Living Is A Lie – 6.0 – Ghost [Gohst]. Noun.

I swung my legs back and forth, watching them go through the couch to the rhythm of the music. It was playing softly and it was the composer I liked, but I could not enjoy it. My daddy was sitting in a chair not far from me, looking even more sad than I felt. I was sad, I was very sad, but I still did not understand really what happened.

I looked at my daddy for a second. He was staring at nothing, just ahead. His hands were on the armrests of the chair he was in and his body was still. He did not breathe. He did not need to breathe, like me. He used to, but didn’t no more. Like he didn’t eat since he got home and he didn’t sleep. He just cried or sat in silence.

I looked down at my legs again. It was weird being alone with him. We were not even home, we were at Aunt Kaylee’s house where Daddy said we were living now. I did not know why we could not be in our old home. I liked our old home. It was real neat and the waterfall was real pretty. But Daddy said, when he come home, that we had to live with Aunt Kaylee now cause Mama was not going to come home.

I did not know why Mama was not going to come home. I asked him if she was lost but he said no, she was gone and would not come back. I still think she is lost somewhere but Daddy and Aunt Kaylee keep saying no. Aunt Kaylee cried a lot, and so did Miracle. I cried, because I did not want Mama to be lost–but I knew she’d come home. She loved me and she loved Miracle and she loved Daddy.

Daddy said she went with the Grim Reaper and that meant she was gone forever. Miracle says it’s called being dead. I looked that word up in a dictionary. It means deprived of life. I had to look up the word deprived. But that made me real confused. I kept having to look up words and finally did not keep going cause it was confusing. I put away the dictionary and decided that being dead was stupid (and confusing).

“Daddy?” I was looking at him again and he finally looked back at me. I smiled, hoping he would smile too but he kept frowning. “Daddy, I’m hungry.”

Daddy’s face got all scrunchy. “There’s leftover pizza in the fridge.”

My legs stopped swinging and I kept smiling. “Are you hungry too?” I asked.

“No.”

“You didn’t eat breakfast and, and you didn’t eat di–“

“I’m not hungry, Chance.”

“Are you mad at me, Daddy?”

“No.”

I sighed and hopped off the couch, my feet not touching the floor. Floating was nice. I also liked that I could go through things, like my daddy could but Mama and Miracle did not do. I didn’t know why. I asked my mama once but she said it was because I was special, like daddy. I liked being special. I liked going through things. It made going into the kitchen at night and getting food when I was not allowed real easy. I made no sounds when I floated. I learned that walking made noise. Floating made no noise. So I did not walk anymore. Floating made me sneaky like a kitty.

I floated into the fridge and then remembered the little light did not come on unless I opened the door so I floated back out and made myself go solid. I opened the door and looked for the pizza. It was on a higher shelf and I had to stretch to get it. I also got some drink that my mama and daddy did not like me to drink. It was called pop. They said it was not good for me to drink cause I was just seven.

I took a piece of pizza and the can of pop and went back to the other room to sit on the couch. I watched my daddy, wondering if he would say something about the pop but he was looking at nothing again. I opened the pop but he did not look. I slurped it loudly but he did not look. “Can I play a game?” I asked.

“Turn off the music, then,” he said.

“Do you want pop?”

“No.”

I sighed again and turned off the music and then turned on the TV. I found a video game to put in and began playing. Video games were super fun. Daddy and I played a lot. Sometimes Mama played with me, or with Daddy. They liked to play video games together and argued a lot over it then laughed a lot. Miracle did not like video games at all and liked to read instead. She liked books without much pictures which made me confused. I tried to read her book once and it was really weird about a boy who had a toy car and tollbooth thing that took him into another place and it was so weird. Miracle found me reading her book and got real mad and I tried to say I was sorry but she threw her pillow through me and said I smelled like toe scum.

Mama told me not to be upset but I was not upset. I know Miracle did not mean what she said and I didn’t smell like toe scum I smelled like this really nice soap Mama always bought me that smelled like green apples (except green apples really did not smell like that they smelled the same as red apples). So it did not make me upset when Miracle said stuff like that. I did not get upset at all a lot of times, and Mama and Daddy always told me I was a really gentle and had a sweet temper.

