??? – Heartache

Unlike the others, her entry into the room was not quiet. Before her foot even touched the floor, just as the lines were sharpening, and a split-second before Jacob would have otherwise known she was there–she screamed.

The two that were not there were brought back at the sound. They and Jacob were staring at her now, as she screamed, and screamed. She fell to her knees, clutching her chest and began hacking loudly.

With Cal and with Luna, it had been a slow process of aging. This had been sudden, so sudden that none of them realized what had happened until now. The event in the woods, and her death. It was sudden and violent, as sudden and violent as her entrance.

“Henri!” Serenity choked out, still clutching her chest. “Henri! Warn them–warn them–you have to warn them!” She could not see around her, she was disoriented, thinking she was back in the lab about to be cut open.

Luna finally reacted. She crossed the room, watching her granddaughter with horror and pity. “Serenity,” she said, kneeling down. She touched Serenity’s arm and Serenity fell back, eyes large as she stared at Luna.

“Henri?” Serenity panted. “Where’s Henri? Henri? Where am I–who–who–Oh Watcher, oh Watcher!” She dragged her fingers on her chest, coughing and gasping. “–have to warn–have to warn–Mom–Duncan–have to warn!”

“Serenity, darling…” Luna was rubbing her back and trying to keep her as calm as she could. Luna glanced back but Jacob and Calcifer had not moved as neither of them knew what to do.

Jacob wanted to comfort Serenity, to help her. But the only one in the room she knew was Luna. When Cal had come in, he had his father. For Luna, her father. But Serenity only had her grandmother and her grandmother looked very different from how Serenity remembered her. So he stayed put.

“Who are you?” Serenity finally asked after a few years. She looked up into Luna’s face, knowing she knew this face. “Where am I? Where’s Henri? Where’s–why–why–” She pulled back and touched her chest, looking confused. “He–he tried to… tried to kill me…”

She tried to remember what had happened. The trees, the truck, the monster. Serenity stared at the vaguely familiar face before her. She had been hurt, and then she was in a lab, the Reddings had tried but then they couldn’t… and she had… the Grim Reaper…

“I’m dead,” she said flatly. “I’m dead. I died. I’m dead. Henri–but Henri–and I can’t–Miracle–Chance–Henri! Henri!” She began screaming again, clutching at Luna’s vest. “Henri, Henri, Henri,” she chanted in hiccuping sobs.

Jacob looked at the two females with worry. What could be done to help her? There was nothing. Her exit from the land of the living had been horrible and being here she did not even have many people to comfort her, only Luna whom she did not recognize, and Kellen, if she ever even entered the other place.

“Dad,” Cal said under his breath with the anger clearly there, “it was that experiment from the Reddings that did it. The same one that put my grandson through so much.”

Jacob nodded. He remembered trying to help Cal through that. Cal had been in the worse temper Jacob ever remembered seeing him in, knowing what was happening to Sebastian but being unable to do anything about it. Jacob had hated it as well, hating the helpless feeling they had both felt and then the joy when Sebastian was free, the anger and helplessness when he was kidnapped, and then the joy once more.

Now their family was being pulled apart by that horrible person again. Jacob knew he was still free, wandering around with intentions only he knew. Would he make good his threat to harm Duncan, or any of his children, or Serenity’s children? Jacob began to feel helpless once more… and he disliked it.

“I can’t be dead,” Serenity whimpered. “I can’t. My kids need me! My husband needs me! I need them! I cannot be dead! This is a bad dream, a bad dream, that’s all. That’s it, I will wake up soon.”

“Serenity, my little Serenity,” Luna said gently, stroking her granddaughter’s hair. She looked at her father and grandfather, not knowing what to do exactly.

“Who are you?” Serenity finally sniffled. “Where am I? I’m not dead, am I? I–I’m dreaming, aren’t I?”

“I’m so sorry, baby,” Luna said.

Serenity pulled away and rubbed her eyes. She knew, deep down like the others when they accepted their death, but she could not accept it. Henri and her babies were on the other side and that was where she needed to be. “Henri…” It was a gaping hole inside of her, bigger and more painful than the injuries that had caused her death. “I’m dead, I cannot feel pain… I can’t…. but… Henri…”

“Sweetheart, it will be all right. I’m here for you, and your grandpa is here too.”

