Some questions~

Just needing some feedback, thanks! I know, you guys probably hate my polls. xD but I like to keep my readers engaged in the story and, well, feedback is important especially since I’m about to start a new generation.

For the first one, I intend on doing what I did with Serenity. When Sebastian started having kids, I rolled the dice to see which child would get Penny’s hair. As I am terribly sad we lost the Redding’s green eyes, I decided to reintroduce some lost colors. I meant to include this in the non-heir vote thing but forgot. Basically, the top two winners will get a dice roll and one or two of Chance’s kids would get this. No guarantee an heir will. 🙂 You can choose up to three options!

Y’all remember the last time I asked for feedback mostly about like, length and if there was not enough of this or too much that? Now that I have been experimenting with writing, what do you think? Multiple choice, but not repeat voting. Also, as much as I love hearing ‘I love your story don’t change a thing!’ the last option about opinions is more for any issues you might be having with things such as dialogue, action, etc. If you WANT to comment otherwise xD feel free but I would also appreciate any constructive criticism any of you might have. 🙂

How much should I update? I’ve been thinking about trying to give myself a schedule so if the schedule option is chosen it might either be Mon/Wed/Fri or it might just be twice a week. I am not sure. Well see.

Thank you everyone ❤ I appreciate the patience with my annoying polls. xD

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Some questions~

  1. I always seem to comment when polls are up xD I enjoyed the last chapter and can’t wait to see what happens, I’m also looking forward to the next gen =]

    I think if you can update more that would be nice but we all know that RL gets in the way and it’s hard to stick to a schedule, well it is for me, I don’t know about you haha

    I personally like long chapters but I’m a fast reader. I don’t skim, but I do read quickly xD so I think the chapter length is fine but if you’d like to make them longer then I’d be happy with that too =D

    • sErindeppity says:

      That’s because I am psychic and know when you’re gonna be around and schedule my polls for that time. :I -tries to sound believable-
      Anyhoo thanks for letting me know! I was wondering the most about updating, but it is hard to stick to a schedule. I am soooo lazy! But I will try it if people would rather me have scheduled updates.
      I have been happy with the chapter length, but I am willing to put more in them (or less). Though right now I am working on 41 and am about 1,000 under my usual chapter length and everything’s been said I wanted to say in there so I am trying to figure out what else to add xD
      Thanks! Glad to hear from you, I’ve been thinking about you. Are you planning on doing another legacy or trying to?

  2. Hmm, let’s see: I chose Kay’s and Jacob’s eye colour, said that the length and amount of pics is fine (also more shirtless Kay would be lovely), and on the last one I voted whatever you’re happiest with.. I think having a schedule can be useful but it might also become stressful when you feel like you have to update.. Which would be a shame, you should never update because you think that you have to.

    • sErindeppity says:

      More shirtless Kay is always lovely ❤ I voted for the eye colors too. I loved Jacob and Luna's purple eyes so much! It can be stressful to stick to a schedule but I am willing to try, honestly. I know some people like stories that are updated regularly so I thought I'd offer it as an option.

      • You voted yourself? Isn’t that cheating? 😀
        Yeah, I know what you mean. I prefer updating regularly (at least once a week), too, and always feel bad when it’s not happening -.- Which it hasn’t, only once so far!

      • sErindeppity says:

        <___< :I I'm a cheater. XD I vote in a lot of my own polls. XD
        I have gotten a few votes for being regular so I am going to try to do that. 😀

  3. La~xo says:

    XD
    My votes were:

    Kay/Jay’s hair colour.
    Too short, (Not really but you’re such an awesome writer that I want like 90000,00000 pages of writing. )
    I think you should just upload whenever you can.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Eeee! thank you! And LOL thanks for explaining why I got “too short” for a vote. It woulda confused me since sometimes I worry my updates are long. XD ahaha. Then again when I read other legacies I love having a lot to read. I’m such a hypocrite XD

  4. I would like it if you posted at least once a week, but I understand that reality sometimes intrudes on the best intentions. I’m posting every day in my story but I have a lot of time on my hands so I can write and take pictures often.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you for the feedback! I will try to be updating at least once or twice a week. I’m hoping with Chance’s gen I will get ahead like I had with Seb. But yeah real life is annoying when I wanna write xD and read.
      I saw that I have a lot of stuff of yours to catch up on, I am excited for it!!! 😳 I must admit, I really like Ice and Aaron. But I love DLIBF too. I’m hoping to start reading/catching up soon!

      • I write about once a week and get enough material for a week’s worth of chapters (or more). The hardest part is taking the pictures. My game has a tendancy to crash at the most annoying times.

