This Path Of Destiny – 5.1 – A Girl And Her Horse

I sat in the doctor’s office, digging my toes into the fluffy grass-looking carpet and partially watching my lil’ brother to make sure he didn’t eat anything. My maternal daddy was up at the desk, asking to make sure everything was ok since the doctor was runnin’ late and his girl needed to see the doctor as soon as possible.

I bit my bottom lip and turned to look at the TV, watching the images flash by. It had been a couple months since I passed out and things weren’t gettin’ any better. I sometimes blacked out, waking up on the floor to see the frightened faces leaning over me. One time I even blacked out in school and oh that was awful. When I got back, all the kids were laughing and teasing.

“Hi.”

I was startled out of the TV images and turned to see some boy I didn’t know standin’ there with this real goofy look on his face. I wondered what he was doing here. This was the office of an expert in child neurology. Supposedly the best despite his age (my mom’s age, from what I heard), which was why my daddies put me up for this appointment. Guess he needed somethin’ like I did.

“Hi,” I said, as the boy sat down next to me. I felt real embarrassed by him seeing me here, but I had no clue who he was so with any luck he wasn’t in my school.

“My name’s Henri,” he said, swinging his legs and smiling at me. “What’s yours?”

I looked down at my lap. “Serenity…” I quickly looked over at Mal who was playing with some blocks. Not eatin’ them, thankfully. Who knew what sorta germs were on those toys. I wouldn’t touch’m with a ten foot pole.

“That your dad?” He indicated my maternal daddy, still at the desk. Mom was very annoyed since we were now forty minutes into our appointment time and if it took up much time then I dunno what we’d do, since all the others would be gettin’ home from school soon. Normally Duncan could watch’m all cause he was almost fourteen, but he had to deliver some papers for one of his teachers.

“That’s my mom,” I said, and stuck my chin out looking as stubborn as I could. I waited for the usual response. That look of disbelief. That look of weirdness. Okay, so usually it was adults that gave that look but kids also thought it was weird I had two daddies. And if he said anything about a boy being my mom, then I would just have to slug him.

“Your dad’s a guy, too?” he asked which took me by surprise.

Yes.” I stuck my chin out even more.

“Lucky,” he said and I squinted at him. “My mom’s dead. You’re lucky to have two parents.” And there was that drip-drip-drip of sadness coming from him. I had realized, over the past couple’a months, that feelings were like weather inside me. And I also saw he was sticking out his chin like I was. That stubborn look.

The dripping feeling was real fresh too, and I knew that his mom musta died recently. “I’m sorry,” I said.

Now it was his turn to squint at me. “Are you new in town? Cuz I haven’t seen you at my school. I would have remembered hair like that.”

“Well I woulda remembered hair like yours so obviously we go to diff’rent schools!” I snapped, pulling back and reaching up to touch my hair defensively.

“You probably would and we probably do,” he replied with a grin. “My mama had hair like this. How about you?”

“My great-grandma,” I answered, still suspicious of him. “My aunt has it, too.” I looked over now as my mom was heading back. “What’s going on, Mom?” I asked and then felt a rush of rain of sadness from Henri, from me saying that word. I regretted it but it was too late now. I wanted to apologize, but when I turned to look I saw he was getting up and leavin’, heading to the bathroom.

“She says Doctor Laroche will be soon…” He slumped down and sighed. “I’m going to go call your Aunt Julie, watch Mal carefully.” He rubbed my head and walked out of the office to make the call.

I stood up and took a few steps closer to Mal who looked up at me. “My blocks!” he wailed, hitting the table. “Mine!”

“Yeah, yours,” I said, putting my hands on my hips and looking around for that boy. I felt around for him, for that rain of sadness, but couldn’t find it. Odd. I pushed my thoughts out in a wider range but still nothin’, and Mal was eating a block so I had to stop feeling and try to get the block outta my brother’s mouth.

*

Doctor Laroche was awful. I hated bein’ in the same room as him, he was so arrogant! I felt pretty much smothered in his arrogance and I tried to put a little bit of a barrier up around my abilities but it wasn’t workin’ well, probably cause I was so tired from the day before when I really put my barriers up. It took a bit outta me.

