This Path Of Destiny – 5.28 – Félicitations!

*Henri’s POV*

I couldn’t believe it. When Serenity told me noitsnotpossible I refused to accept it as true. The words were in my head but they didn’t stick for a long time, and when they did noitsalllies I couldn’t stop crying. Papa. Dead. It wasn’t real! It was a dream, a dream I did not wake up from. Two years. Two years he had been gone! I hadn’t even been half-alive again for two years. All this time, worrying about how he’d react, how he’d feel, and it was nothing for he was gone. Papa. Mama. They were where I should be. Mama was not a ghost, I did not think Papa would be a ghost. But me. I was a ghost. I clung to the world of the living… for a reason I still didn’t understand.

Serenity, my beautiful Serenity, left me alone in my grief. There were no words she could say mypapacouldntbedead that would lift the hurt. Ah, I gave those I loved sadness when I died and now… now it was my turn to be plunged down to those depths. My papa, there for me every day of my life. My papa, losing first his beloved wife and then his son. Steady. Plodding forward to trying to find a cure for me. One of my rocks arockcannotjustgoaway and now he was gone.

For a week I withdrew into silence. No TV, no games, no books. I spent my time staring out the window at the waterfall. At night, clinging to my wife. Serenity… I could not imagine losing her. How could my papa go on after my mama died? I would fade into nothing if Serenity was gone. At night, I clung to her, scared I’d wake up and she’d be gone. But every morning I’d wake up to her head on my arm, her legs tangled in mine.

Slowly, as the days passed, I came to face the truth howcanitbethetruth that he was gone. I would never see him again. Hear his voice, his laughter. I remembered the way he drilled English into me when I was young, how he let me sleep in his bed for three years after Mama died, how patient he was during my tantrums. He had a shell up, for most people, but with me, I knew him. I loved him. He was more than anyone could ask for in a father.

Serenity told me about Bernette. I spent time online doing some snooping and found a few articles, including a picture of their wedding day. I read the birth announcements for my two half-sisters and my half-brother. Noelle, Andre, and Emilie–ages 5, 4, and 2 respectively. I wondered what they were like, how my papa felt starting another family so late in his life, how the children would be growing up without him. I read the obituary for Papa. He had done a lot of work for neurosurgery and I couldn’t help but smile, feeling proud of him. I hope you’d be proud of me, I thought, closing down the browsers and drifting over to the window. Papa was a realist for the most part–one of the reasons I was scared of approaching him like this–but did believe in miracles. He always believed I’d live. And I did live, Papa. It just took a few years.

I heard movements in the other room so I drifted out and went over to my wife, my arms going around her. “Sen,” I said, heart pounding at the feel of her warm body against my cool one; at least, it would be pounding if I still had a heartbeat. “Did you have a good nap?”

“Mhm.” She nodded and kissed my neck. “Are you hungry?”

I had barely eaten since she told me, but as she said the words I realized I was. “Yep,” I said with a smile. “How about we order a pizza. And maybe race.”

Her face lit up at that. “Sounds great to me. I’ll call for a delivery right away.”

She turned away, taking a few steps. Her ponytail swung back and forth and I could see a few hairs curling against the back of her neck as she bent her head to punch in the numbers. My love, I thought. Papa had adored her, and I knew he’d approve of our marriage, of the family we’d eventually have. I was determined to do my best and be as good a father to my children as Papa was to me. Whenever that happened. She told me a few days later she had taken an early detection test and it had been negative. And a month later that test popped up as negative. I tried appear not upset, promising her that two months was just two months. We were young (or was I?) and had plenty of time.

But then another month went by, and another. We were due back to go to the lab which I wasn’t too happy about. I wish Sen had never agreed to go to the labs but I would support her. And protect her. Doctor Redding disliked me being in the room but I was not going to go anywhere where Sen would be out of my sight. This time there were more scans done, some blood tests, and a lot of Sen and some other person just staring at each other. Sometimes machines were hooked up to her and there was something that looked like a polygraph test or something as Sen concentrated on feeling the other person’s emotions.

