Break These Chains – 4.39 – Dying Words

All I could do was sob and say nonsense as Doug pulled me towards the door. He kept just pouring emotions into me to the point of me rather wishing he’d just kill me and be done with it. I couldn’t stand another minute with this wilderness inside me.

I’d be helpless once we were out there, in his hands. No, I can get out, I thought as we got to the door. I could do this. Could I? I had to. But no, it was hopeless. By the time he let me out of this emotion trap, we’d be in some basement in Egypt and I’d be his pet for the rest of my life.

Doug lifted the key-chain and just as he pushed the button he said, “No. Wait, what is that? What–what is it?!” He stood stiffly then pushed me aside, cracking open the door. “Someone is close. Not one of the Roods. Not another Four…”

“We should stay then,” I managed to get out before I was hit with a wave of despair, so I just started crying again.

“It’s probably some local gone too far off the trails…” Doug grabbed my arm and pushed open the door. We went four steps before he began shoving me back through the doorway. I had no idea what was going on. Doug was trying to get the door shut but it was slammed open with a force I didn’t think any human had.

It’s one of the other experiments, I thought, panicking. Someone insanely strong, or telekinetic force, or it could be… it’s….

“HAL!” I screamed as he stepped in. I tried going for him but Doug was in the way and I ran into him. As soon as we made bodily contact, I was filled with emotions again, tearing me to pieces.

“Step. Away. From. Him.” Hal’s voice was deeper, darker, scarier than I ever imagined it could be. There was a glimmer of happiness before Doug squashed it.

“How did you…?” Doug gasped out. “Go away! This is my house!”

Hal’s fists raised but then he froze, looking a bit confused. Doug was staring intently at him and I had the feeling he was trying to do to Hal what he was doing to me. But his connection wasn’t very strong with anyone other than me, and Hal was stunned only momentarily.

“GET AWAY FROM HIM!” Hal roared and he sprung forward like a cat. A tiger, a powerful tiger–ready to claw Doug to shreds. My tiger.

Doug screamed and hit the floor, and Hal began throwing fists everywhere. All of Doug’s emotions drained out of me like someone pulled the plug. But he wasn’t exactly weak, and he began fighting back.

“Hal! Hal be careful!” I said, watching with fear as the two rolled back and forth. I reached down, grabbing one of the broken chair pieces, intending on hitting Doug over the head with it but before I could make my move, Hal was once more on top.

“You little bastard!” Hal growled, his hands around Doug’s throat.

Doug saw me standing there with the piece and began grasping out. I saw another piece of the broken chair not too far from where his fingers were reaching. I tried to get to it, but he grabbed it first and I screamed when he hit Hal’s head.

Hal fell back and Doug shakily rose, throwing emotions at me as I tried raising my piece of the chair up to hit him. I dropped the wooden bit and stumbled back, feeling helpless. I was pathetic. I was weak. I couldn’t even protect myself, and now–now! Hal, my darling Hal, was being attacked and I couldn’t do anything.

Hal reached up so when Doug hit him again, it smacked Hal’s arm. I winced at the sound and tried to go forward but it was too hard, I couldn’t move, I couldn’t even think anymore.

I can’t do anything, I’m not good enough, I’ve never been good enough.

Except I was good enough. Hal—this man, fighting for me. Appearing out of no where, in the middle of no where, fighting for me. I was good enough for him. He loved me. Truly loved me. This man, unconnected to me by blood like my family, and this weird connection I had with Doug.

There was no reason for him to love me.

He loved me.

I was good enough.

THWACK!

The splintered wood hit Doug’s back and he went crashing down to the floor. I staggered, nearly dropping the wood then looking up at Hal who was panting for air. I stared at him then dropped the wood, rushing over to my husband.

“Hal, are you ok? Sweetie? Are you okay?!” I examined his bleeding arm then my hands went to his face, kissing him passionately. “What are you doing here? How did you find me?! Oh, Hal, darling, oh Hal!”

“I’m okay, I’m okay,” he managed to get out, reaching up to touch my cheek. “Are you okay? Sebastian, oh Sebastian!”

We kissed again, and again. Then I pulled away, getting some paper towels from the kitchen to mop up his blood. It wasn’t a bad wound, thankfully. He wasn’t too hurt. “How did you find me?” I asked again, looking up in his eyes.

“Long story,” he said, stroking my cheek. “We need to get you out of here.”

We only took a few steps before Doug came to and began gasping out in pain. “Wh–what happened… I can’t… Sebastian…?”

I didn’t stop walking when I looked down and was shocked to see how much blood was on the floor. Doug was barely moving. His fingers stretched out, scratching lightly at the floor. A bit of blood was coming out of his mouth. That’s when I saw a bloodied nail sticking sharp-end out on the wood I used to hit him.

