??? – Questions

Her foot touched the ground and for a moment she was surprised that the ground was there, then a bit embarrassed that she had been so surprised.

The atmosphere changed, and Jacob noticed right away. He thought it was about the right time in the… real world. But it was centuries ago when she had grown weak. Or that morning. He wasn’t sure, but he knew that he wasn’t the right one to greet her.

He reached out and carefully touched Calcifer’s shoulder. Calcifer, spending time with his wife in the other world, came back with a frown.

“D… Dad…?” Luna’s voice was tiny though her eyes were big.

“Luna!” Calcifer exclaimed. He was momentarily happy, then suddenly very angry. “No.” He turned to his father. “No.”

“It’s been decades in the land of the living,” Jacob said, trying to keep his son calm.

“No! No–she–no. No!” It was the same reaction he had when he learned his sons had died, and the same reaction he would have when his fourth child followed. “Luna… no… you–you’re not…”

“Dad?” Luna blinked and looked around the room in confusion. “Where–you’re young.” She couldn’t comprehend this, the last thing she remembered was being in bed with her daughter holding her hand. She closed her eyes tightly, trying to wake up. If she didn’t wake up, Viola would worry.

She looked up again at her father and the other man just beyond him. His name was on the tip of her tongue. A picture, that’s where she had seen him before. But before she said anything, her father spoke. Explaining to her, his voice full of anger but trying to keep calm. He was blinking back tears.

“Death,” she said after he was done. “I’m dead. This is the–this is death. This room? This is it? Just… the three of us…?” She looked around, her eyes getting even bigger with fear. “No, but… Kellen! And Mom…? And Kyle? And Orion–“

Now Calcifer explained to her the other side of the afterlife. Jacob hovered near the wall, keeping an eye on the lines which had blurred then sharpened when Luna came in. There were more of them–or less of them. But there was something there, something tangible. Then it was gone.

“And you’re Jacob…” Luna stared at the grandfather she never met. Jacob turned away from the wall and smiled.

“Luna, how sad it is you are here but I am glad to meet you. Finally. I’m sorry I never got to when you were alive.”

“Dad, don’t be morbid!” Calcifer snapped, putting a protective arm around his daughter.

“Dad, it’s fine. I understand.” She did understand and then suddenly her face lit up with pure joy. “Kellen! I can see him! Like you said you could with Mom, here’s there.”

She closed her eyes tightly and Kellen put his arms around her, his lips finding every inch of her face. They were standing in a library room, the smell of books filling her nostrils, the feel of wood very real under her feet. And Kellen, he was young again. He was there. He was as real as she was, and she sank into his arms with the same relief as someone coming home after a long time.

Calcifer stepped away, knowing the look on her face was the same he got when he was with Penny. “Dad, it’s not fair,” he whispered, turning to face Jacob again. “She shouldn’t be here. None of them should. Kyle and Orion, they’re not here. Why is Luna here and not my sons? Will Tempest be here when she…?”

Jacob shook his head. “No. She will be in the other place, where everyone else is. Nobody else will be joining us until…” He wasn’t sure whether to say it or not.

“Till one of my grandchildren die,” Calcifer said stiffly. “Which one? It’s not right. It’s not right for them to be forced to be here, for Luna–for my Luna!” He threw himself at the wall with the lines and began hitting it.

Jacob watched with a wrinkle of concern creasing his forehead. Calcifer could have been a toddler again with the way he was acting. But the lines on the wall did not react to his anger, they kept being the same, or different, or whichever they were.

“Cal,” Jacob finally said after a few years. “Please calm down.”

“It’s not fair, Dad. Nobody should be in here. My baby girl shouldn’t be in here.” He slumped on the ground and put his head into his arms so he could cry. Jacob knelt down, his hands against Calcifer’s arms. “I don’t want her to suffer this.”

“It’s not suffering, she can be with those she loves just as you can,” Jacob said patiently.

“My grandchildren don’t belong here either.” Calcifer raised his head, the tears glistening against his cheeks. “None of them do.” Suddenly he let out a garbled sound and looked at Luna. He figured it out. “It will be one of hers, won’t it? It will be one of Luna’s children. Viola, or Sebastian, or Cesario.”

“Yes, I believe so,” Jacob said, not wanting to lie. “But we won’t be sure until…”

“Until one of my grandbabies die,” Calcifer growled. “What do we tell her, huh? What do we tell Luna? That she has to look forward to an eternity spent in this room and then one of her babies coming in here?”