Thankfully we were also in the side room of the lab, where we spent most our time the first week. Professor Redding was usually with us during these times, so we talked a lot. Sen was right, he was scared of something, but he was easy to talk to and was fluent in French which we often wound up speaking. On the third day I noticed something but didn’t say anything until the fourth. “I hate to sound awkward but, um, weren’t you… didn’t you have less… Is that a new helmet?” I couldn’t ask him.

Professor Redding reached up. “Oh y-yes. Th-the one I wore l-last time was an older d-design, before we knew a l-lot about the telepaths. It w-was designed for extreme p-protection but it hurt and was heavy. After our first g-group grew up w-we were able to fix the design and m-make a few changes. B-but since we d-didn’t know how s-strong Serenity was, sh-she made me wear th-the other one.”

So that meant she wasn’t as strong a telepath as they anticipated. I didn’t know if that was a good thing or not. “When did you start this project?” I asked, switching to French. I didn’t want Doctor Redding picking up on my fishing. She knew French just as well as he did but I was hoping she was too distracted talking to Sen to pay much attention to us chatting in another language.

Professor Redding frowned. “Sixty years ago,” he answered, his stutter not as noticeable. “We’ve c-come a long way in some aspects but we’re still in the dark for a lot of th-things, though my sister is hoping Serenity w-will be able to help discover new properties of the psychic world.”

Like what?” I asked.

Professor Redding opened his mouth but it was his sister who spoke. “Brother, why don’t you go get us something to drink?” Her tone was authoritative, tinged with anger. Oops. “I’ll have a coffee. Mrs. Danevbie? Mr. Laroche?”

Professor Redding winced and scurried out of the room before Sen and I could say what we wanted. He brought back two coffees and two bottles of pop. He and I began talking again but he changed the subject to something else completely. I knew I couldn’t get him back to the project so I didn’t even try. I was still curious about–what I had noticed. I wasn’t the only one because when Sen got a break from talking with Doctor Redding, she came over and the first thing she said was, “Weren’t you bald last time?”

Professor Redding went red and mumbled something. Doctor Redding sipped at her coffee, smirking slightly. “He was,” she answered. “His head was shaved.”

“Y-yes… m-my… yes…” Professor Redding muttered, staring down at his shoes.

“Ask him why,” the doctor said. The professor went even redder and shook his head. “He had chewing gum in his hair. Not just at the edges. No. It was stuck deep. I decided it would be better for him to shave his head completely than have a bald patch, and an uneven growth pattern for a while.”

“Chewing gum,” Sen said while I tried not to snicker at the image.

“I d-d-didn’t do it!” he wailed. “It w-was that k-kid. He w-was mad at me. I k-keep telling you, sister!” He clutched at his helmet, quite red.

“Which child?” Doctor Redding asked, as I really tried not to laugh. “The one that continually demands you grow a beard?”

“Y-yeah.” The professor nodded. “And he w-won’t stop kicking me!”

Doctor Redding looked unamused. “This is why I dislike children in the labs. We should make it a rule.”

“But–he’s the s-s-son of two of our best r-researchers and they c-can’t find babysitters easily,” Professor Redding said, looking a bit distressed. “From wh-what I understand, my hair isn’t th-the first to receive gum in it f-from him…”

I couldn’t take it anymore, I began laughing. Sen hit me but she was giggling too. The professor looked a bit distressed but then chuckled as well. The doctor made a scoffing sound and went back to sit on the couch. “I g-guess it is funny,” he admitted, grinning.

“No. It’s not. Let’s continue our session, Mrs. Danevbie,” Doctor Redding said loudly. Sen rolled her eyes and sat back down, while I went back to talking with Professor Redding. When it was time to move on to the exercise room, the professor acted as if he wanted to tell me something but all he wound up saying was a ‘see you later’.

*

It seemed like for the rest of the week, Professor Redding wanted to talk to me about something and I knew what it was. The conversation we had started that his sister interrupted. I supposed I could talk to him outside the room but that meant leaving Sen alone with the doctor and I was not going to do that. I did not trust her, I still sometimes asked Sen to quit doing this but my wife swore up and down things would be fine. I knew she had her own agenda. Answers, for some reason. I understood she wanted to know about these abilities but… this did not seem the safest way to do it. I wanted to help her, which I knew I could possibly do by chatting to Professor Redding alone–but nope, not doing that. I was going to always be ready to protect Sen.