He hmmmed and hrrrrmmed a lot and then pretty much told us what he could‘a told us over the phone! That from what he saw of all my scans and stuff… I was perfectly healthy.

“But–she’s blacking out,” Mom said, narrowing his eyes.

Doctor Laroche hmmmmed and aaaahhhed a bit, then began askin’ me questions about when I faint, like if I was standin’ for a while or if I hadn’t eaten. I scowled up at him and all his arrogance and told him no, to everything. He wanted to reschedule me for some more scans and I felt really angry about that.

“I’ve had scans!” I snarled. “I’ve had lotsa scans and you saw them all! Do you have a magic scan that will tell you what other scans don’t?”

He glowered at me and I could feel his disapproval. But I also felt my maternal daddy feeling proud, even though he said, “Excuse her, Doctor. She’s been through a lot. This fainting thing has us all worried.”

“I understand,” he said, although I could feel that he didn’t. And he didn’t care. That really made me seethe. “But there are a lot of tests that have not been administered. I’d like you to schedule her for an electrocardiogram, with the local hospital–I will send a referral…” He started goin’ on about tests and stuff, and Mom just kept noddin’ and asking questions and I just wanted out of there.

I was beginning to suspect why I was blackin’ out but I didn’t wanna tell anyone, but with all this talk of scans and stuff I wondered if I should… But looking at my mom, it frightened me to think of mentioning that. How could I tell him that it was cause of my strange powers? Powers I got from the guy that hurt him so bad?

But, I thought as Mom and Doctor Laroche shook hands, I don’t want’em to be spending so much money on me. This is expensive. Not that we weren’t exactly hurtin’ for money. Daddy was the president of a company and Mom had just published a mystery novel several months ago that was a best-seller (and he had just sent off another book). But the money was better off goin’ towards college funds and stuff.

I knew in my heart I needed to tell my daddies. At least… a little bit.

*

Okay, so I chickened out, completely chickened out. When I told’em I wanted to talk to them and just stood there staring up at them, I got so scared. But they stood there waitin’ for me to say what it is I wanted to say so finally I blurted out, “I want to go see Ducky!”

So here I was, at the stables. Ducky was nosing at my hand waitin’ for more treats. I just smiled and ran my fingers through her silky mane. Then I buried my face against it, sighing. I liked animals, especially horses. Whatever abilities I had didn’t reach into the animal mind. That is to say… I knew animals had feelins’ like I could tell Ducky was happy when she pranced around and twisted her head a certain way, or when Calliope, our cat, was in a bad mood by the glares she gave us.

But my powers didn’t go into their minds. I just had body language to go off of. Like anyone should. “I love you,” I murmured, rubbing my face against the horse’s neck. Ducky whinnied and nosed me again. I giggled in response.

We were all surprised when Dad brought Mom home and had a horse with him. We all wanted to keep’m except River who was a bit afraid (but she was just five at the time now that she’s six, she’s more used to’m) but Dad wasn’t. We didn’t have room. But there was a stable recently built in town and he wasn’t going to let us keep Ducky but we begged and begged, and finally they gave in. So now we had a little stall at the stable, and Ducky was ours. Mine, I thought, stepping back to give the horse another treat. Since for the past seven months I was the only one who came out regular-like.

When I grew up I wanted to take this horse with me. I wanted to get some place on the outskirts of town and have Ducky there with me and maybe another horse, to keep’er company. Other than that, I didn’t know what I wanted when I got older. I was scared of my abilities to take a job anywhere and if I kept blackin’ out like this then I probably wouldn’t be able to anyway.