“I think he’s going to die,” I said, taken aback by this. Had I just killed someone? I was… going to kill him… I was a killer…

“Let’s go,” Hal said gently, pulling me towards the door.

“Sebastian!” Doug cried out. “No, Seb… astian… stay…” I ignored him, going towards the door, leaning against Hal. “No, no, Sebastian–please… I’m… I need you!” I was at the door. “NO! Sebastian! Your mother! Your children! I know something!”

I froze. Hal kept trying to walk but was stopped since we were still clinging to each other. “No, Sebastian, he’s just trying to get you to stay!” Hal said, gripping my hand.

“No… Sebastian, stay–I’m… dying…” His voice was raspy and sounded pale. “Please stay!”

“There’s nothing here for me to stay,” I said, turning away from him. I felt a little tug at my emotions but it was barely there. Weak. Because I had severed the link or because he was dying?

“No, Seb… I know something, please stay. About the Roods. Your children. You.”

“Sebastian, he doesn’t know anything,” Hal said, sounding a bit desperate. He pulled at my hands. “What are you doing?”

I was turned back around, facing Doug. He was dying, I could tell. His eyes weren’t on me but on the ceiling, staring as if he couldn’t see anything. Blood was still trickling out of his mouth. “What about my family?” I demanded, folding my arms.

He gasped a bit and moved very slightly. “I love you, Sebastian,” he said weakly.

“I’m going, then.”

“NO!” he shrieked. “No, please no… I’ll… I’ll say…”

I stepped closer again, staying out of reach of him. Something inside of me was terrified that this was a trick. “Then tell me, Doug.”

Finally his eyes shifted and he was looking at me but everything that was once in them was gone. Oh Watcher, I had hit him that hard. “My connection with you,” he whispered, dark eyes staring into mine. “I don’t know what it is but… I love you… NO!” he cried when I shifted to leave. “I’ll say it, I’ll say it. Anything to keep you here. I don’t want to die alone. Sebastian, I can’t…”

“So you’re making up stuff to keep me,” I said, wrapping my arms around myself and feeling sick.

“No, no, I’m not lying. Please, I’ll say it…” He took in a few deep breaths then started talking again. “You felt different… in here…” He tried to raise his hand but couldn’t. “In my mind,” he finally just said. “So… so did your mother.”

“My mother?!” I demanded, feeling angry about that. “What about her?!”

“Same as you,” he whispered, scrabbling at the floor. “It wasn’t the same but there was the same, it felt the same, in my mind I sensed… the same… like you… differently… like your child…”

“My child? Which child?” I asked, ignoring Hal who was getting anxious. “If there is something about one of my kids–“

“The same!” Doug yelped. “You. Your mother. One of your kids. The same. I don’t know which child, I f-felt it when I came to get you… when I was following you. I don’t know which one…” He began coughing, blood spilling out. “And the Roods know why.”

“The Roods?” Hal asked, looking at me.

“The scientists who run this place,” I said, not taking my eyes off of Doug. “Who made him, who made him, Hal! He’s not–“

“He’s not human,” Hal said and I stared at him. “The police discovered it.”

“How do you know the Roods know anything?” I demanded, feeling even sicker.

“When they talked about you… the connection…” He coughed some more and then gave a loud gasp. “I’m dying, Sebastian… I’m going to die… I love you…”

What about the connection?!” I demanded, about to go for him but Hal held me back.

Doug just lay there and for a second I thought he was dead, but then I noticed his chest rising and falling. Then he said, “When Professor Rood said… it had something to do with Jacob… and Doctor Rood said… no… she lied…” He dug his fingers into the floor and pulled, but they just slid through the blood leaving marks.

“She lied, she lied about it not being the reason, it’s what she believed to be true I sensed it, she knew it was something with Jacob. Don’t leave me, don’t leave me, I need you, I love you… I love you…”

Jacob Danevbie. My great-grandfather. Something to do with him. If he was the reason for the connection, then it made sense my mother also had something–but then why not my brother and sister?

“I’m dying,” Doug said flatly. “Sebastian, I… please stay… hold my hand… let me die happy… tell me you love me, even if you lie about it, tell me you love me. Please, I’m dying–a dying wish.”

I looked at Hal who looked ready to throttle Doug despite the fact he was a dying man. I held up my hand to Hal then carefully knelt down, avoiding the blood. Doug’s glazed eyes met mine and his lips twitched. “Doug,” I whispered, leaning in close.

