This Path Of Destiny – 5.3 – Laroche

After becomin’ a teenager there was only one real good thing about it, as far as I could tell.

I was officially learnin’ to ride! Mom and Dad signed me up for lessons once a week and so every Wednesday after school I came here and spent time with Ducky, carin’ for her and also learning to ride. I already knew a lot about how to take care of her so it was mostly learnin’ to ride, which wasn’t too hard since we liked each other so much. I only fell off once (but that was my fault).

Every Saturday I also got to see Henri. Duncan and I would bike down to the park and then he’d go to the movies or somethin’ while Henri and I hung out on the playground, sometimes swinging or playin’ tag but sometimes also just talking and that is how I found out about who he was, cause I hadn’t known before. The only thing I really knew was that he lived for the first seven years of his life in France before movin’ here.

It was about three weeks after my thirteenth birthday and I realized we never really properly introduced ourselves before. I mentioned this, and Henri grinned. “You’re right,” he said. “All I know you as is the girl with weird hair.”

I smacked his arm and rolled my eyes. “Like you don’t?” This was kinda weird for me, but weird in a good way. I never had any friends outside my family since the kids at school thought I was different. Faintin’ in school and missing days didn’t exactly help my reputation. So Henri was really my first non-family-non-animal friend.

“So what’s your last name?” he asked, wrapping his fingers around the chain of the swings.

“Danevbie,” I replied, smilin’ a bit. “Yours?”

“Laroche.”

I dug my feet into the ground and almost fell off my swing at that. “Wh-what?” I asked, feeling confused by this turn of events. “Like–like Doctor Laroche?”

Henri looked up, eyes bigger than mine. “Yeah. He’s my dad. Why?”

I sat sat still on the swing, feelin’ kinda betrayed. Doctor Laroche… I thought of all the mean things I thought about him after the four times I met him (he really was horribly arrogant) and then he had a kid? This kid? Plus this wasn’t right. Laroche was part of my life I didn’t want anymore. The doctors, the hospitals, my abnormal…ness. And my new friend was his son? Intrudin’ into my life?

“Serenity?”

I heard his voice but didn’t really hear it as I stood up and started walkin’ off. I knew it was bad of me to do, just walk off like that, but I felt so sick and scared. What if he knew? He must know! We met in his father’s office. He knew there was somethin’ wrong with me, but what if he and his dad ever talked about me? I mean, I know doctors can’t cause of that confidence thing… but what if Henri had one night said something and his dad said ‘Oh her, she’s a weird girl’. Or something…

“Hey, Serenity!” Henri was joggin’ after me and I didn’t know what to do, so I just stood there. “What’s up? You just walked off like–like I said something wrong.” He studied my face for a minute and then frowned. “Is it because of who my dad is…?”

Yes, I thought, but couldn’t say anything. “I just don’t feel well…” I put my hands against my stomach to prove my point but he wasn’t buyin’ it.

“Why does it matter who my dad is?” he demanded.

“I–it’s not!” I lied. “I just don’t feel well! I need to go home.” I turned around and started walkin’ again, feeling very confused by everythin’. There was a line that shouldn’t be crossed and bein’ friends with a doctor’s son–especially that doctor–didn’t seem right to me. But Henri was nice… but…

“Will I see you next Saturday?” he asked, soundin’ a bit forlorn and I could feel his sadness, like a heavy mist.

I stopped in my tracks and then turned back to face him. He even looked really sad, like a puppy or somethin’. “Yeah,” I said, though I wasn’t sure. “Yeah–next Saturday.”

*

I wound up havin’ to wait outside the theater for a long time and when Duncan finally did come out, he was holding hands with some girl. They were whisperin’ in each others’ ears and laughing. I glared over at them. Duncan was feelin’ all fuzzy and content, and the girl was feelin’ all excited and hopeful.

“Duncan,” I said and he nearly jumped at my voice. “I feel sick. Let’s go home.”

His cheeks went red and he let go of the girl’s hand. “Are you going to faint?” he asked which made me real mad. Yeah, go and announce it to people who don’t already know! I thought, then I looked at the girl. Duncan went redder. “Um, this is Kelly.”

“Hi,” she giggled.

