Major Feedback About Danevbies

Ever since I got the idea for gen seven I know I wouldn’t be able to do exactly what I wanted. Because what I want in a few scenes… I literally cannot do in game. Now, I try to limit myself to what I can feasibly do in game though I have had to trim and cut things up a lot to do so.

The problem is…

  1. I think Zaid’s story would be told better with this part included.
  2. I will NOT be able to get pictures of this except an occasional close up.

So I’m not sure if I should or not. I know it’s my story, do what I want, but as this is a sim legacy story I honestly have no clue whether I should or not. It would probably be half a chapter to a full chapter  (probably a full chapter, maybe even slightly more depending) with only a couple close up shots or maybe one or two not close up shots that I might be able to pull off though it won’t show the full extent of what is going on.

can trim this up and change it so I could get pictures. It would be the extremely edited version I had been planning on doing when I realized there was no way I could do the full story… which I could do.

OR there is a third option.

I could write it out with mostly text and hardly any pictures, and then start the next chapter up with a slight overview of what happened in the previous chapter and move on with the story, so people who don’t want the full story and just a very quick “here’s what happened” I could do that. What you’ll need to remember though is this mostly-text part would be a huge part of the story. Think of it like… if you’ve seen the Lord of the Rings after the battle of Helm’s Deep when Legolas and Gimli are arguing about their tally. Or in HP7II you just fast forward through the battle to when Harry goes into the woods to face Voldemort. It’d be like, if you didn’t see the battle and went straight to the aftermath/a super important scene.

I just need to know if you guys would be okay with this, or if I should edit this out completely. Because yes it’s my story but I know some readers really prefer having the pictures in. If you’re one of those types of readers, would YOU mind if I have the text bit then do a very quick overview and get back to the pictures?

Please let me know what you guys think. And please know I will take comments into consideration. And I might not go completely with the final percentage, if I feel like enough people would want one thing over another. I just really want to give you guys the full story that’s in my head, but for once the sims limitation is just too much for this.

Thank you! ~sErin

(ps: if you want to comment and don’t have a wordpress, feel free to send an anonymous message to my tumblr!)

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Major Feedback About Danevbies

  1. AliciaRain says:

    I like option 3. Not because I woild not like the text based chapters, but because I feel if the people who would not read the text based chapters should still beable to follow up un the chapter, while still letting the readers who enjoy your writing (with or without screenshots) continue to keep up with the heart and soul that you put into you baby.
    I for one will read the text based chapters.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you, I don’t know why I put them separate to be honest. I’ll be making a post within the next or two explaining my final decision 😀

      Yesh, Danevbies is my baby -clings- I’ve put so much heart and soul and emotion and feelings into this! T_T

  2. I love your story, and pictures are just a bonus! I honestly enjoy reading, so a wall of text doesn’t bother me at all. I voted for option one since I am greedy and care not about those who only look forward to pictures! 😀 As always, do what you want, because I’m not gonna stop reading any time soon.

  3. I read your stories for the words, not the pictures. Definitely would not mind a no picture chapter 🙂

  4. zefiewings says:

    In most, if not all, the other sim stories I read I would feel weird about a text chapter (though even then I would still read it).
    But I have said it more than once and I will say it again; yours is more of a long novel that happens to have the bonus of super cute sim pictures.
    I say, do what you need to do. I put write it put but I certainly would not mind an overview for those who don’t want it. I just want to make it clear; I would not need an overview but there being one wouldn’t upset me or anything.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Yeah I’m not sure why I made “write it out” and “write it out but put an overview” separate to be honest. x_x
      And eeee thank you ❤ I really didn't want it to come to this (one or two no-pictures chapters or cutting a big part of the story out) because I didn't want to have to make the decision to do that. But Zaid's story just put me at a crossroads. I will do my best not to make it a habit though. ;P

  5. Tough question. Is this gonna be like a requires-Massive battle? (That’s what it sounds like, lol) Cause that sounds awesome. =D

    Anyway, I think the first option, written out with a few close-up pics maybe, would be best. I’ll totally read a battle chapter with no pictures though. But at the same time, I think that since sims-stories are kinda like graphic novels, pictures are still important.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Mmmmm there might be. ;D
      I think pictures are important for sim legacies and stories too so I was a bit uspet when I realized it was either a very-few-pictures-mostly-text chapter or cutting this thing out. :\ But I do think including this will make the story a lot better. ^^

  6. Shadow_Shura says:

    I like the first option. Not gonna lie sometimes when I get really invesyed in your storie I skip pictures just to keep reading, lol! I would love to read what happend in full especially if its important to the plot.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Oh my goodness -blushes- that’s a wonderful compliment (about skipping pictures) Thanks for the reply. I am excited for when this happens though it is a ways off. I’m glad I will be probably keeping in Zaid’s full story! ^_^

  7. jonso says:

    If it was a wall of text chapter, would still like at least a cpl pics maybe one at beginning and one at end.

  8. jonso says:

    Interesting stalker dude. Lol. I love the effects on the pictures that shows how much in a depressed daze he was.

Leave a Reply