“Daddy, wanna play? I got this racing game started,” I said cheerfully.

“Chance…” Daddy looked at me and then finally moved something other than his head. He moved his hand and rubbed his forehead. “Just play quietly. Now isn’t the time, okay?”

“Okay.” I turned back to the TV and began the race. I was not real good at racing games but it was fun. I crashed my car a lot but it was fun to do. I liked hitting other cars and messing them up. But when I hit a car, and the crashy noises started, Daddy got up and came over, yanking the plugs out of the wall. I dropped the controller and stared as the TV went black. “Daddy!”

“No video games,” he said in a real angry voice.

I sat back in the couch and nodded. “Okay,” I whispered. I finished eating the pizza and drank some more pop, staying quiet as my dad sat down in the same chair he sat in since we stayed at Aunt Kaylee’s house. I did not like being in this house I wanted to just go home even though my bedroom window looked out at the horses which sometimes was a bit scary. Miracle got the window looking at the waterfall. Now both our windows looked at houses. We lived in the town now and that meant I couldn’t go outside.

I did not understand that though. I liked to sit outside but Aunt Kaylee told me I was not allowed to anymore. Miracle was allowed to go in the backyard but not me. I didn’t know why. But Daddy could not go outside either so I knew it was probably cause we were special. Because we looked different. But wasn’t special good? It was reallllly confusing.

Then I figured something out. “Daddy?” I asked, my voice not really loud, a bit scared since I didn’t wanna upset him.

Daddy’s shoulders got all hunched up. “What is it, Chance?” he asked in the kinda voice that I knew meant he was trying not to lose his temper.

“Are you sad cause we can’t go see Mama?”

He breathed in real deep and loud. “I told you… Mommy isn’t… coming back.”

“Yuh-huh.”

Chance!”

I jerked back against the couch and couldn’t stop the frown on my face or the tears. I did not frown or cry much but this was too much for me. “Daddy, you said that’s where Aunt Kaylee and Miracle were going today! How come they get to go see Mama and we–“

Your mother is not coming back!” It was not an angry voice, it was a sad voice, and he was crying.

I got off the couch and went a little closer, my hands curled up together under my chin. “But… you an’ Aunt Kaylee–I heard, and Miracle and Aunt Kaylee were gonna go say goodbye to Mama so she can’t be lost if they can go say goodbye to her… How come we can’t go see her?”

Dad looked at me and then pat his lap. I climbed up and he put his arms around me, his face in my shoulder as he cried more. I cried too. “Baby, your sister and aunt are not going to see Mommy. What we meant with saying goodbye is… because your mother is gone, like I told you. Saying goodbye means… Oh Watcher, I knew we should have talked to you about this before.” He pulled back and pushed back my hat a bit so he could touch my hair. “Chance, what do you know about death?”

“Uh… nuthin’.”

“When a person dies, that means they are not around anymore. They go to a different place that we can’t go to.”

“How come? Why did Mama go?”

“Oh… Chance…” He leaned in and began crying again. “She didn’t want to go. She would have given anything to be here with us, but she did not get a choice. Someone made her, a very bad man made her. When someone dies… there is a funeral which is where people who love the person go to say goodbye to them, even though the person is not there. Do you understand?”

I shrugged. “So Mama is not there but Aunt Kaylee and Miracle and Poppop and Grandpa an’ everyone else are going to say goodbye?” I asked and Daddy nodded. “How come we’re not there? I don’t love her less than Miracle loves her. I love her the same.” I paused for a second and then added, “I love her more.”

“Baby, I didn’t want to tell you this until you were older…” He looked at my face as if trying to learn something. I blinked and rubbed a few tears away from my eyes as I waited. “You and I are very different from other people. You know we are. And… we’re… we are what people call ghosts.”

He looked at me and I knew he wanted me to say something. “Oh,” was all I said cause I didn’t know what else to say. “What are ghosts?”