“G… Grandma?” Serenity finally realized and she went pale. “But you–and–I am dead. I’m dead. I’m dead? But Henri! Henri–Henri–and my babies–my children!”

“I know, sweetheart. I’m so sorry.”

Luna pulled Serenity into her lap and rocked her back and forth, and Serenity began crying again at the thought of not being with Henri. None of them could even tell her one day she would see him again, as none of them knew what would happen to a ghost that died. Would it be the same as any other ghost going into the nether?

After a long time, Serenity stopped crying. She sat on the floor, hugging her knees and staring at her grandmother. She wasn’t even aware of what was going on in the world of the living, although Jacob was taking quite an interest.

He watched as the Reddings and Henri put Serenity’s earthly remains in the machine, and watched it fail. He turned away from the grief Henri was feeling and thought about the machine. He had seen them use it before. He knew what it was. It was how they were able to put the souls of the living into the toy dolls, such as Cal’s wife.

Of course he took an interest in the Reddings. He watched them through the years as he did with his own family. He knew the connection he had with Kay Redding and perhaps that was why Jacob often watched him. In any case, he had seen the machine at work.

It had never failed before. Ever. Not once. Doctor Jay Redding was correct. It should not have failed. Which brought up the question, to him, of why it failed? Doctor Redding nearly said her opinion, but Kay had stopped her. Rightly so, as Henri was grieving, but it was rather annoying.

Jacob paced, glancing sideways at the wall with lines on them. They had changed a bit though not much. Why had the machine failed? Why, with Serenity? She had been put in there in time but it simply did not work.

Because, Jacob realized, she is here.

Suddenly all sorts of ideas poured into his head. Of course. Serenity was here so her spirit could not be extracted into that chamber. But it worked for others who have crossed over. Which meant there was something particularly strange about this room. He knew that already, of course, but now it was different since now he knew that once someone was in here… there was no going back.

“It will be Sebastian then, won’t it?”

Jacob turned to look at Calcifer’s sad face. “Yes,” he answered. “And one day maybe… Miracle…”

“How do you know?” Calcifer asked with a tilt of his head.

“Chance is already a ghost. I don’t imagine it is likely going to be him.” Jacob rubbed his chin, thinking. Perhaps it could be Chance. That did not sound right, though. Chance was already a ghost… right? So it would be Miracle. Right?

He looked over at Serenity who had her head against Luna’s bosom. Luna was still stroking her hair and murmuring words of comfort. Calcifer was pacing around, resisting the urge to help. Serenity did not know him, and he did not want to intrude. A sigh escaped from Jacob’s lips and he turned to look at the wall again.

He had more suspicions now than before. The lines on the wall were not the only key to this. There was more, so much more. Something beyond the lines and this room. Something that prevented him, and Calcifer, and Luna, and Serenity from going elsewhere. They could be in those other places but the lines were there as well. And they–whatever made them them–always stayed here.

Serenity began gulping in air and trying to talk as she started losing it once more. She was trying to say Henri’s name, She tugged at Luna’s vest and begged to see Henri, losing sense of everything. Luna tried to explain to her where they were but Serenity just continued begging for Henri.

The ten years they had been apart stretched inside of her like a canyon. Ripping apart her heart and her body, or rather her soul. Whatever she was now. “Grandma–Grandma–” Serenity curled up with her head in Luna’s lap now.

The two redheaded men were still standing a little bit aways. She did not know them. She did not care who they were. All she cared about was Henri. The Grim Reaper had taken him from her, and now had taken her from him. Death was once again their barrier.

“There’s a pattern,” Calcifer said in a very low voice to Jacob. “Not just the child of a child of a child of you, or whatever. It’s something else then, something–what? What is it, Dad?”

“Something else,” Jacob said, pushing his hair back. “You’re right, it is something else. Something that is keeping us here. Something that… wants us here. And only some of us. You, Luna, Serenity and one day Sebastian. What makes us so different though?”