He stared at me waiting, and then I couldn’t do it. I was going to tell him I hated him but I couldn’t do it. His gaze seemed so far off and it wasn’t going to be long. I hated him, with every fiber of my being. But I couldn’t do it. I was weak.

“I don’t love you,” I said, and then stood up as his eyes widened. Hal reached over and pulled me towards the door and I tried to hold in my tears, though it was difficult. Doug was calling out my name but I didn’t listen anymore, I just staggered to the door, covering my ears.

Everything got very blurry. Tears. Hal’s hands were guiding me but then I couldn’t take it anymore. All the emotional exhaustion got to me, and I collapsed forward against Hal, who scooped me up and carried me outside as I started slowly falling into unconsciousness.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Four - Break These Chains. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Break These Chains – 4.39 – Dying Words

  1. Glory R says:

    Yea! Hal arrived just in time…but now he has to get Sebastian away before the “Roods” come back. Maybe Kay will get there with the second horse so that Ducky doesn’t have to carry both of them on the way back. Although Sebastian doesn’t sound as though he could manage to stay on the horse without Hal holding him. Don’t feel any sadness about Doug, he got what he deserved. The best part for me was when Sebastian finally figured out that he was “good enough”….

    • sErindeppity says:

      No sadness about Doug either… and Seb wasn’t sad but he just couldn’t bring himself to tell a dying man “I hate you”. “I don’t love you” is a bit… more Seb-like.
      They have all night to get away :3 and I think Hal can manage to keep him upright on the horse… cause that part of the story kinda isn’t explained -shifty eye look-

  2. Jazen says:

    YAY!!!!! Hal got there in time and tried to kick Doug’s butt! He was going to save Seb no matter what and I loved it! Even at the end Doug wouldn’t let him go but I like that the last words Doug heard was that Seb didn’t love him! He needed to die unloved and alone for everything he put Seb through. I knew there was some connection with the Reddings. They were after Jacob from the moment he got into town. It has to be more than an coincident.

    I’m glad Seb got his happy ending, sort of. He will have questions for his mom and I hope Luna doesn’t lie to him. After what he’s been through he deserves the truth. Now he will be worried about his kids. Looking forward to seeing how Serenity’s story will play out.

    • sErindeppity says:

      He would have died for Seb. If Seb hadn’t interceded he might have gotten the upper hand, just because of sheer rage :3 But Seb needed to have his little “I accept myself” moment xD
      Doug did need to hear those words from Seb. The final words he hears D:
      Yep there is something going on with the whole Jacob-Danevbies/Redding thing :3 There was a reason Jay went after him 😉
      Seb is getting his happy ending ❤ and you get to see Luna again in the final chapter. ^_^

  3. Maddy says:

    Ahhh! I need to know what it is that caused their connection! I must know! :O

  4. Yay!!! Doug is dead! 😀
    And I’m happy Hal got there just in time ^^

  5. Three fantastic things happened in this chapter.

    1.) Seb finally got his crap together. :3

    2.) Doug died a horribly bloody and painful death. 😀

    3.) Seb finally said that he didn’t love Doug, and it was 100% the truth. ❤

    Methinks the connection is an heir-related thing. And this time, I HAVE to be right. XD

  6. So glad Hal got there in time YAY!!:D

    And yay for no more Doug 😀

    Does this connection have something to do with the award?? Like in harry potter the thing with his mothers love and his family? I know what I mean you probably don’t haha

  7. Loving that Seb grew a pair but not loving that we still don’t know everything dammit. lol

    • sErindeppity says:

      😀 I love it too. And sorry for not explaining a lot more but at least it’s more than you knew before…. x3 Things will unfold as generations go by 😉

  8. Crazy chic says:

    Yay!!!! It’s my birthday today and reading the finale is just the best evar!!! 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! -dances and throws confetti- I hope you have a great day, and glad to know I was able to give ya something x3 ehehe

      • Crazy chic says:

        Lol!!! Well it made my day better… I work in a camp near the article circle. A diamond mine. 🙂 and today was when I was supposed to go home but there’s a major blizzard and a white out. Too dangerous to fly 😦

      • sErindeppity says:

        Oh wow! It must be interesting there o: I hope you get to go home soon though :3

  9. ‘Hal roared and he sprung forward like a cat. A tiger, a powerful tiger–ready to claw Doug to shreds. My tiger.” I was practically cheering at this point …. GO HAL!

