This Path Of Destiny – 5.6 – Henri’s Secret

Author’s Note:

First half is a regular chapter, second half is just pictures and before the pictures is a song to listen to while going through the pictures, which have the lyrics in them so you can get a feel of where you are.

~*~

I felt like I was gonna faint again but I didn’t, I just felt super dizzy and confused. I felt overwhelmed as well–which was the main reason for me thinkin’ I was gonna faint–and all I could do was clutch at Henri’s shirt so I wouldn’t fall. Our teeth clanked together and it was startin’ to get kinda hard to breathe, since our noses were all mashed up.

And then it was over. Henri pulled away and my fingers released his shirt. His eyes were real big and he felt completely disbelieving, like he couldn’t believe he just did that. I couldn’t believe he just did that. So I just stared back.

Finally I gulped and managed to stammer out, “Y-you kissed me…”

Henri went beet red and mumbled, “You noticed.”

More silence. This was bad. I had no clue what else to say. What did someone say when they were just–just–kissed like that! I just got my first kiss, I thought, feelin’ all weird about it. My body trembled a bit and I really hoped again I wouldn’t faint. If I kept faintin’ every time I came here to visit Henri, my dads probably wouldn’t want me to come here anymore. I needed to try an’ hold onto reality.

“You kissed me!” I said again ‘cept this time it was more of a shriek. Maybe… well, maybe a lot more of a shriek than I shoulda made it because Henri flinched.

“I’m sorry!” he gasped out. “I–I–” He lifted his hands for a brief second and then turned to run away. I gaped at his retreating back, still dazed, then began running after him.

Stupid, stupid, stupid! I chided myself as I ran as fast as I could. Henri was fast, usually beatin’ me in races and often being able to catch me in tag. “Henri!” I called. “Wait, Henri!” Way to go, Serenity, you KNOW he was all scared and then you go and shriek at him like he did something bad! Course I was all torn over whether it really WAS bad or not. But I knew Henri didn’t mean it like some perv-o (like that feeling I got from Bobby Whitmeiler when he was lookin’ at my boobs the other day and THAT was just a total perv-o feelin’!), so I couldn’t really be mad.

“Henri Laroche you stop running right now or I’ll SCREAM!” Since I pretty much screamed that, it wasn’t much a threat but it got him. He skid to a halt and just stared owl-eyed at me as I jogged up to him, pantin’ for air.

“Look just punch me now and get it over with,” he said, bracin’ himself.

I straightened up, pushin’ my bangs back and givin’ him a real nasty glare. “If that’s what you really think I’d do then maybe I should!” I raised my fists like I was going to, and I kinda felt like I wanted to. What kinda thing was that for him to say? Did he really expect me to punch him for kissin’ me? That was Duncan’s job.

Henri held up his wands. “No! Come on, Serenity, I’m sorry…”

“Sorry for thinking I was going to punch you, or sorry for–” I stopped and began blushin’, not able to speak the word out loud. “For… you know…”

“B-both,” he mumbled, his hands falling and a look of guilt goin’ all over his face. “I don’t know what I was thinking…”

“You–didn’t want to kiss me?” Suddenly I felt like I really wanted to punch him.

“No! I mean, yes! I mean–” He shook his head. “I wanted to kiss you, Serenity. But–if it upset you then I am sorry for that.”

“It didn’t… upset me… so much as… surprise me…” The words were slow and kinda embarrassin’ to say. Henri looked up and I quickly looked down. “I wasn’t expecting it, y’know?” I kicked at the dirt and sighed. “But, ummm, yeah so… I won the game…?”

I was hit with a wall of sadness all of a sudden and when I looked up, Henri was visibly upset. “Um, well, yeah, I g-guess you did.” He picked at his nails and chewed at his lip. I stood still, waitin’ for something to be said and kinda worried it wouldn’t. I won fair and square, after all. “The thing is–“

“You pinkie promised!” I cried out.

“I know! I will. I–I will, I promise. I just… I need to… figure out how to say it…” He messed with his hair a bit, kicked at the ground a bit, then finally sighed. “Let’s go sit down. Or maybe we should go to your house…”

“We’ll sit down.” I took his arm and guided him to the nearest bench. I felt he was real unsure about this and I didn’t wanna risk him backing off during the time it took to get to my place. “It can’t be that bad,” I said once we were both seated.