“Well, ghosts–are different from regular people. We are see-through and can float and go through things.” I nodded when he said that, wanting to know more since I already knew that. “Um. Okay well… the thing is, some people are afraid of ghosts. A lot of people, actually, and… a lot of people don’t like us and would be very scared and mad if they saw us. That’s why you can’t go outside and play since we live in town now, since someone might see you.” He closed his eyes and bowed his head. “That’s why we can’t go to Mommy’s funeral, because people might see us. Your mommy was loved by a lot of people so there are gonna be lots of people around, which means we can’t go.”

“Oh. How comes people don’t like us?”

“Well, baby. They don’t know much about us and people don’t like what they don’t understand. Maybe when you get older it will be different but right now, we can’t go around most people. They’ll be afraid and might try to hurt us because we are so different.”

“I can’t get hurted,” I said with a smile. “We can go all not solid.”

“Sweetie, there are people that can hurt us. Now, they probably live very far away but we need to be careful. I don’t want anything happening to you.” He put his arms tight around me and he put his face against my shoulder again. “You need to be very careful, Chance.”

“I will, Daddy,” I said but then I frowned. “I want to get more pizza.” I made myself go not solid and floated away. Daddy’s hands dropped to his lap and he just watched all quiet as I went to the kitchen. I did not want more pizza but I needed to think without him looking at me. I was not real happy.

People were afraid of us and would hurt us if they saw us. Because we were different. Because I was different. Miracle was allowed to go out and do stuff, but I had never gone out. I thought back as far as I could. I had never been anywhere but our house near the waterfall, and the waterfall, and some of the woods around the house. Miracle went shopping with Mama, but Daddy and I were always home. I never thought of it before. Now I did think of it. We had to stay away from people because we were different. I could not go say goodbye at Mommy’s funeral because I was like this. A ghost.

I floated to the stairs and up to the second floor where Miracle, Daddy and I had rooms. Aunt Kaylee had the big room on the downstairs. I went to Miracle’s room and floated in through the closed door. I found her dictionary and opened it. It took me a few minutes to find the word and when I did, I stared in complete confusion.

Ghost [gohst]. Noun. An apparition of a dead person.

I didn’t know what ‘apparition’ meant but the last words were obvious. A dead person.

I was… dead?

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Danevbie Generation Six - Living Is A Lie. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Living Is A Lie – 6.0 – Ghost [Gohst]. Noun.

  1. Awesome start to his generation! :3 I love how curious he is, and I loved the father-son talk about death. I hope he’ll be okay without his daddy 😦

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks! ^__^ Chance is a pretty curious boy but he’s also very… not so much lazy, but he’s happy with status quo. ^___^ He’s a happy boy. And he’ll… well, we’ll see. 🙂

  2. seraphaeli says:

    Waaaah~ *flail* Chance is such a cutie and I want to hug him. D;

  3. I love Chance & he is so adorable. ❤

  4. bluexskittlesx says:

    Poor chance, I just want to hug him =[

    • sErindeppity says:

      He does need a lot of hugs. But he’s an easy-going guy so even this probably doesn’t upset him too terribly much. Maybe.

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        I can’t wait to read more of this gen, I’m looking forward to it even more because you clearly cant wait to write it and are really excited about his story too

      • sErindeppity says:

        Me? Excited? 🙄 what makes you think that?
        LOL yeah. :I It was so sad finishing up Sen’s gen and omg, Herenity–it made me cry a lot and I am still sad over it. But I am ecstatic to begin Chance’s gen. I just… love him so much. He’s my favorite heir. His story is probably gonna be my favorite gen. And his love interest is my favorite one. :I And if you don’t feel the same, I will lock you up with Jay. xD kidding of course. I’ll actually be surprised if many people actually like…. well…. never mind. x]

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        As long as its not another Doug-esque love interest I’m fine haha xD I couldn’t handle another Doug!!