“Or one of her nieces or nephews,” Jacob said. “I don’t know which, Cal. I don’t know how this works. I think–I think it will be one of the ones you said but I just don’t know. And I don’t know when it will end.”

“A Danevbie in this room for always?” Calcifer cocked his head to one side, eyes narrowing. “There’s not enough room for that, we’ll be full eventually.”

“No. Until the right one…” Jacob stood up sharply. He almost said… And it was there… The right one? Would there be a right one? The right Danevbie? Is that what the room was waiting for?

Jacob turned to stare at the lines again. Was that what was going on? Was the room… waiting? He stared at the lines, trying to figure out what they meant but it was never there. Would a Danevbie one day come here and understand them?

“Please bring Luna back,” Jacob whispered, sitting down on the floor. He looked at his son, and Calcifer was gone. Not physically, but he was with Penny and they were possibly with Luna, and the others.

Luna is smart, Jacob thought, his voice echoing in the room as if he spoke out loud. He waited some time–a few minutes (or a few days) and then crept over. He would rather Calcifer bring her back as she knew him, but Calcifer was not in the most pleasant of moods right now.

Luna was pulled from the library and she stared up at Jacob. She knew what he wanted. She had heard everything, her father’s crying, Jacob’s answers. But she did not want to leave that library. Her brothers were there too. It had been so long since she had seen them. And Milla, who had passed on before Orion; and Kenyatta, and George. Both of Kyles’ husbands. It should have been awkward, but it was not.

And her mother. She had been in her mother’s arms, and now she was back in this room. Her grandfather wanted her to look at the lines which she did, but they were not lines. Not squiggly lines like Jacob said they were.

“It’s coding,” Luna said as she went over to touch the wall. It had looked as if the lines were raised up off the wall but the wall was smooth. She could almost feel the lines moving under her fingers and she quickly pulled her hand back, frightened. “What is it?”

“You said it was coding?” Jacob asked, biting his lip.

“No… I was wrong.” She stared at the wall and it was just squiggly lines. She had just imagined it was anything else. Right?

“What do you see?” Jacob asked.

“Squiggly lines,” she said, sitting down on the ground. Jacob sat down next to her, hugging his knees to his chest. They looked to be the same age, fresh-faced out of school. Luna knew this should make her uncomfortable, but it didn’t. “The Reddings…”

“What?” Calcifer came back very fast at that. “What?

“That’s why it doesn’t make me feel weird to see my dad and granddad the same age as me,” Luna explained. “Because the Reddings took youth potion.”

Suddenly Calcifer looked shocked and angry. “You worked for them. You worked for them!”

“Dad–“

“That’s where you worked in Riverview. I didn’t know, I didn’t think about it but now I can see it and it happened. You worked for the Reddings.” But he sounded flat, deflated.

Luna hugged him tight. “Dad, I’m sorry I never told you before. I didn’t think you’d be happy. I was worried you’d make me quit…”

Calcifer sighed. “I would have! I didn’t want that for you, sweetie.”

“They aren’t so bad,” Jacob said.

“Shut up.” Calcifer glared at his father who just shrugged, knowing his son had more issues with the twins than he did.

“Dad, it’s in the past,” Luna said. “A long time in the past.” She looked at him and wondered if he knew how much the Reddings had been involved with the family. She thought about her granddaughter and then wondered if she could look down to make sure everything was going well. “Can we–are we guardian angels?”

“No, we stay here, as hard as it can be sometimes,” Jacob said. “All we can really do is see what’s going on. But not interfere. I will warn you time, doesn’t work the same here.”

Luna knew by now this was true, as it had been so many decades since she first came here, yet when she focused on her living family they were still grieving over their recent loss of her. It was far too confusing. And those lines were giving her a headache. It had to be a code, but it wasn’t–except when it was. She rubbed her eyes.

“Did you see something?” Jacob asked.

“No. I thought I did, but no.”

After a year they all sat down, and she focused on the wall with almost the same intensity Jacob did. Calcifer wasn’t quite as interested in the wall as his father and daughter, but he stayed with them for some time before going back to Penny.

Luna was half with Kellen, curled up on a small sofa with him, listening to his voice as he read one of their favorite books. They were alone again, relishing in the company they had been denied for so long.

