Announcement

I felt I should explain a bit about what happened. Some uncomfortable language/situations ahead.

Some of you may not have been reading ‘Falling Colors’ but it was about a sixteen year old girl from a very poor home, whose father drank and gambled into debt. He agreed to have his daughter marry the loan shark’s brother to settle said debts. So the daughter married this man with the determination to be a good wife.

However, as with most arranged marriages, it was consummated. The husband was obviously unhappy with doing the deed but he did. And several of the readers took this to be rape. I’m not really saying it wasn’t and I am not saying it was right because it wasn’t, But some were ready to burn the husband at the stake. They twisted him into this evil, terrible, horrible character and that’s what started me into depression. I questioned myself and my writing skills… because if I had done a good job then why would so many see him as a Doug McIntyre-esque monster? I tried to explain he was essentially a victim too for his own reasons–as he was pretty much forced into it as well. But they wouldn’t have it and continued their outrage, twisting the character and story into something so awful that I felt so incredibly sick and depressed.

It pretty much made me realize I was a crap writer. I was in a downward spiral questioning myself and my skills and why I even bothered writing. And then I got messages saying how it was a mistake for me to ever even attempt to write it, that I mishandled it, that I shouldn’t have written about such a situation… and that pretty much tipped me over into the dark place. I’m not blaming anyone who twisted the husband into this villain or who messaged me about things. I am not doing that and if it seems like I have then I apologize.

I’m not here pointing fingers I just want to explain to people what happened and why I am on hiatus right now. Because pretty much right now I am in a quandary over whether I should even continue writing. I’ve tried to but every time I do all I can think of is how I’m not good or skilled enough. Oh, I will continue Danevbies for sure don’t worry about that. I’ll do my best to make the rest of the stories as okay as I can make them.

But enough about that. The message that made me the most confused was that I ‘skipped over’ any fallout and how there was no resolution which was, from what I understood of the person messaging me, a ‘bad decision’?

Which is the main reason I am writing this. Because I wanted to announce that no! Things in my story might not be resolved right away. If something bad happens there might not be any resolution for another chapter or two or five or heck–like in Falling Colors (or how it would have been), the resolution and coming to grips might happen very slowly over the course of the story.

If you like instant gratification with immediate resolution please don’t read my stories.

This isn’t ‘Full House’. Things aren’t going to be fixed in half an hour or less. I’m not trying to sound mean but really if that’s the story you’re looking for then just… avoid mine.

Now, I don’t know how dark or delicate I will be going with future stories. Right now I don’t want to (which is difficult for me since I prefer writing the dark stuff but I’m not talented at that so I have noooo clue what to do now…!) but with Zaid’s story… I need to finish it and it will be very dark and sad and probably not handled very well so please just bear with me. I’ll do my best..

Maybe I will eventually have the courage to try something different and maybe even by the time we get to the next gen I will be ready to try but right now I just… don’t really know how to write so… I dunno, it will be rough waters for a while I guess.

I apologize for this, and apologize for any offense I’ve given.

Also I hope this is published. I’ve not used the ‘publish at a future time’ feature on wordpress but I wanted this to come out on Friday so… hoping it goes correctly… and if it does then I hope all y’all have a great weekend ^_^ and if not uhhh well I guess I’ll post it sometime later and you won’t see this.

If it does come out on Friday then I am still not doing well, and I don’t expect to be anywhere near ‘okay’ by Friday. I’m really sorry–I’m trying my best but it’s hard for me right now. I’m sorry :\

~sErin

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Announcement

  1. Glory says:

    Thanks Erin for writing. I understand that when you are in a dark place that you question your abilities and come up with negative answers. I’ve been there my dear. Personally I like the dark and serious stuff that you write. It’s life, there are enough sweet, boring stories out there, I had begun following some of those at least a year ago, when I first came across them and have to admit that after a while I quit because they were just too sweet and syrupy for me. However, I never wrote to the authors and criticised their writing style to tell them that I couldn’t stand it, made my teeth ache with all that unrealistic make believe.

