Break These Chains – 4.37 – Rescue Plan

*Hal’s POV*

There was a little town near the privately owned estates and there I found out a bit more. I had driven straight through, though it didn’t take long, and got a room at an inn for the night. I talked to the receptionist there and found out more.

The estates were owned by a family that had lived there for ages, handed down through the generations. It was rumored to be some sort of science facility though there was no proof. And there was also a rumor that the place was being funded by the military.

That got my attention. Science facility? Military? Wasn’t that exactly the rumors that happened to the place where Luna and Kellen once worked? But I couldn’t think much about that since the receptionist went on to say a large part of the grounds were open for the public, apparently there were a lot of old riding trails that the science facility left open.

I went to the edge of the estates but saw nothing. No fence, no military people standing guard. Nothing but woods. I checked the map with the circles and figured out where the smallest circle was compared to where I was. Not too far but…. it would take forever on foot. And I couldn’t see any roads leading to the main house. How did they get there? Maybe it was abandoned?

I talked to the receptionist again and she was very friendly and helpful. “Well, the people that always go out there usually use helicopters,” she said.

Helicopter. “I don’t suppose I could rent one,” I said, half-jokingly.

She laughed, as I figured she would. “Course ya can’t, silly!” My shoulders sagged and I thanked her, ready to head to my room to make a plan. I had taken five steps when she said, “But you could always get a horse, there’s a riding trail that goes right up to the main house.”

*Sebastian’s POV*

“You’re not eating… you should eat.”

“Why don’t you make me?” I asked, looking up from my cereal.

Doug narrowed his eyes then stood up and for a moment I thought he was going to force the food down my throat. “Sebastian, I give and I give! I want us to be happy!”

I shrank back, staring at him. “That’s why you kidnapped and are forcing me to stay here against my will and–” I stopped, as feelings of longing and want washed over me. I pressed my hands against the table, taking in a few deeps breaths, trying to fight the lust. “And you do this,” I managed to get out.

He stared at me for a moment then turned away. “Do the dishes,” he snapped.

I gathered the dishes and went over to the sink, dumping out my cereal and then washing the bowls and spoons. It was Friday morning. I still had a full day before Professor Whatever helped me escape. Except now I was a bit worried since something was up with Doug. The previous night he had just gone to sleep, ignoring me completely. Not that I was complaining. But him acting differently worried me.

“Doctor Rood wants to come in tomorrow,” Doug said from somewhere behind me.

“Tomorrow?” I jerked slightly in surprise, sloshing a bit of soapy water onto the floor. “As in… Saturday?” Panic bubbled up inside of me.

Doug took a few, sauntering steps closer. “Yes. As in Saturday. What are you so worried about?”

“I’m not… worried…”

His hands lashed out and he grabbed my shirt, twisting the fabric around his fingers and yanking me close. I let out a yelp of fear. “It’s useless to lie to be, Sebastian. I can sense your feelings. I know you’re panicking, so I know you are lying. Why are you lying to me? Why are you worried?”

“She scares me,” I replied, honestly. Not the entire truth but enough of the truth to hopefully convince him. He just narrowed his eyes even more, searching my face. “What? Doesn’t she scare you?”

He just stared into my eyes for a moment and then shoved me away. “Get in the bedroom,” he said darkly.

I walked towards the door then hesitated. “Doug, you claim to love me.”

“I do love you,” he said, coming up behind me and putting his hands on my shoulders.

I closed my eyes tightly, part of me wanting to push him away, the other part of me wanting to pull him closer. “So why me?” I asked, shivering. “There’s something, obviously. You coming back after… ten years… kidnapping me. Obsessed with me. Why?”

His lips were against the back of my neck and then he turned me around, eyes boring holes into my eyes. “I may have told you lies during the time we were together but one thing I did not lie about. About how I loved you from the start. That night on the beach…” He ran a finger down my cheek. “When I kissed you, I felt something.” His hand dropped away from my face and then he stepped back, staring at the wall behind me.

“All my life before that, I’ve just… felt what other people felt. Raised for ten years in a lab. Nobody but… those… people watching me.” His fingers curled up into fists and he narrowed his eyes. “Nobody but other people like me around. Then getting separated from even that, being put in this house.”

He looked around the room, eyes flashing with even more anger. “Ten years old and they put me here because I have ‘anger management issues’! I was ten!” He gave a yell and hit a lamp, sending it flying to the floor. I winced when it crashed when winced again when he spun around to glower at me. “Then I really had nobody, nobody but those scientists bringing me food and doing tests on me. Then once a month, Doctor Rood coming in and lording over me like some sort of god.” He hit another lamp and it crashed into the wall.