“I wish I could go back in time,” I said, looking up at the big horse. “Before all this.” Before my woman-ness came on me and dragged me into puberty and made my stupid abilities change. “I don’t want to grow up…” I wrapped my arms around Ducky’s body again and held tight, tears springin’ up and soaking into her fur as she reached down and nuzzled me back.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Five - This Path Of Destiny. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to This Path Of Destiny – 5.1 – A Girl And Her Horse

  1. Oh, poor girl! 😦 She must feel so confused about what to do! 😦

  2. bluexskittlesx says:

    I feel so sorry for her… I wish she would just tell Seb and Hal =[ I’m sure they’d understand, even if they were scared they know she’s good and wouldn’t hurt a fly ='[

    Also I just thought how old-ish is she meant to be here? Like 12/13?

    • sErindeppity says:

      They would understand completely but she has a hard time seeing that right now. D:
      And yeah, Serenity is about 12 right now. She will very soon be turning into a teenager :3

  3. Glory R says:

    Thanks for the new chapter!! It is a good one, loved that she had Ducky to talk to. I wonder if she’ll see that boy again…since he showed up and spoke with her I’m thinking maybe he’ll become a friend? She’s very defensive and you can feel her anger about having these powers and not wanting them…She’ll need time to get herself together but once she is brave enough to tell her Dads they’ll be supportive and that’s what she really needs right now…too bad she hasn’t figured that out yet…looking forward to the next one!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you ^_^ Henri shall be back, and soon :3
      She is quite defensive about things, especially at that uncertain age. And quite angry about her powers x3 Hehe, but yes, she will be able to work through them and be brave! ❤

  4. Oh so sad, poor Serenity! Hope the horse brings her some comfort.
    Shame the Dr was arrogant he’s quite good looking. lol

  5. Poor girl. :< Hopefully she gets brave enough soon. I am also worried about the boy since he left and suddenly she couldn't feel the sadness from him. Also, very much dislike the doctor. And I love the horse. 😀

    • sErindeppity says:

      She shall get some bravery. And a shrubbery, to bring. No wait no that’s not right. I’m hyper x_o
      Henri shall be back!!! Cute little boy with interesting hair… can’t be gone for too long x]

  6. Age her up, so she can ride Ducky! xD And also I sent a friend request on facebook :3

    Oh and how shall I sent my foal to you? I was planning on using facebook to find your email…unless you want to say it here…

  7. shelllegacy says:

    I love how she’s able to read emotions, and how you put it into her story so well. Poor Serenity! I think she should tell her dads, but then again, it might have her taken to a different kind of doctor. If she does tell them, I hope they understand and don’t think she’s lost her mind or something. It’s good she has Ducky, and I despise that arrogant doctor.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks! 😀 Her parents wouldn’t take her to that sort of Doctor if/when she tells them since they know she’s not like her birth father. She just needs to realize that her powers =/= make her like her birth father.
      The doctor is a jerk 😦 but this isn’t the only time we see him >_o

  8. sweetribz says:

    AW, Serenity needs to tell…her mom and dad, I’m guessing Seb already knows, as does Hal, but are letting her wait to tell them…

    Spit it out Serenity! Just don’t go to the….Roods…>.>

    • sErindeppity says:

      Seb and Hal do know. They know she wrote the letter, and figure she has the power but they’re not gonna press her about it since they don’t know the extent of her abilities, or that it is the reason she’s fainting.

  9. thelizzy1990 says:

    Poor Serenity. I’m surprised Seb hasn’t at least partially suspected the cause of her black out and whatnot, considering he already knows she has abilities. But in the mean time, yay for Ducky!

    I think Henri is the Doc’s son. I don’t know why Serenity wouldn’t be able to feel him though. Unless he alreadly left the building, or maybe he has special powers too? Ooh, that would be nice for her.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hmmm, he may suspect a bit but Doug never blacked out around him so I’m not sure if he’d put two and two together QUITE yet since he doesn’t know that her abilities changed so suddenly when the blacking out started. Yay for Ducky!
      You…. may be right… about the doctor and Henri I mean it’s not like Henri and Laroche are both French names and they have the same eyes or anything. -shifty eye look-
      Henri will be back though and more will be discovered about him.

  10. Crazy chic says:

    She is so cute 🙂

    Hopefully she won’t start getting into a lot more trouble when she’s a teen and rebels, but I can totally see it cause of firefly….

