Feedback Needed

Hey guys!

I was wondering if there was anything I could do to improve the Danevbies? Should I focus more on the plot? More action? Would it help if the chapters were shorter? Getting chapters out faster (which I do want to do)?

I just have noticed a very large drop in views for a while and I know part of that is because of A, sims 4 and B, my hiatus I took. But I figured I might as well as if there’s anything I can do to make the content better/easier/more desirable for you guys?

Any advice/feedback would be great 🙂 And remember you can comment anonymous, you don’t even need to put in your e-mail when leaving an anonymous message.

Thanks! ❤

~sErin

About sErindeppity

Hi there! I'm known as sErindeppity. I love to read (huzzah!) and love to write (double huzzah!). I have tons of books in my room ahaha. I love video games and hate hot weather. :p
This entry was posted in Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Feedback Needed

  1. ebonyimonet says:

    we need more Zoose and more Reeny

  2. Eli says:

    I didn’t actually know you could comment without some sort of account, haha. I think the speed in which you publish your chapters is your main problem, but I’m happy enough that you are writing again as I expected your break to be longer. I don’t think your writing has much at fault, your story is very engaging and there hasn’t been a character I haven’t loved. Also the last chapter was so cute. ❤

  3. violincat says:

    It’s already good. As for long chapters, a good story always takes time to read, so that’s no problem! Keep up the great work 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      All right, I wanted to get some ideas of whether they were still all right or not. I am slightly shortening them now but not by much. Thank you so much for your feedback!

  4. First- I know I’m commenting with my Facebook. I think I must have changed the password for my WordPress account since i can’t log in now.

    Second – I know I haven’t read your stuff in aaages (as evidenced by my lack of commenting, you know how much I love to comment) but I wanted to say that as a college student with only so much free time, I would definitely appreciate shorter chapters. I’m not saying massively shorter chapters but just shorter would definitely make it easier to catch up if you decided to cut down on length in future chapters.

    Also, it’s possible some of your readers are just busy. This exam preparation/project time for students and teachers, NaNoWriMo, and the holidays are approaching.

    I know I’ve been promising to catch up for a while but I do want to catch up. Some of the stuff you’ve posted on Facebook has made me massively curious to see what Zaid has gotten himself into.

    • AliciaRain says:

      Ach, I forgot about NaNoWriMo…

      As for me It has more to do with LOADS of RL issues going on at once… I’m Always reading, but have no time for much of anything else in life right now… 😦

    • sErindeppity says:

      I do agree that shortening the chapters a bit is a good thing to do, and I have a bit. Not by a lot but hopefully enough to help. I understand that people have been busy with things, but I know at the time I was really paranoid about whether my writing had suffered because of all the trouble with Falling Colors and my emotions/depression. I still worry to be honest. xD Thank you so much for your feedback!

  5. evilmaniac88 says:

    I think it’s perfect as it is, I’m enjoying Zaid’ s gen soooo much. As the reader I am happy for you to take the story in whichever direction you want. Please don’t shorten the chapters either, if anything make them longer please. It would be great if you could post more often but I appreciate that you have other things to do, and you still post relatively frequently compared to lots of other simmers 🙂

    • sErindeppity says:

      I have decided to make them slightly shorter, not by much though–which actually is helping me feel a bit less overwhelmed at the picture taking. I still get overwhelmed but not as much. I am terrible when it comes to getting pictures xD I would like to just write and write and write, and honestly wouldn’t mind writing Zaid’s story to chapter 100 or something! (Actually, Chance is my baby so he’s the one I coulda easily taken into the hundreds haha). I’m glad you’ve been enjoying and I hope my updating gets to be a bit more frequent! Thank you so much for your feedback!

  6. plumbawesim says:

    I really miss Jay and Kay! I hope you bring them back soon ❤
    But I love, love, love your writing style and plot lines. You're very talented as is! Anything you do will get a thumbs up from me! 🙂
    I wouldn't mind getting chapters out faster, but I wouldn't want you to stress yourself out over it. Sims is supposed to be fun and a relaxing thing to do. I wouldn't want you to rush through something because the readers are demanding. I enjoy the chapter length, I think it's perfect.