“Then why did you bring me here if you hate them so much?” I whispered.

“Because they can help focus my power,” he said, shrugging one shoulder. “And I need power to keep you.”

“Because I made you feel something over fifteen years ago,” I said flatly.

“You still make me feel it,” he said, coming towards me again and cupping my face in his hands. “I look at you and I see the world. I kiss you, and it’s… the most I’ve ever felt real. But you just keep disobeying me, Sebastian! Why do you keep pushing me away and disobeying me and–and–questioning how I feel about you?!”

“Did you feel real when you cheated on me?” I asked, glaring at him as he held onto my arms. “Did they make you feel real–“

He hit me, hard. That shut me up and I gave up trying. What did any of it matter? I just hoped the Professor Rood showed up before the Doctor Rood did.

*Hal’s POV*

I woke up in the morning with a plan of action. I had gone to the stables the evening before–unable to rent a horse due to the fact it was late in the day. But I took some pamphlets with information, staying up late and reading them. Making the plan to go and rescue my husband.

I did know that he was there, he had to be. It was all too coincidental. Science facility plus the fact Douglas wasn’t ‘human’? It was too much for me. I knew Sebastian was there.

I got dressed and went to the stables. I would be unable to rent a horse since they had guides to go with the tourists. There was no way they’d let me go off the trail. So there was only one thing to do, to get to that red circle.

“Hi,” I said when I got there. “I’d like to buy a horse. Heard you were the best in the area.”

*

I don’t know what I was thinking–there had to be some other way. But what other way was there? Sebastian needed me. Every moment spent in the company of that–vile–creature was a moment too much.

I had a vague idea of how to ride. Growing up in Appaloosa Plains had at least given me that much. But I wasn’t an expert, so I just did my best. The horse seemed intelligent enough and didn’t seem bothered by my failings as a rider.

I wanted to just run the entire way. Gallup. But that would wear the horse out quickly, so I stuck to a semi-fast walking pace. How long till I got there? Too long, but quicker than any other way since I couldn’t get a helicopter anytime soon.

Sebastian, I’m coming, I thought, adrenaline surging through my body. I know you’re there. I had faith that he was there for some reason. That Douglas had brought him here for some reason. That he was still alive.

I clutched the reigns tightly. I had a long ride ahead of me and it didn’t take long until the worries started pulling at me. Not just that something might have happened, but all the worries that still haunted me from years past. I knew why. I was once again in a sort of helpless position while the man I loved was being hurt.

The images of Sebastian with bruises all of him, crying, insisting he loved Doug. Swearing he’d lie to the cops if I told. Me unable to do anything.

No! I thought, gripping the reigns so hard that my knuckles went white. Not this time. I will save you this time, Sebastian. I promise.

*Sebastian’s POV*

I was drifting in and out of the sleep that Doug put on me, when a slamming door woke me up. Someone was shouting something and I just got out of bed when Doctor Rood came storming in, her eyes like emeralds. Hard, cold.

Doug was out of bed in a flash, barreling towards her and I was waiting for him to hit her, but she got there first. There was something silver that glinted in her hands and as soon as it touched Doug, he went down.

She tucked the pen–yes, it was a pen–back in her pocket. “You. I need to talk to you,” she said, stepping over Doug’s body. I backed up, halfway expecting her to do something to me with that pen. “You have children.”

“That is none of your business,” I said, knowing my hands were shaking.

“With him?” She indicated Doug who was getting up off the floor. “You have produced children with him?”

“Yeah, we have kids,” Doug groaned out. “But as Sebastian said, it’s none of your business.” She rolled her eyes and pulled the pen out again, knocking him down to the floor. I jumped slightly, gulping as she looked at me once more.

“How many are there? Have they shown any extraordinary abilities? Never mind that, I will see for myself. What are there names? Addresses?”

“I am not telling you anything about my children!” I snarled, lurching forward, ready to attack. I was scared of her but just the thought of this terrifying woman going anywhere near any of my children made my blood boil over.

The pen was out, and I was on the floor, on top of Doug. “Very well,” she said, leaning over me as she tucked the pen back in her pocket. “I will find out for myself.” She turned to leave and I lifted my head, ready to shout at her but someone shouted at her first.

“You go anywhere n-near those ch-children and you w-will regret it!” Professor Rood stood in the doorway, blocking his sister from leaving.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.37 – Rescue Plan

  1. Jazen says:

    What the hell is that pen? That’s some new weapon she invented?