He looked at his sobbing descendent, and his heart broke as he repeated the last few words. “What makes us so different?”

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in ???. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to ??? – Heartache

  1. Rhett says:

    You are awesome that is what makes you different 🙂

  2. I feel awful for Sen 😦 I really hope Henri will be able to join them, otherwise it’ll be a long eternity for her without him :/

  3. Ah crap. The stupid room again. With its stupid lines. ):<

  4. La~xo says:

    Awww. I was somehow hoping Sen was alive. D:

  5. mewmewmentor says:

    ‘What makes us so different?” says Jacob.

    To quote Calcifer’s generation title, “DNA, Baby, that spells D-N-A.” There’s your answer, Jacob. 😉

    Anyways, I feel so bad for Serenity. Dx I just want to hug her, but Luna’s already got that covered.

    WHY DOES EVERYONE KEEP DISCOUNTING CHANCE? I swear, your sims are so close-minded about ghosts. Well, they don’t really know much about them…but still. Chance is just as alive as any of them. He just happens to be extra-special.

    So like, I had a thought. You said at one point that Jacob will have a role to play in the grande finale of this legacy. Would the doll/ghost/soul extractor have anything to do with that? 😮

    I do hope Henri’s sacrifice works. i know that’s cruel to say, considering Chance and Mira…but I hate seeing Sen and Henri apart.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hahaha yep. DNA, baby. -giggles- I feel so much for Sen too. At least she has someone she knows there to help her.
      As for Chance, well, they just don’t know much about ghosts. They saw the attempt to make Sen a ghost and failing, so Jacob right now thinks ghost = no room. He is extra special though. x3 ❤
      It might… maybe… 😉 Jacob does indeed have a role at the end but we shall just… have to wait. Well. Not me. XD ahaha.
      I understand your opinion about Henri. He is completely weak and faded, so he couldn't really be there for his kids anyway. 😦

  6. So apparently Jacob will have an important part in the near future? I’m really excited to see that, seeing as he’s such an interesting character.
    Like the other readers, I feel soooooo bad for Sen! 😦 She’s so sweet and kind, I hate to see her have to go through such horrible drama. Maybe Henri can somehow make a difference, or help the situation?

    • New chapter on my blog too, if ever you want to read!? 🙂

      • sErindeppity says:

        Thank you! I do want to read sooo much I wish I had more time. Or I needed less sleep. Haha. I promise you I will get to it sometime soon ^_^ Probably this weekend since I don’t have too much going on.

    • sErindeppity says:

      He is important, at the end. Then again, all the heirs are. But Jacob especially. 😀 Thank you, I love Jacob he is one of my favorites so I am glad you find him interesting ^_^
      It is an awful situation and I am sure when (if?) Henri goes to the other side he will be able to comfort her.

  7. Awww…I feel so sad for Sen having entered the other side in so much pain…I didn’t realise she was half dead when she was screaming…so…so..maybe they were too late with the soul thingy…since it took some time for Grim reaper dirty laundry to arrive..So is Henri really dead, or did he just sink into the sand, almost 100% faded away? I hope they can be together sometime, and I’ll be really sad when Sebby passes..he was one of my faveys so far.. Chance will probably be a new fave ^-^.

    • sErindeppity says:

      No, the ghost extractor would have worked in the exact same conditions if it had been someone else. 🙂 She faded into unconsciousness before dying, so when she entered the room she thought she wad conscious again and was doing what she was before she fell unconscious. If that makes sense. And the extractor timer is from when the Grim Reaper is done with the person’s soul and urn. So he could have taken an hour putting her remains in the urn, they still would have had the same time limit. ^_^
      Henri, at the end of chapter forty-five, was waiting. The ??? chapter is when they are still in the lab, as Jacob is watching them trying to bring Sen’s ghost back. So at this moment, at this ??? chapter, he is a year away from being in the sand. As for what happens AFTER… well, you’ll have to wait and find out. 😀

      • -suspense music ensues- I was expecting you to say Dun Dun DUNN at the end. Xd

        I can’t wait to..wait..I CAN wait to see what happens next..I don’t want Seb to die early >-< Yup completely understand, at least Luna was there to hold her when she was in complete shock.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Dun dun dunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!
        “You don’t have to say ‘dun dun dun’ it is implied!”. XD And yeah I know what you mean. Dx the next one is gonna be hard. Seb’s been my fave since Jacob.