Jacob remained completely in the room. If his suspicions were right, it would be one of Luna’s children who joined them next and not a child of Cal’s sons. He just wasn’t sure which one, but whoever it was would hold the next piece of the puzzle. They had to.

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in ???. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to ??? – Questions

  1. sweetribz says:

    aww…Kellen and Luna together again..The right Danevbie huh?…Oh Erin I never asked..how do /you/ pronounce their last name? I pronounce the v kinda silent O-o

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yep finally they were reunited. :3 And Jacob seems to think they need the ‘right’ Danevbie. He may be wrong though. O:
      And I pronounce it… hmmm usually I pronounce it Den-ehv-bee with the emphasis I think mostly on the middle syllable. Though the ‘Den’ is vaugely a mix between ‘Dan’ and ‘Den’ if that makes sense. @_@ Daen…? o.O hmmm. Not sure how to explain the Dan part. But yeah. xD
      Now that I am saying it over and over I am getting real confused at how I pronounce it since I am focusing on it so much ahahahaha

      • sweetribz says:

        ooh so…like.. Dane-ehv-bee 😀 It is confusing..saying over and over..names are fun.. xD

      • sErindeppity says:

        No, not Dane/Dayn. Like… Den, a wolves den. With the e having a slight bit of a in it… @_@ I am a fail at this sort of thing ahaha. Maybe like Dehyun. Really quickly. o.O? No. That’s not it either. Dx It’s mostly Den, I think.
        Deh-Nehv-Bee? Maybe that is it. o.o Yes. That is more it.

      • sweetribz says:

        I’m really giggling hard right now XD….Okay…I will try to pronounce it..correctly from now on ^_- Deh-Nehv-Bee 😀

      • sErindeppity says:

        I am giggling too xD and pronounce it how you like, really. ^__^
        Now I am imagining Jay doing a pronunciation guide for this legacy.
        Jay: Jacob is pronounced Jay-Cub.
        Kay: Dx I know h-how his name is–
        Jay: My nickname is pronounced ‘Jay’.
        Kay: …. I kn-know th–
        Jay: Your nickname is pronounced ‘Kay’
        Kay: T_____T make it s-stop!

      • sweetribz says:

        bwahahaha! ….
        Jay: Calcifer is pronounced Cal-sih-fur
        Kay: Sister..I..I think it’s best if yo-
        Jay: Penny is pronounced Pen-knee
        Kay: Why, s-sister…w-why! T-T

      • sErindeppity says:

        Aaaaahahahahahahahaha
        Jay: Why? Because it is important. Luna is pronounced Loo-Nuh. Kellen is–
        Kay: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA -upturns a table and runs from the room-
        Jay: o.O

      • sweetribz says:

        AhhHhehaha..-gasping- woo..hah..XD

        -later that evening-

        Jay: Brother I don’t think the way you behaved is very appropriate. Now shall I start over again?

      • sErindeppity says:

        hahaahahahahahahahahaha just when I finally managed to catch my breath now I am giggling and laughing like mad again XD swljbnqelkfn -flails-

      • sweetribz says:

        I have this awesome image of Kay running the way Jacob did in the blooper pics you had XD ‘_’

        Oh..and sorry bout filling your comments section two scrolls down XP

      • sErindeppity says:

        Wahahahaha he probably does. And nah it’s fine 😀 I don’t mind x]

  2. Maddy says:

    The right Danevbie? Hmmm… I can’t wait to see how they solve the wall… eons from now… Or maybe years… Centuries? Heheh! I love how right now they all have Jacob’s hair XD Now there will be Seb, Sen, Chance, and how many more? Will they ever get out of that room and into the place everybody else goes to? Who put them in that room? What is the connection between them that brings them there? How did Jay mess them up now!? Cal really took it hard that his daughter showed up there 😦 How’s he gonna react when Seb appears? So many questions… I don’t want anyone else to die but at the same time I want answers! Aaaaah! 😛

    • sErindeppity says:

      Maybe the right Danevbie. Jacob’s just theorizing. He feels that one of them has to hold the key. I was amused at the three redheads too. XD Though there is a gap, one day another redhead will probably/possibly join them (Chance).
      I am amused to see people think Jay had something to do with it. She really doesn’t have it out for the Danevbies. She just gets annoyed at them when they cross her path. XD
      Cal did take it hard. He doesn’t like the fact his children are dying, and that one of his baby girls is going to suffer the same fate he has.
      Don’t worry you’ll get answers…. eventually!