“Let’s go home,” I said, not replyin’ to the girl. Duncan looked a bit sad but then turned to the girl and gave her a big hug.

“See you next Saturday,” he said. “I’ll call you tonight. Okay?”

“Okay,” she giggled and kissed his cheek. They both blushed at that and then separated, the girl goin’ off wherever and Duncan coming with me where we parked our bikes.

“Jeez, what’s with this?” he demanded. “Don’t give me that sick stuff, I know you’re not sick. Did that boy do something to you?”

I felt a flare of anger and protectiveness inside of my brother, and I couldn’t help but smile. “No,” I said, deciding not to tell him. “I just feel kinda tired, that’s all.”

*

I did want to Kaylee about it, because I had to tell someone, so that night when River was off doin’ something, I told Kaylee what happened. That Henri was the son of Dr. Laroche.

“The jerky doctor?” Kaylee asked, and I nodded. “Is Henri a jerk?”

“N-no,” I stammered. “Not that I’ve been able to tell…” I never once felt any sort of arrogance from him, ‘cept one time when we were racing and he won. “He’s nice.”

“So what’s the problem?”

My sister’s bluntness made me feel all uneasy. There was no problem, really. Technically. When you got down to it. But… the fact that his dad was Doctor Laroche, that felt wrong to me somehow–but could I explain that to Kaylee? I couldn’t even explain it to myself.

“It’s something I don’t want to think about,” I finally whispered, staring into my sister’s sparklin’ eyes, the same color as mine–the same color as all of us ‘cept for Duncan and Simon. “Doctors. Me being like I was… I just want to move on, away from all the doctors and stuff.”

Kaylee shook her head very slowly. “You can’t shut someone outta your life just cause his dad’s a doctor you saw… what, three times?”

“Four,” I mumbled. But Kaylee was right. She usually was. “But I don’t like him! Doctor Laroche, I mean, he’s so… so… ugh.” But Henri wasn’t ugh, he wasn’t ugh at all. He was really nice and pretty genuine, and didn’t tease me cause I fainted. He didn’t even know ’bout my problem. If we did get to be friends, he’d probably find out and then laugh at me or tease me or think I’m a freak. “He’ll wind up hating me in the end anyway!” I suddenly blurted out.

Kaylee narrowed her eyes at me. “Is this was this is about…? You–you’re just lookin’ for some excuse to push him away!”

“No!”

“Yes! I know you, you did that to… what was her name? Caitlin?” The name made me wince and I wanted to protest Caitlin wasn’t a very nice girl anyway, but Kaylee was goin’ on again. “Yeah people have been awful to you before but not everyone will. You can’t just… stop having friends because of past stuff that’s happened in the past!”

That made me smile, I couldn’t help it. Sometimes when I was close to someone, their emotions crept into me and started changin’ how I was feelin’. Like when someone was really sad, sometimes I felt sad. And it was one reason it was hard to feel sorry for myself around Kaylee, cause she was just so chipper and happy that I couldn’t help but feel kinda happy too.

“I bet if his dad wasn’t whoever his dad is, you’d find some other reason to not be friends,” Kaylee said, folding her arms and looking real proud of herself.

“But I am different from everyone!” I said, spreadin’ my hands out. “You know I am.”

“Just cause you can read minds–“

“I can’t read minds!” I grumbled. Kaylee just shrugged, not believin’ me. She seemed to think that my powers were like mind-reading abilities, since I could always-always-always tell when she wasn’t feelin’ too cheerful. I tried to explain I didn’t read minds, I read emotions, but it went over her head.

“Just cause you do whatever it is you do,” she continued, giving me a look, “doesn’t mean you can’t have friends. So buck up and all that.”

“I guess you’re right…”

“I am right.” She flashed a grin at me and I smiled back, then gave her a big hug.

Kaylee was right and I decided to go ahead and apologize. I had no idea what his number was but I could check the yellow pages. There couldn’t be many Laroches in town, and sure ‘nuf there was only one. Laroche, Filberte. I saw the address and realized quickly why I never met Henri in school, he lived in a really rich part of town.

There was only one high school in town but there were two elementary/middle schools. Valley Middle, and Sunset Middle. Sunset Middle was for the rich, fancypants kids. Ironically, we lived in a part of town where most the kids went to Sunset Midde, ‘cept we went to Valley Middle because those at Sunset Middle didn’t like that my parents were both boys.