  8. CrazyChic says:

    This was heart achingly sad…. T_T

    The way that she keeps crying for Henri and her family, then crying and crying not knowing where she is… such a scary thought to wake up in a room like that realizing your dead and those are your family members…

    I loved this chapter. T_T

    Just builds up the mystery even more and more… I am very curious at what happens…

  9. zefiewings says:

    Okay, we know out of story that its the heirs that go so it will be chance.
    BUT I wonder what the in story connection is?
    Hmm hmm hmm

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yep, out of story it is obvious…. but poor Danevbies have no clue except right now they know it will be Sebastian. After that though. 😦
      I CAN’T WAIT TO WRITE STORY CONNECTION
      I CAN’T WAIT FOR GEN 13
      I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE BIG REVEAL
      AUJSHJHGERLKNB -flails-
      ….
      I’m okay. :I
      At least for now I can satisfy myself with dropping hints and waiting to see if anyone ever catches on. xD

  10. ebonyimonet says:

    So I’ve been thinking about this since I read 6.41. Jacob, Calcifer, Luna, and Serenity can watch their families lives, right? Like Sen can see Mira and Chance. So when Seb dies (oh god it physically pains me to type that) we’re going to find out if Henri’s with Sen(?), and what he thinks about the lines.

    But anyways what I’m trying to say is because they’ve seen Chance become a human, is Jacob going to make any connections? Because we know that each heir goes to the squiggly room but what he knows (idk if he realizes yet though) is each heir has a connection to the Reddings. I think that’s the reason they’re all there. Or is it something more?

    I don’t expect you to answer that because it’ll give too much away, but I just wanted to tell you my theory.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yep those who are in the weird room can see what’s going on, and when Seb dies he will be interacting with them and so yeah we’ll see if Sen and Hen are together, and what Seb thinks about the lines (and probably Sen too since we didn’t really see her thoughts on them).

      Jacob has had a LOT of time to think about things so we’ll see if he connects it to Reddings. If there is a connection… ;P thanks for letting me know your theory ❤

  11. evilmaniac88 says:

    Oh and look, I’m crying again -_- why must you write so well and be so mean to your sims?! xD

  12. somebodysangel13 says:

    Ooh, can’t believe I didn’t think about that part until Jacob brought it up. Poor Serenity, knowing no-one in that room, and being pulled from life so suddenly. Though it is comforting to know that these guys can oversee their families and at least know that they’re ok.

    I’m wracking my brain trying to figure out how the Reddings ‘chose’ Jacob. Even went back to quickly reread the first few chapters…nothing in there seems to have anything about *why* he was chosen. I’m not convinced that this squiggly room thing has a connection to the Reddings, but there is definitely something special about all the Danevbie heirs. Other than they have children in a non-normal way. First male pregnancy, child with an IF, child with psychic, and child with a ghost. So not normal!

    • sErindeppity says:

      At least she does know Luna to an extent, she does have that. They can all watch over their descendants but it must be hard not being able to interfere. I bet Jacob and Cal were livid unable to protect Seb, and all of them with Luna.
      The Reddings definitely chose Jacob for a reason although I don’t believe there have been any major hints about it. Whether the room is connected to them or not, we shall see. Hehehehe.

      • somebodysangel13 says:

        Would I be really evil for wanting one of the future heirs to die before their heir parent OR grandparent? Yeah, that would just be horrible for the ones left behind. *tries not to give ideas*
        But I kind of really want to see how this ??? chapter would be if that heir recognises no-one in the room.

      • sErindeppity says:

        hehe you might get your wish 😉 unless having seen pictures a long time ago count, since I’m sure the Danevbies would have pictures and show them off… it would just depend on how much the heir/ess remembers :3

Leave a Reply