    Contrary to what you believe right now you are an excellent writer. I also understand that you have to be in a place where you can accept this so no pressure. Just love. I hope that you won’t change your style just because some cruel “know it all” individuals twisted your words and made them sound to you as though you had failed. I would hazard a guess that you have received far more messages that are in support of you and your writing talents. The ones I have read have been written by people who take the gift of writing and reading seriously. I once took a college credit course in writing for children. But you should see what kind of books I read for myself…hmmm…makes me wonder that if I had followed through with that career and people who bought my children’s stores found out what I read, would they boycott my stories?

    Take your time and write from your heart. I’m so glad that you told people that if they don’t like what you write then they should go elsewhere to read. Life is all about choices and instead of pushing against something, make another choice and live with that. Why people don’t understand this I have no idea. In a way it’s like the two sides of the Sims4 where if someone says that they don’t like it the ones that bought it immediately call them “haters”???? It’s juvenile and childish and I won’t get involved and have no interest in the Sims4 but I sure as heck don’t care what other people think about it. Another example of choices to be made in life.

    Sorry this is so long but I feel strongly about supporting you and want you to know that in my reclusive life style your stories were eagerly anticipated. So those negative idiots have taken away a big piece of my enjoyment along with your self esteem. Stay with us please and I look forward to any and all future stories you will write. hugs, Glory

    • AliciaRain says:

      This is the kind of heartfelt comments I like to see.

      sErin, you may not believe it right now, but you really are a very talented writer. If I could I would put you on the shelf with J.K.Rowling, Anne Rice, P.C.Cast, and Jane Austen. Because I would want to display the fact that I read everything that you write because I find it that hard to stop. You are the book I cannot put down.

      I love reading your legacies because it’s not always a happy ending, or wonderful heart thumping beginning. It’s more relatable to real life (even if there are a few supernaturals in the mix).

      I feel that if you want to continue FC, then you should, not every question is answered at the end of a chapter, and some might not even ever get answered if they cannot put the pieces together. But that is where a reader is supposed to use their minds to guess what will happen next or why something has happened, not dog the writer to ruin the fun for everyone else who enjoyed the thrill of the story.

      Hounding a writer is rude, thoughtless harassment. If you are a person that cannot wait for an answer to a storyline then read a real book and skip to the end, or watch a movie and start at the last scene. But don’t harass people because you cannot wait to see what happens, because you think they are not going to handle the storyline, or that their writing is not up your alley. Stop reading and find someone else story that is a Sunday morning cartoon. (Not saying Sunday morning cartoons and writers like them are bad, I do enjoy both)

      I have said it on FC but I am disappointed in the people that pushed you too such a dark place, because they were not thinking. They were impatient and rude, and should not have harassed you that way. If they didn’t like how that post went, they should have at least waited to see if you were going to handle the situation, not just assume that you wiped the slate clean. If they HAD to talk with you about it, then it should have been more civil. Not just attacks about how bad they thought you handled it (even though they did not give you a chance to handle it).

      I think I’m done with my rant, but it just makes me so mad!

      I know that this is cliché advise, but don’t let those type of people or comments get to you. I know that they will, that’s always going to happen, but don’t let it affect you permanently. Do what you love, the way you want to. Never stop trying to make things work the way you want them to, because that’s the work you will end up hating, and eventually giving up on. Then you will stop doing something you love, and hate yourself for it. Trust me, people who really care about you and your work will continue to support you, as long as you do it for yourself, your way.

      I know a lot of people who agree with me when I say you are a very talented writer and we love you.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Your support and all your messages meant and still mean the world to me. It makes me very proud and happy to know that I have people like you and my other readers like my stories so much.
        I am disappointed too, mostly in myself for giving into the angry messages and my depression. I shouldn’t have just deleted everything, and I seriously regret it… but too late now. I was in such a horrid place at the time… and honestly reading and replying to these comments is bringing some of those emotions back but nothing I can’t handle, it’s just making me teary eyed… though some of my tears are from the joy and love and warmth I am getting from these comments. You guys are all so amazing and I am so incredibly lucky.
        Sorry my reply isn’t much longer, and I am sorry it took me this long to actually reply. Thank you again for everything hun ❤

      • AliciaRain says:

        It’s okay, I’m just glad that you pulled through such a dark time. I sometimes can’t hold back the anger when it comes to bullies, and thoughtlessness. Just call me Batgirl, because I am the dark defender (because I am a skinny little goth girl with and anger problem the likes of Oracle’s).