  10. shelllegacy says:

    😀 Hal rocks. I’m glad to see the back of Doug he’s FINALLY gone, and he can’t have Seb under his control anymore!
    For a second, I thought he actually might say he still loved Doug (the whole emotion controlling thing) but it felt good to see Seb stand up for himself.
    I can’t wait for the start of Serenity’s gen. Ominous how Doug’s last words were about ‘one of their children’ :3

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hal is awesome x3 and yay for Seb finally breaking through ❤
      Luckily he broke through cause he might've said that o_o he wanted to say "hate" but that was too much for poor Seb to say to a dying man.
      Serenity is gonna be fun!

  11. inspiritsgolden says:

    oh hal, you valiant knight in shining armor, you!!
    ha BYE DOUG. LOSER. NO LOVE FOR YOU. phhhbhbhbphb. (idk that was me blowin a raspberry)
    also… how do you get your ceiling in the shots?? 😮

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hal was really a knight on a steed there x3
      -makes rude gestures at Doug while blowing raspberries too- 😀
      To cover the ceiling you need to put a layer of floor on the floor above it (I usually use the wood flooring that costs O). Then if you want to change the ceiling you go down to the first floor and tilt the camera up and then you can add flooring to the underside. x3 and then when you tilt the camera to get pictures in game, there’s the ceiling! (at least with all 4 walls up)

  12. sweetribz says:

    Yay! Sebastion is free!!

    Last pic is so precious! Hal holding him, never letting him go 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yay Sebastian is very free and Doug is gone gone gone gone.
      Unless he’s a ghost. >_>
      NAH I wouldn’t do that. Serenity will have enough trouble without the ghost of her insane birth father bothering her family haha

  13. mewmewmentor says:

    Well, the obvious answer to the thing that Doug was talking about is that Luna and Sebastian are the heirs. I expect it has something to do with that white room in the ???? chapter.

    Is Jacob really dead? Okay, I know he and Cal are. But I mean, is Jacob’s and his heirs’ connection to this world really severed? Something tells me it isn’t…the heirs still have something to do.

    I expect the heirs also have something strange about their genetics – maybe they’re descended from aliens?

    • sErindeppity says:

      -flails happily- I love reading your comments so much!! You really put a lot of thought into it, I appreciate it ❤ and you may or may not have said something that is exactly part of the plot and in fact the biggest part of the plot.
      Or maybe you didn't.
      Or did you? -grins-
      And if you did, which part was it? ;o bwahahaha!

  14. nestea7 says:

    Omg! Omg! Omg! Doug is dead! -flails around uncontrollably- My emotions! I just- I can’t- So happy- Omg! -dances-

    Ined to know about this connection though. Crazy curious right about now.

  15. Seb finally did it. He broke those chains. he realized he’s finally good enough. Finally worthy of being loved. Yay. You did it Sebby.

    *Happy dance* Doug is dead and he died knowing that Seb was completely over him.

    • sErindeppity says:

      He did! He broke those chains!! Yaaaaay! I did debate for a second for Hal to do it but knew it had to be Seb. He needed to jump over that final hurdle. And also when Doug tried getting him to stay, him being able to just walk away.
      Doug got the death he deserved haha.

  16. MunnieSims says:

    Even though i didn’t like doug i still felt kinda bad when he died. >< maybe its just cause i hate when people die in stories. Anywho great chapter!

  17. zefiewings says:

    I know he deserved it but…I couldn’t help but feel sorry for a man who was nothing more than a play thing for the Reddings, a child locked away from everyone, experimented on…

    • sErindeppity says:

      I do appreciate your sympathy for him. I do have a little bit for him but there are some things to keep in mind. 1. HE LIES. About pretty much everything. 2. He was locked away due to his violent tendencies. When he was unleashed, look what happened… :\
      The extent of his experimenting on I can’t remember if it’s been truly revealed or not… x_x but yeah, Doug lies. He tries to make himself look like a victim more than he is (like when he told Sebastian he felt cheated on when he found out Seb and Hal danced together).
      So…. yeah, a little sympathy is good. I have it too. But just keep all that in mind…. never take anything he says as complete truth. Even if he’s dying. xD

      • zefiewings says:

        Oh I Know! Still, is it his fault he is this way or does everything J touch become miserable or insane. 😉

        By no means am I excusing what he did. It’s like…a parent who abuses their children because they themselves were abuse. You feel sympathetic and understand but it does not excuse because otherwise where does it end!