      • sErindeppity says:

        I can assure you his love interest does not have the evil trait, he will not be cheated on, and he won’t be physically abused. Not that he could, really. o.O

      • bluexskittlesx says:

        Haha very true, he could just (in chance’s own words) “go not solid” xD

      • sErindeppity says:

        -giggles- Yep he could. And I can see him calling it that for a long time. XD “I can go not solid ^_^” “Uh, how old are you?” “Twenty. ^_^”

  5. Crazy chic says:

    Awwwww…. you have me falling for Chance already!!! He is such a sweetheart…. awwwww…

    That side of him is just so adorable… hopefully he stays that way for a long while….

    I wanted to hold him when he was confused about his mommy being lost… especially considering Henri being a ghost and himself…

    Henri…. poor guy… he loves his kids but still… he is so out of sorts…

    Wonder how Kaylee handles the situation when Henri disappears…. will love her lighthearted humor….

    I feel like Chance is being like a Quasimodo…. hidden and trapped, hope he finds adventure!!! 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yayyy! -flails happily- Chance ❤ I loves him. SO much. x_x He's going to be an easy-going fellow for life, don't worry. If easy-going was a trait (which I wish it was) he would have it. I'm actually worried people will end up annoyed at his whole 'don't worry, be happy' attitude. XD ahahahaha.
      He needs lotsa huggles though. x3 I want to hug him too. He doesn't know much about a lot of things, unfortunately. He was never told about death or ghosts or what he is, and doesn't know anything about the outside world other than what he's read or seen on TV (which wouldn't include the news, or anything involving death or ghosts).
      Henri was really distressed at that point in time. Due to fact Sen was so popular as a psychic detective… even having a private funeral there'd be people watching from a distance. Poor Hen T__T
      Hehehehe I like that, and yeah he is. Very trapped, and quite hidden. Poor guy!! He does have quite an adventure ahead of him.

      • Crazy chic says:

        I’m very excited as you are about this generation!!! You’ve been looking forward to it for quite some time and very glad that you immediately had a spark or light bulb turning on with his story 🙂

        I was trying to find a word for his personality, easy going. I always can’t find the right word to write. I think that will be his best trait…. not getting bothered by such small things cause he choses not to…. would be nice to have that trait myself :/

        Too bad he wasn’t able to learn that much about certain subjects like Death and getting into detail of why he is special and different…. but he is very certainly special…. ahhhh sooo happy!!! 🙂

        Hehehe I learned a lot from TV myself…. but hmmm hopefully in that time you set him in isn’t obsessed over reality shows like now XD hopefully he likes Doctor Who when he’s a teen 😛

        Good point on her funeral…. hmmm spies you say…. I wonder…. 😛 Was Doug there to spy? O_O

        I wonder how paranoid Kaylee and Seb will be about that monster who murdered Sen is still out and about :O

      • sErindeppity says:

        Deleted your other comment if that’s ok.
        Hhahahaa I hope everyone loves it. I know I will and that is the important thing, writing something I love. Chance is just too cute not to immediately have his story! Ya know? 😛
        Yep, easy-going. I reeealllly wish it were a trait for the sims on the PC. It would fit him. Like a glove. 😀 And yeah, he doesn’t know much about a lot of things unfortunately. And he doesn’t really apply himself in general situations. As will be seen in chapter one. XD The TV he saw was probably stuff like kids cartoons and stuff like that. Gilligan’s Island (except the one with the ghosts). -giggles-
        Not so much spies. More like, grateful clients. Probably the police chief would have been invited, more as a courtesy.

  6. Ahh I love Chance <3. He's so adorable. I love how curious he is :3

  7. fleura1 says:

    Great chapter, even if it’s sad Serenity’s gone 😦 Chance is so cute and I’m sure his generation will be very interesting, I’m looking forward to the next chapter! 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you. It is sad. 😦 I feel horrible for doing that…. T_T but… :I anyway. Yes, Chance. Adorable. And hopefully a very fun gen! 😀 Well. Partially fun. There will be lotsa drama of course.

  8. Awww..Chance is so innocent and sweet. I feel sad for him, cause we know Henri leaves… 😦 -hugs Chance- I’m really excited to see how he grows up, wonder what kind of trouble he gets into ^-^

  9. Crazy chic says:

    Just daydreaming right now….