      • sErindeppity says:

        It still does hurt but I am pulling out/healing as best I can. It’s fine–not being able to hold back, I get super angry with bullies too. And omg that sounds so cute xD I mean, er, scary!

      • AliciaRain says:

        I had to tag you in on of my favorite high school pictures, I was helping a friend with her photography class for college.

      • sErindeppity says:

        You look awesome 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      I’m sorry I didn’t get to this sooner.
      Thank you SO much for your support during that time, and your words–they did mean a lot to me and still does mean a lot. Sometimes the sweet syrupy ones bored me too but like you said, I never criticized the writers.
      Honestly even after three and a half months I’m still in pain over all of this. But I’ve been doing a lot better. Thank you again for your long message, hun, sorry if my reply isn’t as long, but I just want to say I definitely appreciate everything you said ❤

  2. The people who criticized you are idiots who clearly are incapable of the attention span necessary to read anything longer than ‘tweets’…how could the situation possibly have been resolved satisfactorily in one post?
    I, personally, found nothing wrong with your handling of the situation in the story line. I did not gain the impression that the husband was having sex with her because he really wanted to. My impression of the girl was that she was too scared and unsure of herself and her position of his wife to feel comfortable speaking to him about sex. Besides which, even if both are fully willing participants, it does not necessarily mean that a female’s first time will be pleasurable. Of course, I am well aware that the very nature of arranged marriages encourages that sort of situation. I am also aware that it is only very recently in human history that society’s perception of that situation has altered.

    Actually, the response could be interpreted that you are a good writer. People obviously empathized so deeply with the girl that they were outraged about what had happened to her.

    I recently read a book with a similar situation…”Fallen Skies” by Phillipa Gregory, so you are not the first writer to touch upon the subject…

    • AliciaRain says:

      Your comment about the situation and peoples reaction to it was just wonderful. And quite possibly even true, (I’m willing to bet that was more along the lines of what happened, but does not excuse people for their harassment).

    • sErindeppity says:

      Sorry it took me ages to reply to this!
      Thank you for the comment and you’re quite right about the situation as it happened. Neither of them really wanted to… and I feel bad that I let all the darkness take over. Though at the time I had been pushed into such a deep, dark pit I was completely out of control with my emotions.
      Yeah, I read a lot of historical fiction and non-fiction so that’s probably why I was ‘okay’ with the situation. Not really ‘okay’ with it, but maybe more understanding of the complications than others? I dunno.
      I love Philippa Gregory 🙂 her writing you really need to take with a grain of salt but I love it for what it is, and have almost all of her books 😛

  3. samanthaohalloran says:

    you shouldn’t listen to them, they didn’t need to read the story, You are a great writer, I really enjoy reading your stories and they should understand it’s fiction not real life.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so much for this comment, I am so sorry it took me this long to reply. I appreciate the support… and you’re right, I should not have listened to them. It was so hard for me at the time to not though. I remember what a horrible place I was in after some of the messages I got… and it’s still hurting me but I am healing.

  4. violincat says:

    Dear Erin, if this kind of reaction meant that you’re a bad writer, George R.R. Martin and many others like him never would have made it. I personally don’t read Falling Colors yet, but, judging from the Danevbie Legacy, you are in fact, a good writer. Don’t let the naysayers bring you down and “just keep swimming”!

    • sErindeppity says:

      So sorry I haven’t replied sooner, and thank you for the comment. You’re very right, a lot of writers have had a lot of naysayers. I do regret letting the angry messages get to me like they did but at the time I had been pushed into such a terribly dark place I couldn’t.
      Just keep swimming is a motto I need to listen to! ;P

      • violincat says:

        I understand totally. College and life made me down more than once. At the end of the day though, it’s all about getting better and remembering that you’ve made it through the worst. Take care 🙂

  5. seraphaeli says:

    I already commented on the Falling Colors blog, but I have to add one more thing here.

    You are my favorite Sim author. Absolutely my favorite. Your stories pull me in, and not just because the idea is good – because the writing is fantastic. I think you write beautifully, and though you may not believe me now, I hope you will eventually. I love your writing style, and even if your stories didn’t have the pictures to go along I would still read them. I like that you don’t have the situations resolve immediately, because things do not resolve immediately in real life. Your stories pull me in and when I finish reading new chapters I end up unable to go about my regular business because I’m still living in the world that you have created (exactly what happens to me when I finish a good book)!