    Her and Ducky are so cute together, they need each other… seems she’s more calm with him around… also great she can’t tell emotions… oh my I hope she doesn’t completely isolate herself in the middle of nowhere when she grows up and has friends…

    Also cool to hear how successful Hal’s and Seb’s careers went. 🙂

    Lastly… actually looking forward to Jay showing up because I want Serenity to read her emotions… would be cool 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      She is adorable x3
      Her teen years are going to be super fun to do. 😀 and Kaylee is gonna be fun to have around since she is obsessed with Firefly.
      She has a nice connection with her horse and part of it is because she can’t tell what animals are feeling, just humans (which makes me wonder if she could tell what vampires are feeling since they are ex-humans….?). Serenity WANTS to grow up and isolate herself with just horses and no human friends. But life doesn’t always go how we want it to go!
      Well… her life will go where I want it to go cause, you know, I’m writing it and stuff. -shifty look- But you know what I mean! (apologies, I am hyper)
      Yay for Seb and Hal and HOLYGUACAMOLEONASTICK I NEVER EVEN THOUGH ABOUT THE FACT WE’LL SEE FIRSTHAND HOW JAY FEELS ABOUT THINGS!!!!! -flails so wildly that I fall over- waaaaaaaa! waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!

  11. Jazen says:

    Awww…she needs to tell her dads. They already suspect it so it won’t come as a big surprise but she needs to open up to them. They love her and will do the best they can to help her. She’s so sweet and I feel so bad that she has to go through this hating part of herself because of that man.

    Random question do we get to know who Duncan’s other parent is? Did I miss that in the last gen?

    • sErindeppity says:

      Once she does realize she can tell them, things will get easier. It will be happening soon :3 She also needs to realize that just because she has these powers doesn’t make her like him, but that will probably take her a bit longer to accept. D:
      And… no I didn’t put that out I totally forgot cause I’m stupid like that. (Okay, I have a bad memory). I am gonna add a FAQ page!!! And I will add that there. Thank you for reminding me! :3

    • sErindeppity says:

      Here: https://serindeppity.wordpress.com/faq/
      A picture of Duncan’s dad and the story to go with it :3

  12. Hakari says:

    Awh, poor Serenity 😦 I hope she just tells her dads soon, so she can get their love and support throughout this since she feels so alone </3

  13. Rozelliee says:

    Oh Serenity. 😦 I’m glad she has an animal to help her out with. They always help me to relieve stress. 🙂 I didn’t know Hal was a president of a company! Go Hal! 😀

    • sErindeppity says:

      Animals are wonderful companions ❤
      Actually Hal is the highest in the business career but I thought that was a bit much realistically, so I just pretended he was lower on the ladder xD

  14. Lathe says:

    I love her expression in those first couple pictures ^_^

  15. mewmewmentor says:

    I think Dr. Laroche is Henri’s dad.

    And I think Henri and/or Dr. Laroche have something to do with the Reddings.

    Or is it too early?

    Nah, it’s never too early for the Reddings. Doug appeared in the prologue of gen. 4 and he was their experiment.

    Or maybe Henri really is just an ordinary little boy who lost his mom.

    Maybe.

  16. nestea7 says:

    Omg! My sister went to a Doctor Laroche once. He was so arrogant and conceited eye doctor. She hated him because he didn’t do anything to fix her eye. He just looked at it and went on and on about a bunch of nonsense that didn’t pertain to her at all. Lmao. I just felt like sharing that. XD

  17. Poor her, but I think all doctors are arrogant and conceited, not to mention they don’t care as much as they pretend too. But a kid her age shouldn’t know that stuff. I get the feeling that she might be able to use her gift to help Henri through the loss of his mother.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol I imagine a lot of them are though Dr. Laroche has his reasons x3 hehehe. Sen wouldn’t know much about adults and pretending to care and all that though it probably won’t take her long to realize how many lies are everywhere 😦

  18. Danielle says:

    I love animals, so am happy & excited that Ducky is now around 🙂

Leave a Reply

