three, that’s… close enough…”

Hal came up behind me, wrapping his arms around mine, pulling me against him. “Talk to me. Tell me what happened to start this. I know you had that bad dream a couple months ago but then you’ve been fine since then until last week. Something happened…”

I turned around, pressing my face against his chest. “I thought I saw him,” I whispered, and my entire body began trembling. “I thought–I–thought–” Then I began crying, and he held tightly. “Oh Watcher, Hal. I am crazy! He’s gone! He’s been gone! He’s out of my life, he’s been gone for an entire decade! Why now? Why is this happening?!”

He rubbed my back gently and it felt like the past ten years hadn’t happened at all, that I had just left Doug. I was clinging to Hal, sobbing into his chest as he comforted me. Nothing had changed. Nothing would ever change. I was going to be haunted by him forever.

After I had no more tears, Hal carried me back to the bed and tucked me in like one of the kids. He went to get a damp washcloth and then sat next to me, carefully wiping my face. “I don’t know why this is happening now. But don’t let it get to you. It’s just nightmares, nothing else. He’s gone.”

“I thought I saw him,” I croaked out.

Hal tossed the washcloth onto the pile of dirty clothes then he crawled under the blanket, holding me once more. “You didn’t really. You just thought you did. It’ll be okay.”

I closed my eyes and listened to him whispering sweet nothings into my ear and soon I fell asleep, and managed to sleep the entire night without a bad dream.

*

Despite having no nightmares, the next day I was really shaky. I tried to work on a review for the newspaper but couldn’t concentrate on the words. They get running together and getting all mixed up so I soon gave up and tried focusing on doing some housework. No good. I kept dropping things and finally just gave up, curling up on the couch and watching Mal play with his toys.

When the kids got home I tried to help them with their homework but it was so bad I couldn’t even remember simple multiplication. I finally just let them pop a movie in and then I curled back up on the couch, feeling sick to my stomach.

“Mama, are you okay?” Kaylee asked, kneeling in front of the couch to look in my face.

“I’m okay,” I promised her and I saw Serenity shoot me a look. “Just kinda tired,” I added quickly. Serenity rolled her eyes, and Kaylee leaned forward to kiss my forehead.

“I’ll take care’a ya!” she said then scrambled to her feet. A moment later she returned from the kitchen with two cookies. “Dis will make ya allll better!” She handed me a cookie.

I sat up, reaching out for them and when she only placed one in my hand, I raised an eyebrow. “What is the other cookie for?”

She scrunched her face up. “Doctor’s fee,” she said then returned to watching the movie, stuffing half the cookie in her mouth.

Of course everyone else wanted a cookie as well so I went to the kitchen to set up a tray, complete with glasses of milk. But I was feeling quite a bit better by this point. Until nighttime, when I had another nightmare. I managed not to wake Hal up and I just trudged downstairs and onto the back porch, shivering in the cool night air, wondering if I should go see someone about all this.

*

Once again I fluctuated. Some days I was okay, other days I couldn’t function well. I seriously considered going to see someone, at least about the nightmares. What harm could it do? It might even help. But the thought of confiding into someone my history with Douglas… I didn’t like that.

So I didn’t go, and just tried to live with my fears until the day before school let out. I was kinda looking forward to the kids being home all day. Being around them eased my fears a bit (and making sure they were ok certainly helped). But that day I woke up feeling utterly terrified, the feeling that something bad was going to happen…

I got the kids ready for school, fixed breakfast for the twins and Mal. I couldn’t eat, so I just sat there and watched Mal squish his fingers through his food. Something bad, something bad, no–nothing. My imagination? No. Something bad…

The minutes turned to hours, and the hours were like days. Any little sound had me jumping about fifty feet. I couldn’t even sit still while the kids watched yet another movie. I texted Hal at about ten-twelve am, asking if he could come home for his lunch break. He responded that he’d be happy to, and he’d bring some Chinese food with him.

Thanks hun ❤. I sent the text to him then looked up.