    Thank you for writing the stories you do. Thank you for writing them the way you do.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I apologize for how much time has passed and that I didn’t reply sooner. Thank you so much for your support and your messages. I am so glad that you enjoy my stories so much, it means SO much to me. Your words have brought a tear to my eye, honestly, with you saying how drawn in you are. That is such a wonderful compliment ❤
      Thank you for being such a wonderful reader! 🙂

  6. Erin says:

    I’m so sorry. I get it. I can only say what others have said better: I love your writing, I hope you don’t stop, I want you to feel better. 💛

    I never, ever felt that Lucky was evil or bad or even particularly insensitive. I absolutely think FC is your strongest writing to date. I… depise the comments you’ve received that made you feel otherwise.

    Much love to you.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I am sorry it took this long to reply! And thank you, for all your support! I am so grateful for everything you’ve said. I agree with you about FC being strong, I felt and still feel that it was one of my best stories I’ve written and I regret so much letting the depression get the better of me.
      Thank you again dear ❤ love to you too 🙂

  7. evilmaniac88 says:

    You’re my favourite sims writer, please don’t stop writing. I disagreed with those comments on falling colours when I first saw them, as did many of your other readers and I still do now.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so much, and sorry it took so long to reply. I really am sorry I let the bad messages consume me as much as they did. I really appreciate your support! I am sorry also I did stop writing FC. But I can’t do anything about that now, unfortunately. :\

  8. Andrew Drake says:

    Erin. You’re one of the best writers I’ve ever seen online.

    There’s a true-ism about writing online, or at least reading stuff that people have written to put online: 90% of everything is crap, 9% is gold, 1% is made of diamonds. Nine out of ten things that you find online aren’t good. Nine out of a hundred times you find something that’s actually good. Then, once in a blue moon, you find something great.

    You’re one of that one in ten that are gold, and you have it within yourself to be great.

    Keep going. You’re a good writer, and you’re working in a serial format. That’s hard, because you’re getting feedback on an incomplete work. Take all of the feedback, filter out the parts that are because the whole isn’t in existence yet, and then keep going.

    Drake out.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so much for your words and the support, and everything you said made me feel so happy (and still does!). Sorry it took this long to respond. I am more than thankful that my stories are so loved by you and others, and you are very right about it being hard because of getting feedback on incomplete work. That is something I need to really focus on when I read comments, is the fact my story is not over. I feel terrible I went into as dark a place I did. I’ve always been prone to depression and that time was awful… ahh… well.
      Thank you again ❤

  9. Oh, Serin… I really wish you could see what all your loyal fans see in you. I hadn’t had a chance to try Falling Colors yet, and now I regret it all the more because it sounds like it was a unique and intriguing creation. I’m also sorry that I wasn’t there to provide my support when you felt your readers were twisting your creation. Not sure I could’ve made things much better, but I wish I was there all the same.
    It really breaks my heart to see you doubt your talent in writing, and let me echo what others have said before: your writing is most decidedly NOT crap. I really should’ve told you this months ago (Iz waz embarrassed to admit it! 0.0 ), but I stayed up all night to read Chance’s generation. ALL NIGHT. I’ve never done that before. I’ve been monstrously devouring books at wee hours in the morning since I was a mini-wee-Ally, but I’ve always either polished the book off or called it quits by three in the morning. Reading Chance’s gen at three in the morning, I was like, “#@$% sleep! I can’t stop!” You do have talent, please don’t doubt that!
    I think you have incredible courage to tackle the subjects that you do, and contrary to what that… that… self-righteous critic (!!!) told you, you do handle them very well.
    You will remain in my thoughts and prayers this weekend. I hope we see you back soon!

