This Path Of Destiny – 5.0 – Growing Up

I woke up feeling strange, with a sorta buzzy feeling going on in the back of my head. I knew what the buzzy feeling was but it couldn’t be that since I wasn’t thinkin’ of him.

I rubbed my eyes and looked around the dark room. My sisters were sound asleep, Kaylee on the bottom and River on the top. It was really dark in the room and I realized it was still dark outside. Not morning yet.

I sat up, that buzzy feeling not goin’ away but I felt something else, something warm downthere and I knew what had happened. Oh! I felt my face go as red as a tomato and I wanted to cry. I hadn’t done anything like this for years! Maybe I had a nightmare?

That buzzy feeling flickered around as I yanked my sheets off my bed and dragged them to the laundry room which was more of just a tiny little space recently built upstairs, makin’ the nursery smaller since we only had one baby now. Glad that the washer’n’dryer were up here now, since my maternal daddy got real tired going downstairs. All the laundry was pretty much up here so it made sense. My daddies also built a room for my maternal daddy, for his writing.

I turned on the light and began shoving my sheets into the washer and as I did I saw it wasn’t what I thought it was. It was blood. Blood? I quickly looked down at myself and saw it was blood, all over me.

Now, I’m not normally one for panic but this one really scared me. And that buzzy feeling in my brain was getting stronger and stronger until it hit me, hard. I staggered under the force of it and all the emotion.

Why was I feeling this way? I rubbed the back of my head for a moment then sank down to the floor, trying not to cry. I had some unknown wound and now I was feeling a way I shouldn’t, since I only felt the feelings when I thought about it, and I wasn’t thinking about it. The feelings were being felt without me thinking.

“Serenity?”

I looked up and saw my maternal daddy standing in the doorway, looking down at me. I drew myself back, not wanting him to see the blood. “Hi Mom,” I whispered, folding my arms over my lap. “I spilled pop on my sheet…” The lie came quick and easy. Like lies always did. I knew how to lie now, since I first realized how to tell when other people lied.

He smiled and looked at the washer which was still open and not going. I wanted to run over and close it but he was there first, dumping in the detergent and turning it on. I tried not to sigh with relief since he hadn’t seen. “I told you kids not to take coke into your rooms at night,” he said, turning again to look at me. “You okay, hun?”

“Fine!” I said brightly, urging him to go. The buzzy feeling in my head burst like a firecracker and I had to bite my bottom lip from screaming. Mom blinked several times and took a few steps to the door. Yes, I thought. Keep going, go back to bed!

“Serenity…” He hesitated, looking at me very strangely now. “Why are you on the floor?”

“Waiting for my sheets,” I replied, smiling. Go, go, go! And he went. Feeling confused. I knew he was confused cause I could feel it too. That buzzy feeling in my head spreading out in the confused sleepy manner that my maternal daddy felt.

Why? I leaned over and shut the door, giving me a bit of privacy. Except it wasn’t any privacy, cause of that buzzy feeling that was my mom. In the back of my head. I began rubbing my forehead, trying to get rid of the feeling but it wasn’t going away.

A year ago I realized how I could feel stuff, feel what others were feeling. Mom blatantly lied to me and I realized I could tell he was lyin’ to me and slowly I began figuring out I could feel what other people were feelin’. Then when Mom disappeared… I remembered it clearly.

Mom went missing and the police were everywhere and then I found out that my daddy wasn’t really my daddy. I was eleven and heard him say that two of the kids belonged to an evil man. I may not have great grades in school, but I’m not stupid. I knew it had to be the two oldest. Me and Duncan.

Not human, that’s what the policeman said. My birth father was not human. I went around for days thinking that I wasn’t human either until my dad talked to me. It wasn’t his words that got to me but how he felt. Fierce, determined. And the love. Didn’t matter to him who or what my birth father was.

That’s when I first discovered how me and my maternal father was. The connection. I concentrated hard, and could feel him. It took hours pouring over maps and concentrating so hard that I almost blacked out many times before I could pinpoint where I was getting that feeling from. But along with finding him was also feeling how he felt.

His fear, his hurt, his depression. All cause of my birth father. I couldn’t tell my dad about that, so I tried to pretend I didn’t write the note (but I knew my parents never believed that lie of mine). And when Mom was home and safe, I tried cutting off my powers. I just knew where I got these stupid powers, so I stopped them up–and it worked.

Until now.

I sat in the laundry room, trying to block my mom’s feelings out. He was standing in the hall, very confused and then I realized what had happened. That monster could make people feel stuff. I drew my legs up against my chest wanting to cry now. I had made my mom feel like he wanted to leave, and he did leave. I was just like the monster. Blood from no where proved that.

