Storm Damage

I know not many people are probably interested but yeah xD

So here’s what happened: Friday evening I went to my friends house (40ish minutes away) with no information about a storm. Ten minutes after I get there a tornado warning pops on on the TV then the storm hits it was so scary. A huge branch was torn from a tree and almost hit a nearby car. It was so scary. I got a call from my dad saying the top of the tree in my yard was torn off and was in front of our porch, taking the power lines down.

I stayed the night with my friend and then went home. When I got to my hometown it looked like a tornado HAD hit–debris everywhere, trees literally uprooted, roofs destroyed. Then I got home.

TOP OF THE TREE MY FOOT it was like half the tree and it took down most of another tree in my yard. I was shocked. But thankfully it did it did NOT hit the porch, the birdbath, or even the cars (off to the left of the picture) though the very top of the tree branches did brush against my dad’s car, not enough to even scratch though. Except with the power out for who-knows-how-long we decided my mom and I would go to my aunts (bringing my cousin with us since she was visiting). So… yeah. But I wanted to show the picture. O_O

According to my dad who is still at home, various places in town have some power back (it’s been three full days now) but since our power lines had been ripped out, our house does not have power yet.

I should get updates out soon. ^_^ I might have time to work on it tomorrow. ❀ it depends when I can.

~sErin

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Storm Damage

  1. Gloria Royal says:

    Oh my goodness I’m so glad that no one was hurt and that the tree didn’t do a lot more damage. It would be super scary!! Glad that you are safe!!! Take care

  2. sweetribz says:

    OH MY GOSH! I’m so glad you and your family are fine! AND TOP OF THE TREE MY FOOT! :d

  3. Maddy says:

    Whoa! That storm was brutal! Glad everything’s ok πŸ™‚ I love storms like that… as long as nothing is broken and everyone is fine lol! Can’t wait for updates πŸ˜€

    • sErindeppity says:

      It was very brutal. I think some places STILL don’t have power. I like storms, I had some fun watching it when it was starting to calm down at my friend’s house though it didn’t hit there as hard as it hit at home.

  4. JourneyG says:

    Wow, your storm looks a lot worse then mine. Glad you are ok. Hope everything gets back to normal soon.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so much, I’m glad it wasn’t worse for you. There was so much damage in our town. Things are pretty normal in our house at the least. The cat’s forgiven me. xD when I came home she shrieked at me and ran down to the basement. I chased her down and she crouched where I couldn’t reach her, and shrieked at me for a while until she finally came out. She hates storms and then I figure was mad at me for leaving her in the heat. My dad was there, of course, but she doesn’t like my dad too much.

  5. It’s so weird how trees fall sometimes. An old tree at my old house also went down missing 3 cars somehow. Its annoying clean up but at least it didn’t damage anything too badly.

    • sErindeppity says:

      It is weird and oh my goodness, I am glad the cars didn’t get hit. I heard of a house that got hit and it took down all the trees in the yard but left alone a glass table in the yard with a statue on it. It’s so weird when stuff like that happens.

  6. MissCee says:

    Wow! How wondrous is that?
    In awe of the timing of it. The way your family’s property escaped serious damage; even you were safe elsewhere. So glad to know you are yours are well.
    Blessings,
    MissCee

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you it is miraculous. Especially since the Job Tree survived (pronounced like Job from the Bible). Ages ago my mom had a tree that wasn’t doing well and then after my brother died, the tree started really flourishing so my mom got really attached to the tree. It is in between where the spruce fell and another tree. The spruce missed the Job tree and took down the tree on its other side, somehow. A few branches need to be removed from the Job Tree but thank the Lord it is still there, I think it would have taken a lot out of my mom, and my dad, and me as all this has happened pretty much at the anniversary of his passing (fifteen years, on July 4th). And the spruce not doing any other damage… it really is a blessing.

      • PeschkeGirl says:

        Wow… that sure is one way to be reminded of what you still have… Tornadoes certainly are terrifying things… Things of night and daymares they are. Certainly a blessing that the spruce didn’t do any extra damage. Glad your family and that the Job tree is safe, hopefully things aren’t too hectic for you all.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Thank you, and as it turns out it wasn’t a tornado but a…. word I cannot remember that means “wall of wind” and can cause as much damage as a tornado or hurricane. Nothing really hectic right now, though I know it will take a while to fix up a lot of the damage. Some places STILL don’t have power around here which is scary. But it is a blessing we didn’t get anymore property damage other than two trees. A local church had its bell tower taken off, and the press box for one of the footballs fields was destroyed. Plus so much more, I can only imagine.

  7. Pingback: Notice (sorry!) | The Danevbie Legacy

Leave a Reply