    • Yes, we absolutely need more Jay and Kay! I think in some of the recent generations we’ve gotten really caught up in the lives and the stories of the current heir, and the overall plot with Jay and Kay has been forgotten a bit, maybe?

      • sErindeppity says:

        I really do wish I could add a lot more Jay and Jay. They were never really going to have a huge role in gen seven no matter who won, though. They’re more like in Cal or Seb’s gen, around but not a hgue presence. I haven’t forgotten them don’t worry. If anything I’ve been forcing them into Zaid’s gen because I love them so much and want loads of them. Oh well, depending on who wins for gen eight we will have a lot of Jay and Kay!! I won’t say whose story will give us the most Jay and Kay but one of them… well, the twins have an extremely active role in one. Thank you so much for your feedback!

    • sErindeppity says:

      I miss them too! I am trying to include them as much as I can but their role in this gen was going to be a small one, no matter who won–a bit like Cal or Seb’s gens.
      I agree, I want to get the chapters out a bit more often. In fact, my current goal is to finish Zaid’s gen by March which means two chapters a week right now! I think I can do it. I want to be able to get two a week done anyway. Thank you so much for your feedback!

  7. Glory says:

    All is well here, I have no complaints! I was slow responding to your last chapter only because I received it really late at night and couldn’t keep my eyes open. Left it for the next day and then life got crazy. Please don’t shorten chapters, I’m always afraid that we’ll miss out on something that you had planned in the plot. Am really happy that you’ve been able to get back to writing and therefore if it takes longer in between chapters it’s understandable. Don’t stress yourself please ’cause then maybe you won’t feel up to writing. I never tire of your stories and know that all will come in it’s own good time!! Hugs

    • sErindeppity says:

      Naww it’s okay 🙂 and I will try to include as much of the story as I intended, even with slightly shorter chapters. I do leave out a lot of plot honest but the secret is, I add in tons more than was ever planned! Honestly, Goose wasn’t planned. I had no intention of adding Goose into the story and his addition wasn’t thought of until halfway through Zaid’s teen years!! The story is really fluid and I hate taking things out but sometimes the characters take me where I never meant them to, and it’s so much better. For instance, there’s a whole thing in Zaid’s life I meant to put in and as I got closer to when it would happen I realized it added nothing to the story and it’d be better to take out. I hope all that makes sense? Thank you so much for your feedback!

  8. Erin says:

    I’m perhaps not your target audience for feedback since I’m still avidly reading ( 🙂 ) but I have no complaints. I’m always THRILLED to see it’s a long post. I read on my phone and check the little bar on the right to see how much is left, and I’m so happy when I’m not close to the end.

    I got into the sims legacy stories community late in the game, so I was lucky in a way to have several years of Danevbies to absolutely inhale… staying up waaaay too late to read. Now I’m like the rest of the suckers, waiting with baited breath each week for the new updates. 🙂 What I’m saying is that I’d love to have MORE MORE MORE, but I COMPLETELY realize that it takes time to produce so many wonderful posts. I’m more than happy to wait.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Hehe feedback from anyone is more than welcomed! So glad you’re enjoying it so much. I do intend to try my best to get more updates out each week–hopefully two a week if I can–because it’s what I want to achieve ^_^ Thank you so much for your feedback!

  9. annasommer says:

    Um… I like the story just the way it is, does that count as feedback?

  10. callissialim says:

    Um I think the story’s fine and I’m sure it’s just because of the finals I have been hearing about on tumblr so… Haha, I think you should be good. Don’t worry.

  11. Suzanna says:

    I think you are doing a fantastic job of writing and I would change nothing. You are the artist, I am part of your devoted audience. If you were doing anything wrong I would not be reading still.
    I know I have to force myself not to keep checking whenever you take a break and am super excited when you return. I am so thankful to you for letting us know when you need a break. Some writers just disappear. I can’t tell you how many stories I had bookmarked with no updates for over a year. I finally had to delete them. I will never delete my bookmarks to your stories, they are just too good and I feel like I know these sims, especially the Danevbies, better than so of my own. As others have said, people get busy with school and work so that is probably what is happening.
    Just keep up the good work and take care of you.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Ahh thank you!! I am glad you’re so happy when I return from a break, and I am happy when I come back. I love writing Danevbies so much… I can’t believe I am slightly over half done. Hopefully it doesn’t take me years to complete though haha.
      It is sad deleting old stories that aren’t updated. I usually wait a year or so and it feels so… awful deleting them. 😦
      Thank you so much for your feedback!