    Nope still don’t feel sorry for Doug. He’s a monster and what he’s done and doing to Seb is selfish and heartless.

    Way to go Kay!!! Nice to see him trying to grow a backbone against his sister. Let’s hope with him, Seb, and yes even Doug they can stop her. Then there is still the issue of getting Seb away. But Hal is riding in on a horse like a true knight in shining armor. Let’s just hope the map was right and he’s in the correct town!

    • sErindeppity says:

      It was used in the third generation :3 I forget what chapter, but she basically had a “stun gun” in the form of a pen.
      I don’t feel sorry for him either. Yeah he had a bad childhood but he was separated from people due to anger issues even at that age. I can only imagine what he was doing as a child that made JAY want hom far away.
      Huzzah for Kay! πŸ˜€ I think Doug would hurt Jay, if it meant keeping Seb o:

  2. Anon says:

    YAYYY! πŸ˜€ GO KAY!

  3. Glory R says:

    Oh No!! I’ve caught up on the story, I’ve been mesmerized by the whole thing. You have done an enormous amount of work with all the pics and everything else you do to make this Legacy so great to read. I’ve started other ones but quite frankly did get bored. That hasn’t happened in this one…I do hope you pursue your dreams of becoming published, you have a lot of talent and a fabulous imagination. I’m probably one of your “older” readers…lol However, you’ve kept me up into the wee hours of the morning with this story! Congratulations, I look forward to reading more!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Ah, its so great to hear from you! Thanks for replying, I love hearing from new readers ❀ I'm so happy you've been enjoying this so much and I hope that the rest of the generations also mesmerize you πŸ™‚
      Aw, thanks for the compliment. I am hopefully going to one day soon get published! I'm planning on trying to get one of my books finished as soon as I can, and find a good publisher. ^_^
      Again, thank you for commenting ❀

  4. Crazy chic says:

    Kay you are just so awesome!!!! I freaking love you!!!! *ahem* I have to regain composure. >_<

    Poor Hal, doesn't know what's coming 😦

    • sErindeppity says:

      Kay is amazingness ❀ ❀ ❀ I've been so excited for this scene since even before Seb was kidnapped. Well, actually, I've been excited for this scene since Seb was chosen as the heir! πŸ˜€

  5. Cereline says:

    Omg *flail* Kay! Ahhh standing up to your sister for once! <33 I'm loving Kay more and more!

  6. Yayy! Well done Kay for standing up to Jay!

    Hopefully Hal will make it there in time =]

  7. Aaaah, that last sentence made my day!! πŸ˜€ Never thought that man would be such a hero, I’m liking him more and more πŸ˜€

  8. Yay Kay stand up to your sister! πŸ˜€ Woot woot.

    And still not really feeling any love for Doug.

    GO HAL GO!

    And O,o Scary Jay.

  9. shelllegacy says:

    Go Kay! πŸ˜€ I can’t believe he stood up to Jay so willingly. Hopefully Hal doesn’t run into anyone on his ride there, like one of the other experiments, or someone working with Jay.
    I can’t stand Doug. He’s an evil, manipulative swine, and he doesn’t care an ounce about Duncan or Serenity, just about Seb. I can’t wait to see how this turns out, because Jay is so used to having her twin obey her (for the most part).

    • sErindeppity says:

      It was probably something difficult but he knew he was the only person who could stand between Jay and his great-great grandchildren. Hopefully he’s able to keep up the courage… and this is definitely a shock for Jay πŸ˜› Last time he disobeyed her it wasn’t for anyone else, it was just him walking away and trying to live his own life.
      Doug is very very evil @_@

  10. misssasy11 says:

    Aww I am so proud of Kay :’) I really like him hanging around with the generations as he seems like a good role model. I hope he sticks around….(Jay doesn’t have to though (: )

  11. sweetribz says:

    The last line had me just like

    (O_O)

    Then.. <(^_^^_^)> GO KAY! Now what..he knocks her out..throws her off a cliff? >:D

    Mwuahahaha..ermm..oops, you weren’t supposed to hear that laugh… πŸ˜€

  12. Lathe says:

    ::wonders if Kay is gonna get stun-penned as well::

  13. *stalks your other comments*

    *panics*

    ONLY THREE MORE CHAPTERS?!?!? NOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WAIT YESSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WAIT NOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Aw Kay, I knew you had it in ya! πŸ˜€

    *speaks in a very small voice*

    Marry me Kay?