On our final day there, I could tell Sen was distressed about something. Earlier in the day, Doctor Redding had been talking with her in a low voice. I had been talking to the professor, so I didn’t pick up on what was being said. But after that, Sen seemed upset about something. I tried asking her what was wrong but she waved me off, promising everything was fine. She even tried to distract me with a kiss. Which was at least a really nice distraction, but I was still very worried. I didn’t like the fact something she said had stress my darling this much, enough to make her not want to talk to me about it.

That night as we packed up what little we had brought, mostly some clothes for her since she didn’t like the clothes the Reddings had provided, I decided to bring it up again. “Hey, Sen, what was it that Doctor Redding said earlier? I saw you two talking and you’ve been acting kinda upset since.”

“I’m not upset,” she said, trying to sound believable. “I’m tired, looking forward to getting home. Ugh, I hate being away for ten days instead of a week, we really need to fix that. I agreed to a week. A week! Traveling should be in their time, not mine. I mean, if this was closer and traveling only took a few hours, or a day… but we have to stay overnight at a hotel. That’s not fair, really. At least I’m getting paid and that pays for gas and–“

“Sen,” I said gently. “What was said today? Don’t tell me you’re not upset. I love you, I know you. Something is going on, don’t lie to me please. Don’t tell me that.”

She just stared at me, a shirt clutched in her hands. After a few seconds she swallowed and said, “Henri, I was thinking that maybe I should keep up learning French. Maybe sometime we can visit France, you and I. If you wanted to, that is.” She smiled at me, looking earnest except inside her brain was ticking away at keeping the subject on what she wanted.

I sighed and shrugged. “If you want, but–“

“I had some questions, about some translations?” she asked, turning back to the suitcase and refolding the shirt. “How would you say ‘congratulations’?”

My shoulders drooped a bit. It was going to be hard to talk to her about the incident, so I gave her what she wanted. “Félicitations,” I replied, floating over to the dresser and picking up her nightie. One good thing about being a ghost was that I didn’t need to pack any clothes. Though sometimes I still had difficulty changing into different outfits.

“I see… félicitations…” she murmured. “Well, what about… something like–if you were… were planning to become something. Like ‘I’m going to be’ something. How would you start that? ‘I’m going to be’.”

I pursed my lips, very confused at this translation request. “Well, it depends really but something like, je vais être un. Like if you were planning on switching careers to, say, painting, you could say je vais être un artiste.”

“I see, thank you.” Sen turned to take the shirt from me, and smiled nervously. “And you always… called your father ‘papa’ but there’s another word for it, right?”

I squinted. “Yes. Père, could be used. What the heck are you getting–“

“What if you put all those things together?” she asked, eyes widening a bit. “I want to hear you say it, your accent is sexy.”

Now I knew she was just babbling to keep me from asking her what happened earlier. I opened my mouth to force the issue, then groaned.”Félicitations, je vais être… un…. père….. what?!” It was like a shock of electricity had been shot into my spine. I froze, except for my jaw that dropped to the floor. “WHAT!?” She just beamed at me and the electricity got stronger. “Sen? Sen? You–I–what? Est-il vraiEst-il–is it TRUE?!”

“Yes!” she finally said, grabbing my hands. “I’m pregnant! Doctor Redding told me today! The blood tests she took earlier this week, she noticed my hormones weren’t typical and decided to check to make sure and–she told me today since she’s so mad that I won’t be able to come in for ages, and I’m pregnant, I’m pregnant!” She slid her arms around me, holding me tightly. I was still unable to move. “We’re going to have our baby, Hen! We’re going to be parents!”

Another electric shock, and I could move. “P-parents? We–you–you’re pregnant–baby–with a baby!”

She giggled, burying her face in my neck. “What else would I be pregnant with, silly? A moose? Yes, we’re going to have a baby! I’m not very far in at all, it’s still a week before I woulda started again but I won’t, because I–I’m really pregnant!” She stepped back, eyes shining. “A baby.”