I screamed as I saw his face in my window. I dropped the phone and stumbled back, falling onto my rear end. When I got back up, he was gone. I ran over and flung the window open, leaning out to look around but there was no sign of anyone. I couldn’t have just imagined that! He was there, he was really there. It wasn‘t a hallucination!

I went to the door and opened it, looking around some more. Nothing. He was gone. If he had even been there in the first place. Maybe I did hallucinate it, I thought, shutting the door and then, after thinking a second, locked the door. I returned to the living room and sat down on the couch, legs twitching, hands shaking.

None of the kids were watching the movie anymore so I got up and turned the TV off. Of course River started complaining right away, so I turned it back on. She just went right back to the dollhouse.

I turned around and flinched, half expecting to see him in the window again but he wasn’t there. Maybe Hal would take the rest of the day off. I went to where I dropped my phone and picked it up. Can you take the rest of the day off? Not feeling well.

I clutched the phone, pacing around as I waited for a reply. Yes, he texted, I’ll be there in half an hour.

Feeling relieved, I returned to the living room and froze as I saw a blur outside. I hurried to the front door, grabbing Duncan’s baseball bat and stepping outside, prepared to hit him if he was really there.

“Come on!” I said, though not too loud. “If you’re there, stop being a wuss and show yourself!” I gripped the bat harder, my muscles tensing. I was just going crazy, I knew I was. Talking to thin air. Talking to my imagination.

But then I heard something partially behind me and I spun around, opening my mouth to scream as he filled my view. But one hand went over my mouth and the other lashed out, digging nails into my wrist so I dropped the bat.

“Well, hello again my dear,” he said with a scary grin.

Then everything went black.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.31 – Under My Skin

  1. ebonyimonet says:

    OMIGOSH!!!
    NOOO Seb, if he hurts you i’ll turn into a sim and kill him… im serious i can totally do it 🙂
    Oooo how’d Serenity know Seb was lying?

  2. Cereline says:

    OMG NEXT CHAPTER PLEASE! I can’t believe Doug is back! Ahh! So scary D: But FINALLY! It’s been so tense, waiting in anticipation for him to appear. And all the kids are home, but no Hal (for 30 more min) what’s gonna happen?!

    • Cereline says:

      Oh and I have to add that I lol’d at the fact that he appeared in the window.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Actually only the twins (5 years old) and Mal (2 years old) are home. Duncan, Serenity and Kaylee are at their last day of school, so for thirty minutes it’s just the little ones 😦
      Sorry, you’ll have to wait for the next chapter. xD IF I’m awake enough tonight, I might be able to get the pics tonight. But possibly not till tomorrow. ;3

      • Cereline says:

        Oh yeah good point, I forgot about school… Nooo not the little ones QQ Well I guess I have an update to look forward to for when I get home tomorrow since I have to stay after for like 2 1/2 hours for choir rehersal…

      • sErindeppity says:

        I will be getting the next chapter out tonight since everyone is so anxious x3

  3. Anon says:

    Can you post the new update really fast? I CAN’T FUNCTION NOT KNOWING WHAT HAPPENS. D:

  4. OH NOES! DX

    When Seb thought he saw Doug, I freaked out, searched the picture, and TOTALLY SAW HIM. 😯

    Please, sir, may I have some more? XD

    *quotes the first play I was ever in*

  5. Aaaaaaaa! What a nail biter. Then KABLAM Something Wicked Seb’s Way Came!

  6. NO! What has he done to Seb?? LET HIM GO!!!! LET HIM GO, DAMN YOU!

    On a slightly calmer note: Wow, Doug really let himself go oO

  7. Hakari says:

    ASDFGHJKL DOUG IS DEAD MEAT!
    I’m interested as to what he’s going to do with Seb, seeing as he’s supposedly “stronger” now. This HAS to do with the Reddings.

    But I have to say, when I saw his face in the window I cracked up because he looks so weird XD
    …and then I nearly screamed when I saw his face again.

  8. thelizzy1990 says:

    Seb really needs to learn to trust his instincts and call the freaking cops instead of running outside with a baseball bat. Well, Doug better watch himself. Pretty soon he’s gonna have the whole Danevbie clan searching him out. *has visions of Doug being burned at the stake* Hehehe.