I nervously dialed the phone, hopin’ that Henri would answer cause I really didn’t wanna talk to his dad. I breathed out a sigh of relief when I heard Henri. “Hello, Laroche’s residence.”

“H-Henri?” I stammered, feeling nervous once more.

“Um, yeah? Wait… Serenity? Is that you?” Even over the phone I could tell feelin’s and I felt a bit of happiness from him. “How do you feel? Any better…?”

I went into the bathroom and shut the door, not really wantin’ anyone to hear me. “Yeah, I’m sorry I ran off like that,” I mumbled. “I just–I–” I hesitated, feeling so confused.

The pause lasted longer than I intended, and Henri broke into it. “Wanna do something tomorrow?” he asked. “Maybe–maybe a movie?”

“Yes!” Okay that was a tad more enthusiastic than I meant it to be. “I mean… that sounds great.”

We made plans to meet up (I hoped Duncan was willin’ to bike with me into town) and it wasn’t until I was happily jogging up the stairs that I realized that this could possibly be a date. But since we were just thirteen, far too young for dates, I dismissed the idea as quickly as it appeared.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Five - This Path Of Destiny. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to This Path Of Destiny – 5.3 – Laroche

  1. Rozelliee says:

    Oh ~ ❀ She's so cute. She's become even /more/ country and I like it. I'm glad I managed to read this chapter so soon after it was published. I visited earlier to see if the legacy updated- I feel a little bit obsessed! πŸ˜€
    Kaylee is so very wise for her age, but it's useful for Serenity indeed. At least she'll know she has her little sister to give her a reality check when she needs it ~
    I'm so glad Penny's genes are still going strong throughout the generation! Who would have thought Imaginary Friend genes would be so passively potent- whereas Jacob's purple eyes seem to have faded out.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol she is becoming quite country, I really like the idea of her being like that πŸ˜€ Plus her sounding all Kaylee-fied is so cute x3 (Firefly-Kaylee, not her sister).
      Kaylee (sister) is a good balance for her. And she’ll be around for quite a while!
      Actually Serenity’s hair was not the hair she was born with. I rolled a dice to see which kid would get the hair since they wouldn’t get great-grandparent genes, and 1 won, so Serenity got it. Because I couldn’t just let the Penny genes disappear forever without at least ONE heir having that hair!
      Jacob’s eyes are gone. 😦 and so are the Redding’s green eyes 😦 I was hoping for that color. I might give it to someone, like I did with the hair, just cause. x_o

      • Rozelliee says:

        Ohh, so /that’s/ how you do it. Penny’s genes are a gem- and Kay’s eyes would be adorable and a pretty good little story point. I was a bit confused with the Firefly Kaylee sister Kaylee thing up there, tbh, haha. x)
        What hair colour was she born with before, if you don’t mind me asking?

      • sErindeppity says:

        Lol sorry about the Kaylee thing, I was meaning she was talking like Kaylee from the Firefly show, and not Kaylee her sister.
        I am gonna have a kid be born with those eyes. Well, grow up with those eyes as baby eyes are all the same @_@
        Her hair color was a real generic light brown color, a little darker than the girl Duncan took to the movies. So out of all the kids, I was glad she got the hair color change xD

  2. sweetribz says:

    Oohh.do i sense future legacy hubby material? πŸ˜›

  3. Glory R says:

    I really enjoyed this one! Serenity is very, very cute and I’m pleased that you gave her that great head of hair! One day maybe I’ll be experienced enough with my Sims that they can have decent looking hair instead of the yucky hair that’s in the Store. I’m excited that she’s making a connection with Henri despite the fact that his father is so arrogant. Seems as though Kaylee is going to be a sounding board and a grounding factor for Serenity. Can’t wait for the next chapter!!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so much, I had a hard time with this one. I tried to write it and wound up deleting four other versions until getting this one done. πŸ˜€
      All my hair is from the base game, expansions, stuff packs, and store :3 I have no CC for hair in my game at all cause my game already loads slowly, adding CC into it makes it sooo unbearably long to load. x_x (I do have CC for male pregnancy clothes, and the injury makeup thingie–everything else is a mod or has to do with a mod, such as the painting replacement mod or pose player + poses)
      Doctor Laroche will come into the story again, but not for at least another chapter. She’s gonna have a nice friendship with Henri… for a while. x]
      Kaylee is gonna be a great help to her ❀