    No really though, he’s gorgeous. XD

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yep only 3 more chapters. D: And then Seb’s gen will be over, and Serenity will take over. ^___^
      I need to work on the Kay videos… x] he is yummy. ❀

      • Honestly, I only picked Serenity because it’s our last chance at keeping the Penny genetics alive. XD

        Say, sErin, did you cheat with her hair color? Because I wasn’t aware that genetics could pass from great-grandparents.

      • sErindeppity says:


        …..
        …….
        Yes. :I I rolled a dice to pick a kid to change the hair color cause I wanted to keep Penny genes alive. I got a 1, so Serenity won. But it was ok since she had this generic light brown color before, I guess from Doug’s non-existent parents. I’m sorry T_T it was just NO FAIR that only one Danevbie got the hair color since none of Vi’s kids got the color. -flails miserably- I’m a dirty no good cheater. >:I
        Y’all can shun me now. -sits in a corner- But I really didn’t think she’d have the eyes, too. Plus it’s kinda weird that something like that wouldn’t get passed down. Her biological aunt has the hair, after all.

      • You naughty cheater you. πŸ˜‰ I knew that wasn’t possible, though I am very glad you did it.

        That was the same reason I almost voted for Viola. Also because I really like her name and I want to name one of my kids that someday.

        I’m reading Shakespeare in English class right now.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Yep. I won’t cheat in my rainbowcy but since the whole colorful thing isn’t the same in a regular legacy I thought it’d be ok. Plus, kids should get stuff from great-grandparents. I was sad to lose the Reddings’ eyes D: I might do something like that in the future. The guy I made for Serenity has colorful hair x3
        Which play are you working on now? :3

      • Guess.

        Also, a lot of it is learning about Shakespeare himself.

        They should have an Honors English class at my stupid fancy-pants private school. My English class is way too easy.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Oh xD haha I hope you’re enjoying it as much as I did.

      • We are making sociograms now.

  14. thelizzy1990 says:

    Aw, poor Hal. Always so worried about Seb. Maybe he can get to the cabin in time to help Kay kick Jay’s butt, stun-pen Doug, and get Seb outta there before either of ’em gets up. =D

    Speaking of the pen, it’s nice to see little reminders of previous gens pop up. I bet Luna’s regretting her hand in making it now.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hopefully he gets there before anything really bad happens >_<
      I was sitting there trying to think of what Jay would do since I didn't want her to just hit Doug again, I wanted something really fun. I'm glad I remembered that pen x]

  15. Rozelliee says:

    Go Kay! I wish him luck in standing up to Jay next chapter, I want to see what’ll happen. He’s barely really done it before, and I figured that if Jay found out about the kids, Seb was toast unless Hal or something came to help him (which, thankfully, he is)- but yeah, I never thought he’d stand up to her.
    Ugh, Jay’d better not go near Serenity- especially when she’s still young. D:<
    Also can Hal take Doug in a fight? What was his plan in going after him alone and unarmed? I sort of get the impression that that stinker Doug would be stronger than him, physically. He looks rather muscly.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I’m glad Kay was such a surprise doing this :3 and yes hopefully he continue to stands up to her, but he knows he needs to protect the kids from her.
      Since Serenity won the heir vote, y’all know Jay will be showing up at some point in her life. But it hopefully does wait until she’s a bit older.
      Doug is very muscle-y, but so is Hal. Sebastian seems to go to the muscled men @_@ but Doug looks a bit stronger than Hal, and Hal is gonna be very tired from riding for five-ish hours. He doesn’t really have a plan, he just knows he needs to save his darling.

  16. sweetribz says:

    AHAA!!! I google translated red and Rood is dutch for RED! HA!! πŸ˜›

  17. Joni1023 says:

    Go Kay!!! Hopefully Hal will get there in time.

    • sErindeppity says:

      -grins- I take it you like. x] Kay is awesome ❀ did you see my reply about him and Ancora btw? Cause Kay really is a mostly good guy, other than going along with his sister too much. @_@

      • mewmewmentor says:

        Yeah, I saw. I go to my WordPress account and read all the comments to my comments, when there’s comments.

        How very egostical of me.

        XD

        But anyways, I know what you mean. I know Kay can’t completely overcome Jay, since I saw on the thread you want them both around for thirteen generations (and by the way, they’re going to be flipping old by that time, can we get a vampire to come take them out? XD) But…well, he is Jay’s twin. That means what others would scream in horror about, he just shrugs sadly and looks away.