I’m a monster.

*

I didn’t go to school in the morning, making all my siblings jealous. But my daddies accepted my lie that I was feeling sick and after my paternal dad went to work and my maternal dad went to his office to write, I crawled out of bed and went to get yet another shower cause there was some more blood.

I knew I needed to talk to someone but I couldn’t talk to my daddies since the blood was downthere. So I did the only thing I could think of and called my aunt. I took the portable phone and hid out in the downstairs bathroom. I knew Mom was upstairs clackin’ away on his computer but I wanted to have that shut door between me’n the stairs.

“Aunt Vi?” I whispered when she answered. “Can I talk to you about something…?” I was scared to tell her because what if it did mean I was a monster? And that stupid buzzy feeling was still in my head from Mom and now I was also gettin’ a buzzy feeling from my aunt, though not as strong. I was always more connected with my mom than anyone else.

But it took more to notice how other people felt and my aunt’s feelings were sliding into my brain like it fit like a puzzle piece. She was a bit worried and kinda nervous, but not as nervous as me. “What’s wrong?” she asked, sounding cool and calm but I knew otherwise.

I rubbed my head, the buzzy feeling getting worse. “I have a problem and I dunno what to do…” I looked up in the mirror, frowning at my reflection. “I–I woke up last night,” I mumbled, turning away from the mirror since I was too embarrassed to even look at my own reflection as I talked about this. “There was something…” Okay, Serenity, just tell her cause you can’t tell your dads! “Some… blood…”

“Oh Serenity!” she exclaimed right away and I could feel her worry and nervousness being replaced by joy and excitement. I pulled the phone back and stared at it. Why would anyone on earth be all excited and happy about blood? Then I realized she was still talking so I put the phone back to my ear. “–ppens to every girl and there is no need to worry. I’ll be over right away, okay?”

“Um, no,” I mumbled. “My mom–“

“Sweetheart, you say one word to your mom about this and he’ll go all green and run away. Trust me. He’ll wind up calling me anyway, or your Aunt Julie. So I’ll be over to help right now. Okay?”

There was nothing I could do. I felt trapped, so all I did was mumble in reply and then hang up the phone. This was getting out of hand!

*

Okay, so I wasn’t a monster. I was a woman. That was just plain weird! And totally gross. When Duncan went through puberty all he had to deal with was sounding like a chipmunk for a while. I go through puberty and I have to–I have to–

“Serenity?” Aunt Vi reached over for me as I grabbed my head. The buzzy feeling was getting worse and worse. It was like someone was slowly turnin’ up the volume on a TV only instead of sound it was feeling what others were feeling. 5, 6, 7–Dad was in the other room, anxious about what was going on with me an’ Aunt Vi and also a bit wistful cause his baby girl was growin’ up.

It got louder. 10, 11, 15, 20. Aunt Vi was both excited and sad as well, and I felt a bit of nostalgia and somethin’ under that, sort of a lovey feeling that I could tell was for her own baby girl, my cousin Estelle who was a couple years behind me.

15, 35, 50. Everything was pouring into me like a waterfall. I could feel on the fringes my neighbors, and somewhere in the back of mind where my maternal daddy was buzzing around was also someone else–my grandmother, I knew it was her.

“Serenity…? Sebastian!” Aunt Vi was yelling and fear and concern washed over me like a flood as I fell to the floor, clutching my head. Someone else was screamin’ and soon I realized it was me screamin’.

“Makeitstopmakeitstopmakeitstop!” I wailed, pawing at my own head to make the feelings stop but they wouldn’t stop they kept getting worse and worse until everything went black.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Five - This Path Of Destiny. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to This Path Of Destiny – 5.0 – Growing Up

  1. Oh god, I hope she’s okay…..

    I thought it might have just been her first period but now I’m worried… =/

  2. Aww, what a sweet start to her generation! πŸ˜€

  3. Jazen says:

    Poor girl with two dads. Aunt Vi to the rescue. I feel for her trying to hide that she’s different and trying to hard not to be like that beast. Seb knows it’s her, I hope he will try to talk to her about her being different and that it doesn’t make her bad.

    Aww…poor Serenity.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Good thing she has her aunt Vi and aunt Julie to talk girl stuff with if she needs πŸ™‚
      Seb will probably try to talk to her, if she’s willing to listen. But since she was sensing all the emotions Seb went through whenever she tried to find him, she knows her her birth father did and that probably makes her feel worse about herself 😦

  4. Poor girl having to deal with girlly stuff and now her powers are cranking up. @.@ I don’t blame her for feeling like she’s a monster, but she isn’t -huggles- and I hope that her powers don’t overwhelm her but currently they are doing even more so, poor girl.