    Random kid in the neighborhood: Hi! I didn’t know our neighbor had kids. What is your name?

    Miracle: Oh hi… I live with my aunt…. umm… my name is Miracle Danevbie….

    Random kid: Danevbie? Your family is cursed! I shouldn’t be around here or else I get into a ton of drama.

    Miracle: No we’re not that is just mean to say, okay so we had quite a bit happening to our family compared to the rest of the town but we’re not cursed!

    Random kid: Yes your family is cursed!!! You guys look really weird as well.

    Chance goes through the doorway and says: Weird? You seen nothing yet.

    Random kid runs away scared as heck.

    Miracle rolling her eyes: Chance quit being…. all floaty and stuff. *throws shoe*

    Chance laughs as shoe goes through him.

    • sErindeppity says:

      LOL!!! -giggles wildly-

      • Crazy chic says:

        Lol…. another daydream…

        Miracle: woooo I’m not the heir, thanks up above for liking Chance!!! Now it means I can live a semi-normal life and not go through as much drama compared to my brother!!! Also my kids will live safely!!! Least I won’t go through the scary sci-fi stuff and meet Jay… oh god I never want to meet her. I heard stories from grandma Seb. *knocks on wood*

      • sErindeppity says:

        LOL ahahaha I bet if Miracle knew the sort of crazy stuff that could happen she would feel grateful for not being the heir. XD

  10. Chance is adorable! He needs lots of hugs. Poor Hen…. its sad seeing him again knowing what he’s going to do…

  11. GloryGal says:

    Yea!!! New generation!! Loving Chance, he’s a cutie and so confused right now, so I’ll add to all the huggles he wants and needs, arms wide open 24/7 for him…Still sad about Sen but I know that you are so excited you get goosebumps I bet about this generation! I get goosebumps thinking about it too. And I also want to see more of Miracle she’s a real treat. But right now I’m thinking about Chance and the adventures you are no doubt planning for him…thanks!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      -flails happily for the new gen and for Chance- hehehehe I was trying hard not to get dozens of pictures of him, he kept looking so cute when he was talking to his dad.
      I am sad about Sen as well, but yes, I am completely exuberantly excited for Chance’s gen. I have a lot planned. It’s gonna probably be longer then Sen’s gen. I might actually be putting a lot of domestic stuff in since he and his future lover are soooo cute together. Well Chance is cute by himself. XD
      There will be more Miracle, don’t worry. ^__^ Unfortunately when we pick the story back up she’s twelve and going through puberty and being all grumbly. XD Loads of adventures with Chance! -flails- eeeeeee!!!

  12. …I thought Henri went to go kill his ghost self (still super confused on how all that works, but I don’t really mind :))?

    And Chance is just so… SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE *hugs Chance really hard*

    • sErindeppity says:

      No, Henri was waiting for his ghost self to fade into the nether. The other side sort of pulls at ghosts since they’re half dead, and he could no longer fight it. He lost his will to fight. So he began fading into almost nothing, and went to basically wait until he re-died because he could not hold onto the world of the living anymore, and he left home because he had to 1. talk to his younger self and 2. didn’t want to fade into nothing right in front of his kids. And Chance’s prologue takes place right after Sen died, before Henri left. Sen died when Chance was seven, and Henri left when Chance was eight. ^__^ Hope that helps!!
      Chance is very squeee. :D!!!!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Just letting you know, none of my characters will ever commit suicide; it’s a subject I cannot write about. I thought of a way to explain it: it’s like, Henri was swimming in the sea and the tide kept pulling him out. While Sen was alive, she was helping him stay near the beach but when she died, it was harder to fight the tide and he was too weak, and was pulled out to sea. ^___^

      • :O I’m sad now.

        Chance is maybe possibly even more SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE that Kay/Kaleb.