He looked up at me with such sadness that it hurt my heart. “It can be,” he whispered. “You deserve the truth, I guess. I–I wanted to tell you, I would eventually–I promise–but… it’s not the easiest thing to say…” He pushed his hair back and gave a small groan. “And I want to say first and foremost, I’d understand completely if… if you don’t want to be friends anymore because of it…”

“Of course I want to be your friend–” I started but he cut me off.

“What I haven’t told you is something big, and something that it isn’t easy to deal with. My mother… I told you she died…” He fidgeted some more and I just let him take his time in tellin’ me, it was obviously hard. Especially if it dealt with his mother. “She died when I was eight,” he finally said. “We just moved here. Dad was hoping… there might be a cure here.”

A cure…? I suddenly had a very, very, very bad feeling.

“There wasn’t though Dad never gave up. That’s why he became a doctor, you know, because he fell in love with a sick woman.” Henri’s lips twitched up into a kinda distant smile. “For years he focused on research.”

“But now he’s a kid’s doctor…?” I asked then got mad at myself for interrupting. But Henri just kept smilin’ that distant smile.

“Yeah, when I was about three he switched over. And when Mama died, he focused solely on helping children getting better.” I sat back, absorbin’ this in, remembering all the mean thoughts I had about his father. His father was just so arrogant… and hearin’ this didn’t change that fact, but why was he like that if he went through so much?

“He does all he can for others because–” Henri fell silent for what felt like forever, and then whispered the next words so low that I almost couldn’t hear’m. But I did.

“Because he can’t help me.”

One… two… three… four… several seconds ticked by as what he said worked its way into my brain. My brain put up a fight, not wantin’ to let it in, but it got in and when it did, my hands flew to my mouth. “What?!” I gasped out.

“I’m sick,” he struggled to say. “My mama had it, and died. My grandmama had it, and died. Everyone in my family who has had it has died.” He sucked in some air that sounded all wrong because he was trying not to cry.

“That’s why I was worried about telling you, because one way or another you’re going to lose me. I have it, Serenity, and I’m going to die.”

*

I was on the bench for hours. Unable to move, unable to focus. I wanted to say somethin’ to Henri but I didn’t know what to say. I was only dimly aware of him squeezin’ my hand and telling me to take my time to work things out, and then he left since Duncan was comin’ over. The trip back home was a complete blur, too.

All I knew was once I got there, I collapsed onto my bed and I cried. I was going to lose Henri. He was willing to end our friendship now ‘fore things got worse which, after me not being too unhappy about that kiss, were bound to.

But could I just cut things off now…?

*

How do I get through a night without you?

If I had to live without you, what kind of life would that be?

Oh, I… I need you in my arms, need you to hold…

You’re my world, my heart, my soul.

If you ever leave…

Baby you would take away everything good in my life.

And tell me now. How do I live without you? I want to know, how do I breathe without you? If you ever go, how do I ever, ever survive? How do I, how do I, oh how do I live?

Without you there’d be no sun in my sky…

There would be no love in my life…

There’d be no world left for me.

And I, baby I don’t know what I would do, I’d be lost if I lost you. If you ever leave, baby you would take away everything real in my life.

And tell me now, how do I live without you? I want to know, How do I breathe without you?

If you ever go, how do I ever, ever survive?

How do I, how do I, oh how do I live?

Please tell me baby…

How do I go on?

If you ever leave, baby you would take away everything, I need you with me

Baby don’t you know that you’re everything good in my life?

And tell me now, how do I live without you?

I want to know, how do I breathe without you?

If you ever go, how do I ever, ever survive? How do I, how do I, oh how do I live?

How do I live without you?

How do I live without you, baby?

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Five - This Path Of Destiny. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to This Path Of Destiny – 5.6 – Henri’s Secret

  1. -breaks down in a fit of tears shoveling ice cream down my throat- T-T

  2. Jazen says:

    NO Henri can’t be dying!!!! That is too sad he can’t die. Serenity needs him. His dad needs to find a cure I hope he finds a cure. Henri was supposed to be her happily ever after. 😦

    • sErindeppity says:

      Henri is, as of right now. Whether he will or not… well, that will be found out later. But it is me writing so… nothing is assured. T_T except that the Reddings will show up at some point.