    Lovely start of the gen, by the way.

    • sErindeppity says:

      She’s got a lot of things going on right now. And yeah she’s gonna be thinking that about herself for a while, or until someone talks to her about it.
      As a child she barely had any powers which was why she blacked out when trying to use them more than she should have. But now… now it’s gonna be interesting πŸ™‚
      Thanks!

  5. Cereline says:

    Wow I hope she’s okay! Poor girl! ): Hmm if her powers overwhelm her too much, and she can’t get a handle on them, I wonder if she’d SEEK help (aka Reddings) cause they’re the only ones who know anythign about it… But when she said she was a monster I was like…”She’s like Calcifer!”

  6. The unlucky oldest girl. DX

    Also, the unlucky one with the powers. XD

    How old is she right now?

  7. inspiritsgolden says:

    good start!! i like the tone of this? i don’t know how to say it, really… the way you put words together i always just feel their personalities!! just wanted to commend you on that 8)

    if there was any power i wouldn’t want, its empathy :C

    • sErindeppity says:

      Aw thanks! I know what you mean. I like to try to make the words fit them each differently. It’s hard not to slip into making them all think/sound the same so when I started writing Serenity… I was actually thinking about the character Kaylee from “Firefly” and really liked the way it was turning out x3
      I wouldn’t want that power either, especially if it’s something I can’t turn off. Which she may have a problem with… :3

  8. Maddy says:

    Awww! Sure you didnt just scare away any of the guys? Lol! X3 Poor baby, I hope it gets better soon! I can’t believe Seb didn’t explain any of this to her!!! I loved the chapter, I agree with inspiritsgolden… I feel like we as readers have a great understanding of her character already!

    • sErindeppity says:

      LOL we’ll see if guys comment on this one xD I actually thought about that, when I was writing it up. -giggles-
      Seb just didn’t really… think of it, honestly. He doesn’t want to think about his girl growing up and considering he’s gay, he probably hasn’t thought of what a woman’s body does.
      Aw thanks πŸ™‚ I really like writing as her. It’s fun x3

  9. Glory R says:

    So happy to have the first opening chapter. I wonder if it’s all the hormones that are allowing her powers to overwhelm her. I agree with the others, I feel as though I already know Serenity and that her story is going to be amazing! Thanks, this is great!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      With her body changing and all those hormones, it certainly doesn’t make it easier for her. But her powers did change because she’s changing (she’s gonna get another whammy when she turns 18).
      I’m really glad everyone likes how Serenity ‘thinks’. :3

  10. Rozelliee says:

    Oh God- poor Serenity with the buzzing in her head. 😦 And no one would understand, really! Something told me from the start, with the sheets, that it had been /that/ though. It’s sad she has to feel like a monster though.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah, her powers are changing with her and that cannot be very nice to go through, what with going through THAT as well. 😦
      Hopefully soon she stops thinking of herself as a monster D:

  11. shelllegacy says:

    😦 Poor Serenity. The whole emotional dial thing was interesting (she can expand her range of emotions she feels, but can she control it?) , but I was worried about her thinking that she was a monster. It was good to see Vi help her out there- she would have been scared even worse if she hadn’t called.
    Great start to the gen! I can’t wait to read more of Serenity.

    • sErindeppity says:

      That is the question. Can she control it now that it’s gotten bigger? πŸ˜›
      She knows a lot about what went on with Doug even if she doesn’t know the entire story, so she’s gonna be drawing conclusions about herself based on that until she realizes that just cause she has his abilities, doesn’t mean she’s evil. So there will be a bit of the monster thing for a bit. Like Cal did. Unintentionally, of course haha

  12. sweetribz says:

    Aww, poor Serenity, didn’t know what was going on πŸ™‚ I hope her powers don’t take the best out of her, hope she doesn’t scare everyone too badly either..