        THAT IS A LOT OF SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

      • sErindeppity says:

        D: I’m sorry! I hope something I sad didn’t make you sadder 😦
        Chance is indeed very SQUEEEEEEE and imagine…. when Chance’s SQUEEEEEness and Kay’s SQUEEEEEness meet. O__O

      • It was the thing about Henri fading. *sniffles*

        SO MUCH SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. 😯

        At least there will be more Kaylee. She’s the greatest spare ever, what with her TOTAL INSANITY and all. Also I’m still upset there hasn’t been a female heir with Seb’s/Kaylee’s hair and eye combo. It’s such a great hair and eye combo, and it would look really nice on a girl that actually gets to be the heiress.

      • sErindeppity says:

        -hugs-
        And yes, lotsa SQUEEEEEness!!!
        There will be quite a bit of Kaylee at the beginning ^___^ And maybe one of Chance’s kids will get the hair and eye combo. Personally, I am a little tired of the eyes but I’ve dealt with so many of them. xD Penny, Sebastian, and then Sen, Kaylee, River, and Mal. x_x

      • Speaking of squeeeeeeeeee, what’s your estimate on when the next chapter of Dannings will be out? I got all caught up. 🙂

        Does one of her personality traits happen to be Insane? 😯 Kaylee reminds me a bit of myself, except for she’s a Sim and a lesbian and also she looks nothing like me. 😆

        You must admit they are some nice eyes, though. But I can sort of understand how you might get a bit bored by them after so long. Maybe you could bring them back in a few generations, after you’ve had a break from them, so to speak.

  13. bewaresims says:

    Chance needs a hug ❤ And I can't wait to see him grown up, especially as you keep saying on Facebook how you can't get over how cute he is xD

  14. invisiblesimmer says:

    I don’t cry easily over stories like these (actually I’ve only cried over movies and maybe 5 books), but this was super close. I just felt so badly for Chance 😦 I really hope, even though it’s unlikely, that he manages to find peace soon.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Awww 😦 I feel bad for Chance too. The bad thing is… the more I love a character…. the worse the situations I put them through. :I But he should have a happier ending than gen five unless things change a lot. I don’t expect it will though. o.o

  15. ATMzie says:

    Aww, poor little guy 😦

  16. mewmewmentor says:

    Oh, my gosh. Chance reminds me sooo much of me when I learned that my paternal grandma had passed away. I had no idea what was going on. I think I was actually about Chance’s age. You really captured that confusion well.

    Chance is a sweetheart. His inner dialogue made it a lot easier to read. I think if he’d understood more, I would have had to stop for a while. But because he was just like, ‘what’s going on?’ I was able to find some solace in his child’s head. :3 Did I mention he’s a sweetheart?

    I guess it’s good to see Henri again, but it’s hard at the same time cause I know what’s coming for him. That’s gonna be really hard on Chance and Miracle.

    • mewmewmentor says:

      Oh yeah, you know who Chance reminds me of? Jacob. Jacob was fairly easy-going too, although I suspect Chance will be able to give him a run for his money there. XD But I also suspect that those two will get along great when the time comes…a long time from now, I hope.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Lol you’re right!!! Maybe that’s one reason I love Chance so much xD Oh yes, Chance will definitely be giving Jacob a run for his money indeed -giggles- and now I am sadly looking forward to Chance and Jacob meeting.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I was about five when I first dealt with death (my great-grandmother) but I don’t remember it much. Nor do I remember the second time (which woulda been around 7 or 8). So I am really glad I was able to capture his confusion well. It was sooooooooo hard to write this chapter. I was expecting to jump into his life and write with zest since I was excited but when I decided to start this chapter at this point I was bewildered for a while, writing as a seven year old, who has never, ever been told anything about death (or ghosts). And also use simple words and him not knowing what other words mean. o.o so thank you so much. This one was a bit difficult.
      He is a sweetheart though. I adore him. I am glad you could find solace through his eyes. ^__^
      I felt so sad writing this, because of Henri 😦

  17. Thindra says:

    I finally caught up, and I bawled and bawled and bawled at the last few chapters. *has a pile of used tissues* My sister was sitting across from me thinking I was completely nuts. lol.

    I love Sen and Hen’s generation and how it ended. It made me feel so damn much.