  3. inspiritsgolden says:

    oh no 😦
    not henri >:C

  4. Crazy chic says:

    You… just…

    *speechless, feeling shivery and in tears*

    That was sad…. awww poor Henri…

    *grabs Jay and Kay to fix Henri*

    That’s very odd though…. why so many family members passed in his family….

    Will Henri grow up an adult and… well marry Serenity… until he passes and Serenity has to move on sorta kinda

    T_T

    • sErindeppity says:

      -hugs- I was crying when I wrote it… and when I added pictures… and when I was proof-reading T_T
      I will be going more into it but basically it’s a disease he got from the maternal side of his family. A large chance that a kid born to that family will get it. 😦

      And that is the question: will he become an adult and be able to marry her? Even if he does, there will be that chance of their kids being sick… 😦 IF Henri ages up, I don’t think he’d risk having kids with her.

      • Crazy chic says:

        Well you gone a walk to remember on me stuck in my brain 😛

        *sighs*

        Danevbie blood and gene’s are strong I’m sure they can have kids without being sick 😉

      • sErindeppity says:

        That’s kinda what this reminds me of xD such a sad, wonderful movie T_T
        Danevbie blood is strong 😉

  5. Anon says:

    NGVJWKGNHWOGJWIUONVSLMKVJNJSOJ WHY. -Seriousface- I don’t know. All I know is NO.

  6. ATMzie says:

    He has to survive! THEY HAVE A SONG!

  7. Glory R says:

    That was a real shocker!!! I can see now how K and J would come into the picture. Haven’t figured out how you’ll do that but I’m sure you already have it written in your mind. The music part didn’t work so I’m glad you put down the lyrics. I know the song so I hummed along…!!! Oh my what would Serenity do without Henri, you brought him into her life for a reason, I hope they have a long and happy life together..but then yes it is you writing it and you’re always FULL of surprises…LOL

    • sweetribz says:

      I know..I can just see her making a deal with J and K, save Henri in exchange for experiments on her. 😦

    • sErindeppity says:

      I have it pretty much all figured out except for if one thing happens (which I’m hoping it won’t) but I’m sure if it happens I can think up something on the fly o_o
      I can’t wait for the Redding part x] well, parts. ;o
      Sorry the music didn’t work, but glad you knew the song well enough for it not to be a problem ^_^ when I was trying to find a good song for that scene and I thought it’d be so perfect for them.
      Serenity would have a real hard time without him, especially if the two get even closer which it seems now like they might… o:
      Hehehe I do have some surprises in this story. I hope y’all like them x]

  8. sweetribz says:

    -sobbing uncontrollably- WHY?!!?! I need HERENITY!!!!

    Thats so sad….. I was hoping for a less tragic secret X( T_T

  9. MissCee says:

    Hi sErin, excellent chapter, really enjoying this heir. They’re all good stories, well told; but this was one of the best.

    Putting the song file midway, then the refrain with pictures: top notch! You go girl!!!

    Blessings,
    MissCee

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hey, good to hear from you. ^_^ I’m glad you’re enjoying this story. There will be quite a bit of sadness in this generation but plenty of happiness, too. I hope you continue to enjoy it.
      And thank you 🙂 I’ve read other stories where they do a full chapter like that but I thought it would be better if it was at the end of the chapter in Serenity and Henri’s case.
      Thanks, again! 🙂

  10. Mia says:

    If you’ll excuse me, I’m just going to stand in this corner and sob uncontrollably.
    Thanks. 😦

  11. bluexskittlesx says:

    I enjoyed this chapter =] I wonder what his illness is? I hope its not contagious 8|

  12. Rozelliee says:

    😦 😦 Why why why do I have to try so hard to *not* cry? This is horrible and I can’t believe it! Henri! And just as I was getting to like him ! Poor Seren and poor Dr. Laroche and poor Henri! 😦 I wonder if Serenity will somehow become desperate enough to ask a certain pair of scientists for help? 😕 Theoryyyy.
    I also can’t believe I’m just getting to read and comment on this- life has only granted me minimal computer time.
    But one whimsical thing I have to say– I can’t believe How Do I Live was the song you chose for the montage! I find it funny-ironic because I’ve been singing this out loud to my mom and annoying her endlessly for the last few weeks, hahaha.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I am sorry! >_< It made me cry too 😦 (but… it was my intention for this chapter to be a tear-jerker D: sorry)
      Serenity might, if she hears about them before/if it happens. :I Which she might not.
      LOL about the song!! That is funny xD