    How did you get it not so dark in the room? I try taking pics in the dark and its like.oh..a shadowy figure..>:D

    me wants moar chapter pwease

    • sErindeppity says:

      And now she is a woman, so to speak. xD We will get to walk with her during the trials of being an adolescent girl. An adolescent girl who can feel what others are feeling.
      An adolescent girl going on a date and knowing how the teenaged boy across from her feels. πŸ™„ and trust me, THAT is gonna be a fun part for me to write. xD

      I have no idea how the light thing worked. Kaylee and River were asleep and I put Serenity in bed and then woke her up, which of course turned on the lights so I paused the game and clicked on one of the lights and set it to “this room – off”.
      There will be another chapter tomorrow. Hopefully. πŸ˜€

  13. Crazy chic says:

    Poor Serenity to be introduced to womanhood like that, her expression was priceless when she thought girls have to go through that. Thanks for making this generation
    already relatable and realistic πŸ™‚

    Maybe her grandparents can help since they are scientists.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Always a rough time in a girl’s life. xD And you’re welcome. I wasn’t originally planning on it starting out here but I am glad I decided to risk the “shock” factor (sortofkinda) and have it start off with her… well, starting.
      That’s a good idea. Maybe I will have her talk with Luna… x3 although Luna is more of a play-with-metal-and-electronics type. Kellen was a bit more of a doctor-sort-of-type, so maybe between the two they can help her a bit.

  14. Crazy chic says:

    Noticed on turning up the volume and mentioned Aunt Vi but then said ‘his’ baby girl…

    Then mentions Vi again :/

    • sErindeppity says:

      “Dad was in the other room, anxious about what was going on with me an’ Aunt Vi and also a bit wistful cause his baby girl was growin’ up.” Is that the part you mean? I meant that Sebastian was in the other room wondering about what was going on with the two of them, and that he is also wistful since his daughter was getting older. And then Serenity tunes into how Aunt Vi is feeling. :3 Does that help?

  15. thelizzy1990 says:

    Viola!! *happy dance* I was afraid we wouldn’t get to see her and Zari anymore. πŸ˜€

    Anyway, very nice start to the gen. I was a little worried to see how it be inside the head of someone with Doug’s blood, no matter how nice she seemed in the last gen. But I love her. And I’m interested to see if she can figure out why certain Danevbies have this connection, especially since she can actually feel it. But I guess it’ll make choosing her own kid for heir easier. lol.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I really want to try to get the “Day in a life” thing done.
      Serenity is gonna have some trouble trying to see herself as different from Doug, but she IS a Danevbie πŸ™‚
      She may wind up doing a little bit of discovery about the Danevbie connection thing… πŸ˜‰ And when she has kids she’ll know which one is the heir early on. It’ll be weird for me since I won’t know so I’ll have to have Serenity just… not say or think much about it until near the end haha.

  16. ATMzie says:

    There’s the down side to having two dads 😦
    I can’t to read more of her πŸ˜€

  17. Smash_box29 says:

    LOVE YOUR LEGACY Happy to have found it!!!!

  18. Poor kid, puberty and special powers… she needs Sookie Stackhouse to teach her how to control it! lol πŸ˜‰

    Nice start to the new generation πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol!!! Sookie would be an interesting addition to this story. xD I can actually see her and Serenity getting along fairly well. o_o
      Course I’ve only read the books, I dunno if she’s any different in the TV show.

      Thanks! ❀

      • Actually the TV series stuck pretty close to Sookies character, it’s everyone else they played fast and loose with. Still it keeps it interesting as even if you’ve read the books, like we have, you have no idea what is going to happen next. lol
        Serenity needs an Aunt Sookie for sure!

      • sErindeppity says:

        That’s great they kept Sookie pretty much the same though a shame they played around with the others. But good to hear it’s a good show. I might try to get it watched one day.
        At she she has an Aunt Vi and an Aunt Julie! And an Uncle Zari, that’s always fun to have x]

      • This is true, she is going to need those ladies and honorary lady in her life. lol

  19. Mia says:

    This was kind of hilarious when I realized about the blood on the sheets.
    You know, hilarious in a mean way. πŸ˜€

  20. Lathe says:

    Interesting place to pick things up at…
    Definitely like her voice πŸ™‚
    And wondering how much of her problem is because she was suppressing her empathy before instead of getting used to it? Hope she can get that all sorted out before too long…

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks πŸ˜› I like her voice too. It sort of slipped into Kaylee-the-character-in-the-show xD but it fits.
      Actually, when she used her powers before this, she fainted. They were sort of… dormant. But now they are active so she can’t block them. 😦

  21. mewmewmentor says:

    I am so, so, so glad Serenity got SOMEONE to help her. I can’t imagine going through /that/ with no one around to tell me what was really going on. Which is why I’m not real impressed with her for sending her dad away and making him think it was coke.

    I guess with puberty comes stronger superpowers. Ouch. One thing on top of another…jeez, poor kid.