  12. Personally, I’ve been super busy with work and uni, so haven’t had time to read, let alone formulate a comment. But also, and this is going to go against what most others have commented on, I would like to see more of the overall plot. The every day cuteness is great, but the previous few chapters it doesn’t seem like any progress has been made in the whole Zaid-is-going-to-end-magic thing. I want to see more of Jay and Kay, and the overall plot with the whole Danevbie line.

    • sErindeppity says:

      Ugh I agree with you. I think I wrote a bit too much fluff there… and right now, where I am writing (I am currently writing chapter 44) I am doing a lot of time skipping to get through some fluff and get closer to plot. But I know some people like the fluff and I do like giving some fluff. But too much fluff gets a bit on my writing nerve. Bring on the drama, I say! haha.

  13. If I HAD to pick something, I would want faster chapters. If that means you split your current chapters in two, so be it. I love long chapters, but I’m willing to sacrifice that if it meant more regular updates.

    Obviously things go on in our lives that mean we don’t have an opportunity to do what we’d like. More than likely, that’s why the readership has gone down. It has nothing to do with the story. It’s one of the best around!

    • sErindeppity says:

      Thank you, and I agree! I am hoping to get chapters out faster. I am trying to finish Zaid’s gen by March which means two chapters a week, and I hope to be able to continue that sort of pace! Thank you so much for your feedback!

  14. For me, it’s just that life gets in the way. I think one of your earlier readers said shorter chapters, and I might echo that… but I don’t really want shorter chapters per say… I just want more time to write out long heart-felt comments.

    … it might be nice to see what Jay and Kay are up to. I feel like they’ve been a huge constant in the series and I really want to see them again soon.

    • sErindeppity says:

      I am shortening the chapters just a smidge, hopefully not too much but just enough. Hehe. I do wish I could write more of Jay and Jay in this gen but their role in this gen is more like Cal or Seb, and they’re not intended to be in it a ton. I do miss them though 😦

  15. mischiefthekitten says:

    Hmm, feedback… Mostly I don’t think that anything needs changing but I’ve got a lot of reading to do and a lot of other things to do as well, so shorter chapters would certainly help! Then again, I can’t say that the last chapter bugged me with its length ^^ More overall plot would be great of course, it always would be everywhere, but shorter chapters would be a huge help in staying caught up for me 🙂 I’ll try and stay caught up anyway, but it would help 😛

    • sErindeppity says:

      I have shortened chapters a smidge, not much though. More overall plot would definitely be a nice addition! I know I probably added more fluff than I should have, but I am trying not to add too much where I am writing now. Thank you so much for your feedback!

  16. I realize I’m a little late but sErin, you are a wonderful author. You have created an entire world that is familiar but unique in your approach. I enjoy your stories immensely.
    I may not have always agreed with what happened in the story but that was your artistic license.
    I love to read them. At times, I would like shorter chapters but just to break up the length of the webpage and loading times but not lose any of the story. I enjoy getting attached to the characters and their lives.
    Even if the generations chapters doubled or the chapter length doubled or you wrote one really, really long chapter/post per generation, I would still read. You have so many multi-generational plots and subplots that I won’t be able to stop reading 😀
    Thanks for sharing the inner workings of your mind and your imagination!

    • sErindeppity says:

      No no, never too late at all!! Thank you so much for the reply. I am so honored that you still enjoy reading my stuff even after I’ve written things you disagreed with. I’ve written loads of things in my stories I disagreed with! Some things were SO hard to write, or some things I absolutely hated writing. That’s the hard bit about being a writer who writes lots of different things… writing the things we don’t agree with, writing characters whose personalities we don’t like, etc, etc.
      I am shortening the chapters just a bit… I am considering shortening them even more in gen eight. In Zaid’s gen I went from 4.5k words per chapter to about 4k words per chapter and in gen eight I might try to lower it a bit more, and just have more chapters than I would otherwise. I dunno… we’ll see how it goes. I do hope that the shortening helps you a bit and if it hasn’t, let me know so I can keep that into consideration 🙂
      Thank you so much for this feedback!!

Leave a Reply