        That brings me to an interesting point. I expect as they get older and older, they’re getting further and further removed from humanity. :/ And by that, I mean relating to humans. Yes, Kay will always be our sweetheart and will hopefully always have a soft spot for the Danevbies…but he’s probably seen a lot of questionable things by now, which makes me wonder if he might be starting to go a little numb to it all.

        And of course, we know Jay is completely numb to all humans except her brother. And maybe her parents, may they rot in peace.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Lol I do the same. I also refresh wordpress about fifty million times a day in hopes of one comment I can reply to. XD Or in hopes someone has replied to me.

        They won’t be old if they keep taking the youth potion. xD
        You are so right about him just looking away. He is very connected to her. He tried to break free once but ultimately went back to her (albeit in exchange for answers for Calcifer). And in this gen, it really took a lot for him to stand up in the way he did.

        Kay is growing numb to some things but he will always retain some of his sweetheartness. He…. well I can’t say something since it involves the main plot thread. But I can say that he and his sister are very aware about something and that piece of information–or rather, how they read into it–is what makes them really different, and will help keep him on a somewhat decent path.

        Plus he stills feels that he is helping keeping her from doing even worse than what she is already doing, which he actually is. When they were apart (between Jacob’s gen and when Cal showed up in Twinbrook) was when she went really crazy with tearing things apart.

        Yeah Jay just simply does not care about anything or anyone other than herself, aliens, and Kay. Or does she? What happens in gen five might surprise you. πŸ˜‰

  18. mewmewmentor says:

    Oh, yes they will be old! I don’t mean physically old, I mean mentally. They’re going to be like…o.o Don’t ask me to do the math, I can’t figure it out. That’s why I mentioned vampires. πŸ˜› They live a really long time (sometimes forever) in fiction) and they’re currently portrayed as being youthful forever. So Kay and Jay are quite a bit like vampires, just without the literal blood-drinking…Or at least, I HOPE they’re not drinking blood. XD

    …Now I’m reallyreallyreally curious about Jay and gen. 5. :O

    • sErindeppity says:

      Oh lol I get what you mean now!! Wow they will be old by the end and are already old. o_o -tries to do the math- Around 140 years old now? Something like that. X_X
      I don’t think they’re drinking blood. O_O
      At least, I doubt they are.
      ….
      At least, I doubt Kay is. -shudders-

  19. nestea7 says:

    Woo!!! Way to go Kay! What the hell does that pen do?!?! I could use that thing on a lot of people. -shifty eyes- I mean, I would neeevveeer use that on anyone…lmao

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hehehe Kay is terrific ❀ and it's a sort of stun gun in pen form and she just had it amped up to knock people out. I would like one of those. ;P I would use it. -giggles-

  20. Is it wrong I smile like an idiot whenever Kay does anything. He’s finally standing up to her. Way to go. Don’t let her near your great great grand kids. Sure, he’s turned a blind eye to some of the awful things his sister has done, but he can’t let her win this time. I’m sure they’ll still be together, despite it all, and he’ll still be her puppet. But it’s taking a lot for him to fight her on this matter.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Eeee no not wrong at all. Kay is all kinds of amazingness -flails- I adore him. He is finally standing up to her, he is protective of the Danevbies as much as he can be. He does turn a blind eye to a lot of things she does but he does his best to keep her from going overboard. Of course he also doesn’t know a lot of what she does (like some of the stuff at Ancora). He is very loyal to her :\ and it is very hard for him to yell at her like he did but yay for him being brave ❀

  21. somebodysangel13 says:

    Aw, Jay, you really have to figure out a better way to get what you want. Can always catch more flies with honey than vinegar. After what Kay said in the previous chapter, I understand why she would want to study Doug’s kids, but demanding to know where they are is not the way to go about it. Then again, since she’s allowed Doug to ‘keep’ his pet, unlikely Seb would have ever told her, no matter how nice she was.
    Yay, for Kay standing up to his sister! I do wonder about him sometimes; not so much that he allows Jay to get away with so much, we know why that is. More, what does he get out of all these experiments? He’s obviously pretty smart himself, but he’s not cold and unfeeling like Jay is.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Jay is not very good with honey. She leaves that to Kay. She is very blunt and demanding, but she is aware of it (in the AU double legacy it is revealed that she sends Kay out to the parties to get backers for their projects since she knows she’s bad at it).
      Kay is very loyal to his sister. There are two Redding specials out right now (I need to write more…. eeep!) that go into their back story more. He doesn’t really get much from these things but he knows his sister does, and that’s important to him. He wants to help her achieve her dream of meeting aliens.

Leave a Reply