    • sErindeppity says:

      It’s all right, I really appreciate the support I get from you on Danevbies 🙂 Sorry it took this long to reply though. It is hard for me to be all right with my writing and when I got such strong opposition response it just really triggered me into such an awful depression! I still have trouble with my writing because of Falling Colors fallout, honestly. I try my hardest not to but it does still happen. I am healing, slowly but surely 🙂
      Thank you so much for saying I handle some subjects well. It’s something I try hard at and it’s nice to know that it’s not as bad as I think it is 🙂
      Thank you for your thoughts and prayers, I really needed them at the time! ❤

  10. I missed out on trying Falling Colours, but from what I’ve read of your work, it is amazing and I hope you don’t stop. I am a writer, too, and always spend a lot of time and effort making my stories and plotlines as perfect as I want; it took me a long time to realise that not everyone would be happy with or like the stories I wrote. And it took even longer to be able to write what I wanted in spite of negative feedback. So I understand some of what you’re going through, and I know how hard it is to pull yourself out of that hole. You’re getting lots of positive comments now, but it’s always the mean/hurtful ones that stick with you, regardless of how much the good outnumbers the bad. All you can do is to try and work past it and remember that, in the end, you’re writing for yourself, not for others. There will always be those who enjoy putting others down, and those who comment without thought to the author’s feelings. It’s very hard to ignore those detractors. But I implore you to please try. For your own sake, and the sake of the characters you have so richly created.

    If you want to talk more, about this or anything else, I would love to chat. somebodysangel@hotmail.com

    • sErindeppity says:

      Sorry it took way too long than it should have to respond! I have been hideously lazy about replying lately and I am determined to not let it get this bad again.
      I am very thankful of your support and this message. Being a writer is so hard, struggling to accept your own writing is hard. I unfortunately let the negative feedback overwhelm me. I regret doing so but… oh gosh now I am crying. When you said “I know how hard it is to get out of the hole” it made me cry at the time and is now. Because hearing that it’s not just something that’s easily surmountable helps me more than I can really explain. I see loads of published authors say ‘Just keep going!’ or whatever, as if it’s easy to do. So someone else telling me that it ISN’T just simple and easy is so wonderful and nice and helpful. Gah I am getting emotional. Thank you so much ❤
      And thank you for your e-mail address. I kinda want to e-mail but anxiety is difficult to deal with, but I'll try to send you a message after I am done getting caught up with replies–I just apologize for it in advance since it's gonna probably sound super awkward!

  11. zefiewings says:

    sErin I have said before that I put you as one of my favorite authors liken to Edger Allen Poe or Tolkien. (I really need an alive person to compare you too…Oh! Ann Rice! That’s a fantastic one, thanks Alicia Rain!) I would not have said it if I didn’t mean it.
    The biggest problem is the medium. You are unusual in the world of sim writers. You much of your audience may not be used to you sophisticated style of writing or your dark tones. Most ‘dark’ sim stories are more along the lines of Twilight. There are few exceptions. As such I am sure many of the readers don’t know how to take your style. Its the disadvantage of being an internet writer; anybody who tries to read your stuff thinks its for them. But I don’t think anyone would go drab a Stephen king novel and expect a happy ending. It’s just that something about it being online gives people this seance of entitlement.
    Not all authors are for all writers. There are many praised writers out there that I can’t read. I don’t send them hate mail saying they suck because they don’t; it’s just not my genre. Not my style. And I would never write to…Ivan Reitman and tell him he needs to smarten up his act because comedy movies are dumb. (I even had to look up a comedy movie director. That’s how little I watch them). Not everyone is so open minded and the common opinion is that ‘if I don’t like it it’s not good.’
    Do you know what authors/books are/were rejected by publishers and readers alike and criticized?
    The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. In fact, he got over 800 rejections before publishing a single thing!
    5 publishers rejected L.M. Montgomery‘s Anne of Green Gables and it goes on to sell 50 million copies.
    “The girl doesn’t, it seems to me, have a special perception or feeling which would lift that book above the ‘curiosity’ level”; About the diary of Ann Frank
    Myres was denied 14 times for twilight
    Young was denied 20 times for the shack
    “Too radical of a departure from traditional juvenile literature.” about the wonderful wizard of Oz.
    Here’s a big one: Mary Shelly could not get people to accept Frankenstein to save her life! Eventually she had to get it accepted without her name; as she was a woman. Proof that time and place may reject you on basis nothing to do with your writing (and in your case it is the internet that fails you)
    24 literary agencies turned down The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.
    Here is one that may sound similar to the types of letters (e-mails?) you get:
    “This author is beyond psychiatric help. Do not publish.” About Crash by J.G. Ballard. The author immediately declares this as sign of “complete artistic success.” The novel goes on to inspire countless songs, and the film adaptation wins the Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival in 1996.
    17 publishers turned down J.K Rowling.
    William Golding’s Lord of the Flies was rejected by 20 publishers.