  13. misssasy11 says:

    This chapter gives me such a Titanic, you can love but not keep him feel. I must go cry now 😥

    • sErindeppity says:

      I was considering “My heart will go on” for the scene when she was running to him but it didn’t quite fit since she’s basically saying she will be there with him till the end, and the Titanic song is more of “I will always love even though you’re gone”. T_T

  14. Lathe says:

    I’m glad you meant this as a tear-jerker, ’cause you did a good job with it 🙂
    Though, it seems like the disease won’t kill him in the next decade at least, so they’ve got some time to be together still………………. <_< but it's still really tragic!

    • sErindeppity says:

      I’m glad I did what I intended to do -hugs-
      He is not quite dying yet but he doesn’t have too much longer to go, less than a decade though. Unless a cure is found, of course.

  15. Nooooooo! Henri can’t die! 😥 We don’ know for sure that he will though! So his family died before him, that doesn’t mean he will die! They can still find a cure, he can make it! Can’t he? 😦

    I sang the lyrics along in my head btw, such a beautiful, song! :3

  16. mewmewmentor says:

    No

    I like Henri.

    :/

    *cling*

    • mewmewmentor says:

      OOPS! I forgot to mention something I thought of but which might have nothing at all to do with Henri. Then again, it might, so I’ll just come out and say it.

      Is Henri by any chance related to Teri, since she moved to France way back when? Or is that just a complete coincidence?

      • sErindeppity says:

        I wish I had your brain. @_@
        But no, Henri is not related to Teri thankfully. That;s just coincidence. He wasn’t even going to originally be from France but I loved the name Laroche and then fell in love with a first name which I did not use (it was gonna be with the original love-story-aspect of the plot which got scrapped), so I decided Henri would be from France.

    • sErindeppity says:

      T_T I love Henri too.
      But I am still going ahead with my plot.
      -doesn’t say whether it involves him dying or being saved-

  17. nestea7 says:

    I knew it! I knew it! I KNEW IT!! D: D: D:

  18. *Bursts into an uncontrollable fit of tears*

    She’s going to make a deal with Jay to save him isn’t she?

  19. Thindra says:

    Omgs, This is the first legacy story I’ve found where I’m crying at least once a generation.
    I love the way you used the song at the end. ❤ Absolutely loved it.

    • sErindeppity says:

      😀 Awwwww ❤ thank you so much! And don't expect the sadness to be over. This gen will have a lot of it. xD
      I am both happy and sad you cried. I feel bad for writing stuff that makes people cry but at the same time….. well, it makes me happy my writing can invoke emotion… haha.

  20. jonso says:

    Before he said it, it just came to me. Because I remembered seeing a ghost Henri when I was anxious to catch up but still on earlier generations. I knew it! :’-( Still cried tho.

  21. zefiewings says:

    Awws! What is going to happen? She is going to make some deal with the doctors I suppose…

  22. somebodysangel13 says:

    So this is how you’re going to bring the Reddings into this gen. I like it. Something different from the previous two gens where they were working secretly and accidentally (maybe) got tangled into the lives of the Danevbies. I’m guessing there are two ways to go here; either Serenity seeks them out and asks them to help, like one of your other commenters said. Or Henri’s father could find them through some experimental drug trial, and try to save Henri that way.
    Then again, Henri could die and come back and the Danevbies could have ghost babies! Ghost/IF babies, plus whatever non-human Doug was, very cool!
    Speaking of non-human, I just realised you never really explained that part in Seb’s generation. Obviously it wasn’t a specific supernatural type in the Sims, but what was it?

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hehe 😀 I enjoyed the Redding involvement in Sen’s gen a lot (though I am very partial to how things are in gen six I won’t lie… of course gen six is my favorite gen with my favorite heir and…. and since we’re not there I shall shut up!).
      Heh we’ll have to see how things go with Henri. Ghost babies would be pretty awesome though O:
      If you’re meaning the psychic thing, that’s about it–the psychics had their biological makeup manipulated with magic involved. I go more into the fantasy/magical aspect of things later on in the legacy. :3

Leave a Reply