I reached down, carefully putting one hand over her flat stomach. “A baby,” I breathed out. “Our baby. I’m going to be a daddy.” I moved my hands, hugging her again. I felt like crying and a tear did come out of one eye. Just the day before it felt like it was taking so long to become pregnant but now it felt like it happened so fast. We had only been trying four, five months. We had only been married just a year. But we were both close to our thirtieth birthdays, mine coming up fairly soon and hers a few months after. And now we were going to have a baby! “Serenity,” I said and she tilted her head to look at me. “I love you.” I kissed her first lightly and then firmly. A BABY! I was going to be a daddy!

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Five - This Path Of Destiny. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to This Path Of Destiny – 5.28 – Félicitations!

  1. -giggles- Oh the chewing gum. And eeeeeeee baby~

  2. Eek!! 😀 Yays!! 😀 I love how she told him! :3

  3. mewmewmentor says:

    I knew there was something off about Kay’s pictures in the previous chapter, and I’m not just talking about the helmet. I just figured it was because some of the hats have some weird hairstyles with them, or his hair was just covered up. I am sooo glad we didn’t see him without the helmet now. That would’ve just been creepy!

    This kid sounds like a fun little monster. Will we get to meet him? XDD I at first thought he was one of the experiments, like Doug, and that’s why he’s so violent. But kids can just be brats. I’m not ruling that out, though. Poor Kay, so that’s who he’s really scared of?

    I can’t help it, though, it’s funny. Poor, poor Kay. It’s probably a good thing he didn’t help raise Cal then. XDD

    I loved, loved, loved how Sen told Henri she’s pregnant. I figured it out before he did, and I was cracking up at him. I loved the look on his face!

    One thing I noticed that confused me – in one sentence early in the chapter, it seemed like you were saying Henri has a heartbeat. Wha-huh? Did you mean Hen was listening to Sen’s heartbeat, or do ghosts in your world have heartbeats?

    The thing I like about this gen’s spouse is that this time he had a likeable parent. Hal and Kellen’s parents and general family were painted as unlikeable, so it’s nice to see a change.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hehehe yeah I didn’t notice the baldness until it was pointed out -giggles- it would be creepy.
      Oh the kid is super fun…. and you will be meeting him. -starts giggling more- He’s not an experiment though, just a kid of two workers. -starts flailing- oh jeeez I can’t wait to have him in the story. But no that’s not why Kay is scared.
      Kay usually would get along with kids but this particular kid is just…….. wild. Kay would have been a great father to Cal ^_^ But he doesn’t have a beard. So this kid thinks less of Kay for that. It won’t be mentioned in the story so I can say it, basically the kid told Kay to grow a beard, Kay said no, so the kid stuck gum in his hair. And kicked him. OH JEEEZ I cannot wait to show more of him. -flails-
      Eeee the pregnant announcement was fun ^_____^ and huh wow that was the second mistake I made in the chapter. I will be rephrasing that, thanks for pointing it out. >_<
      In gen seven I will try to be including a spouse family. I just…. have a hard time…. having multiple sims involved in scenes…. 😦 I'm sorry.

      • mewmewmentor says:

        XDDDD I think I’ll like this kid. I get the feeling his dad has a beard. Am I right?

        Would Kay grow facial hair just to get the kid to quit it with the gum? *cackle*

        You’re welcome! Speaking from personal experience, I know it can be hard to write about undead people and remember they don’t have the same features as living people. XD (I used to roleplay vampires.)

        It’s fine!

        XDDD I think the monster kid could have an interesting influence on Herenity’s kid(s). Assuming he’s still around when they’re/he’s old enough to be influenced.

      • sErindeppity says:

        I think you would like this kid. I love him. xD I want to have more of him but…. can’t at the moment. No Kay wouldn’t grow facial hair. If he did even do that, Jay would make him shave right away.
        Lol I’m glad I’m not the only person. It is hard! It’s gonna be really hard next gen with a ghost as the heir I will have to keep reminding myself.
        As for the last part of what you said……. -zips lip- can’t say anything. xD

    • sErindeppity says:

      Changed the line to: ““Sen,” I said, heart pounding at the feel of her warm body against my cool one; at least, it would be pounding if I still had a heartbeat.”.

      Thanks again for pointing it out. -shakes head- I had made another mess up when I said Henri didn’t know if Jay spoke French and then when I published the chapter Tuf reminded me about the fight in French they had xD

  4. Jazen says:

    awww
    A little Henri baby. Now will it be a ghost or not is the big question. And will the good doctor want to experiment on it?