  4. Love it! both sisters are so cute and yes it is a date 13 isn’t too young, I had my first at 11. lol πŸ˜€

  5. Aww, it’s her first date!! How cute! πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see how that’ll go πŸ˜€

  6. Jazen says:

    Can I just say that I love Kaylee. Her conversation and logic was too sweet. I’m glad that Serenity talked to someone about it. That sister bond seems really strong. Hope it stays that way.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks, I love Kaylee too. She’s a good balance for Serenity. And won’t be going away anytime soon. πŸ˜€ I plan on having Kaylee move in with Serenity for a while when they’re older.

  7. Crazy chic says:

    Hoping it isn’t Henri that she ends up with, lol… but if it is, I’ll say it’s a cute childhood romance, beginning… whatever, I just don’t feel right with him for some reason?

    But I love how country she looks!!! Hahaha she pulls that outfit off… πŸ™‚

    Serenity is reminding me more of Mona Lisa painting o_O but a sim version

    • sErindeppity says:

      :3 I won’t say whether it is Henri or not. I will say that he and his father have nothing to do with the Reddings.
      She does look so cute doesn’t she? I was messing with clothes and I usually dislike that top but on her, and with those pants, it looks sooooo cute x3
      Serenity does have some unique features. ^__^

  8. Crazy chic says:

    And one of the reasons why I don’t feel right is apart from Luna… there’s been… well ya know, drama πŸ˜›

  9. bluexskittlesx says:

    I really enjoyed this, hopefully Henri will be a good boy and not nasty like Serenity thinks he’ll be =] Kaylee is so cute! Them two must be so close for Serenity to tell her her big secret!

  10. Mia says:

    Oooh, I love Kaylee! She’s adorable. I don’t know how I feel about Henri, though.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks and that’s okay, people are free to be suspicious of whomever they want to be in my legacy. I like making my readers suspicious. x] I’m glad people see a new character and aren’t sure what to make of them despite them acting nice! πŸ˜€ After Doug especially… he really broke trusts.

  11. Lathe says:

    Wow Kaylee is awesome.
    Also, mebbe having Henri around will help Serenity figure out that /she’s/ not the same as /her/ dad, either! πŸ˜‰

  12. nestea7 says:

    I really like Kaylee. She’s friggin’ awesome.And Serenity is so cute as a teen. πŸ™‚

  13. Kaylee seems very emotionally mature for her age, which is what Serenity needs. Someone who she can tell at lest part of how she’s feeling too. And someone who’s not afraid to tell her off. She’s awesome.

    And awwww she’s snagged herself a date

    • sErindeppity says:

      Kaylee is fairly mature though quite wild. She is very much so someone Sen needs πŸ™‚ Kaylee is awesome hahaha πŸ˜€ Always pleased to see people enjoying her personality hehehe.

  14. jonso says:

    Kaylee is so cute, and wise for a little one. πŸ˜€

  15. somebodysangel13 says:

    Lols, Duncan is dating Blair Wainwright! Kelly looks very similar to her, except without the upturned nose.
    Kaylee is for Serenity the confidant/advice person I wish Seb had had 😦 A lot of the problems with Doug wouldn’t have happened if Seb had allowed Vi or Zari to tell him bluntly like Kaylee has just done for Serenity. Hopefully the relationship will continue into adulthood!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Haha it was probably her, or someone related to her. I might have adjusted her in CAS a bit. I don’t remember now >__<!
      Seb would have probably been better off if Vi or Zari were in his life the same way Kaylee is for Serenity, but Seb was truly convinced Doug loved him and that he loved Doug so I don't know if he would have left Doug even if Vi and Zari told him bluntly. :\

  16. Danielle says:

    I like Serenity as a teen, too! So adorable! And I like her with Henri.

    Weird to me how serious of a conversation she has with her little sister, but hey it’s great they can talk to one another!

Leave a Reply