      • sErindeppity says:

        I should do something like that, have a time where I just write a lot. Pictures are the hardest thing for me too. Mine doesn’t really crash but it just takes a long time. D: Hopefully yours stops crashing so much!

      • I posted some polls about Ice and Aaron. I’m just making it up as I go. In other words, I have no set ideas about the heir or the heir’s generation. I have a general idea of the overall plot arc.
        DLIBF actually has specific plots each generation.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Oh neat! Is it difficult to be doing two stories in such different ways? I pretty much go about all my legacies the same way. XD I know what is going to happen once I start a gen, or before I start a gen (like I had a general idea for Viola, Sebastian, and Zari but when Seb was picked I knew exactly what was gonna go down). Course as I’ve stated… Sen’s gen really changed around. Cause of Henri. xD

      • DLIBF was inspired by fairy tales. That gives me the basic plot elements. So I have a general idea of the important plot elements to incorporate before I start writing.
        Ice and Aaron started as an idea of “what would happen if a vampire found an injured human on his doorstep?” and just started from there. I don’t have a car so I do a lot of walking which gives me time to think about the story and work out what happens next.

      • sErindeppity says:

        I need to read more of both but especially DLIBF. That is neat how you get stuff for both of them and I bet the walking really helps. I need to start doing something like that but it’s hot outside and I am a cold-weather type of gal. XD

      • Well I find any physical task that doesn’t require a lot of mental concentration works: cleaning, washing dishes, etc.

  5. Maddy says:

    Yay for polls! I didn’t read the blurbs before voting (I usually read them after cuz I’m backwards like that) So I voted one trait instead of three, so I voted a second time for two more things but I don’t think it worked so here are the things I tried to vote for: Kay’s eye color, Jacob’s hair color, Jacob’s eye color 🙂 There can never be enough shirtless Kay, no matter how many pictures of him you include! XP Other than that everything’s fine, girly! 🙂 And I like lots of updates but whenever you can/ want to is fine by me 🙂
    Man I used a lot of smilies!!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      -giggles- You should read first! I don’t know if it’d let you vote again after the initial one. But I voted for the same things you did anyway XD haha. If I had it my way, every gen would have that red hair xD Chance needs to be human to flaunt his, and to flaunt his amazing looks x3
      NO never enough shirtless Kay!!!! Lol I found some burlesque poses I may intend on using… in Dannings… <\\\\\<
      ANYWAY thank you so much 😀 Yay for smilies! :3

  6. invisiblesimmer says:

    I love the length of your chapters! I hate it when people only post a couple paragraphs. But of course, don`t force yourself to make them long if it doesn’t flow nicely.

    I kinda skimmed the last poll and accidently pressed the scheduled choice instead of the whenever you want one. I love how often you post, but if real life gets in the way, don’t feel obligated to post. This should be a hobby, not a job. However if I had any control, I’d be like EVERYDAY NOW! But I know that’s not gonna happen 😛

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you! And LOL can you imagine Danevbies being a couple paragraphs per chapter? O.O It’d be like, a thousand chapters per gen XD haahaha. And thanks for your vote and lol okay I will make note of it. Accidental voting happens! I’m glad I post often enough for some people ^_^ I like to post a lot but yeah RL is annoying. D:

  7. sweetribz says:

    I voted Jacobs eye color, Kay’s eye color, Kay’s hair color 😀
    Not enough shirtless Kay XD, Chapters are too short! bwhaha..Kidding..I’m like you and like to read so much my eyes could fall out…and ..Chapter length is fine ^-^
    And…post whenever you want..I especially love to hold myself back from reading for a week..then reading like a crazed person for an hour :D…. Just fyi I’m sharpening my axe…for Doug.-evil laughter-.O_o

    • sErindeppity says:

      😀 Thank you so much and nope, shirtless Kay is mmm perfect addition to the story. Bwahahaha. I like to read a lot but always just feel like I am writing too much when I give out a long update xD haha
      And LOL make sure it’s an axe that can hurt ghosts x3

      • sweetribz says:

        Oh…dang I forgot! O_o…Now what…Maybe some of that special metal that Jay and Kay used.. Or..I wonder if Doug was ever allergic to anything? Peanuts? I have several jars of peanut butter XD.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Hhahahahahaha sorry a funny story I have to share. My dad is severely allergic to nuts and one time a woman at his workplace brought him peanut butter fudge. He said he couldn’t have it because he was allergic to nuts and she said “Yes I made sure it doesn’t have nuts in it.” She seriously did NOT get the fact that peaNUT butter… was made with nuts.
        ANYWAY uhhhhhh yeah anyway. <____< I dunno what Doug is allergic to. Other than caring about people.