  5. Maddy says:

    Kay! ❤
    I also LOVED the way Sen told Hen ❤ Very sweet!
    BBAAAABBBIIIIIEEESSSS!!!!! WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! 😀 ❤ ❤

  6. *cough*calledit*cough*

    But Jay is probably gonna steal the baby somehow. 😦

  7. thelifeofapetal says:

    lol chewing gum xD Imagine Jay just shaving Kay’s head :3 The baby announcement was cute ❤

  8. SRaina says:

    😀 He had gum in his hair. That’s just funny. I can’t wait to see Sen and Henri’s baby.

  9. I loved this chapter. Poor Kay having a kid pick on him like that. lol.

    The pregnancy announcement was really cute too. I hope you get a ghost baby.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you 😀 Poor Kay indeed. xD he’s a children person so…. having this happen is probably confusing. xD
      And thank you!!!! 😀 I’m so happy people like that. I need a ghost baby later so I am hoping the first one is a regular baby, really, though I am super excited for the ghost one.

  10. sweetribz says:

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! I hope the baby has blue eyes and red hair XD.. that would just…be..EEEEEE! :p I’ve been waiting for this since she first tried to seduce sick Henri when they were 18 XD

    • sErindeppity says:

      Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee I cannot wait to see what the baby looks like, the baby I tested as I’ve said before looks AMAZING so I am sure their firstborn will as well -flails excitedly-

  11. inspiritsgolden says:

    kay… is so cute………….ah…
    and BABIES!!!!! ヽ(;▽;)ノ jay will just have to get in on this, i’m assuming
    that sounded less intrusive in my head

  12. Cereline says:

    BAAABBBBIIEEESSSS! Yay, finally! Happy me is happy. 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      EEEEEEE babies!!! -flails- I am so excited and happy too. FINALLY babies!!!!!!!!! Gens one and two were over at this point on the chapters and three was almost over. It’s taken too long. hehehe. Oh well I don’t regret the amount of chapters I spent pre-Henri-death.

  13. nestea7 says:

    Woot! Woot! It’s baby time!!!!! Freakin’ excited. -flails excitedly in my chair-

  14. Poor Kay getting chewing gum in his hair. He’s just so cute

    And how Sen told Henri she was pregnant was adorable

    Just cute :3

  15. zefiewings says:

    Awww what a sweet way to announce it.
    Hmmmm K what are you hiding?

  16. jonso says:

    That was so cute how she had him figure it out in French. And the look on her face – adorable. 😀

  17. AliciaRain says:

    “What else would I be pregnant with, silly? A moose?”
    LOL!!! I loved that… lol

  18. zefiewings says:

    re-reading comment:
    SPOILERS BELOW (THOUGH I WILL KEEP IT AS SPOILER FREE AS POSSIBLE)

    ahahahaha! The kid! Wants him to grow a beard! I know I know! I love it! So long ago was the first time mentioned and we didn’t even know! ❤ ❤ ❤

  19. somebodysangel13 says:

    Wow, for someone who didn’t want to tell his father he was a ghost, Henri really took his father’s death very hard. No-one likes to lose their parents, but he never seemed particularly close to his father – though that could have just been that Serenity was focused more on him, and we mainly see things from her point of view.

    Also: Kay is an awesome dork. That is all.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Henri did love his father and was fairly close (not as close as, say, Sen is to her parents). But he knew his father was moving on from the past and he felt that if he went to see him it would disrupt things. He wanted his father to be happy and in love and raise a healthy family. He also worried that if he showed himself to his father, his father would feel obliged to come back with him from France. In addition, he always viewed his Papa as healthy and alive, not part of the sickly death world he always had a foot in. So it did shake him up in that sense, too. If that makes sense ?_?
      Kay is an awesome dork ehehehe ❤

      • somebodysangel13 says:

        Yeah, that makes sense. I think Henri (and me!) keep forgetting that it’s been 10 years since Henri died – his dad would have been getting older all the time Henri was a ghost, and all the stress of his job combined with the deaths of his family would have taken a real toll on him as the years went past.

Leave a Reply