    I’m getting worried about Serenity, too. I think Doug might’ve been talking to her, but why her and not Duncan? Hmm. Also, Kaylee is very quickly becoming my favorite.

  9. shelllegacy says:

    GAHHH! DOUG, WHY COULDN’T YOU JUST STAY AWAY?!
    Okay, stupid question. He’s evil and has this creepy control over Seb that he enjoys, end of story. I hope he gets attacked by rabid wolves, and then thrown into the man-eating-animals pit for the rest of his miserable life and then… you get the picture.
    Serenity… hmm. I’m really worried about her, because she knows something. She’s just a kid, and it’s natural that she might know that Hal’s not her birth dad if she’s been in contact with that monster. I hope she hasn’t been tricked, but I suspect the worst.
    It’s obvious Doug hasn’t gotten over the whole Seb thing. I doubt he ever will.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol since you already answered your own question there…. x3

      As for Serenity, she has not been in any contact with Doug. :mrgreen: I can’t say more though right now since you’ll be finding out very soon what’s up with her 😉

  10. sweetribz says:

    NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! -thrashes around flailing like a little child- WHYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Okay, who wants to join the kill doug repeatedly game? I have death flowers, so he can just die and come back for more torture >:D

  11. blueskittles says:

    Argh what a cliff hanger!!, loved it!! I think dougs a vampire it explains the mind control and the when I’m stronger thing :/

    Off to read the new chapter 😀

  12. Oh no, Doug’s gone crazy stalker!

  13. Mia says:

    Wow, Serenity is a little… River-y. 😀
    And, by the way, you might want to cover your ears. *screams*
    I freaked out when I saw Doug and his creepy, widely opened mouth.

  14. gladissims says:

    I’m cooking a stew, a new kind of brew…
    I’m humming a song while I’m cooking for you…
    Do you want to know what’s in that stew?

    Sorry, I can’t tell you because it involves Dough…

  15. mewmewmentor says:

    Why do I have the very bad feeling that Serenity’s been talking to Doug and having a similar meltdown like what happened when Cal found out that his dad gave birth to him?

  16. nestea7 says:

    I’m back! I’m determined to get caught up, even if it kills me. *cracks knuckles* Let’s do this!

  17. NO NO NO NO NO NO NONONONONONO

  18. jonso says:

    He shoulda had a restraining order out on Doug from the first day. >:[

  19. zefiewings says:

    I nearly screamed myself when i scrolled down and saw him at the window!
    I have to go for a little while darn it! I want to read what happens now!

  20. somebodysangel13 says:

    So, since Serenity wasn’t guessing that Seb was lying (yeah, I read all the comments, I’m a dork like that), I’m thinking there’s some kind of psychic thing going on. Possibly part of what Doug was being treated for/experimented on. Though Doug never seemed to know what Seb was thinking, he just smacked him around…hmm.
    “Doctor’s fee” – too cute! I love reading about the kids, you should do it more! I know there’s this whole Doug thing, but I want more of the happy kiddie times also.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I am trying to bring more happy-kid-time in my gens. It’s something I was very bad about since writing fluff isn’t as easy for me as writing drama/emotional scenes/intense situations. But I am trying and doing a better job with each gen I /think/. Also including siblings, I’m trying to do that too.
      Nothing wrong with reading comments. I’m glad you’re enjoying the story to the point of wanting to see what other people say about it. BTW I am loving your comments so much ❤ I get all giddy when I see you've commented ^_^ (er I'm not saying that to get you to comment more often, I'd rather you comment when you want to. Haha!)

      • somebodysangel13 says:

        You’re welcome, glad to know my comments are appreciated, even though I’m coming to the party so late. I haven’t commented on many other legacies, and no-one has responded back except you. So of course you get more comments!

      • sErindeppity says:

        They are definitely appreciated. I know it is usually easier to read through without commenting, so comments always mean a lot especially ones with a lot of thought in them like you do ^_^

  21. Danielle says:

    Ugh Douglas is so ugly, haha

Leave a Reply