      • sErindeppity says:

        If everything Jay has touched/had a hand in making became miserable and insane… that would include Cal and Penny as well, especially Penny. I’m not trying to say Jay is not to blame. I won’t say whether she is or not… and she does have the evil trait (hahahaha if I could change the traits of the twins I would change a couple of them since I originally made them just to appear in gen one with no future appearances….!!!). I am thinking about the truth about Doug’s past coming out eventually though.
        I will say this…. so take it how you will… I did sort of base some of him around the character Iago from ‘Othello’. Not a lot, but some. ^_^
        Also one more thing…. I love your comments, I love how honest you are even when it’s something that other people have not said such as the slight sympathy towards Doug. I hope I don’t seem like I’m saying ‘stop saying stuff like this!’ cause I am not. I’m just trying to explain without revealing too much (I hope) the other side of things, because I don’t think there’s been much evidence to suggest Doug was mistreated other than his own words which cannot be trusted. Now if I am TOTALLY MAKING STUFF UP and have COMPLETELY FORGOTTEN something I wrote, then by all means throw my own words back at me hahaha. I have a bad memory and I don’t read what I’ve written unless it’s to double check something (like when I write Dannings I was going back and checking gen one of Danevbies all the time).

      • sErindeppity says:

        Sorry if my other comment seemed… rude. @_@ I hope it didn’t come across that way D:

  18. taylorwr says:

    I am am one of the other few people who did not want Doug to die. He was terrible person, but he still gets some sympathy.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Unfortunately he was in a situation where it was kill or be killed. Interesting though you have sympathy for him. ^_^ Any particular reason why? (I mean, nothing wrong with it I’m just curious 🙂 plus you need need to remember that Doug pretty much never speaks the truth. Anything he says needs to be taken with a grain of salt, and I don’t think he ever spoke the complete truth about his past. He says things for the sole purpose to get sympathy–like pretending to go to a mental hospital to make it seem like he ‘wants’ to get ‘better’)

      • taylorwr says:

        Well, like zefiewings said: Doug was the Reddings plaything experiment to do with as they pleased. Doug had spent most of his life feeling the feelings of other people, but maybe he really did fall in love with Seb that day as a teen. Yes he lied, beat, and raped Seb, but he had that temper as a kid too. Had he received the proper treatment instead of being placed in the hands of the Reddings he just might have been a normal person. I do think he deserved punishment, but not death. Out of all the chapters I’ve read so far, this is the one thing I just had to comment on because I haven’t really felt like they were real people since Jacob.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Hmmm you’ve got me realizing I should do a Redding special chapter that takes place when child-Doug was in their care. They didn’t really mistreat him or anything, and he did have help when he could get it. Did he have a perfect childhood with all the freedom he could have had, no. Are the Reddings partially to blame, yes. I think it’s a complicated matter and something I should really look into writing more about. Thank you so much for your input, I’m getting some ideas… 😀 though I don’t think he ever would have been normal. Sometimes there’s a meanness and evilness in a person you can’t ever figure out why is there, and I personally feel like Doug is one of those characters. An Iago, so to speak. 😛
        Also, as for the not-real-people thing… I halfway agree with you on that one, about Jay. She’s so detached from everything… @_@ and considers herself above humans. :I
        I think in this moment of time, in a perfect world, Doug should have had the punishment of being locked away forever. But if Seb didn’t do what he did then Doug would have killed Hal and taken Seb out of the country and locked him in a basement to be his toy Dx
        Thank you again for your comment, I am super appreciative of it, I really am ^_^ I hope what I replied didn’t come across as argumentative :\ I love hearing from you guys, especially when it’s an uncommon opinion <3!!!!!

  19. taylorwr says:

    Your welcome! I like knowing I inspired you and would love to know more about Doug. Oh, when I said real people I meant as in the heirs themselves. Like, I can really feel the way they feel as though I were watching a soap opera. But I didn’t really feel the emotions with Luna as much as I did with Jacob and Seb. ESPECIALLY Seb!! And you didn’t come across as argumentative at all. I like that you take interest in your readers thoughts and opinions. Also, I did not know there was a magazine specifically for the sims! That is awesome.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I think some Doug-esque chapters are in order, I will work on that soon! __< sorry baby!
      I'm glad it didn't feel that way. I adore hearing from you guys and feel giddy discussing the stories and characters, but then I get a bit paranoid that I come across certain ways since I have more background story than you guys know. Thank you ^^

      • taylorwr says:

        Spoilers for those who have not gone past this generation
        By the way, after catching up I take back everything I said about Doug getting sympathy. You have successfully made me hate him just as much as the rest of your readers. I love to hate him and can’t wait to see what else he does to make me hate him even more. However, I still prefer him alive because at least that way he can’t posse people.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Spoilers for those who have not gone past this generation
        (I hope you don’t mind me adding that to your message too)
        It was so hard not to say anything about later stuff >__< Although I can understand having some sympathy for him at this chapter in the story. And I am glad a couple people did. I think having the one person he thought he cared about (and I guess did in his own twisted way) be the one to kill him pushed him further into insanity.

Leave a Reply