      • sweetribz says:

        Omg! XD Hopefully he…didn’t eat any >_>

        Maybe a hug will re-kill Doug? O_O But..ew..hugging him I’d have to bleach myself..

      • sErindeppity says:

        He didn’t XD and yes you will have to really try to disinfect yourself there.

  8. Crazy chic says:

    Kay’s eye’s and Jacob’s eyes…. I love the green and purple…

    Maybe who Chance falls for can have green eyes? 🙂 I wonder if there is an option to have one eye purple and the other green… that’d look sooooo cool!!!!

    Ummm I said the chapters are too short only cause I’m an addict and I need more and more… even though I’m kidding… or am I…. darn it!!! Doug quit invading my emotions…. *calms down*

    I was a bit antsy for Sen’s generation to get going cause it was awhile but update as you’re happy with since you have a loyal reader right here :3 I love the Danevbie’s and I want you to be happy about writing about this crazy ass family 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      I love the colors too and hmm I can’t remember what eye color his love interest has, but his love interest is already made. 😀 Smexiness. I will have to find some contacts to give a dual eye color that would be cool. Surely there’s CC with that.
      Lol thank you so much -giggles- and yeah Sen’s gen was kinda weird for me since it changed while it was going and a lot of what was originally in there was taken out and I kinda messed up on a lot of things. I’m glad it’s been okay though. Hopefully the finale makes up for it!

      • Crazy chic says:

        Your writing is amazing and Sen’s gen has been interesting since she fights herself and has a complicated inner struggle and won’t accept herself. She’s trying to balance life out but finds it hard to deal with it…. reminds me of myself with what I go through in my life and pretty sure others feel the same about life and such 🙂

        Also bringing in ghosts was exciting and different… each generation has a bunch of sci-fi themes I absolutely love and I love that each character is relatable with charming personalities… yes even the bad characters like Jay 😛

      • sErindeppity says:

        Awwww thanks. I do like Sen and what she’s become, it just was so far from my original plan. But it still hopefully sort of goes on the whole “I make my own path”.
        I love sci-fi and fantasy XD no denying that. I figure pretty much every gen will have some sort of sci-fi or fantasy element in it. ❤
        Thanks again for this comment, it helps knowing how relatable my characters are. It's one thing I really try, to make my characters seem real!

  9. I wouldn’t mind seeing any of those choices! But because I had to pick I went with Jacob’s eyes 🙂

    The chapter length is completely fine, you have nothing to worry about! I think you add in a good amount of pictures as well, all coming from the right angles.

    When you update is up to you I guess! What I do… Is if I have a lot of free time, I’ll write out a couple chapters and set up the pictures.. and I’ll save them in drafts. This way even when I’m busy, I just log on and click publish! That’s my technique… do whatever is easier for you! 🙂

    Ps. I really like the way you engage your readers into your story and blog… Would you mind if I kind of steal the idea and insert polls on my blog every once in a while? 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      You could have chosen three 😀 I might be doing most of them, or just some. Definitely the top two. And yay, thanks. I am glad the chapter isn’t too short or too long. I know Seb’s chapters were a bit on the short side which I regret.
      I try to do that too, like with Seb’s gen I was usually ahead by like…. ten chapters with the writing, ahead by two chapters with pictures. XD but in Sen’s gen I tried to stay ahead but never could. Probably because her story turned out so different from what I intended. I dunno. Maybe because…. I am going to get looks for this… but her gen is far from my favorite. XD I love Sen, and Hen, and Kaylee, and Miracle and Chance, and everything, but man this generation was hard to write. :I So yeah I am so hoping to be able to do basically what you do and what I did with Seb, with Chance’s gen. -crosses fingers-

      And yes feel free to do as you want with your blog! I know my readers are probably sick of them but I’m not gonna stop because I love feedback. Even if it’s unimportant things, I like to see what my readers think. ^__^

      • I don’t know about the other readers… but I LOVE polls hehe… It just gets me even more involved in your story. And I can understand why this generation was hard to write.. There’s so much happening and a mix of different emotions… sometimes it’s hard to piece it all together for it to make sense! 🙂 You shouldn’t worry about it to much, I think you’re doing a FANTASTIC job !!