    Now…some of these authors you might like. Some you might not. Heck; I’m not a fan of all of them and depending on what point of view you take one in particular might even be an ‘insult’ to be compared to with all the rage she gets. (I’m talking about Myres and Twilight). But that is, in my opinion, a perfect example of people hating on things that are simply not meant for them. It was written to capture the audience of pre-teen girls. And it did. I don’t like it…but I am a Young Adult who watches and reads about as much Romance and Drama to fill a puddle in the Sahara. (okay…a little more than that but you get my point.) I’m not SUPPOSED to like it. And there is no use pretending that it didn’t succeed where it was meant to.

    I love your writting. Everyone about me who commented loves your written. Most of the people who commented of falling with colours loves your writing. And even about half the comments I saw on the chapter in question that were worried about his intentions were just that; worried. Worried about a character you made them feel for. Worried because, although we know the answer will come eventually we can’t help but worry. Because it is more or less from Romance’s point of view so we DON’T know what’s in his head yet. We can infure between the lines, but at the end of the day its still a guess. Some people are just bad at it and until they seeit written out clearly they won’t get the subtlties. My sister is once such reader. So many just arn’t there YET when it comes to him as a character. It’s like how some mystery/suspence movies I watch I think it is obvious who it is (or whatever) and so I enjoy it based on loving to find all the clues and hints. But then some people watch the same movie and live it because they were genuanly surprised by the ending (even though I may have thought it was obious).

    Moral of my rant (as I recognize I have gone on FAR to long here) is this;
    1. some of the people who ‘didn’t get it’ would/will still like it anyway for the surprise and not everyone is good at picking up subtleties. Does not make you a bad writer.
    2. being rejected does not make you a bad writer; very view writers are NOT rejected even among the greats.
    4. genres are specific and no one is loved by everyone.
    3. anyone who does not understand 1, 2, & 3 (ie thinks that if they did not get it, or they do not like it it makes you a bad writer and choose to rudely tell you so) are wrong and not worth your time. Entitled people are nearly impossible to please and most of what they do like end up being so narrow that it’s actually bad anyway.

    I know that’s its hard to get out of that dark place in your head even with evidence to the contrary of your fears. Take your time and do what you need to do. But I pray you: DON’T give up. We love you and the world would be a sadder place with one more great artist falling victim to the darkness that is the critical world.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Oh my goodness, dear, this message is so wonderful. I am SO sorry it’s taken me this long to reply, and so sorry my reply isn’t going to be as length as your message. It was definitely appreciated at the time and is still appreciated!
      Honestly a lot of the problematic messages about Lucky were not on wordpress. Some were, of course, but others were not. I got several sent to me on tumblr telling me to “apologize for writing a problematic story and write something else”, and such things along those lines. I am sorry I let all of that get to me as much as it did. I should have just stepped away and had my dark depression fit, and then go back to writing… although to be honest part of it was all those messages sort of ripped Romance away from me and left a huge gaping hole in my head so even if I didn’t delete it, I don’t know when I would have been able to write it again. It’s been three and a half months and Romance is still barely there, hardly even a tenth of the strength she used to be. I know, though, my depression had been so had it was so hard for me to even write Danevbies.
      It still scares me, a bit, to write. Sometimes when I write those fears surface again… when I write difficult scenes I really doubt myself more than I did before. :T
      Again, sorry my reply isn’t very long. I am so grateful for your comment and support ❤

  12. jonso says:

    Maybe you should just disable comments.

    If people want to talk about a chapter, they can talk elsewhere or keep it to themselves. Like if an author puts out a book, the book is written and nobody talks about it until it is done. Just keep on writing please. We love you.

    • zefiewings says:

      I agree. We would miss ‘talking’ to you but if that’s what you need to do to keep the harassment away we would support you in it and you would know that we are all still there.

      • sErindeppity says:

        Don’t worry, I won’t disable comments. I’m even trying to catch up on them all! I have so many to reply to… this is gonna take all night haha but it’s worth it, I need to stop being so lazy.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I thought about disabling comments but I do love hearing back from my readers in general. If something like that ever happens again… I might disable comments, or I hope I am in a place where I can let it roll off my back better.
      Thank you so much for your support and comment, I love you guys too so much -hugs- ❤ (and sorry it took this long to reply!)