    Chance is completely adorable. When you mentioned in your “not heir poll” his possible story the ghost hunter made me think of Jay, possibly because of her ghostbusting uniform, as his possible love interest. lol. probably won’t happen 😛

    Can’t wait for more. ❤

    • sErindeppity says:

      Wow, congrats on getting caught up! 😀 The last few ones were very sad 😦 Sorry your sister was thinking that though. xD I’m glad you loved Sen and Hen ^__^
      Hopefully you’ll love Chance too and LOL. Jay? xD No. Never Jay. xD For many reasons. 1. They are distantly related, 2. Jay hates Danevbies (She got annoyed at Jacob’s laughter about aliens, mad at Cal’s attack on her, and betrayed by Luna–so yeah she no longer has a good opinion of Danevbies), 3. Jay is not the love or sex type of girl. I can’t say it wouldn’t ever happen… but she is definitely not sexual, has no interest in sex or romance, and 4. She would much quicker kill Chance for good than even think about being with him. His personality is definitely one she would hate. XD She would never even think about being with anyone unless Jay deems him or her intelligent enough, strong enough, dedicated enough, and alien obsessed enough. x3 Chance’s sweetness would just tick her off. XD
      However all that being said, if they weren’t related at all, it wouldn’t be out of the spectrum of possibilities for her to use his DNA and Redding DNA for a biological reproduction experiment. x3 But yeah they’re related.
      Interesting idea though x] ❤ Hope you enjoy the rest of Chance's gen! 😀

    • sErindeppity says:

      Lol sorry if my other reply seemed rude or anything, xD I hope I didn’t come across as that way. x3

      • Thindra says:

        haha nope you didn’t. I can’t see Jay and Chance together, but it did pop into my head (mainly because of the ghostbusting outfit she was wearing in the last few chapters), and then I went “where did that thought come from?”. Jay is Jay. Alien obssessed and a bitch in her own way but that is why we love her. She reminds me of Leonerd’s mom from Big Bang Theory, only will ever reproducing for science and then leaving her kids to create a hugging machine so that they may have some sort of “humanoid contact” lol 😛 When and If Jay ever decides to become romantically involved will probably be after she discovers aliens. I can’t see her doing anything like that before hand. JAY AND KAY!! SQUEE! *glomps Jay* She needs more loving from her fans.

        Chance is awesome. His personality is definitely different from anyone we’ve seen so far. I can’t wait to see how he grows up and develops especially since his mom died when he was young, his dad obviously leaves them eventually, and growing up with awesome cheerful Kaylee.

        I am also very curious as to where Douglas vanished to… later plot ploy perhaps?

      • sErindeppity says:

        Haha understandable, weird things pop in my head all the time. XD We’ll have to see with Jay’s legacy/story thing what happens with her, if she just clones herself… or what… XD
        Hehe Chance… is amazing… -cuddles him- he is going to certainly have a very different…. life. (non-life?). Doug might be seen again ;D

  18. i wanna carry him around in my pocket…
    i would go back to comment but /lazy. anyways: i’m glad you kept sen dead— ahaha okay i never thought i’d actually tell someone “i’m glad you killed this person” but i think it was a good conclusion and pulled the strings of my cold black heart
    a good start! interested to see more about him.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I know I feel the same, I want a little Chance doll or something -flails- and pfft that’s fine. I’m glad you liked the conclusion. It was sad, but I think that it was something that needed to happen. Unfortunately. 😦 It’s very sad to be, but I do not regret it.
      Thank you, there will be lots of Chance. I adore him. Expect a lot. XD

  19. Cereline says:

    I’m still to sad to comment on how excited I am for Chance’s generation. T_T In spite of that it was a good start!