  3. I know I’m just repeating what others have already said, but here it is: The right Danevbie, huh? It’s interesting that Luna can see something in the squiggly lines at times, even if it never lasts. At least that means they are more than just random, they have some meaning. I’m happy that she can finally be with Kellen again :3 They’ve both been waiting long enough.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hahahaha Jacob seems to think so. ^__^ And yeppers, Luna thought she saw something. Jacob sometimes does too. Sort of. The lines… well I draw them random (well, not always. Sometimes I do a specific pattern, or write something in a way to look like squiggles. Have fun with that!) but they do have meaning. And yes after…. 13ish years they are back together. x3 ❤

  4. La~xo says:

    o.e
    those skins.. look odd on men. xD
    I think I asked you about the pronunciation of Danevbie before. You answered me and I still pronounce it like Dan-a-veebe-
    Even though it’s not that. e.e.
    & has Jay seen chance?
    AND AND; sorry. c: But Im really enjoying you posting so often!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Aw they do? I mostly got the skin for the guys. XD But that’s why there is so many different default skins out there! 🙂 I hope it’s not too odd for you though.
      And lol pronounce it however you like, really. It just makes me happy to know people are saying/thinking it enough to have their own way of pronouncing it. ❤

      Nope Jay has no idea about the fact Chance is a ghost. She never cared to keep tabs on the Danevbies and still doesn't. And no need to apologize, thank you for commenting!!! Eeee~

  5. mewmewmentor says:

    :O Coding, eh? I just got a brand new theory that has nothing to do with the plaque.

    Your Sims are becoming self-aware, especially the dead legacy heirs! Eventually, they’ll figure out that they’re inside your computer, being kept safe for some unknown purpose as yet. Either that, or their souls are inside an alien computer.

    Anyways, I’m wondering what will happen to Chance when he ‘dies’. Will he come there as a ghost, or will he stay in the mortal world, trapped there because he’s a ghost? Henri’s never been to the beyond either, but his son was born, not killed…so I dunno. o.o It’d be cool if Chance wound up becoming his human self before he entered the box with his family, but that wouldn’t keep with them reverting to their young adult status…unless he was human by young adult, but obviously I know nothing about that yet. Jumping ahead of myself again, but I sooo can’t wait to see where Chance’s story goes. 😀

    Anyways, byebye Luna. Dx I’m glad you’re with Kellen again. :3 And your family, of course.

    • mewmewmentor says:

      Oh yeah, forgot to mention theory two that doesn’t have anything to do with theory one. I think the ‘right’ Danvebie will be the 13th heir.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Eeeehehehe I was anxious to see your comment on this 😉 ❤
      Oh Chance, his story is gonna be interesting. I won't say whether he becomes human or not. 🙂 He will have the ch… er, opportunity. But I won't say whether he takes it. When he dies, if he is still ghost he would appear as a "regular person" in the room. I think. He should. Ahhh I am excited for his story!!! But I need to stop babbling about it. Lol. I just… waaah -flails- But this is about Luna. Yes, goodbye Luna. 😦 she is with her family, and will be seen from time to time as more heirs go to the room.

  6. CrazyChic says:

    Here is a long winded response since I didn’t have time to catch up for awhile!
    OMG! LUNA!!!! I am so sad that she passed on but I am strangely happy at the same time because we get to see Cal and Jacob again in this chapter and awww Cal is such a loving father and Luna meeting Jacob made me have a little moment of happiness :3

    Awwww Chance is such an adorable ghost baby but I kinda wish that he was a human just cause I freaking love his red hair and eyes, perfect combination of Serenity and Henri. His name… I kinda have to get used to that, adorable baby naming theme but to me Chance sounds like a big jerk but I am a bit biased since I was picked on as a kid by a Chance. 😛

    This chapter has me wondering what is going to happen in the future when all 13 heirs are together and what is going on with the “right” Danevbie stuff Jacob was mentioning, it has me very intrigued.