  13. I hope that these comments do get to you, like actually hit home to you, Serin. You have a wonderful, and caring fanbase that cares about YOU, and your stories. And they’re going to be here for you tomorrow, the next day, a month from now, and as long as your stories are circulating. Just reading the comments on this page, I can feel the love, and loyalty toward you, and as a writer myself, I hate that one bad comment to the hundreds of supportive comments can do so much damage, but I do understand it.

    It’s a vicious cycle. You start doubting yourself, and second guessing your abilities, and then it starts leaking through. But honestly, Serin, you’re what I strive to be as a writer. Seventh generation in, you have a few different stories going, and never once have I doubted your abilities, or gotten bored, or severely disagreed with your take on your stories. As i’ve told you before, you can cover writing families, and blossoming love, and coming of age, and the fall outs, you can write the drama, and happy moments, and comedy, and suspense, and all the little quirks in between. Your characters are always so full of life, and different, and vibrant, and your readers can always relate to, or feel something for each of them, whether love or hate, or distrust, you can portray that as their creator. “Bad” characters aren’t just bad, “good” characters aren’t entirely perfect. There’s no black and white in reality, and you cover that aspect well. Everyone has reasons, and you try to make us see them. And you seem to do it with an ease that truly makes me jealous.

    Your writing style too, exceeds that of the general consensus of the sims community. Your grammar, your tone, your articulation of the written word and exactly how to use it. Its sophisticated, and it is different from many of the stories circulating around right now. You know, the ones where its a happy family, and the biggest drama is that someone kissed someone else, but by the end of the chapter the wedding is back on, and the mansion is getting redone for the third time this generation. And the supernaturals biggest problem is how they can go on the picnic they’ve been planning for weeks, because they’re a vampire and haven’t said yet. You’re writing about things that count, and the way life happens, life isn’t happy all the time, in fact some people really struggle. Everyone does, and you shouldn’t have to sway that idea because it made one person uncomfortable. If they think bad things don’t happen, then they’re in for a real shock. And they do, and sometimes they don’t get better, or resolved in two hundred words and less.

    Trust in yourself, and your abilities, you’re one of the best sims writers and your chapters are always something I look forward to. And I can always leave a comment, because your writing is good enough to elicit a response from me, and make me think. You’re also the type of person your readers can talk to, and get excited about in the comment section. Negativity does happen, but it has no basis on who you are, and what you write, but the person leaving those comments. Obviously, a lot of people really admire you, some people might not, and that can be hard to move on from, but focus on the love right now.

    Center yourself. Find your spark again. Write because you like to write, and your good at it, not because some person a thousand miles away might read it, and like it. That will come. We’ll all be here when your ready again.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so much for this lovely response and all the support, and I apologize for taking so long to reply. I do have such an incredible fan base. I am SO lucky to have all of you. I feel terrible for letting the minority overwhelm me like it did.
      It is a very vicious cycle, and one I am still trying to get out of. I have healed some, maybe even a lot–but it still worries me, I still doubt myself. When I write certain scenes I get so afraid and anxious.
      It makes me feel such happiness to hear my characters are full of life… I worry that they aren’t as much as they used to… I worry my writing has really fallen… but that’s part of the cycle. Maybe my writing has gotten worse, maybe it hasn’t. I really hope I haven’t lost my spark 😦
      -hugs tight- thank you sooo much again for all of this, sorry my response isn’t very long. ❤

  14. Krystal says:

    I just want you to know that I really enjoy your writing and think you’re very talented telling stories with interesting characters. There is always going to be people that don’t like what you write but also people that will love it. And for someone that also write I can tell you that writing is a passion and your writing shows that you love what you do and have the ability to express your passion really well. So Keep doing what you love never let other people tell you what to write, write what you feel and want to write. Is a story so people don’t have to psycoanalize the characters because is fiction. Keep doing what you love, your doing great.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you so, so much for the comment, I am so sorry it took so long to respond.
      I am glad my passion does show since writing is my passion! I really hope my writing hasn’t suffered… I do worry that it has in recent months, since all this happened. But I’m not going to stop. I love writing and I shall continue 🙂

Leave a Reply