  20. Hi I just started reading 😀 and love it! Not many legacies click with me.. but this one is so good! Right now I’m on Luna…. and you meant to make “Now these points of data make a beautiful line, and we’re out of beta we’re releasing on time, so I’m glad I got burned, think of all the things we learned, for the people that are still alive?” because I always think that when I see it!!! I love Portal, 😀 😀 😀 If you have no idea what I’m talking about you probably think I’m just crazy… oh well I have that effect on people 😛 I’ve been reading this all night when I should have been working on my own legacy… This is SO GOOD! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    • sErindeppity says:

      Aw thank you so much, I really appreciate you taking the time to read. I am glad you’re enjoying it so much and hope you continue to enjoy everything. And yes, I meant that exactly. I am a huge Jonathan Coulton fan who wrote the songs for both Portal 1 and 2. I’ve played Portal 1 (hope to get Portal 2 eventually soon) and am a fan of that too. 😉 Luna’s gen was indeed named after that song (and in her tribute video it’s the song that plays during the credits). GLaDOS kinda reminds me of a slightly crazed Jay or something. xD Or rather, since Portal came first, Jay reminds me of GLaDOS. 😛
      Anyway, thanks for the comment! Again, I am just so grateful you’re willing to start a legacy that is so far in. I’ll try to get your work eventually soon. I am super behind in everything that it will be a while though.
      ^__^

      • 😀 Portal is so awesome, and Portal 2 is probably one of the best games I’ve ever played 😉 But GLaDOS isn’t as evil as Jay, (is it weird that Jay is one of my favourite characters?) or something like that. 😀 Love the legacy great work!!! 🙂

      • sErindeppity says:

        The Portal games are so fun and yeah I wasn’t meaning the evilness but how they talk and stuff like that. Jay is rather… robotic. -laughs- No not weird atall she’s one of your favorites, she’s one of mine too. ^_^ I loooove writing her. Thanks!

      • Yeah Jay is robotic I could see her as a GLaDOS sometime… 😀 Good luck on your legacy and I hope you get to experience the awesomeness of Portal 2 sometime soon 🙂

  21. amandralynn says:

    Aaaaw love chance. He is adorable. What a touching father son moment. Good I love this story. This is probably the longest one of the best legacies I’ve read.

  22. evilmaniac88 says:

    I’m sobbing right now (and for the last two chapters). It’s just so sad that Serenity is gone and that Henri is going to leave – although I understand why. It makes it worse that Chance is so young and doesn’t really understand – I hope he doesn’t get too confused about being a ghost when his dad isn’t there to explain. I really hope that Doug doesn’t come back (though he will). I can’t (but can) believe he did that to Serenity 😥

    • sErindeppity says:

      -hugs tightly- I cried so much writing these chapters, they are hard to do. Poor Henri tried to cling to the world of the living but it was just too hard for him :\
      Doug’s a horrible guy 😦 hopefully he gets what’s coming to him!

  23. yellowberries says:

    Oh, baby 😥 He’s going to have a hard childhood, isn’t he? That was an awesome start to his generation, though. The talk between Henri and Chance was great. You really are a talented writer.
    Doug. You mongrel. If he doesn’t die some horrific and monstrous death with fire and screaming, I will hijack your story and kill him myself >:) I do like this character, though. He’s well written~ You’ve captured the icy cruelty of an abusive human being – though I hesitate to call him, and men like him, human.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hehe his life/unlife is going to be very difficult! But he’s such a happy fellow I think he’ll be able to get through some of the down times well enough. Ahhhh -blushes deeply- thank you.
      Thank you. I loathe Doug soooooooooo much and hate him and he makes me sick, but I did my best with his character. I don’t consider people like him to be humans either. Abusers, rapists… they are scum. They are worse than scum.

  24. somebodysangel13 says:

    Aw, Chance! I love his voice, it’s very true to a seven-year-old. Going to be so hard for him, growing up stuck inside all the time. I especially liked the 7yo perception of his temperament – he doesn’t get upset because he knows his sister doesn’t mean some of the things she says. So simple! If only we could all be like you in that way, Chance.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thanks 🙂 Chance is my favorite heh. He has a very sweet and gentle temperament. I wish more people could be more like Chance in the understanding way of things. It would save a lot of grief! (I try my best to have that sort of mindset but it can be so difficult sometimes)

  25. Pingback: Blast it | The Ravenwood Legacy

Leave a Reply