    You know what else I’m glad about? That this started when she’s a kid. It’s interesting to read from a kid’s perspective. I almost thought she was western for a moment, the way she kept dropping the ‘ing’. XD

    • sErindeppity says:

      When I started writing Serenity, for some reason I had the voice of Kaylee in my head–the “real” Kaylee, from the show “Firefly” (whom Kaylee Danevbie was named after) so it sort of stuck with Serenity, but it’s loads of fun.
      Yeah, a time like that is difficult. She was mostly scared it was because she was “evil”, that’s why she didn’t want Sebastian to know :\ poor girl. T_T

  22. nestea7 says:

    Poor Serenity! It’s bad enough your period can make you emotional. I can’t even imagine feeling other people’s emotions on top of that.

  23. Poor girl had no idea what was going on with her. It doesn’t you a monster, only a woman.

    Empathy would be the worst power imaginable. Feeling other peoples pain, and suffering. And she’s still so young, so she probably doesn’t understand what’s happening to her. And there isn’t anyone she can really talk to about it. And adding all the hormones and it already being an awkward age for kids.

    • sErindeppity says:

      No haha poor Serenity. Faced with this sudden change, not knowing much about it or what it is. Luckily she thought to call her aunt.
      I agree, I would not want empathy. It would be a nightmare. I wouldn’t be able to handle it and now Sen has to try and learn how to deal with it 😦 Unlike her time of the month, she really doesn’t have anyone to call. Dx

  24. zefiewings says:

    i don’t know if people will belive me but my mom has the “power” of empathy, though not to the extreme as it usually is in books and movies. And I inherited it from her but mine is weaker than hers. She can also read some peoples minds, a bit like the chrysalids, where its more like picture words or feelings and its only with other people who have the “gift”, though again not that strong.
    It can be tough. And its defiantly worse around that time so I wouldn’t be surprised if that’s the problem here. I feel for her. I think maybe because of that Serenity will be the heir I relate to the most.

  25. somebodysangel13 says:

    Bit weird that they would allow Serenity to get on the cusp of puberty without giving her The Talk. I understand it would be hard for her dads to explain, but one of her aunts could have done it. I remember getting it was 10 – precisely so that what happened to Serenity in this chapter didn’t happen. The whole family seems very skittish about sex and all that stuff, right from Gen I. Don’t know whether it’s just you, or the Danebies.
    Off to read the next chapter, and find out some more about Serenity’s powers!

    • sErindeppity says:

      It’s more my fault than anything. I was trying, up until a point, to keep my legacy ‘toned down’. I mean if I rewrote things I think Calcifer would have been a lot more sexual with Teri before he did. Though Jacob, Luna, and Seb wouldn’t have changed (too much). It was more in of Seb’s gen that I started feeling more comfortable writing my legacy as pg13 instead of ‘toned down’ (although I have previously written a lot of mature content stories) It was because it was a published, sims legacy I was ‘toning things down’ and in 2011 I didn’t see any other legacies being particular overt about sexual matters (there probably were, I just didn’t see them). So I really had no idea how much to put in, how much to keep out. I was skittish about putting sexual matters into the story more for that reason than anything else (I mean in the Dannings legacy it’s rated mature for a reason hah).
      As for the talk thing, I did it more as a plot point than anything. So she could have that moment of ‘am I a monster?’. I guess for the sake of the story, Viola didn’t think to talk to Serenity about things?

      • somebodysangel13 says:

        Yeah, fair enough. As I was writing it, I realised that it’s also a lot to do with the gameplay for Sims; no woohoo for teens, etc. People have to get mods and such if they want to make the romance aspects more like RL, which not everyone is willing to do.
        Haha, I didn’t think of it like that. It did make a great plot point, poor Serenity 😦

      • sErindeppity says:

        I do go more into these sorts of things later in the legacy. There is a teen pregnancy at some point, and sex is talked about a bit more freely. Nudity is shown a bit more (though no female nipples or ‘naughty bits’ as Monty Python puts it). As I said, I do regret reining myself in for the first three gens (especially Cal). ^_^

  26. itserinmilan says:

    Oh gosh, poor serenity. Her name is so appropriately poignant now. I’m getting shades of Calficer… “I’m a monster!”

    😒

  27. Danielle says:

    Aww! The poor girl! I am glad she has her aunt Vi, too! I am a little shocked that Seb & Hal didn’t have a conversation with her in regards to this kind of thing “popping” up to begin with… knowing it was bound to happen someday. Hopefully this will get them ready to have conversations with their other daughters.

Leave a Reply