      • sErindeppity says:

        There was a lot going on. Originally Henri was going to stay dead, Sen was going to marry someone else, and she was going to be using her powers a lot more and have a lot more trouble with the line of what is right and what is wrong. XD and thanks 😀 You are a fantastic author yourself 😉

  10. bewaresims says:

    I voted for anything Kay related, although I guess I can get my fill of shirtless Kay over at the Dannings blog…

  11. mewmewmentor says:

    I have a comment about PoV changes. I understand that in some instances a PoV change is a necessity, especially if we would otherwise have to hear what happened as a summary after the fact of it happening.

    The thing is, I find it disorienting when in the middle of a chapter, you switch PoV, especially when you could probably have stuck to the same point of view. For example, in chapter 5.40, Henri was there right from the beginning of the chapter. But it wasn’t until after their argument that you switched to Henri’s PoV. It would have been cleaner if Henri had had the PoV for the whole chapter.

    It makes the most sense to have one PoV per chapter, in my opinion. I do love seeing into the heads of more than just the legacy heir, but I feel like it should be used sparingly.

    You do a good job with keeping people’s inner voices distinct, and I appreciate the bold markers saying that it’s a different PoV. It’s just too many switches too quickly that bothers me a bit.

    I hope I don’t sound mean here. XD I do love your stories, I’m just trying to help you by giving you some feedback. 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks for replying and I appreciate it 🙂
      Okay, I do sort of agree about the POV thing is but my problem is I am just not that good of an author and I could not figure out how to write chapter forty from one POV. I have a hard time stretching scenes out and cutting out Sen’s stuff, I have no idea what I would have done, or cutting out Henri I wouldn’t have been able to include the hint of what was to come. Maybe I should have cut out Henri’s POV and tried to fill it in with random stuff? I dunno. I will keep it in mind though and try my best to figure out how to fill in chapters without being repetitive. I’m currently writing chapter 42 and I will try to figure out how to stretch Henri’s scene into a chapter-length scene. I just worry about it being too slow and putting stuff in that doesn’t need to be there. I also don’t want to randomly have really short chapters since I personally think that might be jarring? I could be wrong about that.
      Because on my side of things I am not good at writing it can be hard to figure out what to put in, I do what I think works best, and as nobody has ever said anything it never occurred to me that it could be confusing. So thanks 🙂 You don’t sound mean at all. I wanted feedback so I appreciate it. I understand where you’re coming from and I will try to fix how I do POV stuff. ^__^

    • sErindeppity says:

      So I have been working on 42 for a long time and have tried to make it on POV and cannot do it, I’m sorry. So there will be at least that POV switch in the middle of a chapter but I will try harder for future gens.

      • mewmewmentor says:

        Hey, there’s no need to apologize. It is your story, I’m only a reader making a suggestion. 🙂 And I disagree. You’re a terrific writer, just by doing what you’re doing. Writing as often as you do means that you’re teaching yourself better ways to write, sometimes unconsciously.

        I’m not saying you need to stretch scenes out, or that you need to put in filler that doesn’t relate to the story much. You should do whatever you feel comfortable with. I agree that shorter chapters would probably be the bigger issue, since people would all be like…okay, where’s the rest? XDD

        I think I figured out how to explain what I’m trying to say as far as how your PoVs could make more sense. In Wings 1.7, instead of having Portica or Eminence be in first-person, they were third-person. Maybe you could try in Danvebies to have non-legacy heirs as third person, like what you did there. We still saw Portica’s thoughts, but it was less jarring because she was Portica and not ‘I’.

      • sErindeppity says:

        What I meant was, I do have a hard time figuring out what to put in. I suck at writing family stuff, or rather–I have a hard time writing family stuff. I prefer writing drama and stuff like that, so when I need to stretch chapters out I get so stuck. And I know what you mean about the Portica/3rd person thing. I might start doing that for Danevbies. ^___^ When I think about who’s going to be the other POV in Chance’s gen and when they’ll have their POV told, I think 3rd person would be better. O:

  12. mewmewmentor says:

    Oooh! I see what you mean! I have the opposite problem, I love writing family stuff (everyday situations) and I have trouble with writing dramatic plot stuff. That’s why I still haven’t gone back to my Camp NaNoWriMo novel to edit it – because I’m afraid of fixing my plot so it makes sense. XD But if it helps, I like your finished family stuff products. They usually feel fairly realistic. I’m probably a lot more like Mira than I’d like to admit, haha.

    I’m trying to come up with some tips for helping you get unstuck with the family stuff, but the only thing I can think of is ‘roleplaying’, which is what I do sometimes. It can be time-consuming, though, XD.

  13. ATMzie says:

    I’m very glad you put up this survey because the lack of shirtless Kay is astounding. You seriously need to work on that.

Leave a Reply