    The one I’ll be most sad seeing there would be Seb… man I don’t want to think it but wow he looks much older now… *sigh*

    But AHHHH nice seeing these chapters back it’s been a real treat for me. Wish I had some ice cream and snacks… T_T

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol it’s okay! ^__^ Glad to hear from you!
      It is very sad Luna is gone but she’s not gone-gone. ^__^ Cal does love her so much and is in pain knowing his babies have grown old and are passing on. 😦 It will be interesting to see each heir meet Jacob and previous gens. And also what they do with the other side bit. Like, Cal and Penny being in the meadow, Luna and Kellen in the library. I know what I shall do with Seb and Hal, and fairly sure what I’ll so with Sen and Hen, and already know what Chance and his love interest will have xD
      Chance may become human. Or maybe he’ll have human kids who have the hair. But yeah he is too gorgeous to stay ghost Dx And sorry about the name! This Chance is not a jerk at all. I hope you like him despite his name ^^
      Hehehehe I was hoping it would cause some pondering going on. One reason it is named ‘Questions’. I am not looking forward to naming them all though. I know the name of the next one, but not the two after that x_o
      I don’t want to think about Seb being that old either but he is in his early sixties now Dx T_T -clings to Seb-
      -gives you ice cream- 😀

  7. Cereline says:

    I don’t know why but I love these chapters! They’re very intriguing and intresting and it’s cool to see the heirs together. I love Luna, she was one of my favorite Generations. Though Sens and Sebs are very steep competition.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Eeee, so happy that you like this. I try to make them intriguing. It was hard for this one though, trying to decide what should be put in and what should be kept out… I am looking forward to more of the gens being together and meeting Jacob.
      I love all the gens so far. Jacob or Seb would be my favorite. Until Chance’s story, that is. x]

  8. zefiewings says:

    I find how you wright this section incredible. Very good job.

  9. evilmaniac88 says:

    This chapter is really great – the writing is so abstract? I’m not sure if it’s the right word but oh well – I just really like these chapters 😀

  10. yellowberries says:

    I love these chapters. They’re so intriguing. I’m a little worried they’ll make me look forward to your sims dying Dx I’m so curious now. What is it about Jacob’s family??? What answer are they looking for? What QUESTION are they looking for? Is Jay involved? If so, how? Why are they all connected? What is that room? Why is it just them? Why asdhkhaskdfhskjdfhs????
    If this was a book I’d buy it omg. Chapters like this reignite my interest in this legacy. Excuse me as I power-read for the rest of the holidays.

    • sErindeppity says:

      😀 thank you~
      I know just what you mean. I love writing these chapters so much. I always look forward to, and dread, writing them.
      All in due time! 😀 and ahhhhhh -blushes- thank you so much that means so much to me! ❤

  11. somebodysangel13 says:

    I think what I love most about these chapters is that all the heirs will have an opportunity to get to know one another, when they never could in the real world. Like Luna and Jacob in this chapter, I’m looking forward to seeing Jacob and Seb meeting – Seb having gone through many male births and still living to old age will be hard on Jacob, even as he’s glad to meet his descendants. And so on… Jacob meeting his 12th heir o.O
    Particularly love how Jacob and Luna are able to discuss the Reddings more pragmatically than Cal ever was. Jacob isn’t so biased against them as Cal is, which I like (lol, of course I like it, I love the Reddings. Such interesting characters with multiple layers, as opposed to all the one-dimensional good/evil sims in so many legacy stories).
    And reading the comments has finally allowed me to pronounce their surname correctly! Deh-nehv-bee. I used to say Dan-ev-bee, but I like yours better. Somehow the surname has worked for all of the family (thus far) – sometimes I use a surname that sounds great with a few names, but then weird with other names.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I know what you mean, it’s really nice being able to write the heirs meeting one another, especially Jacob meeting his descendants. Man, meeting the 12th gen heir will be interesting! Pretty crowded room by that point O:
      And ahhhhh thank you for the compliment on the Reddings -blushes- Even though Jay does have the evil trait, I don’t see her as truly evil (she does have the tendency at times to do things others consider evil, not going to try to defend her on those points).
      And hehe yeah their last name is a bit odd with pronunciation since it’s a made up name. (I don’t mind it when others pronounce it differently from mine though)

      • somebodysangel13 says:

        Well, that’s the good part about humans (and the sims in every new incarnation) – they are never just one thing all the time. Our sims have 5 traits now, which means at the least, they should be 5 different layers. Evil in Jay is only one layer, same like clumsy in some Danevbies isn’t their whole lives.

  12. Erin says:

    OMG I forgot about the room!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

